CTNF 19/128,426 CTNF 90496 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 5/8/2025. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 7-9, 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regarding Claim 1, MA et al. (CN 114586366 A, hereinafter MA) in view of ZHAO et al. (US 20200137386, hereinafter ZHAO). Regarding Claim 1, MA discloses an inter-frame prediction method, comprising: acquiring a current video frame and determining a current coding block in the current video frame; determining a first predicted value and a second predicted value of the current coding block ([0064]-[0339], Figures 1-15 , determining a first predicted value of a first partition and a second predicted value of a second partition) ; and determining a geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block and performing a weighted fusion on the first predicted value and the second predicted value according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block to obtain a predicted value of the current coding block ([0064]-[0339], Figures 1-15 , performing weighted fusion on the first predicted value and the second predicted value to determine an inter-frame predicted value of a current block with an encoder, a decoder and a storage medium) . MA does not explicitly disclose determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a geometric partitioning mode parameter of a target coding block corresponding to the current coding block ZHAO teaches determining a geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a geometric partitioning mode parameter of a target coding block corresponding to the current coding block ([0108]-[0223], figures 3-11, a partitioning unit and an entropy coding unit, the partitioning unit is configured to receive a current block of the frame, obtain a list including line information representing one or more candidate geometric partitioning (GP) lines, wherein each of the one or more candidate GP lines is generated based on information of one or more candidate neighbor blocks of the current block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block as taught by ZHAO ([0108]) into the encoding & decoding system of MA in order to provide systems that repeatedly modifies selected initial GP line to obtain a modified GP line, calculates rate distortion cost for the modified GP line, and selects the modified GP line as the final GP line (ZHAO, [0005]). Regarding Claim 2, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 1, ZHAO discloses wherein determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block corresponding to the current coding block comprises: constructing a split mode candidate list of the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block corresponding to the current coding block; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the split mode candidate list ([0158]-[0162], Different approaches from the area of image segmentation and/or edge-detection may be used to generate a partitioning of the neighbor block, which is extended into the current block such as the candidate GP line may be generated by following steps (1)-(5)). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 3, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 2, ZHAO discloses wherein the target coding block comprises a neighboring coding block; and constructing the split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block corresponding to the current coding block comprises: acquiring a geometric partitioning mode parameter of the neighboring coding block corresponding to the current coding block; and constructing the split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the neighboring coding block ([0149]-[0151], FIG. 5, final GP line of the current block can be generate based on linear continuation of a GP line of a neighbor block and additional shifting of the line coordinates by two offset values with the intercept points (x.s, y.s) and (x.e, y.e) on the current block can be calculated in equation (4)) . The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 4, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 2, ZHAO discloses wherein the target coding block comprises a neighboring coding block; and constructing the split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block corresponding to the current coding block comprises: acquiring a geometric partitioning mode parameter of the neighboring coding block corresponding to the current coding block; determining an extension line of a geometric partitioning mode corresponding to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the neighboring coding block in the current coding block, and searching a split mode total list for a split mode matching the extension line; and constructing the split mode candidate list according to the split mode matching the extension line, wherein a number of split modes comprised in the split mode candidate list is less than or equal to a number of neighboring coding blocks ([0149]-[0150], FIG. 5, final GP line of the current block can be generate based on linear continuation of a GP line of a neighbor block and additional shifting of the line coordinates by two offset values with the intercept points (x.s, y.s) and (x.e, y.e) on the current block can be calculated in equation (4)) The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 5, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 2, ZHAO discloses wherein determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the split mode candidate list comprises: according to a preset sequence, performing inter-frame prediction on the current coding block in each split mode in the split mode candidate list to obtain a rate-distortion cost corresponding to each split mode as a first rate-distortion cost; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the first rate-distortion cost ([0104], the partitioning unit 200 may also perform an analysis of the original input image to obtain an initial partitioning for increased encoder performance. Using this block partitioning, segment-wise motion estimation or intra estimation is performed and a rate-distortion cost is calculated). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 7, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 1, ZHAO discloses wherein determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block corresponding to the current coding block comprises: acquiring the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block in the current video frame; constructing a split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block in a template matching manner according to the split mode candidate list ([0108]-[0223], figures 3-11, a partitioning unit and an entropy coding unit, the partitioning unit is configured to receive a current block of the frame, obtain a list including line information representing one or more candidate geometric partitioning (GP) lines, wherein each of the one or more candidate GP lines is generated based on information of one or more candidate neighbor blocks of the current block). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 8, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 7, ZHAO discloses wherein constructing the split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block comprises: according to an extension line, in the current coding block, of the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the target coding block in the current video frame, searching a split mode total list for a split mode matching the extension line; and constructing the split mode candidate list according to the split mode matching the extension line ([0149]-[0150], FIG. 5, final GP line of the current block can be generate based on linear continuation of a GP line of a neighbor block and additional shifting of the line coordinates by two offset values with the intercept points (x.s, y.s) and (x.e, y.e) on the current block can be calculated in equation (4)) . The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 9, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 7, ZHAO discloses wherein the target coding block in the current video frame comprises: a neighboring coding block of the current coding block in the current video frame, a coding block in a preset neighboring range of the current coding block in the current video frame, or a coding block searched for along a preset direction of the current coding block in the current video frame ([0149]-[0150], FIG. 5, final GP line of the current block can be generate based on linear continuation of a GP line of a