DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/8/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10, and 12-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fogarty (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0146440 A1), hereafter referred to as Fogarty’440 in view of Thijssen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0082634 A1), hereafter referred to as Thijssen’634.
Referring to claim 1, Fogarty’440, as claimed, an adapter handset configured to electrically interface with a desk controller (workstation controller interfaces with various devices, see para. [0025]) of an electrically powered sit-stand desk (Fig. 1), wherein the desk controller includes a multi-pin desk controller connector (electrical ports and connectors, see Figs 11 and 12), said adapter handset comprising: a multi-pin handset connector (interfacing with various devices, see para. [0025]); and a processor (processors, see paras. [0020]-[0022]); wherein in use, said adapter handset is configured to electrically interface with the desk controller via: conductive connections between pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector and corresponding pins of said multi-pin handset connector (interfacing with various devices, see para. [0025], Figs. 4, 11, 12).
However, Fogarty’440 does not explicitly disclose voltage measurement of at least two of the connected pins of the connector.
Thijssen’634 discloses voltage measurement of at least two of the connected pins of the connector (check for voltage on DCIO and accessory device on AID pin, see paras. [0095]-[0107], [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise voltage measurement of at least two of the connected pins of the connector, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 2, Fogarty’440 teaches all the claimed limitations except measure voltage of the at least two connected pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector, to give a 1st undetermined Desk Controller Connector Pinout Fingerprint (DCCPF); compare 1st undetermined DCCPF voltages with predetermined DCCPFs, each corresponding with a predetermined desk controller type; match the 1st undetermined DCCPF with at least one of the predetermined DCCPF DCCPFs; and re-configure said adapter handset multi-pin handset connector such that an Adapter Handset Connector Pinout Fingerprint (AHCPF) matches the at least one predetermined DCCPFs.
Thijssen’634 discloses measure voltage of the at least two connected pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector, to give a 1st undetermined Desk Controller Connector Pinout Fingerprint (DCCPF) (check for voltage on DCIO and accessory device on AID pin, see paras. [0095]-[0107], [0129]); compare 1st undetermined DCCPF voltages with predetermined DCCPFs, each corresponding with a predetermined desk controller type; match the 1st undetermined DCCPF with at least one of the predetermined DCCPFs (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces, see paras. [0095]-[0119]); and re-configure said adapter handset multi-pin handset connector such that an Adapter Handset Connector Pinout Fingerprint (AHCPF) matches the at least one predetermined DCCPFs (start system bus of terminal in the right mode, see para. [0095] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise measure voltage of the at least two connected pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector, to give a 1st undetermined Desk Controller Connector Pinout Fingerprint (DCCPF); compare 1st undetermined DCCPF voltages with predetermined DCCPFs, each corresponding with a predetermined desk controller type; match the 1st undetermined DCCPF with at least one of the predetermined DCCPF DCCPFs; and re-configure said adapter handset multi-pin handset connector such that an Adapter Handset Connector Pinout Fingerprint (AHCPF) matches the at least one predetermined DCCPFs, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 3, Fogarty’440 also discloses each of the pins of said multi-pin handset connector is reconfigurable as at least one of: a push-pull Universal Asynchronous Receiver-Transmitter (UART); an open collector UART; an open collector Input Output (IO); a bidirectional IO; and/or an Active High Current Source (AHCS) (various connections including USB, Ethernet, display port, DVI, headphone jack, HDMI, etc., see para. [0025], Figs. 4, 10-13).
As to claim 4, Fogarty’440 discloses each-pin of the pins of said multi-pin handset connector is connected via a multiplexer to an Analog to Digital Converter (ADC) in said processor (interfacing with various devices, see paras. [0025], [0037], Figs. 4, 11, 12; also note: Fig. 8A, the current is analog but the CPU only processes digital information).
