DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein the difference in physical properties" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The difference in physical properties is introduced in claim 6, however claim 7 is dependent upon claim 1. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this claim to be dependent on claim 6.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "load-carr" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this recitation to read, “load-carrying rod”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matthis et al. (US 8216274 B2) (hereon referred to as Matthis).
Regarding claim 1, Matthis teaches a load-carrying rod (1) as part of an implant system for the dynamic stabilization of the spinal column (see Fig. 7),
wherein the rod (1) has an inhomogeneous cross-sectional structure of solidified droplets strung together (note that the rod is a macromolecular construction, wherein each macromolecule is a droplet connected to the next, see Col. 2, ll. 63-66),
stacked on each other and interconnected with adjacent droplets throughout the entire volume of the rod (see Col. 2, ll. 54-57) in order to inhibit the propagation of a crack through the rod (see Col. 3, ll. 12-18).
Regarding claim 2, Matthis teaches the load-carrying rod according to claim 1, wherein the rod is manufactured in 3D printing by additive manufacturing, preferably by a 3D manufacturing process where droplets are deposited sequentially and adjacently in lines (see Col. 3, ll. 4-9 and Col. 2, ll. 63-66).
Regarding claim 3, Matthis teaches the load-carrying rod according to claim 1, wherein the rod is made of a polycarbonate urethane (see Col. 2, ll. 58-60).
Regarding claim 4, Matthis teaches the load-carrying rod according to claim 1, wherein the rod is made from polycarbonate urethane of different mechanical stiffnesses in individual areas (see Col. 5, ll. 10-16, noting that polymers with hard and soft segments may be adhered together, thereby resulting in different physical properties which may reduce unwanted cracks, also see Col. 3, ll. 12-18).
Regarding claim 6, Matthis teaches the load-carrying rod according to claim 1, wherein the boundary surfaces between droplets have different physical properties than the interior of the droplets and thus prevent a mechanical crack from propagating (see Col. 5, ll. 10-16, noting that polymers with hard and soft segments may be adhered together, thereby resulting in different physical properties which may reduce unwanted cracks, also see Col. 3, ll. 12-18).
Regarding claim 7, Matthis teaches the load-carrying rod according to claim 6, wherein the difference in physical properties inside and outside the droplets is due to cohesive forces and adhesive forces (see Col. 5, ll. 10-16, noting that polymers with hard and soft segments may be adhered together, thereby resulting in variation in physical properties).
Regarding claim 8, Matthis teaches wherein the failure stress in a longitudinal direction is greater than transverse to the longitudinal direction (note that materials are extruded longitudinally, see Col. 4, ll. 33-39).
Regarding claim 10, Matthis teaches a manufacturing method for manufacturing the rod according to claim 1, wherein droplets are deposited in lines with one droplet adjacent to another, so that the adjacent droplets are at least superficially intermixed, and to let the droplet solidify (see Col. 3, ll. 4-9; note that extrusion heats and places droplets in a line as required by the claim).
Regarding claim 11, Matthis teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the droplets in a line are adjacently and immediately consecutively deposited in parallel to the length of the load-carrying rod (see Col. 2, ll. 63-66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthis as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Matthis teaches a lead carrying rod as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, wherein the droplet structure may have a variety of configurations (see Col. 2, ll. 63-66), however fails to teach the droplet size being 10 to 1000 micrometer, preferably 200 to 1000 micrometer (claim 5), and the rod having a length of 2 to 50 centimeter (claim 9).
With regard to claims 5 and 9, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the droplet size of Matthis to be within the range of 10 to 1000 micrometer (claim 5), and the rod having a length of 2 to 50 centimeter (claim 9), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773