DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 05/08/2025. Claim 10 has been amended. Presently, Claims 1-10 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “the invention can easly” in line 1 should recite “easily”. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Claim 6, “through a wire” is neither identified in FIG. 4, nor is there a corresponding numerical number in the specification. Claim 8, “power cables connecting the ring-shaped electrode pattern and a first main power supply terminal protruding upward from the cartridge housing are disposed inside the first and second board fixing portions.”-power cables are neither identified in any figure. No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: FIG. 2 the element number 820 residing above 800 should recite 810 (not 820) to be consistent with FIG. 3 & 5-6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors as there are multiple translational misspellings. As one example, ¶0117, “poser” should recite “power”. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 1:
line 3, ““through which ultrasonic waves pass”.
line 5, “generate the ultrasonic waves”
Claim 2:
line 2, “the ultrasonic waves”.
Claim 8:
lines 4-5, “the plurality of first and second board fixing portions”
Claim 10:
line 3, “[[a]]the therapeutic ultrasound generation device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The nonce term “power supply protruding terminal unit” for supplying power to the ultrasound transducer used in claim(s) 3, 5-6, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The nonce term “ultrasound transducer displacement unit” for adjusting a movement radius of the focus on a plane using in claim 9 invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The term, “unit” is a non-structural generic placeholder that does not include any specific structure for performing the accompany functions. See MPEP 2181.I.A: The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Please note that for the purposes of this examination the phrase “power supply protruding terminal unit” is being interpreted to include a jig pin member, pin insertion member, & pin support spring as described in ¶0021 in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Please note that for the purposes of this examination the phrase “ultrasound transducer displacement unit” is being interpreted to include generic motor ¶0134 for moving adjusting the movement radius as described in ¶0134 in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
lines 7-8, “an eccentric shaft eccentrically connected to a center of body of the ultrasound transducer on a top of the ultrasound transducer”, is grammatically unclear. It is unclear what a center of body of the ultrasound transducer refers to. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an eccentric shaft connect to a top of the ultrasound transducer at a point offset from a center of the ultrasound transducer. Clarity is needed.
line 7, “eccentric shaft”. It is unclear what an eccentric shaft is. The term is not a known term in the art. The shaft 500 is not physically built with an off-center axis itself, rather the shaft is centrally positioned that connects to an off-center position through intermediate components on a top of the transducer, and is it interpreted as such. Clarity is needed.
Claim 7:
line 3, “the position of the power supply board”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a position of the power supply board. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 6-7, “the position of the board position-fixing board”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a position of the board position-fixing board. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 8:
lines 3-5 “power cables connecting the ring-shaped electrode pattern and a first main power supply terminal protruding upward from the cartridge housing are disposed inside the first and second board fixing portions.”. It is unclear what the ring-shaped electrode pattern is connected to. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes that the plurality of first and second board fixing portions are formed in a hollow tubular shape housing power cables connecting the ring-shaped electrode pattern to a first main power supply terminal protruding upward from the cartridge housing. Clarity is needed. Note; this correction does not obviate the drawing objection of this feature in lines 3-5.
Claim 9:
line 4, “the focus on a plane”. It is unclear if this phrase is corresponding to the previous focus of ultrasonic waves generated by the ultrasound transducer as it moves in a circular path on the plane define in claim 2, or another plane. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the focus of the plane. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US20180353778A1) in view of Chen et al (US20200196982A1).
Claim 1: Jeong discloses, A therapeutic ultrasound generation device comprising: (¶Abstract, ¶0008)
a cartridge housing (500) having, on a bottom thereof, a window configured to come into contact with the skin, through which ultrasonic pass; (¶0019, cartridge casing unit 500 housing the ultrasonic wave generating unit 200, and on the bottom part it features an ultrasonic penetration unit 500a made of transparent or translucent material, ¶0021-0022. Windows 521 & 531 allow ultrasonic waves to pass through, ¶0049-0050. The window is configured to come into contact with the skin during operation, ¶Abstract, ¶0008-0010.)
