DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/7/2026 and 5/8/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the space" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first connecting part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second connecting part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. US 2019/0353987.
Re claim 1, Choi discloses a camera module (1000) (figures 2-3; paragraphs 44-45), comprising: a body (housing 200, 210, 220)(figures 2-3; paragraphs 44-45); a lens barrel (100, 212, 110, 120) coupled to the body (figures 2,4,7; paragraphs 45-47); a lens (130, 140) disposed on one side of the lens barrel (figure 7; paragraph 47); a heating member (132) disposed on outside of the lens (figure 8; paragraphs 63-67); a substrate module disposed spaced apart from the lens in an optical axis direction (substrate unit 400 disposed below lens barrel)(figure 3; paragraph 45); and a connection member connecting the substrate module and the heating member (connection unit 300, first, 310, second 320 and third 330 connection members) (figures 3,7; paragraphs 45, 50-51, 81, 91), wherein the connection member includes a plurality of connection parts connected to the substrate module and a plurality of bus bars connected to the heating member (the first connecting member 310 connects to the heating element 132 and the first connecting member 310 connects to the substrate unit 400 via the second connecting member 320 and the third connecting member 330)(figures 5,7; paragraphs 5057, 81, 91, 111), and the plurality of bus bars include a first bus bar and a second bus bar spaced apart from the first bus bar (first terminal 321 of connecting member 320 and third terminal 331 of connecting member 330)(figure 5; paragraphs 93, 99).
Re claim 2, Choi further discloses that the heating member (132) includes a heating layer (heating element 132 may be a coating) (figure 8; paragraphs 63-65), a first electrode disposed on one surface of the heating layer, and a second electrode disposed on another surface of the heating layer, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the optical axis direction (first electrode 311-1, second electrode 311-2 and conductive members 315, 316 wherein the electrodes are on the upper and lower surfaces of the ring shaped member and thus spaced in the optical axis direction) (figure 8; paragraphs 69-70, 86), wherein the first bus bar is connected to the first electrode, and wherein the second bus bar is connected to the second electrode (first terminal 321 is electrically connected with the first electrode 311-1 and the third terminal 331 is electrically connected with second electrode 311-2)(figure 5; paragraphs 94, 100).
Re claim 4, Choi further discloses that the first bus bar (321) and the second bus bar (331) are electrically connected to the plurality of connection parts (the first terminal 321 and electrode 311-1 are electrically connected to the third terminal 331 and electrode 311-2)(figures 6, 8, 10; paragraphs 90-94).
Re claim 5, Choi further discloses that the first bus bar and the second bus bar have different polarities (the first electrode 311-1 connected to the first terminal 321 is a positive electrode and the second electrode 311-2 connected to the third terminal 331 is a negative electrode) (paragraph 70).
Re claim 6, Choi further discloses that the first bus bar and the second bus bar are spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (first terminal 321 and third terminal 331 are spaced apparat in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis) (figure 5).
Re claim 9, Choi further discloses that the plurality of connection parts includes a first connection part connected to the first bus bar (321) and a second connection part connected to the second bus bar (331), and wherein an upper end of the first connecting part connected to the first bus bar (321) and an upper end of the second connecting part connected to the second bus bar (331) have different heights (the electrodes 311-1 and 311-2 are on the upper/lower surfaces of the heating member and the bus bars (321, 331) reach different heights to contact them)(figures 5-6; paragraphs 86-94, 100).
Re claim 10, Choi further discloses that the first connection part and the second connection part are each disposed in at least a portion of a space formed in the body (first and second reception holes 111-1 and 111-2 are formed in the lens holder to accommodate the second and third connection members 320, 330)(figure 7; paragraph 53).
Re claims 12 and 13, Choi further discloses that the lens barrel includes a first hole in which the first bus bar (321) is arranged, and a second hole in which the second bus bar (331) is arranged, wherein a formation area of the first hole and a formation area of the second hole on a lower surface of the lens barrel are arranged in steps in the optical axis direction (first and second reception holes 111-1 and 111-2 are formed in the lens holder to accommodate second and third connection members 320, 330 which include first and second terminals 321, 331)(figures 5-7; paragraphs 91-101).
Re claim 15, Choi further discloses that the substrate module includes a first substrate (410) having an image sensor (500) arranged on an upper surface thereof, and a second substrate (420) arranged on a lower side of the first substrate (410), and wherein the connecting part is connected to the second substrate (420)(figure 3; paragraphs 78, 111-115).
