DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “…the base (2f) and the anchor (2g) are included in a cylindrical volume of the same straight cross-section (S) as an extension of the cylindrical body (2a), the latter having a bore (2e)…”. The term “latter” is conventionally used to refer to the second of a list two, however, this is not absolute and “latter” can be used to refer to the last in a group. The limitation reads as primarily referring to the “base (2f)” and “the anchor (2g)”, but also includes the “cylindrical body (2a)”, however, the “cylindrical body (2a)” is referenced to define the cylindrical volume”. Examiner will interpret the limitation as referring to the “cylindrical body (2a)” as the element which has the “bore (2e)”, but advises amending the claim so that “the latter” is replaced by “the cylindrical body (2a)” to prevent confusion or alternate interpretations. See www.merriam-webster.com/grammar/former-and-latter-usage.
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites “the bore (2e) for inserting the cylindrical body”, but the Claim 1 sets forth “a bore (2e) for inserting the tube”. Appropriate correction is required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the locking slide" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This should likely be “the locking ram”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a flat of orientation of the attachment axis toward the opening of the anchor of the retaining hook”. This limitation “of orientation of the attachment axis toward the opening” is not understood.
Claim 8 recites “the base (2f) of the retaining hook (2) comprises a sliding surface (2i) of the blocking pin (3b) and a stop surface (2j) of said blocking pin (3b) of the locking ram (3)”, but the retaining hook and locking are separate elements (2 and 3, respectively). It is unclear how an element (2) can comprise structures of an entirely separate element. Examiner will provide two interpretations of the prior art in the rejection on the merits below.
Claims 2-6 and 9-13 rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy, U.S. Patent 3,362,050 in view of Munro, EP 0074706.
Regarding Claim 1, McCarthy teaches:
An attachment axis (16), a tube (12) being a cylindrical body of straight cross-section and having two ends (see below)…a base (see below)…an anchor (see below) defining an opening (see below);
a locking ram (14) in translation along the cylindrical body, and
a returning device (26) to return between the locking ram and the tube
wherein the base and the anchor are included in a cylindrical volume of the same straight cross-section (see Figs. 1-5) as an extension of the cylindrical body…the latter having at least one oblong slot (22) for guiding along the cylindrical body and in that the locking slide (locking ram, see 112 rejection above) has at least one positioning hole (see hole for 24) and a blocking pin (see below) which partially obstructs the opening of the hook anchor (see McCarthy, Figs. 1, 3-5).
McCarthy does not teach:
The cylindrical body being a separate element and having “two ends in connection with the tube respectively and a base” or “the latter (the cylindrical body, see Claim Objections) having a bore for insertion the tube”.
Munro teaches:
A cylindrical body (32) having two ends (Fig. 2) in connection with a cable (36) respectively and a base (44) and the cylindrical body (32) having a bore (34) for insertion of the cable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide McCarthy with the cylindrical body as a separate element having two ends in connection with the tube respectively and a base and the cylindrical body having a bore for insertion of the tube because that would allow replacement of the cylindrical body from the tube in case of damage.
Regarding Claim 2 (see Claim Objections above) the instant combination of McCarthy-Munro teaches:
The return device is a compression spring (26) positioned in a bottom of the bore (see
Fig. 1) for inserting the cylindrical body and resting against the tube (spring 26 rests against tube 12 through pin 28).
Regarding Claim 3, the instant combination teaches:
The cylindrical body has two diametrically opposed oblong slots (see McCarthy element 22, see Figs. 1-2, see Col 2, Lns 10-11) extending on either side of the bottom of the bore (note McCarthy as modified by Munro).
Regarding Claim 4, the instant combination teaches:
The locking ram (14) has two diametrically opposed positioning holes (see McCarthy element 24, see Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 5, the instant combination teaches:
A holding pin (24) inserted into the two oblong slots and the two locating holes, the pin being movable in the two oblong slots (see McCarthy element 24, see Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 6, the instant combination teaches:
The blocking pin has a guide ramp (38).
Regarding Claim 7, insofar as the claim is understood, the instant combination teaches:
The anchor of the retaining hook has an end having a flat orientation (see below) of the attachment axis (McCarthy element 16) towards the opening of the anchor of the retaining hook
Regarding Claim 8, insofar as the claim is understood, the instant combination teaches:
The base of the retaining hook comprises a sliding surface (see McCarthy, element 36) of the blocking pin and a stop surface (see McCarthy, element 40) of the blocking pin of the locking ram.
Regarding Claim 8, in an alternate interpretation insofar as the claim is understood (see 112 rejection above), the instant combination teaches:
The base of the retaining hook comprises a sliding surface (see below) of the blocking pin and a stop surface (see below) of the blocking pin of the locking ram.
Regarding Claim 9, the instant combination teaches:
The anchor of the retaining hook has a continuous rear face with the cylindrical body (see below, see drawing selection set forth in the rejection Claim 1).
Regarding Claims 10-13, Examiner notes that the method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677