an ultrasound transducer (ultrasonic wave generating unit 200 is provided with a transducer 210 generating ultrasonic wave by being supplied with electrical power, ¶0017) positioned to rotate on a plane in the cartridge housing and configured to generate ultrasonic waves; (the ultrasonic wave generating unit 200 is “allowed to freely rotate in X, Y, and Z axis directions with the ball body 332 b as the center”, ¶0030. Because it moves in a 360 circular motion to force the focal point to move in the a circle on the same plane; hence, the transducer’s 360-degree continuous motion constitutes as being positioned to rotated on a plane in the cartridge housing.)
a rotating motor (rotating motor 100) configured to rotate the ultrasound transducer; and (¶0017, ¶0023, ¶0025, ¶0054, rotating motor is equipped with a motor shaft 110 that receives power to generate the rotational force. This motor drives the mechanism such as the rotation plate to force the transducer 210 to tilt and rotate its focal point in a 360-degree circular motion.)
a shaft (110) connected (Interpreted as encompassing intermediate components) to a center of body of the ultrasound transducer on a top of the ultrasound transducer, configured to rate by rotational force transmitted from the rotating motor, (¶0023, ¶0027, ¶0034-0035, motor shaft 100 drives the rotation of the transducer to force it to tilt and rotate. The motor shaft 110 is connected to a center of body of the ultrasound transducer on at gematrically position that is on a top of the ultrasound transducer (i.e., above it). See FIG. 2)
Jeong fails to disclose:
an eccentric shaft eccentrically connected to a center of body of the ultrasound transducer on a top of the ultrasound transducer,
However, Chen in the context of ultrasound probe sealed housing discloses: an eccentric shaft eccentrically (first shaft 15, FIG. 5) connected to (Interpreted as encompassing intermediate components) a center of body of the ultrasound transducer on a top of the ultrasound transducer (14), and configured to rotate by rotational force transmitted from the rotating motor (17) (FIG. 5, the first shaft 15 serves as the eccentric shaft. Its positional relationship is off-set from the transducer. This relationship to the transducer is eccentric. Because the shaft drives the transducer along the spiral radius that increase outward from the center, the axis of rotation of the first shaft 15 is continuously offset (eccentric) relative to the position of the transducer, ¶0027, ¶0034, ¶0040. Furthermore, FIG. 5 demonstrates this eccentric alignment relative to the geometrical center of the ultrasonic probe 14.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of Jeon to incorporate the teachings and features of Chen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the driving mechanism allowing a simple rotational motion into a spiral movement for the transducer, as suggested by Chen, ¶0043, ¶0061.
Claim 2: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Jeong fails to disclose: wherein the ultrasound transducer is rotated around the eccentric shaft, whereby a focus of ultrasonic waves generated by the ultrasound transducer moves in a circular path on a plane.
However, Chen is relied upon above disclose: wherein the ultrasound transducer is rotated around the eccentric shaft, whereby a focus of ultrasonic waves generated by the ultrasound transducer moves in a circular path on a plane. (FIG. 5, the first shaft 15 serves as the eccentric shaft. Its positional relationship is off-set from the transducer. This relationship to the transducer is eccentric. Because the shaft drives the transducer along the spiral radius that increase outward from the center, the axis of rotation of the first shaft 15 is continuously offset (eccentric) relative to the position of the transducer, ¶0027, ¶0034, ¶0040. Furthermore, FIG. 5 demonstrates this eccentric alignment relative to the geometrical center of the ultrasonic probe 14, where the ultrasonic waves generated by the ultrasound transducer moves in a circular path on a plane PB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of modified Jeon to incorporate the teachings and features of Chen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the driving mechanism allowing a simple rotational motion into a spiral movement for the transducer, as suggested by Chen, ¶0043, ¶0061.
Claim 9: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Jeong fails to disclose, further comprising an ultrasound transducer displacement unit under which the ultrasound transducer is movably positioned and to an upper portion of which the eccentric shaft is connected, thereby being able to adjust a movement radius of the focus on a plane.
