DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 10, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4, 10, 16-17 each recites: “an axial displacement” in lines 4, 5, 6, 3, 2 and 3 respectively which is a double recitation; it is unclear whether this is the same “an axial displacement” recited in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim 4 recites: “a signal portion” in line 6. It is unclear whether this is part or different from “several successive signal portions” recited above in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other signal portions" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomescu (US 2021/0071589 A1).
Tomescu teaches method for detecting an axial displacement of a turbomachine fan (130) which is able to rotate about a longitudinal axis and which comprises a rotor disc (132) and a plurality of blades with variable angular setting mounted at the periphery of the disc (Fig. 1, paras. 0020-0022),
the detecting method comprising the use, on the one hand, of several setting reference members (202) secured to the rotor disc and of at least one sensor (212) positioned fixedly with respect to the fan and on the trajectory of the setting reference members during the rotation of the fan (Fig. 2, para. 0024) for detecting an axial displacement of the fan based on the detection of an axial displacement of the setting reference members (paras. 0007, 0024-0025), the setting members and said at least one sensor being used for determining an angular setting position of at least one blade (paras. 0007, 0024-0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daggett et al (US 2023/0021280 A1) hereinafter Daggett in view of Tomescu (US 2021/0071589 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Daggett teaches an aircraft turbomachine comprising:
a fan (38) which is able to rotate about a longitudinal axis (12) and which comprises a rotor disc (42) and a plurality of blades (40) with variable angular setting mounted at the periphery of the disc (Fig. 1, para. 0029),
a system for determining an angular setting position of at least one blade comprising:
several setting reference members (80,82,84,86) which are secured to the rotor disc (Fig. 2; paras. 0038-0043)
a position reference element (94) secured to said at least one blade (40) and which is able to change angular position with respect to the setting reference members in the event of modification of the angular setting of said at least one blade (Figs. 3-5; para. 0046),
wherein the turbomachine is configured to detect an axial displacement of the fan by detecting an axial displacement of the setting references members (Fig. 2; paras. 0038-0043).
Daggett does not specifically teach at least one sensor which is positioned fixedly with respect to the fan and which is able to determine a relative angular position between the position reference element and the setting reference members by detecting the passage of the position reference element and of the setting reference members during the rotation of the fan and the detecting of the axial displacement of the setting references members based of the at one sensor.
However, Tomescu teaches an aircraft turbomachine comprising: a propeller (130) which is able to rotate about a longitudinal axis (A) and which comprises a rotor disc and a plurality of blades (410) with variable angular setting mounted at the periphery of the disc (132) (Figs. 1-3, paras. 0026-0028); a system for determining an angular setting position of at least one blade comprising: several setting reference members (202, 402) (Figs. 2-4; paras. 0027-0028) and a position reference secured to said at least one blade and at least one sensor (212) which is positioned fixedly with respect to the propeller and which is able to determine a relative angular position between the position reference element and the setting reference members by detecting the passage of the position reference element and of the setting reference members during the rotation of the propeller (paras. 0007, 0024-0025), wherein the turbomachine is configured to detect an axial displacement of the fan by detecting an axial displacement of the setting reference members (202, 402) based on said at least one sensor (212) (paras. 0007, 0024-0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a sensor mounted on the fan as taught by Tomescu in order to determine the axial displacement based on a signal from a sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Daggett as modified Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the turbomachine comprises a processing unit (222, 220) which is configured to carry out processing on at least one signal produced by said at least one sensor for the purpose of detecting an axial displacement of the setting reference members (Tomescu, Fig. 2, para. 0027).
Regarding claim 3, Daggett as modified Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the processing comprises a comparison between said at least one signal produced by said at least one sensor and at least one reference signal representative of a non-offset axial position of the setting reference members (Tomescu, paras. 0007-0008 and 0027-0028) and a detection of an axial displacement of the setting reference members in the event of determination of a difference from said at least one reference signal (Tomescu, paras. 0007-0008 and 0027-0028).
Regarding claim 4, Daggett as modified Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the processing comprises an analysis of said at least one signal produced by said at least one sensor (Tomescu, paras. 0007-0008 and 0027-0028) and comprising several successive signal portions, and a detection of an axial displacement of the setting reference members in the event of detection, in said at least one signal thus analyzed, of a signal portion having a shorter period or a smaller amplitude than that of the other signal portions of said at least one analyzed signal (Tomescu, paras. 0007-0008 and 0027-0028).
Regarding claims 5-6, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches at least one setting reference member has an overall shape that is elongated along the longitudinal axis and extends from a first end (circular portion 88; Daggett, Fig. 2) to an opposite second end (Daggett, Fig. 2) which is closer to said at least one sensor than the first end and which has a reduced width by comparison with the first end (Daggett, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the setting reference members are distributed along a circumference of the rotor disc (Daggett, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the setting reference members are distributed, either into a group of setting reference members or into several groups of setting reference members distributed along a circumference of the rotor disc (Daggett, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches at least certain groups of the setting reference members each include at least two or three successive setting reference members (Daggett, Fig. 2). (Daggett, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the turbomachine is configured to confirm a detection of an axial displacement, either by detecting the axial displacement at least twice, based on one and the same group of setting reference members, or by detecting the axial displacement at least twice, based on at least two different groups of setting reference members (Daggett, Fig. 2 and Tomescu, paras. 0007, 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 16, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the turbomachine is configured to confirm a detection of an axial displacement, either by detecting the axial displacement at least twice, based on one and the same group of setting reference members, or by detecting the axial displacement at least twice, based on at least two different groups of setting reference members (Daggett, Fig. 2 and Tomescu, paras. 0007, 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 17, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches a system (222, 220) for controlling the operation of the turbomachine which is configured to stop the operation of the turbomachine in the event of detection of an axial displacement of the fan (Tomescu, paras. 0007, 0024-0025, 0052, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches said at least one sensor is, an inductive sensor (Tomescu, para. 0027).
Regarding claim 19, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches the turbomachine is also configured to determine a speed of rotation of the fan based on said at least one sensor (Tomescu, para. 0033).
Regarding claim 20, Daggett as modified by Tomescu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Daggett as modified by Tomescu further teaches a reduction gear box (46) to which the fan is connected (Daggett, Fig. 1, para. 0029).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0335047 A1 discloses a turbomachine having a pitchable fan blades and reference setting members.
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745