DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-12, 14-16, 19-20, 24-25, 27-28 and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20220182665) (hereinafter Li) in view of Ko et al. (US20200275124) (hereinafter Ko).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an encoding method comprising: obtaining an intra prediction mode for a current block to be encoded [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
obtaining a list of intra prediction modes, wherein the list comprises a set of intra prediction modes ordered according to how frequently each intra prediction mode occurs and further adapted according to at least one characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
encoding the intra prediction mode for the current block responsive to the list of intra prediction modes [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
Li discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Li does not explicitly disclose characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth.
Ko more explicitly discloses characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [0138-0162, 0177-0188; various coding teachings utilizing block parameters including size, shape and depth parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li with the teachings of Ko as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, further data compression efficiency while improving quality is achieved (see Ko 0003-0011).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is ordered in a decreasing order of frequency [0198-0214; lists are sorted and ordered in various configurations].
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block [Fig. 9, 0072, 0096, 0141-0143; coding parameters including neighboring block information].
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the neighboring blocks comprise one block located at half position of a current block width and one block located at half position of a current block height [Figs. 7-10, 0152-0177; various block divisions and splits].
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein the neighboring blocks comprise blocks located at least one quarter position of a current block width and height [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses wherein the list of intra prediction modes comprises, after the set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks, at least one intra prediction mode of another ordered list of default intra prediction modes whose order depends on a shape of the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing parameters including block shape].
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses wherein a size of the list depends on a size of the current block or on a tree-depth associated with the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing various parameters].
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses a decoding method comprising: obtaining encoded data for a current block to be decoded [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
obtaining a list of intra prediction modes wherein the list comprises a set of intra prediction modes ordered according to how frequently each intra prediction mode occurs and further adapted according to at least one characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
decoding an intra prediction mode from the encoded data responsive to the list of intra prediction modes [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
Li discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Li does not explicitly disclose characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth.
Ko more explicitly discloses characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [0138-0162, 0177-0188; various coding teachings utilizing block parameters including size, shape and depth parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li with the teachings of Ko as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, further data compression efficiency while improving quality is achieved (see Ko 0003-0011).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is ordered in a decreasing order of frequency [0198-0214; lists are sorted and ordered in various configurations].
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block [Fig. 9, 0072, 0096, 0141-0143; coding parameters including neighboring block information].
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses wherein the neighboring blocks comprise one block located at half position of a current block width and one block located at half position of a current block height [Figs. 7-10, 0152-0177; various block divisions and splits].
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses wherein the neighboring blocks comprise blocks located at least one quarter position of a current block width and height [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
Regarding claim 24, Li discloses wherein the list of intra prediction modes comprises, after the set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks, at least one intra prediction mode of another ordered list of default intra prediction modes whose order depends on a shape of the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing parameters including block shape].
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses wherein a size of the list depends on a size of the current block or on a tree-depth associated with the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing various parameters].
Regarding claim 27, Li discloses an encoding apparatus comprising one or more processors and at least one memory coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform (Fig. 20; CRM):
obtaining an intra prediction mode for a current block to be encoded [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
obtaining a list of intra prediction modes, wherein the list comprises a set of intra prediction modes ordered according to how frequently each intra prediction mode occurs and further adapted according to at least one characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
encoding the intra prediction mode for the current block responsive to the list of intra prediction modes [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
Li discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Li does not explicitly disclose characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth.
Ko more explicitly discloses characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [0138-0162, 0177-0188; various coding teachings utilizing block parameters including size, shape and depth parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li with the teachings of Ko as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, further data compression efficiency while improving quality is achieved (see Ko 0003-0011).
Regarding claim 28, Li discloses a decoding apparatus comprising one or more processors and at least one memory coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or obtaining encoded data for a current block to be decoded [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
obtaining a list of intra prediction modes, wherein the list comprises a set of intra prediction modes ordered according to how frequently each intra prediction mode occurs and further adapted according to at least one characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
decoding an intra prediction mode from the encoded data responsive to the list of intra prediction modes [ABS, 0006-0012, 0032, 0151-0177; video coding process including intra prediction mode, most probable and other parameters to construct lists and tables].
Li discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Li does not explicitly disclose characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth.
Ko more explicitly discloses characteristic of the current block selected from the group consisting of block size, block shape, and tree depth [0138-0162, 0177-0188; various coding teachings utilizing block parameters including size, shape and depth parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li with the teachings of Ko as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, further data compression efficiency while improving quality is achieved (see Ko 0003-0011).
Regarding claim 31, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block, and wherein the neighboring blocks comprise one block located at half position of a current block width and one block located at half position of a current block height [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
Regarding claim 32, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block, and wherein the neighboring blocks comprise blocks located at least one quarter position of a current block width and height. [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
Regarding claim 33, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block, and wherein the list of intra prediction modes comprises, after the set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks, at least one intra prediction mode of another ordered list of default intra prediction modes whose order depends on a shape of the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing parameters including block shape].
Regarding claim 34, Li discloses wherein a size of the list depends on a size of the current block or on a tree-depth associated with the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing parameters including block shape].
Regarding claim 35, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block, and wherein the neighboring blocks comprise one block located at half position of a current block width and one block located at half position of a current block height [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
Regarding claim 36, Li discloses wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block, and wherein the neighboring blocks comprise blocks located at least one quarter position of a current block width and height [Figs. 7-18, TBLS 1-2, 0051-0053, 0072-0081, 0152-0177; frequence tables, average usage and other parameters including block size used in coding process].
Regarding claim 37, Li discloses claim 28, wherein the set of intra prediction modes is a set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block, and wherein the list of intra prediction modes comprises, after the set of intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks, at least one intra prediction mode of another ordered list of default intra prediction modes whose order depends on a shape of the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing parameters including block shape].
Regarding claim 38, Li discloses wherein a size of the list depends on a size of the current block or on a tree-depth associated with the current block [Fig 16, 0273-0287; lists and modes constructed utilizing parameters including block shape].
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483