DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 6, 18-21, 24-26, 29-30, 33, 36-37, 45-48 and 51-53 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 May 2025 was filed before the mailing of an Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the term “variant” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what compounds or peptides are within the scope of a variant of the claimed sequence. The instant specification states that variants are biologically active constructs, proteins, antibodies, or fragments thereof having an amino acid sequence that differs from a comparator sequence by virtue of an insertion, deletion, modification and/or substitution of one or more amino acid residues within the comparative sequence. The definition does not provide any limitations to the type or size of modification of the comparative sequence. Therefore, it is unclear what peptides or compounds are within the scope of the instant claims.
Also, regarding claims 21 and 51, the recitation “the peptide comprises or consists of the sequence…” is interpreted to mean that the peptide can be the exact length and sequence as written or a longer peptide containing the claimed sequence. The term “fragment” thereof is interpreted to include a smaller portion of the peptide sequence (e.g., 2-11 amino acid sequence), a single amino acid (i.e., G, P, Q, G, I, W, or K) and functional groups such as CH2, C(O), NH, etc.
Regarding claim 36, the phrases “such as” and “including” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parekkadan et al. (WO 2019/104154 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Parekkadan et al. disclose pegylated products comprising the reaction product of acrylate-PEG-SVA and a peptide (Tables 3-4). Parekkadan et al. disclose the reaction product of acrylate-PEG-SVA and a degradable peptide of sequence GGGPQG↓IWGQGK, wherein ↓ indicates a cleavage point by collagenase between the leucine and glycine residues ([00136]; Table 5). Parekkadan et al. disclose the structure acryl-PEG-peptide-PEG-acryl ([00136]).
Claims 1, 6, 18-21, 24-26, 33, 36, 46 and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martinez et al. (Biorxiv, 2021).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Martinez et al. disclose Ac-PEG-PQ-PEG-Ac, wherein Ac is acrylate, and PQ is the MMP-labile peptide KGGGPQG↓IWGQGK (↓ denotes cleavage site) (Section 2.3).
Regarding claims 6, 18, 24-25 and 51-52, Martinez et al. disclose combining thiolated hyaluronic acid with the PEG prepolymer (Section 2.5; Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 19-20 and 53, Martinez et al. disclose that the peptide was reacted with Acrylate-PEG-succinimidyl valerate (Ac-PEG-SVA) (Section 2.3).
Regarding claim 26, Martinez et al. disclose that for cell encapsulations, HA-SH working solution and acrylated pendant peptide solution were first mixed and allowed to react for 30 minutes. Crosslinker working solutions were added to the above HA solutions, reacted for 5 minutes, and the total hydrogel solution was used to gently resuspend the prepared cell pellets until the hydrogel suspension was uniform (Section 2.5).
Regarding claims 33, 36 and 46, Martinez et al. disclose hydrogel-cell suspensions (Section 2.5).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lanfer et al. (EP 3 181 152 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lanfer et al. disclose the preparation of the star-PEG hydrogel comprising:
a. Synthesis of RGD-PEG: RGDS peptide (obtained via solid state synthesis) is dissolved in anhydrous dimethyl sulfoxide with 2 µl diisopropylethylamine and then added dropwise to dry acryolyl-4 arm PEG-succinimidyl carboxymethyl at a molar ration of 1:1.2;
b. The product is dialyzed against water with a 5000 Da molecular cut off membrane and lyophilized;
c. Synthesis of the protease-sensitive peptide sequence bound to PEG: GGGPQGIWGQGK peptide (obtained via solid state synthesis) is dissolved in anhydrous dimethyl sulfoxide with 2 µl diisopropylethylamine and then added dropwise to dry acryolyl-4 arm PEG-succinimidyl carboxymethyl at a molar ration of 2:1;
d. The product is dialyzed against water with a 5000 Da molecular cut off membrane and lyophilized;
e. Formation of hydrogels: mixing of product from 6.c. (10 % w/v) in sterile HEPES-buffered saline with 1.5 % triethanolamine and 3.95 µl N-vinyl-2-pyrrolidone (NVP);
f. Addition of 5 mM RGD-PEG (product from 6.a.) to the solution in 6.e. and addition of this mixture onto a layer of BNC;
g. Hydrogel and BNC layer are connected by standard technologies known to the art, such as 'biological glue' (e.g. fibrin glue) as mentioned above, or by means of standard chemical binding reactions; and
h. Cross-linking of hydrogels with white light for 35 seconds ([0199]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 18-21, 25-26, 29-30, 33, 36, 46 and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parekkadan et al. (WO 2019/104154 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
The teachings of Parekkadan et al. are discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Parekkadan et al. do not explicitly disclose a combination comprising [acryl-PEG-peptide-PEG-acryl]n and a thiolated biomolecule, as instantly claimed.
However, Parekkadan et al. teach degradable hydrogels, wherein non-enzymatic methods of polymer degradation can also be included in methods and systems of the present invention, such as thiol functionalized PEG macromers can be used to provide degradability in response to reducing microenvironments, such as in the presence of glutathione ([00138]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare the hydrogel compositions according to Parekkadan et al. comprising [acryl-PEG-peptide-PEG-acryl]n and a thiol functionalized PEG in order to prepare degradable hydrogels.
Regarding claims 18 and 51, Parekkadan et al. teach that the PEG will be terminated with a thiol group to form PEG-diester-dithiol cross-linker ([00138]).
Regarding claims 19-20, Parekkadan et al. teach the acrylate-PEG-SVA ([00136]; Tables 3-5).
Regarding claim 21, Parekkadan et al. teach the degradable peptide of sequence GGGPQG↓IWGQGK, wherein ↓ indicates a cleavage point by collagenase between the leucine and glycine residues ([00136]; Table 5).