As to claim 6, Fogarty’440 does not explicitly teach adapter handset comprising Input voltage protection and over-current output protection, and said desk controller comprising over-current protection.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise input voltage protection and over-current output protection, and said desk controller comprising over-current protection since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to provide electrical protection to controllers and devices as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 8, Thijssen’634 discloses electrically interface with said the desk controller by comparison of pinout fingerprint voltages with stored records of predetermined desk controllers (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise electrically interface with said the desk controller by comparison of pinout fingerprint voltages with stored records of predetermined desk controllers, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 10, Thijssen’634 discloses to perform voltage measurement performed for all of the pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector (check for voltage on DCIO and accessory device on AID pin, see paras. [0095]-[0107], [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise to perform voltage measurement performed for all of the pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 12, Thijssen’634 discloses Desk Controller Connector Pinout Fingerprint (DCCPF) identification (check for voltage on DCIO and accessory device on AID pin, see paras. [0095]-[0107], [0129]), and Adapter Handset Connector Pinout Fingerprint (AHCPF) reconfiguration (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]; start system bus of terminal in the right mode, see para. [0095] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise Desk Controller Connector Pinout Fingerprint (DCCPF) identification, and Adapter Handset Connector Pinout Fingerprint (AHCPF) reconfiguration, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 13, Thijssen’634 discloses to perform the AHCPF reconfiguration, said processor is configured to reconfigure an AHCPF of said adapter handset to switch control circuitry and re-route: inputs from the multi-pin desk controller connector to outputs on said processor, and outputs from the multi-pin desk controller connector to inputs on said processor (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]; start system bus of terminal in the right mode, see para. [0095] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise to perform the AHCPF reconfiguration, said processor is configured to reconfigure an AHCPF of said adapter handset to switch control circuitry and re-route: inputs from the multi-pin desk controller connector to outputs on said processor, and outputs from the multi-pin desk controller connector to inputs on said processor, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 14, Thijssen’634 discloses reconfigure said multi-pin handset connector such that the AHCPF corresponds with a matched predetermined DCCPF (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]; start system bus of terminal in the right mode, see para. [0095] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise reconfigure said multi-pin handset connector such that the AHCPF corresponds with a matched predetermined DCCPF, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 15, Thijssen’634 discloses submit one or more interrogatory communications to the desk controller; and verify a response validity of a DCCPF match by assessing a handset controller's response validity to validate a communication protocol of the desk controller (identification sequence and using repetition frequency to verify accessory can be identified repeatedly, see paras. [0106]-[0108], [0122], [0125], [0132], [0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise submit one or more interrogatory communications to the desk controller; and verify a response validity of a DCCPF match by assessing a handset controller's response validity to validate a communication protocol of the desk controller, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 16, Thijssen’634 discloses AHCPF reconfiguration such that the AHCPF corresponds with at least one of the DCCPF matches (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]), verification of the response validity of the at least one DCCPF matches by submission of one or more interrogatory communications submitted to the desk controller, and assessment of a handset controller's response validity (identification sequence and using repetition frequency to verify accessory can be identified repeatedly, see paras. [0106]-[0108], [0122], [0125], [0132], [0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise AHCPF reconfiguration such that the AHCPF corresponds with at least one of the DCCPF matches, verification of the response validity of the at least one DCCPF matches by submission of one or more interrogatory communications submitted to the desk controller, and assessment of a handset controller's response validity, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 17, Thijssen’634 discloses resolve the multiple DCCPF matches (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]) further by:
repeating reconfiguration, verification and assessment for a next matched DCCPF if the assessment is deemed valid, or generating an error if all matched predetermined DCCPFs are unsuccessfully validated, or requesting a user to perform one or more interactions, inputs and/or confirmations of predetermined test actions if all matched predetermined DCCPFs fail the validation and an undetermined DCCPF is not identified (identification sequence and using repetition frequency to verify accessory can be identified repeatedly, see paras. [0106]-[0108], [0122], [0125], [0132], [0136]).
As to claim 18, Thijssen’634 discloses to perform monitoring of the multi-pin desk controller connector for a disconnection status (the accessory is considered detached when the accessory no longer can be identified, see para. [0137]).
As to claim 19, Fogarty’440 discloses circuitry configured to receive power, prior to an AHCPF reconfiguration, from any of the pins of the multi-pin desk controller connector and provide power to said processor (workstation controller include numerous wired connection ports for communicating (i.e. sending and/or receiving) power and data to and/from the subcomponents that are external to device housing 192. Within device housing 192, subcomponents may be communicatively coupled to processor by cables and/or PCB traces, see paras. [0061], [0071], and Figs. 4, 11, 12).
