DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al. (U.S. 2008/0067464) in view of Jerpbak-Bayless Company (https://www.jerpbakbayless.com/guide-to-multi-start-threads/).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Arai discloses a motor-operated valve comprising: a valve body (10) that has a valve port 14 (see paragraph 0041; see Figure 1); a valve member (60) that faces the valve port 14 (see paragraph 0044; see Figure 1); a motor (1a) that includes a rotor 8 (see paragraph 0040); a driving shaft (52) that has an external thread 53 (see paragraph 0044); a guide member (50) that has an internal thread (51) into which the external thread (53) is screwed (see paragraph 0044; see Figure 1); and a gear mechanism (40) that reduces rotational speed of the rotor (8) and transmits rotation of the rotor (8) to the driving shaft (52),wherein when the driving shaft (52) rotates, the driving shaft (52) moves toward or away from the valve port (14) to move the valve member (60) with respect to the valve port 14 (see paragraphs 0042 and 0044), and wherein where L represents a lead of the external thread, and K represents a speed-reduction ratio of the gear mechanism (40), 30 ≤ K ≤ 100 (see paragraph 0052).
Arai further discloses the screw pitch of element 52 to be between 0.5-1.5mm (see paragraph 0052).
Arai fails to disclose the lead of the external thread; 0.04K ≤ L ≤ 0.10K; wherein the external thread and the internal thread are each a multi- start thread.
Jerpbak-Bayless Company teaches multi-start threads, specifically double and four-start threads, used in valves (see section titled Applications of Multi-Start Threads); wherein an external thread and an internal thread are each a multi- start thread.
Lead is equal to pitch x thread start, therefore if using a double start thread, the combination teaches 0.04K ≤ L ≤ 0.10K as seen below:
If K = 30 as disclosed by Arai and a double start thread is used, then L = 2(1.5), which is 3.
Therefore, 0.04(30) ≤ L ≤ 0.10(30) which equals 1.2 ≤ L ≤ 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Arai to provide the lead of the external thread; 0.04K ≤ L ≤ 0.10K; wherein the external thread and the internal thread are each a multi- start thread. Using a multi-start thread would provide better transmitting power and generating movement (see section titled Applications of Multi-Start Threads), as recognized by Jerpbak-Bayless Company.
Regarding claim 7, Arai as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein expression (2A) below is further satisfied: (2A) K = 30 (see paragraph 0052).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ogawa et al. (U.S. 2022/0252312) discloses a valve comprising a valve body with a valve port closed by a valve member; the valve member being driven by a motor, with a threaded rod, a rotor, and speed reduction mechanism.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753