DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13, 14, 16, 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okano US Patent Application Publication 2008/0238579 (counterpart of applicant cited US 7,750,762).
Regarding Claim 11, Okano teaches a radiating element for a waveguide antenna (Figs. 8-10), comprising:
a first hollow conductor portion (14 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0073) into which an electromagnetic wave is coupled (Par. 0048, 0062, 0066), wherein the first hollow conductor portion has a first rectangular cross-section (Figs. 8-10), wherein a narrow side of the first rectangular cross-section extends parallel to a first axis (Figs. 8-10), a wide side of the first rectangular cross-section extends parallel to a second axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the first hollow conductor portion extends along a third axis, and wherein the first, the second, and the third axes are orthogonal to one another in pairs (see C1, C2, C3 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0074); and
a second hollow conductor portion (12 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0073) having a second rectangular cross-section (Figs. 8-10), wherein a narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section extends parallel to the third axis (Figs. 8-10), a wide side of the second rectangular cross-section extends parallel to the first axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the second hollow conductor portion extends along the second axis (Figs. 8-10);
wherein a first dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section is smaller, in a first region of the second hollow conductor portion, than a second dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section in a second region of the second hollow conductor portion (see C1, C2, C3 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0074); and
wherein the electromagnetic wave may be fed from the first hollow conductor portion into the second hollow conductor portion via a slit in the first region of the second hollow conductor portion and emitted via an open end of the second region of the second hollow conductor portion (through opening 15 Figs. 8-10).
Regarding Claim 13, Okano teaches wherein three lateral surfaces of the second hollow conductor portion are planar (Figs. 8-10).
Regarding Claim 14, Okano teaches wherein the slit is offset in the first region of the second hollow conductor portion along the third axis with respect to a center of the second hollow conductor portion (Figs. 8-10).
Regarding Claim 16, Okano teaches wherein an extension of the second region of the second hollow conductor portion along the second axis is less than or equal to one quarter of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave (less than ¼ wavelength based on value for C2 0.80mm for 75 GHz Par. 0074).
Regarding Claim 18, Okano teaches a method for manufacturing a radiating element for a waveguide antenna (Figs. 8-10), comprising the following steps:
forming a first hollow conductor portion (14 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0073) into which an electromagnetic wave can be coupled (Par. 0048, 0062, 0066), wherein the first hollow conductor portion has a first rectangular cross-section (Figs. 8-10), wherein a narrow side of the first rectangular cross-section extends parallel to a first axis (Figs. 8-10), a wide side of the first rectangular cross-section extends parallel to a second axis (Figs. 8-10), wherein the first hollow conductor portion extends along a third axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the first to third axes are orthogonal to one another in pairs (see C1, C2, C3 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0074); and
forming a second hollow conductor portion (12 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0073) having a second rectangular cross-section (Figs. 8-10), wherein a narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section extends parallel to the third axis (Figs. 8-10), a wide side of the second rectangular cross-section extends parallel to the first axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the second hollow conductor portion extends along the second axis (Figs. 8-10);
wherein a first dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section is smaller, in a first region of the second hollow conductor portion, than a second dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section in a second region of the second hollow conductor portion (see C1, C2, C3 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0074); and
wherein the electromagnetic wave may be fed from the first hollow conductor portion into the second hollow conductor portion via a slit in the first region of the second hollow conductor portion and emitted via an open end of the second region of the second hollow conductor portion (through opening 15 Figs. 8-10).
Regarding Claim 20, Okano teaches wherein three lateral surfaces of the second hollow conductor portion are planar (Figs. 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okano US Patent Application Publication 2008/0238579 (counterpart of applicant cited US 7,750,762) and Mercer et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0159606 (cited by applicant).
Regarding Claim 12, Okano teaches wherein the second hollow conductor portion includes a third region between the first region of the second hollow conductor portion and the second region of the second hollow conductor portion (Figs. 8-10).
Okano is silent on wherein a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section increases linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension.
However, Mercer et al. teaches a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section increases linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension (tapered transition region 916 of waveguide 902 Fig. 9 Par. 0058).
