DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 5/7/2025 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “the light source unit in which a plurality of light emission units capable of individually changing a light quantity of emitted light are arranged in a matrix” in lines 9-10 of the claim is grammatically incorrect. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the light source unit comprising a plurality of light emission units capable of individually changing a light quantity of emitted light which are arranged in a matrix-- or similar language to remove the awkward phrasing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the light-shielding image side" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since it is unclear if this is a side of the light-shielding image or a side of the blurred image closer to the light-shielding image than the side opposite the light-shielding image. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has treated the claim as reciting that the brightness of the blurred image decreases from a side thereof opposite to the light-shielding image towards another side thereof closer to the light-shielding image, and so the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --a side closer to the light-shielding image
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the image generation unit generates the mask image and superimposes the mask image on the base image” in lines 1-3 of the claim, however independent Claim 1 already recites “an image generation unit that generates an image by superimposing a mask image on an upper portion of a base image” in lines 2-3 of the claim (emphasis added). Accordingly, Claim 1 already requires the image generation unit to generate the mask image and superimpose the mask image on the base image, as recited in Claim 2, and therefore Claim 2 fails to further limit the subject matter of Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanj et al. (FR 3115855, previously listed on the IDS filed 2/24/2026, see attached machine translation, hereinafter “Kanj”).
Regarding claim 1, Kanj discloses a vehicle headlamp (motor vehicle lighting device 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0068]-[0069]) comprising an image generation unit that generates an image by superimposing a mask image on an upper portion of a base image as the image representing a predetermined light distribution pattern by superimposing the mask image on the upper portion (control unit 9 generates a light pattern 1 (i.e., an image) by superimposing a mask pattern 4 on an upper portion of a first pattern layer 3; see Fig. 2; para. [0080]-[0085]), the mask image including a light-shielding image that has a brightness of zero (the mask image 4 defines a light-shielding image having a brightness of zero; see Figs. 7-8; para. [0080]-[0081], [0093]-[0095]), and has a lower edge corresponding to an upper edge of the predetermined light distribution pattern in which the upper edge has a predetermined characteristic portion (a lower edge of the mask image 4 corresponds to an upper edge of the predetermined light distribution 1, specifically a cut-off zone or line 15; see Figs. 2, 7-8; para. [0080]-[0081], [0094]); and a light source unit that emits light based on the image generated by the image generation unit, the light source unit comprising a plurality of light emission units capable of individually changing a light quantity of emitted light which are arranged in a matrix (a matrix arrangement of LEDs 2 emits light in accordance with the image generation unit 9 to individually control the light emission of each individual pixel in the matrix; see Figs. 1, 3-8; para. [0069]-[0073]), wherein the image generation unit generates the image by superimposing the mask image on the upper portion of the base image and changing the mask image such that a part corresponding to the predetermined characteristic portion in the lower edge of the light-shielding image moves in a predetermined direction (the image generation unit 9 generates the image/pattern 1 by superimposing the mask image 4 on the upper portion of the base image 3 and changing the mask image by shifting a part corresponding to the predetermined characteristic portion (cut-off zone 15) in a particular direction, depending on the steering of steering wheel 16; see Figs. 1-2, 5-8; para. [0069]-[0073], [0083]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Kanj discloses wherein the image generation unit generates the mask image and superimposes the mask image on the base image (the image generation unit 9 generates a light pattern 1 (i.e., an image) by superimposing a mask pattern 4 on an upper portion of a first pattern layer 3; see Fig. 2; para. [0080]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Kanj discloses wherein the predetermined light distribution pattern is a light distribution pattern of a low beam (the predetermined light distribution pattern 1 is a low beam pattern; see Figs. 2, 7-8; par. [0080]), and the predetermined characteristic portion is an elbow point (the predetermined characteristic portion is a standard cut-off zone 15; see Figs. 2, 7-8; para. [0080], [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Kanj discloses wherein the upper edge includes an inclined portion that extends obliquely upward from the elbow point, a first horizontal portion that extends in a horizontal direction from the elbow point, and a second horizontal portion that extends in the horizontal direction from an end of the inclined portion opposite the elbow point (as shown in Fig. 2), the light-shielding image includes a first part of a quadrangle having, as a side, a part corresponding to the first horizontal portion in the lower edge of the light-shielding image, a second part of a quadrangle having, as a side, a part corresponding to the second horizontal portion in the lower edge of the light-shielding image, and a third part of a quadrangle that is connected to the first part and the second part and has, as a side, a part corresponding to the inclined portion in the lower edge of the light-shielding image (as shown in Figs. 2 and 7-8, the light-shielding image/mask image 4 has a left part 21 and a right part 23 defining quadrangles which each include a side defining the first and second horizontal portions extending from the elbow point 15; see par. [0094]), and the image generation unit generates the mask image and superimposes the mask image on the base image (the image generation unit 9 generates a light pattern 1 (i.e., an image) by superimposing a mask pattern 4 on an upper portion of a first pattern layer 3; see Fig. 2; para. [0080]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Kanj discloses wherein the mask image includes a blurred image that extends along the lower edge of the light-shielding image and has brightness decreasing from a side opposite to the light-shielding image toward the light-shielding image side (Fig. 2 shows a blurred image extending along the lower edge of the light-shielding/mask image 4 whose brightness gradually decreases from a side opposite/away from the light-shielding image toward the light-shielding image).
