Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 9/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Shrestha fails to teach the same or corresponding special feature between Groups I and II, the specific carbon nanotubes recited in claim 1. This is not found persuasive because Shrestha discloses carbon nanotubes satisfying the following (1) to(3) and comprising multi-walled carbon nanotubes: (1) in differential thermal analysis when heated from 200°C to 1000°C at a rate of 10°C/minute, an exothermic peak is observed between 600°C and 800°C inclusive (Fig. 3a); (2) in a Raman spectrum, when the maximum peak intensity within a range of 1560 to 1600 cm⁻¹ is defined as G, and the maximum peak intensity within a range of 1310 to 1350 cm⁻¹ is defined as D, a G/D ratio is 0.5 or more and 3.0 or less (Fig. 4b); and (3) contains no cobalt, iron, copper, zinc, nickel, chromium, manganese and molybdenum. A total content of cobalt, iron, copper, zinc, nickel, chromium, manganese and molybdenum is “5000ppm or less” includes zero as a lower limit. In addition, Shrestha discloses the oxidation/purification process removed impurities (metal particles and amorphous carbon) from the CNTs (page 55). Therefore, the groups of claims are still seen to be restrictable for reason of record. Lack of unity is proved in the restriction requirement mailed 10/17/2012.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/7/2025 and 9/10/2026 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 5/7/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shrestha et al. (Carbon 48, 2010, pages 54-59).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, Shrestha discloses carbon nanotubes satisfying the following (1) to(3) and comprising multi-walled carbon nanotubes: (1) in differential thermal analysis when heated from 200°C to 1000°C at a rate of 10°C/minute, an exothermic peak is observed between 600°C and 800°C inclusive (Fig. 3a); (2) in a Raman spectrum, when the maximum peak intensity within a range of 1560 to 1600 cm⁻¹ is defined as G, and the maximum peak intensity within a range of 1310 to 1350 cm⁻¹ is defined as D, a G/D ratio is 0.5 or more and 3.0 or less (Fig. 4b). A total content of cobalt, iron, copper, zinc, nickel, chromium, manganese and molybdenum is “5000ppm or less” includes zero as a lower limit. Shrestha does not disclose the carbon nanotubes contains metal of cobalt, iron, copper, zinc, nickel, chromium, manganese and molybdenum. In addition, Shrestha discloses the oxidation/purification process removed impurities (metal particles and amorphous carbon) from the CNTs (page 55). Therefore, Shrestha discloses the limitation of “a total content of cobalt, iron, copper, zinc, nickel, chromium, manganese and molybdenum is “5000ppm or less”.
Regarding claim 6, Shrestha discloses the G/D ratio is 0.5 or more and 3.0 or less (Fig. 4b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. (Carbon 48, 2010, pages 54-59) as applied above, further in view of Wepasnick et al (Carbon 49, 2011, pages 24-36).
Regarding claim 2, Shrestha discloses carbon nanotubes as described above and is incorporated herein by reference. Shrestha does not disclose the nanotubes (pristine) have a surface oxygen content is 2.5 atm% or less. However, pristine carbon nanotubes have a surface oxygen content is 2.5 atm% or less is known as shown by Wepasnick and the oxygen content is increased following different oxidizing treatments/conditions (Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the pristine carbon nanotubes of Shrestha also have a surface oxygen content is 2.5 atm% or less.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
9/30/2026