However, Chen is relied upon above discloses: further comprising an ultrasound transducer displacement unit (arm 13) under which the ultrasound transducer (probe 14) is movably positioned (¶Abstract, ¶0040-0041) and to an upper portion of which the eccentric shaft (first shaft 15) is connected, (¶0030, ¶0040-0043) thereby being able to adjust a movement radius of the focus on a plane (¶0030, ¶0040-0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify device of modified Jeon to further comprise the teachings and features of Chen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the driving mechanism allowing a simple rotational motion into a spiral movement for the transducer, as suggested by Chen, ¶0043, ¶0061.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 20180353778 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 20200196982 A1), as applied to claim 3, in further view of Ha (US 20210220677 A1).
Claim 4: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 3, Jeong discloses, wherein the cartridge housing (500) has a sealed internal structure (500b is sealed off, ¶0045, ¶0050) and is filled with an ultrasound transmission medium (¶0043, ‘a division part 600 dividing an ultrasonic wave generating space 500 b being disposed with the ultrasonic wave generating unit 200 therein and being filled with a medium for transmission of the ultrasonic wave’), and the ultrasound transmission medium is a liquid (¶0048, ‘A medium such as water having low ultrasonic wave loss factor is filled in the ultrasonic wave generating space 500 b to prevent a loss of ultrasonic waves emitted from the transducer 210 generating ultrasonic waves for a medical treatment. Besides water, any fluid having a lower ultrasonic wave loss factor than water may be filled inside the ultrasonic wave generating unit 200, as is clearly stated here.’).
Jeong fails to disclose that the liquid is an insulating liquid.
However, Ha in the context of skin car devices in ultrasound discloses, an insulating liquid. (¶0065, ‘The cartridge 200 stores distilled water functioning as a medium during emission of a high-intensity focused ultrasonic wave, and the distilled water also serves the function of cooling an overheating phenomenon that may occur. Therefore, a distilled water introducing port 205 is installed in a surface of the cartridge 200 and is connected to an internal sealed distilled-water tank (not shown).’; Distilled water is a non-conductive liquid.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water of modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Ha. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the electrical insulation.
Claims 3 & 5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 20180353778 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 20200196982 A1), as applied to claim 3, in further view of Bockenstedt et al (US 20090240146 A1).
Claim 3: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1,
Jeong discloses a power supply board disposed above and spaced apart from the ultrasonic transducer in the cartridge housing, (FIG. 2 PCB 700/710/720, ¶0049, ‘having a first PCB 710 and a second PCB 720 being installed thereto and separated therefrom to control operation of the transducer 210,’).
Jeong fails to disclose: further comprising:
a power supply protruding terminal unit protruding upward from the ultrasound transducer and configured to supply power to the ultrasound transducer; and
a power supply board disposed above and spaced apart from the ultrasonic transducer in the cartridge housing, to which the power supply protruding terminal unit is connected.
However, Bockenstedt in the context of therapeutic ultrasound transducers discloses,
a power supply protruding terminal unit protruding upward from the ultrasound transducer and configured to supply power to the ultrasound transducer; and (electrical pins 24 attach to and extend from the transducer 22 to an interface within the transducer assembly, ¶0068, ¶0074. Transducer 22 is located at the bottom or a lower section of the housing, ¶0049, ¶0069. These connection pins convey electrical signals to and from the transducer, which includes providing power, , ¶0049, ¶0074. These pins protrude form the transducer at the bottom of the housing toward the upper interface and convey power, hence, a power supply protruding terminal unit configured to supply power to the ultrasound transducers that protrudes upward from the ultrasound transducer.)
a power supply board (PCB 28) disposed above and spaced apart from the ultrasonic transducer in the cartridge housing (16), to which the power supply protruding terminal unit is connected. (interface 28, a printed circuit board PCB or PCBA is located inside the interchangeable transducer housing 16. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this housing 16 serves as the cartridge housing. The PCB 28 handles the routing of electrical communication, including power between the communication port and the transducer 22, hence, constituting as a power supply board. PCB 28 is above and spaced apparat from the transducer 22. There exist a distance between the transducer 22 and 28 by the use of spring-loaded connection to allow for safety, ¶0070. The concentric liner 26 is positioned inside the housing 16 to hold the connection pints 24 in place. The connection pints 24 connect to the transducer 22 to the interface 28, thereby the protruding terminal unit connects to the board. See FIG. 5A & 6D.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify device of modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Bockenstedt. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving power transfer without degradation in performance, as suggested by Bockenstedt, ¶0006.
