DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 7th 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the references cited therein are considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…runs ina…” should be replaced with “…runs in a …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 23, 26, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the phrase “…wherein the piston crown part is pot-shaped and has a wall thickness of equal thickness.” This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear what the equal thickness is in relation to.
Claim 26 recites the phrase “…a guide section at least partially surrounding the connecting rod…”. This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear whether the guide section surrounds the connecting rod or not.
Claim 32 recites the phrase “…a maximally semicircular enclosure…”. This claim is deemed indefinite because it is unclear what the limits of maximally semicircular shape are.
Claim 34 recites the limitation “…the at least one lubrication grooves…” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 36 recites the limitation “…the at least welding or bonding point…” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 20, 23-26, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”).
Regarding claim 20, Pallmer discloses a hammer mechanism (8) for an electric hand-held power tool machine (1), the hammer mechanism (8) comprising:
a crank mechanism (39, 41) for converting a rotational drive movement of an electric motor (12) via a connecting rod (36) driven by a crank disk (39) into a translationally alternating movement of an exciter piston (13) for axially applying impact energy to a tool (3; Fig. 1), the connecting rod (36) having a bearing pin section (34, 35) formed thereon at a piston end (22), the bearing pin section (34, 35) interacting with the exciter piston (13; Fig. 2) to form a pivot bearing (para. [0042]), the exciter piston (13) including at least a piston crown part (20) and a piston skirt part (17);
a concave bearing shell section (34), associated with the bearing pin section (34, 35) of the connecting rod (36), being formed on an inside of the piston crown part (20; Fig. 2), the concave bearing shell section (34), to form the pivot bearing (para. [0042]), interacting oppositely with at least one curved bearing shell section (36) formed on an inside of the piston skirt part (17; Fig. 2).
Pallmer fails to disclose a bearing pin section integrally formed thereon at a piston end; and a concave bearing shell section being integrally formed on an inside of the piston crown part, and at least one curved bearing shell section integrally formed on an inside of the piston skirt part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to integrally form the bearing pin on the piston end, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to integrally form the concave bearing shell on the piston crown par, and the curved bearing shell section on the piston skirt part, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 23, Pallmer discloses wherein the piston crown part (20) is pot-shaped (Fig. 2) and has a wall thickness of equal thickness (refer to the 112 2nd, for the purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted as the sides and bottom of the po-shape having equal wall thicknesses).
Regarding claim 24, Pallmer discloses wherein the pot-shaped piston crown part (20) is provided with a U-shaped circumferential groove (groove in which element 32 is disposed) in a radially outward edge region for receiving an elastomer sealing ring (32; Fig. 2; para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 25, Pallmer discloses wherein a cylindrical piston guide surface of the exciter piston (13) is formed by the sleeve-shaped piston skirt part (17) and has a relief recess (31) for mass reduction next to the piston crown part (20; Fig. 2; para. [__]).
Pallmer fails to disclose a non-cylindrical piston guide surface.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide a non-cylindrical piston guide surface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 26, Pallmer discloses wherein the piston skirt part (17) has a guide section at least partially surrounding the connecting rod (36) below the integrally-formed bearing pin section (34, 35).
Pallmer fails to disclose the integrally-formed bearing pin section.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the integrally-formed bearing pin section, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 29, Pallmer discloses wherein the piston crown part (20) is designed as a flat cap with the concave bearing shell section (34, 35) formed on the inside and covers the sleeve-shaped piston skirt part (17) at an end face and has a smaller diameter than a maximum diameter of the piston skirt part (17; Fig. 2).
Pallmer fails to disclose the concave bearing shell section integrally formed in the inside of the piston crown part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to integrally form the concave bearing shell section in the inside of the piston crown part, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 30, Pallmer discloses wherein the piston skirt part (17) is provided with a U-shaped circumferential groove (groove which receives elements 32) for receiving an elastomer sealing ring (32; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, Pallmer discloses wherein the concave bearing shell section (34) of the piston crown part (20) forms a forward stroke bearing for the connecting rod (36; Fig. 2), and two of the at least one curved bearing shell section (35 top, 35 bottom) are arranged on both sides of the connecting rod (36) to form a return stroke bearing for the connecting rod (36; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 32, Pallmer discloses wherein the curved (35) and concave (34) bearing shell sections form cylinder-segment-shaped bearing locations with a maximally semicircular enclosure of the bearing pin section (34, 35; Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 21, 22, 27, 28, 33 and 34-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 21, Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”) is the most relevant prior art.
Pallmer discloses wherein the connecting rod (36) together with the bearing pin section (34, 35) or the exciter piston (13).
Pallmer fails to disclose the integrally formed concave and curved bearing shell sections are produced from a plastic by casting.
Regarding claim 22, Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”) is the most relevant prior art.
Pallmer discloses the bearing pin section (34, 35) formed on the connecting rod (36).
Pallmer fails to disclose wherein the bearing pin section integrally formed on the connecting rod is provided with at least one recess introduced into an end face for mass reduction.
It would not be obvious to modify Pallmer with the aforementioned limitation because the addition of the recess would change the functions of the end face of Pallmer.
Regarding claim 27, Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”) is the most relevant prior art.
Pallmer discloses the concave bearing shell section (34) of the piston crown part (20) and the bearing pin section (34, 35) of the connecting rod (36; Fig. 2).
Pallmer fails to disclose further comprising at least one metal sheet for reducing heat or wear is arranged between the concave bearing shell section of the piston crown part and the bearing pin section of the connecting rod.
It would not be obvious to modify Pallmer with the aforementioned limitation because the addition of the metal sheets would require reconfiguring the elements of the Piston in Pallmer. This reconfiguration would render the tool inoperable. Additionally, adding the metal sheets to the configuration of Pallmer would impact frictional forces within the tool.
Regarding claim 33, Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”) is the most relevant prior art.
Pallmer discloses a running surface of the concave bearing shell (34) of the piston crown part (20).
Pallmer fails to disclose wherein at least one lubrication groove is in a running surface of the concave bearing shell section of the piston crown part.
It would not be obvious to modify Pallmer with the aforementioned limitation because the addition of a lubrication groove would require reconfiguring the elements of the Piston in Pallmer. This reconfiguration would render the tool inoperable.
Regarding claim 35, Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”) is the most relevant prior art.
Pallmer discloses the piston crown part (20) and the piston skirt part (17) are connected (Fig. 2; para. [0031]).
Pallmer fails to disclose wherein the piston crown part and the piston skirt part are connected to one another by welding or gluing, and wherein at least one recess for receiving welding or adhesive residues is arranged adjacent to the at least one welding or bonding point on the piston crown part or on the piston skirt part.
It would not have been obvious to modify Pallmer with the aforementioned limitation because it would teach against the connections used in Pallmer (para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 37, Pallmer et al. (US 2019/0184538; “Pallmer”) is the most relevant prior art.
Pallmer discloses wherein at least one centering lug (29).
Pallmer fails to disclose the at least one centering lug extending towards an opposite connection partner and engaging in a corresponding recess is integrally formed on the piston crown part or on the piston skirt part.
It would not have been obvious to modify Pallmer with the connection partner because that would require reconfiguring the tool of Pallmer to accommodate the connection partner.
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EYAMINDAE JALLOW whose telephone number is (571)270-1927. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am-5:00pm and alternating Fridays from 7:30am-4:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SHELLEY SELF, can be reached on (571)272-4524. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/EYAMINDAE C JALLOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731