Regarding claim 7, Kanj discloses a vehicle headlamp (motor vehicle lighting device 10; see Fig. 1; para. [0068]-[0069]) comprising a lamp unit that emits light having a predetermined light distribution pattern in which an upper edge has a predetermined characteristic portion (a matrix arrangement of LEDs 2 emits light in accordance with a control unit 9 to individually control the light emission of each individual pixel in the matrix and emit light in a light pattern 1 which has a predetermined cut-off zone 15; see Figs. 1-8; para. [0069]-[0073], [0080]-[0081], [0094]); and a control unit that controls the lamp unit (control unit 9 generates a light pattern 1 (i.e., an image) by superimposing a mask pattern 4 on an upper portion of a first pattern layer 3; see Fig. 2; para. [0080]-[0085]), wherein the control unit controls the lamp unit to move the predetermined characteristic portion in a predetermined direction without changing brightness of both right and left edge portions and a lower edge portion in the predetermined light distribution pattern (the control unit 9 generates the image/pattern 1 by superimposing a mask pattern 4 on the upper portion of a first pattern layer 3 and changing the mask image by shifting a part corresponding to the predetermined characteristic portion (cut-off zone 15) in a particular direction, depending on the steering of steering wheel 16; see Figs. 1-2, 5-8; para. [0069]-[0073], [0083]-[0096]).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai et al. (US 2022/0227285, hereinafter “Arai”).
Regarding claim 1, Arai discloses a vehicle headlamp (a vehicle lamp system 1001 that includes a light distribution variable lamp 1002; see Fig. 5; para. [0093]-[0098], [0151], [0156]) comprising an image generation unit that generates an image by superimposing a mask image on an upper portion of a base image as the image representing a predetermined light distribution pattern by superimposing the mask image on the upper portion (a light distribution controlling device 1006 executes adaptive driving beam (ADB) control of dynamically and adaptively controlling a light distribution pattern PTN to be supplied to the headlamp 1002 which is a 2D illuminance distribution of an illumination pattern 902 formed by the headlamp, and includes a pattern determiner 1012 which determines a light distribution pattern PTN that includes a light blocking portion based on the light distribution pattern image IMGe (Fig. 12D), which incorporates an upper eroded region 1022 that extends upward from the lateral dilated regions 1018 into the light blocking portion; see Figs. 5-12D; para. [0094], [0098]-[0099], [0120], [0123]-[0134], [0137]-[0156]), the mask image including a light-shielding image that has a brightness of zero (the mask image 1022 has a luminance set to zero; see Fig. 12D; para. [0146], [0150]), and has a lower edge corresponding to an upper edge of the predetermined light distribution pattern in which the upper edge has a predetermined characteristic portion (the mask image 1022 has a lower edge corresponding to an upper edge of the predetermined light distribution pattern 1018 which has a predetermined characteristic portion at a central region of the overall pattern; see Fig. 12D; para. [0149], [0150], [0157]); and a light source unit that emits light based on the image generated by the image generation unit, the light source unit comprising a plurality of light emission units capable of individually changing a light quantity of emitted light which are arranged in a matrix (the headlamp 1002 includes a semiconductor light source such as a laser diode (LD) or a light emitting diode (LED) lamp including a plurality of light sources arranged in a matrix to define multiple pixels in the distribution pattern 902; see Fig. 5; para. [0095]-[0096]), wherein the image generation unit generates the image by superimposing the mask image on the upper portion of the base image and changing the mask image such that a part corresponding to the predetermined characteristic portion in the lower edge of the light-shielding image moves in a predetermined direction (the mask image 1022 is superimposed on the upper portion of the base image 1018 and is shifted in various directions as needed; see Figs. 12A-12D; para. [0137]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 5, Arai discloses wherein the predetermined light distribution pattern is a light distribution pattern of a high beam (the light distribution pattern in all disclosed embodiments is a high beam; see par. [0004]) including a lower light distribution pattern and an upper light distribution pattern that is connected to an upper edge of the lower light distribution pattern and has a width in a right-left direction narrower than that of the lower light distribution pattern (Fig. 12D shows the mask image 1022 as an upper light distribution pattern connected to an upper edge of the base image 1018 which is a lower light distribution pattern, and has an overall width that is narrower in the right-left direction than that of the lower light distribution pattern), and the predetermined characteristic portion is a protruding portion as an outer edge of the upper light distribution pattern (the central portion of the overall pattern extends upward from the base image 1018, as shown in Fig. 12D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kanj et al. (US 2024/0157868), Kanj et al. (US 2024/0102628), Kanj et al. (US 2022/0055525), Park et al. (US 11,092,303), and Krauss et al. (US 2014/0098551) all disclose vehicle headlamps comprising an image generation unit that generates an image by superimposing a mask image on an upper portion of a base image which moves in a predetermined direction while driving, and a light source unit that emits light based on the image generated by the image generation unit.
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875