Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed 05/08/2025. Claims 1-7 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 05/08/2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. See claim 1 reciting “actuation means”, “optical means”, and “processing means”, & claim 2 reciting “means for acquiring” and “man/machine interface means for”. See specification disclosing the “optical means” may include a camera, the “processing means” and “means for acquiring” may include a generic computer, and the “man/machine interface means for” may include a keyboard or a mouse or a joystick.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “actuation means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. For example, the disclosure recites “the support is equipped with actuators to make the second nib haptic”, however no association between this structure and the claimed function may be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer Usa Cmi: “Fiber Optic Gyroscope Coil Winding”, 16 October 2015 (2015-10-16), XP093058339) URL: https: www.youtube.com/watch?v=d93gnBQoK2k -IDS in view of Pavlath et. al. “Fiber optic gyros from research to production”, Proceedings of Spie; [Proceedings of Spie], Spie, US, vol. {0} 9852, 12 May 2016 (2016-05-12), page 985205-985205- IDS
Regarding claim 1
Fraunhofer Usa Cmi discloses “A gyroscope fiber optic coil manufacturing system comprising: a mandrel with corresponding actuation means for forward and reverse rotation;” (See Fraunhofer disclosing the manufacturing of fiber optic gyroscopes including a mandrel with a servo motor with forward and reverse rotation.).
Fraunhofer Usa Cmi discloses “one or more optical means arranged to continuously acquire images of the coil during the winding process;” (See Fraunhofer disclosing a camera.).
Fraunhofer Usa Cmi discloses “processing means operatively connected with the robotic arm, with the one or more optical means and with the actuation means of the mandrel rotation;” (See Fraunhofer disclosing a controller.).
Fraunhofer Usa Cmi discloses “and for controlling the actuation means of the rotation of the mandrel according to the images acquired continuously, so as to control the manufacture of the optical fiber coil.” (See Fraunhofer disclosing a controller.).
Fraunhofer Usa Cmi discloses all the elements of claim 1 except “a robotic arm equipped with a first nib, in the terminal part,”, “wherein the first nib has an elongated and partially flexible shape to guide the positioning of optical fiber during its winding on the mandrel;”, & “wherein said processing means is configured for: controlling the robotic arm;”.
Pavlath discloses “a robotic arm equipped with a first nib, in the terminal part,” (See Pavlath Abstract and Fig. 6, disclosing controlling the position of a fiber optic coil by a robotic arm.).
Pavlath discloses “wherein the first nib has an elongated and partially flexible shape to guide the positioning of optical fiber during its winding on the mandrel;” (See Pavlath Fig. 6, “left” disclosing a coil winding robot with a robot arm comprising a nib with an elongated shape.).
Pavlath discloses “wherein said processing means is configured for: controlling the robotic arm;” (See Pavlath Fig. 6, “left” and description disclosing a coil winding robot with automated control, implying some processing means controls the robot arm.).
Fraunhofer Usa Cmi and Pavlath are analogous art, because they are in the same field of endeavor, robotics. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fraunhofer to incorporate the teachings of Pavlath to include a robot arm provided for controlling the position of a fiber optic coil in a manufacturing system. Doing so provides known structure in the art for the production of fiber optic gyroscopes, incorporated with a reasonable expectation of success as it advantageously improves the operation of a gyro fiber optic winding machine by achieving a more precise fiber positioning during rotation of the mandrel.
Allowable by Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2
The recitation “and a second nib holder system equipped with: a haptic interface and means for acquiring the spatial position of the second nib, able to detect a roto-translation of the second nib;” overcomes the art of record, rendering the claims in manner specific enough to overcome the closest prior art, Fraunhofer Usa Cmi in view of Pavlath et. al. The claim specifically overcomes the art of record, because of the limitation directed to using a haptic device to overrule the automatic actuation of the mandrel rotation, thus improving an automatic operation of the gyroscopic fiber optic machine. The subject matter of the claims is therefore allowable.
Regarding claim 4
The recitation “wherein said processing means are configured by means of a learning neural network.” overcomes the art of record, rendering the claims in manner specific enough to overcome the closest prior art, Fraunhofer Usa Cmi in view of Pavlath et. al. The claim specifically overcomes the art of record, because of the limitation directed to training a neural network movements necessary to achieve a correct configuration of the fiber on the reel, thus improving an automatic operation of the gyroscopic fiber optic machine. The subject matter of the claims is therefore allowable.
Conclusion
/JERROD IRVIN DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3656