neighbor block and additional shifting of the line coordinates by two offset values with the intercept points (x.s, y.s) and (x.e, y.e) on the current block can be calculated in equation (4)) . The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 12 , A decoding method claim 12 of using the corresponding encoding method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above. Regarding Claim 15, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 12, ZHAO discloses wherein determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the predictive decoding parameter comprises: acquiring a split mode prediction indicator; in response to the split mode prediction indicator having a second value, determining that the current coding block does not use a split mode prediction method; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a split mode prediction index and a pre-created split mode total list. Regarding Claim 16 , Apparatus claim 16 of using the corresponding encoding method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above. Regarding Claim 17 , Apparatus claim 16 of using the corresponding encoding method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above. Regarding Claim 18, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 3, ZHAO discloses wherein determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the split mode candidate list comprises: according to a preset sequence, performing inter-frame prediction on the current coding block in each split mode in the split mode candidate list to obtain a rate-distortion cost corresponding to each split mode as a first rate-distortion cost; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the first rate-distortion cost ([0104], the partitioning unit 200 may also perform an analysis of the original input image to obtain an initial partitioning for increased encoder performance. Using this block partitioning, segment-wise motion estimation or intra estimation is performed and a rate-distortion cost is calculated). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1. Regarding Claim 19 , Apparatus claim 19 of using the corresponding decoding method claimed in claim 12, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above. Regarding Claim 20 , Apparatus claim 20 of using the corresponding decoding method claimed in claim 12, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA et al. (CN 114586366 A, hereinafter MA) in view of ZHAO et al. (US 20200137386, hereinafter ZHAO) and LIM et al. . (US 20250274581, hereinafter LIM) Regarding Claim 13, MA in view of ZHAO discloses the method of claim 12, ZHAO discloses wherein determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to the predictive decoding parameter comprises: acquiring a split mode prediction indicator; in response to the split mode prediction indicator having a first value, determining that the current coding block uses a split mode prediction method ([0064]-[0339], Figures 1-15 , determining a first predicted value of a first partition and a second predicted value of a second partition) ; wherein the inter-frame prediction method comprises: acquiring a current video frame and determining a current coding block in the current video frame; determining a first predicted value and a second predicted value of the current coding block ([0064]-[0339], Figures 1-15 , determining a first predicted value of a first partition and a second predicted value of a second partition) ; and determining a geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block and performing a weighted fusion on the first predicted value and the second predicted value according to the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block to obtain a predicted value of the current coding block ([0064]-[0339], Figures 1-15 , performing weighted fusion on the first predicted value and the second predicted value to determine an inter-frame predicted value of a current block with an encoder, a decoder and a storage medium) . MA does not explicitly disclose determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a geometric partitioning mode parameter of a target coding block corresponding to the current coding block. ZHAO teaches determining a geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a geometric partitioning mode parameter of a target coding block corresponding to the current coding block ([0108]-[0223], figures 3-11, a partitioning unit and an entropy coding unit, the partitioning unit is configured to receive a current block of the frame, obtain a list including line information representing one or more candidate geometric partitioning (GP) lines, wherein each of the one or more candidate GP lines is generated based on information of one or more candidate neighbor blocks of the current block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block as taught by ZHAO ([0108]) into the encoding & decoding system of MA in order to provide systems that repeatedly modifies selected initial GP line to obtain a modified GP line, calculates rate distortion cost for the modified GP line, and selects the modified GP line as the final GP line (ZHAO, [0005]). MA & ZHAO do not explicitly disclose constructing a split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block by a inter-frame prediction method; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a split mode prediction index and the split mode candidate list, wherein the split mode prediction index is used for identifying an index of a split mode of the current video frame in the split mode candidate list LIM teaches constructing a split mode candidate list corresponding to the current coding block by a inter-frame prediction method; and determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a split mode prediction index and the split mode candidate list, wherein the split mode prediction index is used for identifying an index of a split mode of the current video frame in the split mode candidate list ([0275] coding parameters with combinations or statistics of a size of a unit/block, a shape/form of a unit/block, a depth of a unit/block, partition information of a unit/block, a partition structure of a unit/block, information indicating whether a unit/block is partitioned in a quad-tree structure, information indicating whether a unit/block is partitioned in a binary tree structure, a partitioning direction of a binary tree structure (horizontal direction or vertical direction), a partitioning form of a binary tree structure (symmetrical partitioning or asymmetrical partitioning), information indicating whether a unit/block is partitioned in a ternary tree structure, a partitioning direction of a ternary tree structure (horizontal direction or vertical direction), a partitioning form of a ternary tree structure (symmetrical partitioning or asymmetrical partitioning, etc.), information indicating whether a unit/block is partitioned in a multi-type tree structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of determining the geometric partitioning mode parameter of the current coding block according to a split mode prediction index as taught by LIM ([0275]) into the encoding & decoding system of MA & ZHAO in order to provide systems that satisfies users' demand for high image, and data for video can be effectively compressed, transmitted, and stored using video compression technology (LIM, [0004]). Regarding Claim 14, Analogous rejection as the rejection of Claim 13 applies. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 6 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Samuel D Fereja whose telephone number is (469)295-9243. The examiner can normally be reached 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAVID CZEKAJ can be reached at (571) 272-7327. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 2 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 3 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 4 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 5 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 6 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 7 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 8 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 9 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 10 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 11 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 12 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 13 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 14 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/128,426 Page 15 Art Unit: 2487