Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghandour (PGPub No. 20120094422) in further view of Sun (CN 212257421) and Jansen (PGPub No. 20150263197).
Regarding claim 1, Ghandour teaches a method of making a photovoltaic module comprising multiple photovoltaic cells connected in series (Fig. 1B; 116a-116x), the method comprising: a) providing a module precursor structure comprising: i) a substrate (Fig. 2; 201); ii) a bottom electrode overlaying the substrate (Id.; 220); iii) a photoactive layer overlaying the bottom electrode (Id.; 230); and iv) a top electrode overlaying the photoactive layer, wherein at least one of the top and bottom electrodes is a transparent electrode (Fig. 2 and [0030]; 240); b) forming at least one megascribe along a first dimension of the module precursor structure to define first and second photovoltaic cells, wherein forming the megascribe comprises: i) removing the top electrode and photoactive layer in an upper scribe portion of the megascribe; and ii) removing the bottom electrode in a lower scribe portion of the megascribe (Id.; 225), c) forming a first insulating material along an edge of the first photovoltaic cell defined by the megascribe defined by the megascribe, wherein at least a portion of the bottom electrode corresponding to the second photovoltaic cell is not covered by either the first or second insulating materials (Id.; 235); and d) making a series connection between the first and second photovoltaic cells by forming an electrically conductive connector onto a portion of the top electrode of the first photovoltaic cell, over the first insulating material, and onto the portion of the bottom electrode of the second photovoltaic cell (Id.; 237).
Ghandour fails to teach the photoactive layer comprising at least a perovskite absorber layer; and forming a second insulating material along an edge of the second photovoltaic cell, wherein the first and second insulating materials are transparent to visible light.
Sun teaches the photoactive layer comprising at least a perovskite absorber layer (Fig. 1; 132). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour and Sun, such that the photoactive layer comprises at least a perovskite absorber layer in order to create a structure with faster development, higher efficiency, and/or lower cost in comparison to non-perovskite alternatives.
Ghandour et al. still fails to teach forming a second insulating material along an edge of the second photovoltaic cell, wherein the first and second insulating materials are transparent to visible light.
Jansen teaches forming a second insulating material along an edge of the second photovoltaic cell, wherein the first and second insulating materials are transparent to visible light (Fig. 14B and [0058]; 126). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Jansen, such that a second insulating material is formed in order to apply an insulating cover across photovoltaic cells on either side of a scribe line and by extension create a more efficient photovoltaic device.
Regarding claim 2, Ghandour teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein step b(i) is performed concurrently with step b(ii) (Fig. 2; 253 and 225).
Regarding claim 3, Ghandour teaches wherein the at least one megascribe is formed at least in part by laser etching, and wherein the laser etching comprises a single laser etching event ([0003]; “an excimer laser beam”).
Regarding claim 11, Ghandour teaches wherein the upper scribe portion has an average width in a range of 50 to 250 pm (Fig. 7 and [0038]; “scribe line widths range from about 25-150 micrometers. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).).
Regarding claim 12, Ghandour in combination with Jansen teaches wherein at least one of forming the first insulating material and forming the second insulating material comprises inkjet deposition of an insulator ink ([0030] of Ghandour points to a cured printed insulator ink 235. [0044] of Jansen further points to the application of dielectric material 26c via an inkjet printing process.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Jansen, such that the first and second insulating materials are formed via inkjet deposition in order to use a single-pass inkjet printing process that results in a more uniform deposition of material(s) and/or a simplification in the overall fabrication process.
Regarding claim 13, Jansen teaches wherein at least one of forming the first insulating material and forming the second insulating material comprises UV-curing of an insulator ink, and wherein forming the first insulating material and forming the second insulating material are performed under an inert atmosphere ([0058]; step 148 and dielectric material 126. It is considered obvious that the formation process(es) would be performed under an inert atmosphere in order to reduce/avoid the formation of any undue defects.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Jansen, such that the first and second insulating materials are formed via a UV-curing process in order to form each of the insulating materials into a desired shape thereby minimizing undesirable effects of laser ablation such as shunting, or undesirably high resistances.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghandour et al. in further view of Duncan (PGPub No. 20190300741).
Regarding claim 15, Ghandour in combination with Jansen teaches wherein forming the electrically conductive connector comprises inkjet deposition of a conductive ink ([0030] of Ghandour point to a conductive interconnect 237 made of cured printed silver ink. [0044] of Jansen further points to the application of dielectric material 26c via an inkjet printing process.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Jansen, such that the first and second insulating materials are formed via inkjet deposition in order to use a single-pass inkjet printing process that results in a more uniform deposition of material(s) and/or a simplification in the overall fabrication process.
Ghandour et al. fails to teach wherein forming the electrically conductive connector comprises i) photonic sintering of the conductive ink, or ii) sintering the conductive ink by heating in an oven or contact with a heated gas.
