This is a first office action on the merits of application SN 19/128,256 and filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2010/0282934 to Cattaneo.
Cattaneo teaches
1. An adjustable support device (10) for hanging furniture to a wall, comprising; a shaped plate (16, 18, 18’), having two coplanar wings (18,18’), configured to constrain the adjustable support device to the furniture, and an intermediate zone (as best seen in figure 2) which is recessed with respect to a fixing plane identified by the two coplanar wings and which is configured to be housed in a recess in a shoulder of the furniture, wherein a body of a hooked hanging arm (14) protruding from the shaped plate and a kinematic mechanism (17, 17’,30,31,33) for adjusting a position of the hooked hanging arm with respect to the shaped plate are housed in the intermediate zone (as best seen in figure 2), wherein the hooked hanging arm ends with a hooked end (15), which is configured to hook onto a support plate fixed to the wall on which the furniture is to be hung, and wherein the hooked hanging arm has the hooked end offset with respect to the body of the hooked hanging arm in order to be arranged in a hooking plane which is spaced, in an opposite direction to a recess formed by the intermediate zone, from the fixing plane identified by said two coplanar wings (as best seen in figure 2 and 2b).
2. wherein the hooked end and the body of the hooked hanging arm extend parallel to each other (as best seen in figure 2b and 5b, a portion of the end 15 is parallel to the body of the arm).
3. wherein said hooking plane is spaced from the fixing plane by an amount comprised between 2 and 20 mm (as best seen in figures 1-2 the hook is greater than 2mm).
4. wherein the kinematic mechanism comprises a first adjustment (17) which allows to adjusting a projection of the hooked hanging arm from the shaped plate parallel to the fixing plane, and a second adjustment (17’), which allows adjusting an inclination of the hooked hanging arm between the two coplanar wings, parallel to the fixing plane and around a hinging zone (34) near an end of the hooked hanging arm opposite said hooked end.
5. wherein the first adjustment comprises a sliding adjustment screw (30) which controls a sliding of the hooked hanging arm.
6. wherein the second adjustment comprises an inclination adjustment screw (31) with having an end which pushes directly or through a slider on an arched return (33), which forms a limit switch to an inclination movement of the hooked hanging arm.
7. wherein the sliding adjustment screw and the inclination adjustment screw have respective heads (as best seen in figure 1) with axial engagement seats of a tool for a rotation of the respective heads.
10. wherein the hooked hanging arm is made in the form of is shaped as a fork embracing the intermediate recessed zone on opposite faces (as best seen 2 and 2b).
11. further comprising dowels (20,20’, as best seen in ifgrue 4C and 5c) protruding from the two coplanar wings in a same direction as the recess in the intermediate zone and configured for insertion in fixing holes in a piece of the furniture.
12. wherein the dowels comprise a first rigid section (20) near adjacent to the two coplanar wings and a second yielding pressure engagement section (21 as best seen in figure 5c).
13. A hanging assembly of a piece of furniture hanging on a wall comprising an adjustable support device (10) and an engagement bracket (par 40) configured to be fixed on the wall and comprising a hooking seat (par 40) for the hooked end of the hooked hanging arm of the adjustable support device, wherein the hooked end of the hooked hanging arm is offset with respect to the arm body of the hooked hanging arm in order to be arranged in the hooking plane, which is spaced from the fixing plane identified by said two coplanar wings by at least an amount equal to a minimum established distance 'b' to be maintained between the hooked end of the adjustable support device and a side edge (par 40) of the engagement bracket facing the fixing plane identified by said two coplanar wings.
15. wherein the engagement seat is defined by an upper engagement tooth (inherently the portion of bracket described in par 40 that engages the slot in the end of the hook) of the engagement bracket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2010/0282934 to Cattaneo in view WIPO Publication 2012/048849 Cattaneo.
Cattaneo ‘849 teaches an adjustable support device with screws (33,46) for sliding and inclination of a hanging arm (25). The screws have a head with a bevel gear (40,52) that engages with a idle bevel gear (41,53). The hanging arm has an end (30) pressed together and offset with a hook. The hook engages an edge of a hooking window (75).
Rgearding claims 8 and 9, Cattaneo ‘934 discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the screw head having a bevel gear engaging in a idle bevel gear.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Cattaneo ‘934 by adding bevel gears as taught by Cattaneo ‘849 to allow for easier access to rotate the adjustment screws.
Regarding claim 14, Cattaneo ‘934 discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the engagement bracket having a window.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Cattaneo ‘934 by pressing the sides of the hook together to create a narrower hook and adding a window to the engagement bracket as taught by Cattaneo ‘849 to allow for limited adjustment, small space on the wall, and lateral securement to the wall.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent EP 2596720 to Cattaneo in view of WIPO Publication WO 2010/012503 to Cattaneo.
Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
1. An adjustable support device (50) for hanging furniture to a wall, comprising; a shaped plate (63), having two coplanar wings (64,64), configured to constrain the adjustable support device to the furniture, and an intermediate zone (62) which is recessed with respect to a fixing plane identified by the two coplanar wings and which is configured to be housed in a recess (66) in a shoulder of the furniture, wherein a body of a hooked hanging arm (56) protruding from the shaped plate and a kinematic mechanism (57,58) for adjusting a position of the hooked hanging arm with respect to the shaped plate are housed in the intermediate zone, wherein the hooked hanging arm ends with a hooked end (55), which is configured to hook onto a support plate fixed to the wall on which the furniture is to be hung,
Cattaneo ‘720 does not expressly disclose the hooked end is offset.
Cattaneo ‘503 teaches
An adjustable support device with a hanging arm having an offset end as best seen in figure 1.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the adjustable device of Cattaneo ‘720 by using an offset end t the hooked arm as taught by Cattaneo ‘503 to move the contact point away from eh edge of the cabinet.
Regarding claim 2, Cattaneo ‘503 teaches
2. wherein the hooked end and the body of the hooked hanging arm extend parallel to each other (as best seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Cattaneo ‘503 teaches
3. wherein said hooking plane is spaced from the fixing plane by an amount comprised between 2 and 20 mm (as bets seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
4. wherein the kinematic mechanism comprises a first adjustment (57) which allows to adjusting a projection of the hooked hanging arm from the shaped plate parallel to the fixing plane, and a second adjustment (58), which allows adjusting an inclination of the hooked hanging arm between the two coplanar wings, parallel to the fixing plane and around a hinging zone near an end of the hooked hanging arm opposite said hooked end.
Regarding claim 5, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
5. wherein the first adjustment comprises a sliding adjustment screw (57) which controls a sliding of the hooked hanging arm.
Regarding claim 6, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
6. wherein the second adjustment comprises an inclination adjustment screw (58) with having an end which pushes directly or through a slider on an arched return (), which forms a limit switch to an inclination movement of the hooked hanging arm.
Regarding claim 7, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
7. wherein the sliding adjustment screw and the inclination adjustment screw have respective heads (figure 11) with axial engagement seats of a tool for a rotation of the respective heads.
Regarding claim 8, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
8. wherein the sliding adjustment screw and the inclination adjustment screw have respective heads shaped like a bevel gear (figures 16, 19, and 23), which engages in an idle bevel gear (57B, 58B) for maneuvering with an axis transverse to the sliding adjustment screw.
Regarding claim 9, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
9. wherein the slide sliding adjustment screw and the inclination adjustment screw have respective heads shaped like a bevel gear (figures 16, 19, and 23) for a transverse engagement of a tool for a rotation of the sliding adjustment screw and the inclination adjustment screw.
Regarding claim 10, Cattaneo ‘720 in view of Cattaneo ‘503 teaches
10. wherein the hooked hanging arm is made in the form of is shaped as a fork (Cattaneo ‘ 720, figure 5 or Cattaneo ‘503, figure 1, fork 14) embracing the intermediate recessed zone on opposite faces.
Regarding claim 11, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
11. further comprising dowels (65, figure 11 and 12 ) protruding from the two coplanar wings in a same direction as the recess in the intermediate zone and configured for insertion in fixing holes in a piece of the furniture.
Regarding claim 12, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
12. wherein the dowels comprise a first rigid section (figure 11 and 12) near adjacent to the two coplanar wings and a second yielding pressure engagement section (as best seen in figures 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 13, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
13. A hanging assembly of a piece of furniture hanging on a wall comprising an adjustable support device (50, described above) and an engagement bracket (71) configured to be fixed on the wall and comprising a hooking seat (as best seen in figures 1-10) for the hooked end of the hooked hanging arm of the adjustable support device, wherein the hooked end of the hooked hanging arm is offset with respect to the arm body of the hooked hanging arm in order to be arranged in the hooking plane, which is spaced from the fixing plane identified by said two coplanar wings by at least an amount equal to a minimum established distance 'b' to be maintained between the hooked end of the adjustable support device and a side edge of the engagement bracket facing the fixing plane identified by said two coplanar wings.
Regarding claim 14, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
14. wherein the hooking seat comprises a hooking window (70) with a side wall (as best seen in figure 3) more oriented towards the fixing plane of the two coplanar wings and the minimum established distance is between said side wall and said side edge of the engagement bracket.
Regarding claim 15, Cattaneo ‘720 teaches
15. wherein the engagement seat is defined by an upper engagement tooth (built by the window) of the engagement bracket.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/Examiner, Art Unit 3637