DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew (Pub. No.: 2016/0203347 A1) in view of Hempstead (Pub. No.: 2008/0314325 A1).
1) In regard to claim 19, Bartholomew discloses the claimed system for reading tags for livestock (fig. 1a: 100), the system comprising:
-a plurality of animal tags (fig. 1a: 112),
-at least one reader installed at a fixed position (fig. 1a: 120);
-the plurality of animal tags are active tags (¶0025-¶0026),
-the at least one reader is configured to receive a radio signal emitted by the plurality of animal tags (¶0029),
the plurality of animal tags are configured to emit the radio signal at predetermined intervals (¶0029),
the system further comprises a processor configured to:
-read the unique identifier from the radio signal (¶0029),
-determine an angle of arrival of the radio signal (¶0037-¶0038),
-determine a position of the plurality of animal tags (¶0031-¶0032) based on the angle of arrival of the radio signal (¶0037-¶0038),
wherein said plurality of animal tags comprise a beaconing interface programmed to emit said radio signal, wherein the beaconing interface is programmed to stay in a listening mode by default and to wake up when a wake-up signal from the reader is received, the wake-up signal from the reader has a predetermined coverage so as the plurality of animal tags wake up only when placed within the predetermined coverage, wherein the radio signal at predetermined intervals is emitted by the beaconing interface if the wake-up signal is received (¶0027-¶0029).
Bartholomew does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to determine that one animal tag having the determined position has to be considered for further processing, based on said determined position.
However, Hempstead discloses it has been known for a processor is further configured to determine that one animal tag having the determined position has to be considered for further processing, based on said determined position (¶0042 and ¶0058-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Bartholomew to conduct further processing based on an animal tag position, as taught by Hempstead.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Bartholomew as described above in order to improve efficiency and profitability throughout the commercial livestock process, as taught by Hempstead (¶0048).
2) In regard to claim 20 (dependent on claim 19), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to apply said further processing, if the angle of arrival is within at least one predetermined range, wherein the angle of arrival is representative of said position of the one animal tag with respect to the fixed position of the at least one reader (Bartholomew ¶0038 and ¶0054).
3) In regard to claim 21 (dependent on claim 19), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 19, comprising a scale for weighting an animal bearing the one animal tag, wherein the processor is further configured to: -read a weight measured by the scale; -store said weight measured by the scale in association with the unique identifier of the one animal tag which is considered for further processing (Hempstead ¶0048).
4) In regard to claim 22 (dependent on claim 19), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 19, comprising a sorting equipment for guiding an animal towards one among a plurality of paths, the processor is further configured to: -determine the one among the plurality of paths, based on information read in the one animal tag which is considered for further processing, -actuate the sorting equipment to guide an animal which bears said one animal tag considered for further processing towards said one path (Hempstead ¶0058-¶0060).
5) In regard to claim 23 (dependent on claim 19), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 19, comprising at least one drinking point, or at least one milking system, or at least one feeding device wherein an animal may, respectively, drink, be milked or eat, -the at least one drinking point or milking system or feeding device is in at least one predetermined space from which, if the one animal tag is placed, it is considered for further processing, the processor is further configured to: -determine that an animal which bears said one tag has, respectively, drunk, been milked, or eaten (Hempstead ¶0043 and ¶0048).
6) In regard to claim 24 (dependent on claim 20), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 20, wherein the processor is further configured to -store a time when the one animal tag is considered for further processing (Hempstead ¶0044).
7) In regard to claim 25 (dependent on claim 23), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to -count how many times the one animal tag is considered for further processing, within a predetermined time interval, and to -determined how many times the animal which bears the one animal tag have drunk, been milked, or eaten within the predetermined time interval (Hempstead ¶0043-¶0044).
8) In regard to claim 26 (dependent on claim 23), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 23, wherein said at least one reader comprises an array of antennas arranged over or on a side of the at least one known space from which, if the at one tag is placed, emits the radio signal with the angle of arrival within the at least one predetermined range (Hempstead ¶0051).
9) In regard to claim 27 (dependent on claim 26), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 26, wherein said array of antennas comprises at least five antennas (Hempstead fig. 4: 405X, 409X, 410X, 413 and 417), wherein three among the five antennas are arranged along an x axis which is in a first direction (Hempstead fig. 4: 409X and 410X) and three among the five antennas are arranged along an y axis which is a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Hempstead fig. 4: 405X, 409X and 410X), wherein one of the three antennas in the x axis is also an antenna of the three antennas in the y axis (Hempstead fig. 4 shows anyone of the antennas 409X and 410X may be an antenna on the y-axis).
10) In regard to claim 28 (dependent on claim 27), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 27, wherein the one of the three antennas in the x axis which is also an antenna of the three antennas in the y axis is arranged on a z axis perpendicular to the x axis and the y axis (Hempstead fig. 4: 413 or 417).
11) In regard to claim 29 (dependent on claim 26), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 26, comprising two walls or gates delimiting both lateral sides of said at least one known space, wherein the walls or gates are distanced to prevent two or more animals from entering side by side said at least one known space (Hempstead ¶0058).
12) In regard to claim 30 (dependent on claim 19), Bartholomew and Hempstead further disclose system according to claim 19, comprising the processor in said at least one reader (Bartholomew fig. 5E: 542 and ¶0058).
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685