Claim 5: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Jeong fails to disclose: wherein a ring-shaped electrode pattern connected through a power cable to receive power is positioned on a bottom of the power supply board, and the power supply protruding terminal unit moves in a circular path along the ring-shaped electrode pattern in elastic contact with the ring-shaped electrode pattern.
However, Bockenstedt is relied upon above discloses: wherein a ring-shaped electrode pattern (slip rings 102 a-c / 24 r) connected through a power cable to receive power is positioned on a bottom of the power supply board, (This slip ring PCB 29 includes slip rings 102a-I or trace rings 102a-c, which act as the ring shaped electrode pattern. Because the protruding terminal unit (24) extends upward from the transducer 22 to press against these trace rings, ¶0079, the ring-shaped patten is positioned on the bottom surface of the PCB 29. No matter what orientation the top 16A has to the bottom 16B, the electrical pins 24, 40 will still match up with the traces to provide proper electrical communication from the communication port to the transducer, ¶0079. PCB 28/29 receive electrical communication including power via cables that extend from the system’s based to the therapy head, ¶0053. The cables connect to the electrical connectors 40 which route the power to the PCB 28/29, ¶0048-0049.) and
the power supply protruding terminal unit moves in a circular path along the ring-shaped electrode pattern in elastic contact with the ring-shaped electrode pattern (the power supply protruding terminal unit (24) utilizes spring loaded connectors or spring pins to provide an expansive nature to maintain contact across distances, ¶0070, Claim 10. ¶0068, ‘The transducer 22 is shown having a set of pin receptors 24 r where the electrical pins 24 attach to the transducer.’ The trace rings 102a-c on the PCB 29 allow the upper housing 16A and the lower housing 16B to be press fit together without regard to the orientation of the parts relative to teach other, ¶0079. Therefore, during assembly, the electrical pins (24) can freely move in a circular path along the trace rings to any radial orientation and still match up with the traces.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply board of modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Bockenstedt. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving power transfer without degradation in performance, as suggested by Bockenstedt, ¶0006.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply protruding terminal unit of modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Bockenstedt. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving power transfer without degradation in performance, as suggested by Bockenstedt, ¶0006.
Claim 7: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Jeong fails to disclose: further comprising:
a board position-fixing board positioned between a top of the cartridge housing and the power supply board and configured to support the position of the power supply board;
a plurality of first board fixing portions having both ends fixed to the top of the cartridge housing and the board position-fixing board and configured to support the position of the board position-fixing board; and
a plurality of second board fixing portions having both ends fixed to the board position- fixing board and the power supply board and configured to support the position of the power supply board.
However, Bockenstedt is relied upon above discloses:
further comprising:
a board position-fixing board (seal 14 & isolation layer 34, ¶0069-0070) positioned between a top of the cartridge housing (the top of housing 16 A) and the power supply board (PCB 28) and configured to support the position of the power supply board; (seal 14 & isolation layer 34, ¶0070, anchor and align the connector pins 40. These pins are spring pins and electrical connectors. When housing section 16A is lowered, these components are prese firmly against the upper surface of PCB 28, ¶0069-0070. This downward spring force from the pins held by the isolation layer 34 and 14 effectively clamps the PCB 28/29 against the pins 24 and linear 26. Without these components the PCB 28/29 would not be supported in its position.)
a plurality of first board fixing portions having both ends fixed to the top of the cartridge housing and the board position-fixing board and configured to support the position of the board position-fixing board; and (electrical connector pins 40 are made of split separate parts, ¶0070, FIG. 5A & 6A,. The upper parts of the electrical connector pins 40 extending beyond isolation layer 34 (i.e., a plurality of first fixing portions) and fixed to a top of the cartridge housing 16A and board position-fixing board (seal 14 & isolation layer 34). The upper parts electrical pins 40 are configured to support the board position-fixing board, ¶0069-0070.)