Regarding claim 25, Parekkadan et al. teach combining the peptide and the acrylate-PEG-SVA ([00136]; Tables 3-5).
Regarding claim 26, Parekkadan et al. teach the reaction product of the same peptide and acrylate-PEG-SVA as the instant invention. Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the polymerization will occur in the same amount of time as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 29-30, Parekkadan et al. teach that the polymerization can occur with a photoinitiator, such as triethanolamine, 1-vinyl-2-pyrrolidinone (NVP) and eosin Y disodium salt ([00127]; Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 33, Parekkadan et al. teach that the hydrogel is biodegradable and supports cell viability ([00134]-[00138]; Claim 1).
Regarding claim 36, Parekkadan et al. teach the capsule further comprising a cell adhered to a substrate, wherein the adherent cell is a selected from the group consisting of a stem cell, a pancreatic islet, a peripheral blood mononuclear cell, an endothelial progenitor cell, a blood fibrocyte, a bone marrow cell, a T cell, a B cell, a dendritic cell, an NK cell, a monocyte, a CD34+ cell, a hepatocyte, a gastrointestinal cell, a skin cell, a skin progenitor cell, a cancer cell, a hybridoma cell, a prokaryotic cell, a HEK293T packaging cell, a yeast cell, a pancreatic precursor cell, a Mesenchymal Stem Cell (MSCs), a Chinese Hamster Ovary (CHO) cell, a Madin-Darby Canine Kidney Epithelial (MDCK) cell, and a Vero cell, a neural stem cell, an embryonic stem cell, and a pluripotent stem cell (Claims 27-29).
Regarding claim 46, Parekkadan et al. teach a hydrogel (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 52, Parekkadan et al. teach the PEG will be terminated with a thiol group to form PEG-diester-dithiol cross-linker, and the hydrogel is cross-linked ([0013]-[0014], [00138]; Claims 4 and 39-42).
Claims 6, 18-21, 24-26, 29-30, 33, 36-37, 45-48 and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanfer et al. (EP 3 181 152 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 6, 18, 24-25 and 51-53, Lanfer et al. do not explicitly disclose the acryl-PEG-peptide-PEG-acryl prepolymer combined with a thiolated biomolecule, as instantly claimed.
However, Lanfer et al. teach that in certain embodiments of the invention, the hydrogel comprises a hyaluronan (or a functionalized/derivatized hyaluronan) and a gelatin (or a functionalized/derivatized gelatin) ([0109]); wherein the hyaluronan and the gelatin are each thiolated. In certain embodiments the hyaluronan and the gelatin have each been thiol-modified using carbodiimide mediated hydrazide chemistry. In certain embodiments a hyaluronan sodium salt is used. In certain embodiments an acrylated hyaluronic acid is used. In certain embodiments the hyaluronan derivative and gelatin derivative are crosslinked. In some embodiments, the gel-forming material is based on chemically-modified hyaluronic acid ([0110]). Another example of a crosslinked hydrogel comprises thiol-modified hyaluronan and thiol-modified heparin (which can ionically bind a wide variety of growth factors and slowly releases them over time) reacted with a thiol-reactive crosslinker such as polyethylene glycol diacrylate. Thiol-modified heparin allows the slow release of growth factors (GFs) within an easily customizable environment ([0111]). In certain embodiments, the hydrogel is just formulated with a thiolated hyaluronan and a thiolated heparin. This hydrogel is a synthetic extracellular matrix (ECM) that can be crosslinked in situ. Unlike an animal-derived extracellular matrix (ECM), the hydrogel is chemically defined and is typically non immunogenic. In certain embodiments the hydrogel is formulated with a thiolated hyaluronan, a thiolated heparin, and a thiolated gelatin. In various embodiments the immobilized heparin in the hydrogel mimics the heparin sulfate proteoglycans normally present in the extracellular matrix (ECM). It also helps protect growth factors from proteolysis and slows their release to attached cells. This reduces the amount of growth factor required to achieve stimulation of cell growth or differentiation when compared to the use of free growth factor in media ([0112]). Another example of a crosslinked hydrogel comprises thiol-modified hyaluronan and thiol-modified heparin reacted with a thiol-reactive crosslinker such as polyethylene glycol diacrylate ([0113]). See also [0198].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to combine a thiolated hyaluronan, a thiolated heparin, and/or a thiolated gelatin with the PEG prepolymer of Lanfer et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the thiolated hyaluronan, heparin or gelatin in order to allow the slow release of growth factors (GFs) within an easily customizable environment, protect growth factors from proteolysis and slows their release to attached cells, and achieve stimulation of cell growth or differentiation.
Regarding claim 19, Lanfer et al. teach acryolyl-4 arm PEG-succinimidyl carboxymethyl ([0199]).
Regarding claim 21, Lanfer et al. teach the GGGPQGIWGQGK peptide ([0199]).
Regarding claims 26 and 29-30, Lanfer et al. teach the composition comprising triethanolamine and N-vinyl-2-pyrrolidone (NVP), and cross-linking of hydrogels with white light for 35 seconds ([0199]).
Regarding claims 33 and 36, Lanfer et al. teach mixing a cell suspension with a precursor solution (i.e., a solution comprising a polymer suitable for hydrogel formation) and crosslinking the resulting network ([0211]).
Regarding claims 37, 45 and 47-48, Lanfer et al. teach a wound care product for plastic surgery, tissue engineering and for treatment of acute and chronic wounds ([0001], [0017]).
Regarding claim 46, Lanfer et al. teach a hydrogel ([0199]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616