In this particular case, providing a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section increases linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension is common and well known in the art as evident by Mercer et al. to operate as a horn antenna.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section of Okano to increase linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension based on the teachings of Mercer et al. as a result effect in order to operate as a horn antenna.
Regarding Claim 17, Okano teaches a waveguide antenna (Figs. 8-10), comprising:
a first hollow conductor portion (14 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0073) into which an electromagnetic wave is coupled (Par. 0048, 0062, 0066), wherein the first hollow conductor portion has a first rectangular cross-section (Figs. 8-10), wherein a narrow side of the first rectangular cross-section extends parallel to a first axis (Figs. 8-10), a wide side of the first rectangular cross-section extends parallel to a second axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the first hollow conductor portion extends along a third axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the first, the second, and the third axes are orthogonal to one another in pairs (see C1, C2, C3 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0074), and
a second hollow conductor portion (12 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0073) having a second rectangular cross-section (Figs. 8-10), wherein a narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section extends parallel to the third axis (Figs. 8-10), a wide side of the second rectangular cross-section extends parallel to the first axis (Figs. 8-10), and wherein the second hollow conductor portion extends along the second axis (Figs. 8-10),
wherein a first dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section is smaller, in a first region of the second hollow conductor portion, than a second dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section in a second region of the second hollow conductor portion (see C1, C2, C3 Figs. 8-10 Par. 0074), and
wherein the electromagnetic wave may be fed from the first hollow conductor portion into the second hollow conductor portion via a slit in the first region of the second hollow conductor portion and emitted via an open end of the second region of the second hollow conductor portion (through opening 15 Figs. 8-10); and
Okano is silent on a plurality of radiating elements, a power splitting device configured to feed the electromagnetic wave into the first hollow conductor portions of the radiating elements.
However, Mercer et al. teaches a plurality of radiating elements (antenna arrays Par. 0026; “an antenna array having one or more waveguides” Par. 0071), a power splitting device configured to feed the electromagnetic wave into the first hollow conductor portions of the radiating elements (tap Par. 0056, 0058).
In this particular case, providing a plurality of radiating elements and a power splitting device configured to feed the electromagnetic wave into the first hollow conductor portions of the radiating elements are common and well known in the art as evident by Mercer et al. in order to increase radiation performance.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the waveguide antenna of Okano with a plurality of radiating elements and a power splitting device configured to feed the electromagnetic wave into the first hollow conductor portions of the radiating elements based on the teachings of Mercer et al. as a result effect in order to increase radiation performance.
Regarding Claim 19, Okano teaches wherein the second hollow conductor portion includes a third region between the first region of the second hollow conductor portion and the second region of the second hollow conductor portion (Figs. 8-10).
Okano is silent on wherein a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section increases linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension.
However, Mercer et al. teaches a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section increases linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension (tapered transition region 916 of waveguide 902 Fig. 9 Par. 0058).
In this particular case, providing a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section increases linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension is common and well known in the art as evident by Mercer et al. to operate as a horn antenna.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a dimension of the narrow side of the second rectangular cross-section of Okano to increase linearly in the third region from the first dimension to the second dimension based on the teachings of Mercer et al. as a result effect in order to operate as a horn antenna.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okano US Patent Application Publication 2008/0238579 (counterpart of applicant cited US 7,750,762) and Rosenberg et al. US Patent Application Publication 2002/0021184.
Regarding Claim 15, Okano teaches the radiating element according to claim 11 as shown in the rejection above.
Okano is silent on wherein a dimension of the wide side of the second rectangular cross-section is greater than or equal to one half of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave and less than or equal to three quarters of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave.
However, Rosenberg et al. teaches the relationships between dimensions and wavelength for the frequency band of operation (Par. 0004, 0032, 0033).
In this particular case, configuring antenna element dimensions to be half of a wavelength of the operating frequency band is common and well known in the art as evident by Rosenberg et al. to efficiently radiate at that frequency.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure a dimension of the wide side of the second rectangular cross-section to be greater than or equal to one half of a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave and less than or equal to three quarters of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave based on the teachings of Rosenberg et al. as a result effect in order to efficiently radiate at the operating frequency.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845