DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claims are objected to because they include reference characters (AV1) which are not enclosed within parentheses, nor explained.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12,16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021061814 A1 YANG HUA et al. (hereafter Yang), and further in view of US 20150016543 A1 Rapaka; Krishnakanth et al. (hereafter Rapaka).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses A filtering method for AV1 (Fig.4), comprising: determining a to-be-filtered partition (Fig.2, [116]-[118], partitioning 202 is preformed prior to filtering 265), wherein the to-be-filtered partition comprises a plurality of blocks (Fig.8, [116], the CU in Fig.8 is one of coding unit or coding block as the result of the partitioning 202); performing parallel filtering operations on at least two of the plurality of blocks by using several threads ([03], [227]).
Yang fails to disclose the plurality of blocks form a plurality of rows; wherein the several threads are responsible for filtering operations on several rows in a one-to-one correspondence, the several rows comprise at least two consecutive rows in the plurality of rows, and each block in the at least two blocks is respectively located in a different row.
However, Rapaka teaches the plurality of blocks form a plurality of rows Fig.7, [124]); wherein the several threads are responsible for filtering operations on several rows in a one-to-one correspondence, the several rows comprise at least two consecutive rows in the plurality of rows, and each block in the at least two blocks is respectively located in a different row (Fig.8, [133]-[134], LCUs as the partitions forming rows of 54A-54G undergo filtering).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filtering method for AV1 disclosed by Yang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Rapaka, in order to improve coding efficiency and video quality, as identified by Rapaka.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 17, Rapaka teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the several rows comprise a first row and one or more subsequent rows following the first row; and the performing parallel filtering operations on at least two of the plurality of blocks comprises: performing the following filtering operation on the first row: sequentially filtering each block in the first row from left to right; and performing the following filtering operation on the one or more subsequent rows: sequentially filtering each block in a target row from left to right, wherein a filtering progress of the target row lags behind a filtering progress of a previous row of the target row by a filtering time of two blocks, and the target row is any one of the one or more subsequent rows (Fig.8, [134]-[137]).
Regarding claims 11, 16, see the rejection for claim 1.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, 14, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Rapaka, and further in view of US 20150003513 A1 Hashimoto; Ryoji et al. (hereafter Hashimoto).
Regarding claims 3, 13, 18, Hashimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the several rows comprise an mth row and one or more subsequent rows following the mth row, and m is an integer greater than or equal to 2; and the performing parallel filtering operations on at least two of the plurality of blocks comprises: sequentially filtering each block in a target row from left to right by using a thread allocated to the target row, wherein a filtering progress of the target row lags behind a filtering progress of a previous row of the target row by a filtering time of two blocks, and the target row is the mth row or any one of the one or more subsequent rows (Fig.4, [40]-[42]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Yang, Rapaka and Hashimoto before him/her, to modify the filtering method for AV1 disclosed by Yang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Rapaka and Hashimoto, in order to improve coding efficiency and video quality, as identified by Rapaka, and enhance performance, identified by Hashimoto.
Regarding claims 4, 14, 19, Hashimoto teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein the target row corresponds to an nth row, and n is an integer greater than or equal to 2; and the performing parallel filtering operations on at least two of the plurality of blocks comprises: recording a quantity of filtered blocks in each row, wherein the quantity of filtered blocks indicates a quantity of currently filtered blocks; filtering a currently unfiltered block in the nth row when a quantity of filtered blocks in an (n-1)th row is greater than a maximum preset value, wherein the maximum preset value is a total quantity of blocks in the (n-1)th row; and filtering a corresponding block in the nth row when the quantity of filtered blocks is greater than 2 and is less than or equal to the maximum preset value, wherein a location of the corresponding block in the nth row is the quantity of filtered blocks minus 2 (Fig.8, [122]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 15, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WO 2015178796 A1, WO 2020251420 A2, US 20080123750 A1.
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487