a plurality of second board fixing portions having both ends fixed to the board position- fixing board and the power supply board and configured to support the position of the power supply board. (electrical connector pins 40 are made of split separate parts, ¶0070, FIG. 5A & 6A,. The lower parts of the electrical connector pins 40 extending below isolation layer 34 & seal 14 (i.e., a plurality of second fixing portions) and fixed to board position-fixing board (seal 14 & isolation layer 34) and power supply board (28/29). The lower parts of electrical pins 40 are configured to support the board position-fixing board, ¶0069-0070.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Jeong to further comprise the teachings of Bockenstedt. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving power transfer without degradation in performance, as suggested by Bockenstedt, ¶0006.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US20180353778A1) in view of Chen et al (US20200196982A1) in view of Bockenstedt et al (US 20090240146 A1), as applied to claim 5, in further view of Sobhani (US 5746606 A).
Claim 6: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Jeong fails to disclose: wherein the power supply protruding terminal unit comprises: a jig pin member connected to the ring-shaped electrode pattern and electrically connected to the ultrasound transducer through a wire; a pin insertion member positioned on the top of the ultrasonic transducer, in which the jig pin member is positioned to be movable up and down; and a pin support spring member positioned in the pin insertion member and configured to elastically support the jig pin member.
However, Bockenstedt is relied upon above discloses:
wherein the power supply protruding terminal unit (24) comprises:
a jig pin member (The distal end of the electrical pin connections 24 constitutes as a jig pin member) connected to the ring-shaped electrode pattern (24 r) and electrically connected to the ultrasound transducer (transducer 22) through a conductive pathway (¶0068, ‘The transducer 22 is shown having a set of pin receptors 24 r where the electrical pins 24 attach to the transducer.’, see also ¶0069)
Bockenstredt teaches the power supply protruding terminal unit positioned on the top of the ultrasound transducer (as seen in FIG. 6A & 6D)
Bockenstredt further teaches, ¶0095, ‘Alternative transducer signal connections include using direct electrical connection via pin and socket, direct electrical connection via soldered spring contact and PCB trace, direct electrical connection via PCB trace to floating spring contact (e.g. in carrier) to PCB trace, direct electrical contact via a post and socket with multiple connections (e.g. stereo headphone jack), as well as wireless types of interconnects, such as inductive coupling, and capacitive coupling.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply protruding terminal unit of modified Jeong to incorporate the teachings of Bockenstedt. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving power transfer without degradation in performance, as suggested by Bockenstedt, ¶0006.
Jeon fails to disclose:
That the electrical connection to the ultrasound transducer is through a wire;
Additionally, Jeon fails to disclose:
a pin insertion member positioned on the top of the connector, in which the jig pin member is positioned to be movable up and down; and
a pin support spring member positioned in the pin insertion member and configured to elastically support the jig pin member.