Re claim 16, Choi discloses a camera module (1000) (figures 2-3; paragraphs 44-45), comprising: a body (housing 200, 210, 220)(figures 2-3; paragraphs 44-45); a lens barrel (100, 212, 110, 120) coupled to the body (figures 2,4,7; paragraphs 45-47); a lens (130, 140) disposed on one side of the lens barrel (figure 7; paragraph 47); a heating member (132) disposed on outside of the lens (figure 8; paragraphs 63-67); a substrate module disposed spaced apart from the lens in an optical axis direction (substrate unit 400 disposed below lens barrel)(figure 3; paragraph 45); and a connection member connecting the substrate module and the heating member (connection unit 300, first, 310, second 320 and third 330 connection members) (figures 3,7; paragraphs 45, 50-51, 81, 91), wherein the heating member (132) includes a heating layer (heating element 132 may be a coating) (figure 8; paragraphs 63-65), a first electrode disposed on one surface of the heating layer, and a second electrode disposed on another surface of the heating layer, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the optical axis direction (first electrode 311-1, second electrode 311-2 and conductive members 315, 316 wherein the electrodes are on the upper and lower surfaces of the ring shaped member and thus spaced in the optical axis direction) (figure 8; paragraphs 69-70, 86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US 2019/0353987 in view of Ha et al. US 2019/0137850.
Re claims 3 and 17, the Choi reference discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16 above. However, although the Choi reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the heating layer includes a resin or a PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) material.
Ha discloses that it is well known in the digital imaging art for a camera to include Positive Temperature Coefficient heating elements to reduce frost and condensation in various camera elements (figure 5; paragraph 91). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of including a Positive Temperature Coefficient heating element as disclosed by the Ha reference in the camera module disclosed by the Choi reference. Doing so would provide a means for reducing frost and condensation in different optical elements of a camera by heating a lens barrel.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US 2019/0353987 in view of Sauer et al. US 2022/0089102.
Re claim 11, the Choi reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above. However, although the Choi reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the plurality of bus bars include pogo busbars having elasticity in the optical axis direction.
Sauer discloses that it is well known in the digital imaging art for a camera to include a lens heating element having spring loaded pogo bus bars (36) as connection elements (figures 3-4; paragraphs 27-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of including spring loaded pogo bus bars as part of a heating element for a camera module as disclosed by the Sauer reference in the camera module disclosed by the Choi reference. Doing so would provide a means for reducing frost and condensation in different optical elements of a camera by heating a lens barrel using elastic connections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 7-8, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a camera module having the specific configurations disclosed in claims 7-8, wherein the camera module comprises: a body; a lens barrel coupled to the body; a lens disposed on one side of the lens barrel; a heating member disposed on outside of the lens; a substrate module disposed spaced apart from the lens in an optical axis direction; and a connection member connecting the substrate module and the heating member, wherein the connection member includes a plurality of connection parts connected to the substrate module and a plurality of bus bars connected to the heating member, and the plurality of bus bars include a first bus bar and a second bus bar spaced apart from the first bus bar, wherein the first bus bar and the second bus bar are each provided in multiple, wherein a plurality of first bus bares incudes a first-1 bus bar and a first-2 bus bar, wherein a plurality of second bus bars includes a second-1 bus bare and a second-2 bus bar, and wherein the first-1 bus bar is disposed between the second-1 bus bar and the second-2 bus bar. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a camera module including a lens barrel, a heating member and bus bars configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Re claims 18-20, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a camera module having the specific configurations disclosed in claims 18-20, wherein the camera module comprises: a body; a lens barrel coupled to the body; a lens disposed on one side of the lens barrel; a heating member disposed on outside of the lens; a substrate module disposed spaced apart from the lens in an optical axis direction; and a connection member connecting the substrate module and the heating member, wherein the heating member includes a heating layer, a first electrode disposed on the one surface of the heating layer, and a second electrode disposed on another surface of the heating layer, and the first electrode and the second electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the optical axis direction, wherein the heating layer includes a resin or a PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) material, wherein the connecting member includes a first bus bar connected to the first electrode and a second bus bar connected to the second electrode, and wherein a length of the first bus bar is longer than a length of the second bus bar. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a camera module including a lens barrel, a heating member and bus bars configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gu et al. US 2024/0214654 discloses a camera module including a lens barrel and a heater module.
Hein et al. US 2023/0171851 discloses a heating device for a lens barrel of an automotive camera.
Liu et al. US 2023/0020304 discloses a vehicular exterior camera with a vacuum sealed lens assembly.
Hendricks US 2022/0201175 discloses an imager assembly with a heating element to prevent frost buildup.
Contacts
/KELLY L JERABEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699