Duncan teaches wherein forming the electrically conductive connector comprises i) photonic sintering of the conductive ink, or ii) sintering the conductive ink by heating in an oven or contact with a heated gas ([0076]; subjecting a conductive ink to post-processing sintering treatments, including thermal sintering, electrical sintering, chemical sintering, plasma sintering, photonic sintering, and microwave sintering.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Jansen, such that the electrically conductive connector comprises photonic or thermal sintering of a conductive ink in order to further enhance the conductivity of said ink according to the needs of certain applications.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghandour et al. in further view of Wiedeman (PGPub No. 20120000502).
Regarding claim 20, Wiedeman teaches wherein the module precursor structure is in the form of a web made by roll-to-roll manufacturing (Fig. 1 and [0043-44]; 100). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Wiedeman, such that the module precursor structure is in the form of a web in order to create a thin flexible substrate with partially singulated cell regions which allows for the use of compact, less expensive vacuum systems and/or the creation of cells with a relatively high tolerance to rapid heating and cooling and to large thermal gradients, resulting in a low likelihood of fracture or failure during processing.
Claim(s) 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghandour et al. in further view of Basol (PGPub No. 20080196756).
Regarding claim 22, Basol teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein step (b) and step (c) are performed in sequence (Fig. 4, [0019], and [0021]; steps I and III respectively) at a common interconnect processing station (Fig. 2; 22-24), and further comprising forming an additional megascribe which defines additional photovoltaic cells in a module precursor structure at the common interconnect processing station concurrently with forming of the first and second insulating materials along the edges of the first and second photovoltaic cells (Fig. 4; 41, 40). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Basol, such that steps (b) and (c) are performed in sequence and an additional megascribe is formed so as to define additional photovoltaic cells in order to reduce cost and/or simplify the interconnection process by using a roll-to-roll or reel-to-reel fabrication method that is less labor intensive and complex than alternative processes.
Regarding claim 23, Basol teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein step (c) and step (d) (Fig. 4, [0019], and [0022]; steps I and IV respectively) are performed in sequence at a common interconnect processing station (Fig. 2; 24-25), and further comprising forming an additional insulating material along an edge of an additional photovoltaic cell in a module precursor structure at the common interconnect processing station concurrently with forming of the electrically conductive connector making a series connection between the first and second photovoltaic cells (Fig. 4; 47, 40). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Basol, such that steps (c) and (d) are performed in sequence and an additional insulating material along an edge of an additional photovoltaic cell is formed in order to reduce cost and/or simplify the interconnection process by using a roll-to-roll or reel-to-reel fabrication method that is less labor intensive and complex than alternative processes.
Claim(s) 28-30, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghandour et al. in further view of Lee (PGPub No. 20180138343).
Regarding claim 28, Lee teaches wherein the top electrode is a composite conductor comprising a transparent top conducting layer (Fig. 5; 420) disposed over the photoactive layer (Id.; 160) and a set of top metal lines disposed over the transparent top conducting layer (Id.; 423). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Lee, such that the top electrode is a composite conductor comprising a transparent top conducting layer and a set of top metal lines in order to create an electrode with a low-resistance network that can carry current while allowing light to pass through.
Regarding claim 29, Lee teaches wherein the composite conductor comprises a first region comprising a first set of top metal lines and a second region comprising a second set of top metal lines, wherein a space between the first region and the second region defines a process target region where there are no top metal lines, and wherein the at least one megascribe is formed within the process target region (Fig. 4; 151, 152). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Lee, such that a first region, a second region, and a process target region are formed in order to form composite conductors/top electrodes that each correspond to a separated solar cell.
Regarding claim 30, Lee teaches wherein the transparent top conducting layer comprises a conductive metal oxide having a thickness of less than 100 nm, and the top metal lines have an average height of at least 100 nm (Fig. 5; 420, 423. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the thickness/height of each component to be result effective variables. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee to have the thickness of the transparent top conducting layer and the height of the top metal lines within the claimed ranges in order to best balance the conductive and resistive properties of the overall electrode structure, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Lee, such that the transparent top conducting layer and top metal lines are formed with an adequate thickness/height in order to create an electrode with a low-resistance network that can carry current while allowing light to pass through.
Regarding claim 33, Lee teaches wherein the top metal lines are aligned in a second dimension substantially orthogonal to the first dimension, and wherein the top metal lines are substantially parallel to each other (Figs. 4-5; 423) and comprise an average spacing in a range of 0.1 to 2.0 mm (One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the average spacing between top metal lines to be a result effective variable. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Lee to have the average spacing within the claimed range in order to ensure uniformity and/or functionality, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Lee, such that the top metal lines are aligned in the second dimension and substantially parallel to each other in order to create a uniform plurality of top metal lines that simplifies the fabrication process while also reducing/preventing any undue interference between adjacent sets of top metal lines.
Regarding claim 35, Lee teaches wherein the bottom electrode is a composite conductor comprising a set of bottom metal lines (Fig. 5; 443) disposed over the substrate (Id.; 160) and a transparent bottom conducting layer interposed between the bottom metal lines and the photoactive layer (Id.; 440). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghandour et al. and Lee, such that the bottom electrode is a composite conductor comprising a set of bottom metal lines and a transparent bottom conducting layer in order to create an electrode with a low-resistance network that can carry current while allowing light to pass through.
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899