However, Sobhani in the context of power supply field of endeavor discloses, a power supply protruding terminal unit (spring-loaded contact device 10, FIG. 1) comprises:
a jig pin member (pin 20, FIG. 1) connected to the ring-shaped electrode pattern (conductive traces 42) and electrically connected to a connector (connector 10) through a wire (wire 45, FIG. 2));
a pin insertion member (cylindrical housing 11, FIG. 1) positioned on the top of the connector (connector 46, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the housing 11 would be positioned on the top of the connector), in which the jig pin member (pin 20, FIG. 1) is positioned to be movable up and down ([Col 3 l.8-20], ‘In a reduced to practice embodiment of the spring loaded contact device 10, it had a fully extended length of 0.220 inches, the first diameter 13a of the housing 11 was 0.035 inches, the slightly larger diameter 13b was 0.037 inches, the lip 13c and head 18 had diameter of 0.040 inches, the length of the housing 11 was 0.160 inches, the diameter of the hole 14 was 0.010 inches, the head 18 had a length of 0.030 inches, and the head 18 had a curved contact surface with a radius of 0.032 inches. The pin 20 had a travel of 0.030 inches. The housing 11, spring 21, and pin 20 were made from exotic gold to provide a spring loaded contact device 10 having excellent electrical conductivity.’; [Col. 4 l.14-17], ‘More specifically, if the respective planes of the first and second printed wiring boards 37, 39 are not parallel, then the pins 20 of the spring loaded contact devices 10 adjust for the differences in distance therebetween’); and
a pin support spring member (spring 21, FIG. 1) positioned in the pin insertion member (FIG. 1, spring 21 is positioned in the pin insertion member 11, [Col. 2 l.35-47], ‘In a reduced to Referring to the drawing figures, FIG. 1 is a cross sectional view of a spring loaded contact device 10 in accordance with the principles of the present invention. The spring loaded contact device 10 comprises a cylindrical housing 11 having an internal bore 12 and a closed first end with a hole 14 therethrough. The housing 11 has a first diameter 13a adjacent the first end for a portion (about one-third) of the length of the housing 11, and a slightly larger diameter 13b for substantially the remainder of the housing 11, and a lip 13c formed at a second or opposite end of the housing 11 from the first end. A spring 21 is disposed in the bore 12 which has one end disposed adjacent the hole 14 in the housing 11.practice embodiment of the spring loaded contact device 10, it had a fully extended length of 0.220 inches, the first diameter 13a of the housing 11 was 0.035 inches, the slightly larger diameter 13b was 0.037 inches, the lip 13c and head 18 had diameter of 0.040 inches, the length of the housing 11 was 0.160 inches, the diameter of the hole 14 was 0.010 inches, the head 18 had a length of 0.030 inches, and the head 18 had a curved contact surface with a radius of 0.032 inches. The pin 20 had a travel of 0.030 inches. The housing 11, spring 21, and pin 20 were made from exotic gold to provide a spring loaded contact device 10 having excellent electrical conductivity.’) and configured to elastically support the jig pin member ([Col 2 l.49-64], ‘A pin 20 is disposed in the bore 12 and has a cylindrical portion 16 that is disposed in the bore 12 and contacts the second end of the spring 21. The pin 20 has a center portion 17 that is smaller in diameter than the first portion 16. The pin 20 is tapered between the first and second portions 16, 17. A dimple 15 is formed in the housing 11 that secures the pin 20 in the bore 12. The pin has a head 18 that has a cylindrical shape that is rounded at its end. The head 18 of the pin 20 is designed to ride on metal traces formed on a printed wiring board as shown in FIGS. 2-4. The spring loaded contact device 10 is designed so that it is extremely long wearing and resilient. The components of the spring loaded contact device 10 may be formed from brass, beryllium copper or preferably high purity gold, such as from a material known as exotic gold, manufactured by Ny Corporation, for example’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply protruding terminal unit of modified Jeong, to incorporate the teachings of Sobhani. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to provide “an improved spring loaded contact device and spring loaded rotary connector having rotatable printed wiring boards electrically interconnected by a plurality of the spring loaded contact devices that slide on conductive traces.”, as suggested by Sobhani, [Col. 1 5-10]. The modified combination would disclose the jig pin member electrically connected to the ultrasound transducer through a wire; the pin insertion member positioned on the top of the ultrasonic transducer, in which the jig pin member is positioned to be moveable up and down; and a pin support spring member positioned in the pin insertion member and configured to elastically support the jig pin member.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US20180353778A1) in view of Chen et al (US20200196982A1) in view of Bockenstedt et al (US 20090240146 A1), as applied to claim 7, in further view of Kurtz et al (US 4,513,623).
Claim 8: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Jeong fails to disclose:
wherein the plurality of first board fixing portions and the plurality of second board fixing portions are formed in a shape, and
conductive pathways connecting the ring-shaped electrode pattern and a first main power supply terminal protruding upward from the cartridge housing are disposed inside the first and second board fixing portions.
