DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the power signal" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first communication path" in lines 15 and 18 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the power signal" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In technical language, the term "bypass" implies that there is a main path and an alternative path that replaces the main path under certain conditions. However, the "bypass unit" as disclosed in the claimed subject-matter does not exclude one path from the other (i.e. the power line communication path depicted in figure 8 would still flow through the bypass unit were the inverter connected). Therefore, the term "bypass unit" in independent claim 1 and 9 lacks clarity as it is not clear to the person skilled in the art if it replaces or supplements the original path (Article 84 EPC). In that regard, the term "capacitor" would be more precise.
Several technical features of independent claims 1 and 9 are defined as being "connected to" external devices that are not comprised in the claimed subject- matter, contrary to Article 84 EPC. In that regard, any mention to a connection to an external device should be made as "connectable to" to avoid a lack of clarity. The same applies for claims 2, 7, 8 and 15.
The "first communication path", the "second communication path", the "first input/output port" and the "second input/output port" are defined by a connection to external devices that are not included in the claimed subject- matter (e.g. PV module array and inverter). Moreover, the "first input/output port" and the "second input/output port" featured in claim 9 are defined as being connected to an external inverter and PV module. However, the polarity of the terminals of the external devices to which the ports are "connectable" is not stated. As a result of this lack of clarity, the second positive and negative electrode port could be connected to the same terminal of the external inverter. An allowable claim would incorporate and describe (i) the four external ports indicating to which polarized terminals of the external devices (i.e. positive and negative terminals of the PV modules and inverter) they would be "connectable to", (ii) how the two internal ports of the communication unit are connected and (iii) the location of the capacitor in regard to these ports.
The above rejections as they pertain to independent claim 9 are equally applied to dependent claims 10-16. The above rejections as they pertain to claim 2 are equally applied to dependent claims 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asao et al. (Asao; JP 2012205061 A).
As per claim 1, Asao discloses a device for managing a photovoltaic module (see power conversion device 11 in figure 1), the device comprising:
a communication unit for receiving a power line communication signal from at least one photovoltaic module array or transmitting a power line communication signal to the at least one photovoltaic module array (see PLC modem 15 in figure 1); and
a bypass unit forming a first communication path connecting the communication unit to the at least one photovoltaic module array (see bypass capacitor 13 in figure 1 and paragraph 24),
wherein the first communication path operates as an alternative path for a second communication path connecting the communication unit to an inverter (see figure 1).
As per claim 5, Asao discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the bypass unit comprises
an alternating current (AC) coupling capacitor that allows the power line communication signal to pass through (Fig. 1; paragraph [0024]).
As per claim 6, Asao discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the communication unit comprises:
a power line communication modem;
a coupling transformer which is connected to the power line communication modem and which combines or disconnects the power line communication signal and the power signal with or from each other; and
a coupling capacitor is connected to the coupling transformer and forms an LC filter (Fig. 1; paragraph [0024]: “the PLC modem 15 is electrically inductively coupled to the electric circuit N via the CT 14”).
As per claim 7, Asao discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the photovoltaic module array comprises:
photovoltaic modules; and
module level power electronic devices connected to the photovoltaic modules,
wherein the photovoltaic modules are connected to the module level power electronic devices, respectively (the above circuitry configuration is an industry practice, i.e. common general knowledge).
As per claim 8, Asao discloses the device of claim 7, wherein each of the module level power electronic devices comprises an optimizer or a micro inverter (the use of micro-inverters attached to PV arrays is an industry practice, i.e. common general knowledge).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fannin (US Pub No. 2021/0351612 A1): similar inventive concept
Buchhold (US Pub No. 2020/0301493 A1): similar inventive concept
Rozenboim (US Pub No. 2010/0117858 A1): similar inventive concept
/NAOMI J SMALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685