As to claim 20, Fogarty’440 discloses an electrically powered sit-stand desk comprising said adapter handset of claim 1 and including at least one: electrical motor (motors, see Fig. 10 and para. [0044]); height adjusting linear actuator for altering the height of the desk, the said linear actuator coupled to said motor (vertical actuator 112 can be stopped at many or every height between the raised and lower heights, see paras. [0042]-[0045]); electronic desk controller, configured to control said motor to adjust the desk height via said linear actuator (drive controller may activate actuators 112 in response to signals from user operable controls 120, see Fig. 1 and para. [0043]); said desk controller further including a multi-pin desk controller connector (various connections including USB, Ethernet, display port, DVI, headphone jack, HDMI, etc., see para. [0025], Figs. 4, 5, 7, 10-13).
Note claim 21 recites similar limitations of claim 1. Therefore it is rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 22 recites similar limitations of claim 2. Therefore it is rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
As to claim 23, Fogarty’440 discloses to a 1st sit-stand desk (see Fig. 1).
Thijssen’634 discloses configuring each pin of the multi-pin handset connector to an undriven state (idle state, see paras. [0108], [0120]); scanning, by the processor, each pin of the multi-pin handset connector to measure voltage at each corresponding connected pin of the multi- pin desk controller connector (check for voltage on DCIO and accessory device on AID pin, see paras. [0095]-[0107], [0129]); repeating said scanning if no voltage is detected at any of the pins (identification sequence and using repetition frequency to verify accessory can be identified repeatedly, see paras. [0106]-[0108], [0122], [0125], [0132], [0136]); recording the voltage at each of the pins if voltage is detected at any of the pins-pin, the voltages at each of the pins stored as a 1st undetermined DCCPF; and comparing the 1st undetermined DCCPF with a stored plurality of predetermined DCCPFs to produce comparison outcomes (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces, see paras. [0095]-[0119]); wherein the comparison outcomes include no match, where there is no matched predetermined DCCPF, and matched, where there is a match with a 1st predetermined DCCPF (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]; start system bus of terminal in the right mode, see para. [0095] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fogarty’440’s invention to comprise configuring each pin of the multi-pin handset connector to an undriven state; scanning, by the processor, each pin of the multi-pin handset connector to measure voltage at each corresponding connected pin of the multi-pin desk controller connector; repeating said scanning if no voltage is detected at any of the pins; recording the voltage at each of the pins if voltage is detected at any of the pins-pin, the voltages at each of the pins stored as a 1st undetermined DCCPF; and comparing the 1st undetermined DCCPF with a stored plurality of predetermined DCCPFs to produce comparison outcomes; wherein the comparison outcomes include no match, where there is no matched predetermined DCCPF, and matched, where there is a match with a 1st predetermined DCCPF, as taught by Thijssen’634, in order to identify communication of an attached electronic unit to start bus in the right mode (see para. [0095]).
As to claim 24, Thijssen’634 discloses the comparison outcomes further includes include: multiple matches, where the 1st undetermined DCCPF is matched with multiple predetermined DCCPFs (identifying a number of accessories/interfaces from voltages, see paras. [0095]-[0119]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Labrosse et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,827,829 B1) discloses height adjustable support surface and system for encouraging human movement and promoting wellness.
Sculley et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,459,611 B1) discloses a method for anonymously associating a workstation user’s station control preferences with a workstation.
Sculley et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,690,111 B1) discloses a system for establishing control of affordances at a workstation.
Matlin (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0311445 A1) discloses variable height platform device and sensor arrangement.
DE LA FUENTE SANCHEZ (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0093260 A1) discloses a universal adjustable height desk controller that enables a conventional electric height adjustable desk to act as a Smart sit-and-stand desk.
Tantos et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0125930 A1) discloses a configurable connector with fixed-function and multi-function pins.
Piesciorovsky et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0200332 A1) discloses a system for identifying pinout information for and IED and operable to test the IED in accordance with a power system.
Carpenter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0126005 A1) discloses dynamic configuration of connectors for system-level communications.
Wiener et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0159586 A1) discloses a powered sit-stand desk allowing user to transition between a sitting configuration and a standing configuration.
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Contact Information
/TITUS WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181