However, Bockenstedt is relied upon above discloses:
wherein the plurality of first board fixing portions (electrical connector pins 40 are made of split separate parts, ¶0070, FIG. 5A & 6A,. The upper parts of the electrical connector pins 40 extending beyond isolation layer 34 (i.e., a plurality of first fixing portions) and fixed to a top of the cartridge housing 16A and board position-fixing board (seal 14 & isolation layer 34). The upper parts electrical pins 40 are configured to support the board position-fixing board, ¶0069-0070.) and the plurality of second board fixing portions (electrical connector pins 40 are made of split separate parts, ¶0070, FIG. 5A & 6A,. The lower parts of the electrical connector pins 40 extending below isolation layer 34 & seal 14 (i.e., a plurality of second fixing portions) and fixed to board position-fixing board (seal 14 & isolation layer 34) and power supply board (28/29). The lower parts of electrical pins 40 are configured to support the board position-fixing board, ¶0069-0070.) are formed in a shape (FIG. 6A & 6D, and
conductive pathways connecting the ring-shaped electrode pattern (slip rings 102 a-c / 24 r) and a first main power supply terminal protruding upward (socket lands 102 a-c, FIG. 6B. The socket lands protrude upwardly to connect the medical system.) from the cartridge housing (housing 16, FIG. 6A-6D) are disposed inside the first and second board fixing portions. (There lies conductive pathways when the transducer is plugged into the therapy head, the external connectors 40 press against these socket lands 102 a-c, ¶0077. This completes the circuit allowing power, ground, and transmit/receive signals to flow the from the main systems cabling, through the connectors, 40, and down to the internal circuitry of the transducer, ¶0048-0049, ¶0077. The electrical connectors 40 connect to the PCB (28/29) to provide electrical communication, ¶0069. From the PCB 28/29 to the transducer. The internal electrical connection pins 24 are held in the liner, ¶0068, and press directly against the 24 LR (ring shaped electrode pattern) to pick up the signal, ¶0080. They extend upward and marking connection with the lands or rings on the bottom of the lower surface of the PCB (28/29), FIG. 6A & 6D. At the transducer the electrical path starts at 24LR trace ring, which rings around the circumference of the transducer 22, ¶0080. Therefore, this establishes the conduction pathway connecting the ring-shaped electrode pattern and a first main power supply terminal protruding upward from the cartridge housing are disposed inside the first and second board fixing portions.)
Jeong fails to disclose:
wherein the plurality of first board fixing portions and the plurality of second board fixing portions are formed in a hollow tubular shape and power cables.
However, Kurtz discloses wherein the plurality of first board fixing portions and the plurality of second board fixing portions are formed in a hollow tubular shape (upper and lower portions of tubular members 90 located near elements 96-97, FIG. 1) and power cables (leads 23 & 24 – the wires are inserted into the hollow tubes 70 & 71, FIG. 1 which provide electrical communication to the transducer device, [Col. 1 l.43-55], [Col 3 to 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of first and second board fixing portions to be formed of a hollow tubular shape for power cables to reside as taught by Kurtz. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the housing configuration for a transducer, as suggested by Kurtz, [Col. 1].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US 20180353778 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 20200196982 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Park (KR102135733B1).
Claim 10: Jeong as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Jeong discloses, A therapeutic ultrasound generation device (see Jeong in view of Chen above in claim 1) comprising: a therapeutic ultrasound generation device detachably coupled to the body housing, wherein the therapeutic ultrasound generation device is the therapeutic ultrasound generation device of claim 1 (see Jeong in view of Chen above in claim 1).
Jeong fails to disclose that the therapeutic ultrasound generation device comprising: a body housing connected to a control body through a handpiece cable assembly;
However, Park in the context of ultrasound generators for therapy discloses: the therapeutic ultrasound generation device comprising: a body housing (FIG. 1, 100) connected to a control body (FIG. 1, 1000) through a handpiece cable assembly (FIG. 1, 1100);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the therapeutic ultrasound generation device of modified Jeong in view of Chen to comprise the teachings of Park. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing and allowing the procedure to be performed safely as suggested by Park, ¶0106.
Conclusion
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798