DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/128,430 filed on 05/08/2025. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim limitation “a coil axis of the torsion spring” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 4 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 discloses “a coil axis” in line 5. It is not clear whether a coil axis in claim 4 is different than the coil axis as claim 1. Clarification is required. For the examination purpose, a coil axis in claim 1 and claim 4 has been considered as a same coil axis. It is suggested to change the limitation of claim 4 “a coil axis of the torsion spring” to “the coil axis of the torsion spring”, which is consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ruth discloses a clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7, para 21), comprising:
a race (e.g. 12, fig. 3) including a rotational axis (e.g. 16, fig. 1) and a diameter extending through the rotational axis;
a radial pawl (e.g. 18, 19) carried by the race (12); and
a torsion spring (e.g. 44, fig. 3) carried by the race (12) and including a coil portion with a coil axis (e.g. axis of coil hole, see annotated fig. A below) oriented transversely with respect to the diameter of the race,
a first leg extending away (see the annotated fig. A below) from the coil portion and bearing against the race (12), and
a second leg extending away from the coil portion and bearing against the radial pawl (e.g. 18, fig. 3).
Fig. A: Annotated fig. 3 of Ruth
Regarding claim 2, Ruth discloses the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1, wherein the torsion spring (44) biases the radial pawl (E.G. 18, 19, FIG. 3 or fig. 4) in a radially outward direction with respect to the race (12).
Regarding claim 3, Ruth discloses the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1, wherein a coil axis of the torsion spring is substantially parallel to the rotational axis of the race and substantially perpendicular to the diameter of the race (12).
Regarding claim 4, Ruth discloses the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1, wherein the torsion spring (44, fig. 2) is a double torsion spring including first and second coils axially spaced apart along the coil axis, wherein the first leg (see the annotated fig. B below) of the torsion spring (44) is a split outboard reaction leg including a first portion (see the annotated fig. B below) extending tangentially away from an axially outboard portion of the first coil and a second portion (see the annotated fig. B below) extending tangentially away from an axially outboard portion of the second coil, and wherein the second leg of the torsion spring is a unitary inboard action leg including a first portion (see the annotated fig. B below) extending tangentially away from an axially inboard portion of the first coil and a second portion (see the annotated fig. B below) extending tangentially away from an axially inboard portion of the second coil.
Fig. B: Annotated fig. 2 of Ruth
Regarding claim 5, Ruth discloses the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 4, wherein the first and second coils each include at least three complete revolutions. (see the annotated fig. B above)
Regarding claim 7, Ruth discloses the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1, wherein the race (12) includes a radially outer circumferential surface (e.g. 22, 24, fig. 3), a radially inner circumferential surface, a first planar face (28), a second planar face (26), a pawl pocket (30) between the first and second planar faces, and a spring pocket (see the annotated fig. A above) between the first and second planar faces and open to the pawl pocket, and having a coil socket (see the annotated fig. A above) to receive the coil portion of the torsion spring. (See the annotated fig. A above and para 24)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ruth discloses all the elements of the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 4, wherein the first and second legs have a compression angle between a certain range and an extension angle between a certain range, but fails to disclose wherein the first and second legs have a compression angle between -5° and 10 degrees and an extension angle between 10 and 35 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruth by adding a compression angle between -5° and 10 degrees and an extension angle between 10 and 35 degrees, and thus the claimed range cannot be considered critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", where Ruth teaches the general conditions of the claim in the prior art, including the same composition in all other respects and identical experimental data. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) in view of GELFAND et al. (US 20220163073 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ruth discloses all the elements of the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 7 but fails to disclose wherein the spring pocket also has a leg retainer to retain the first leg of the torsion spring.
GELFAND teaches a similar kind of clutch (e.g. 600, fig. 1, para 60) wherein a race (e.g. 604, fig. 1), and a torsion spring (e.g. has no character numeral, the strut spring) that being placed within a strut pocket (e.g. 606); wherein the spring pocket (606) also has a leg retainer (has no character numeral, see fig. 1) to retain the first leg of the torsion spring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruth by adding a leg retainer as taught by GELFAND, so that the spring leg can be fixed in place when the spring rotates to bias the radial pawl and thereby achieve a required functionality of the spring.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) in view of Hand (US 20180340578 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ruth discloses all the elements of the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 7 but fails to disclose wherein the spring pocket also has a leg stop to limit extension of the second leg of the torsion spring.
Hand teaches a similar kind of clutch (e.g. SOWC, see figs. 1-18 and para 68) wherein a spring pocket (the pocket houses a torsion spring 60); wherein, the spring pocket also has a leg stop (e.g. the elongated slot has a stop at the end as shown in fig. 4) to limit extension of the second leg of the torsion spring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruth by adding a leg retainer as taught by Hand, so that the spring leg can be fixed in place and can be prevented from being extended when the spring rotates to bias the radial pawl and thereby achieve a required functionality of the spring.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) in view of Campton et al. (US 20190293131 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ruth discloses all the elements of the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein a second race circumscribing the race and including an internal array of circumferentially spaced notches to receive a portion of the radial pawl in a deployed position of the radial pawl.
Campton teaches a similar kind of clutch (e.g. 10, see fig. 1 and para 20) wherein a second race (e.g. 14) circumscribing the race (e.g. 12) and including an internal array of circumferentially spaced notches (e.g. 18) to receive a portion of the radial pawl (e.g. 20) in a deployed position of the radial pawl.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruth by rearranging races such that the second race circumscribing the race as taught by Campton, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. (MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 17, Ruth/ Campton discloses the clutch as modified according to claim 16, Ruth further discloses wherein the race (12) is rotatable about the rotational axis, and the second race (14) is also rotatable about the rotational axis (e.g. 16) in the same or opposite circumferential direction (e.g. 20) with respect to the race.
Claim 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) in view of Viola (US 20230108459 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Ruth discloses all the elements of the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1, wherein a retainer plate (22) coupled to an axially facing side surface of the race (12), and but fails to disclose the retainer plate having a sensor window.
Viola teaches a similar kind of clutch (e.g. 22, see figs. 1-3 and para 13) wherein a retainer plate (not shown, see fig. 1) coupled to an axially facing side surface of the race, and having a sensor window (e.g. the cover plate (not shown) coupled to an axially facing side surface of pocket plate 24 and has a hole to receive bosses 82 of sensor assembly 10 as shown in figs. 1-2, paras 17 and 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruth by adding a sensor window as taught by Viola, so that the sensor can be secured within a designated place between the race and the retainer plate for a better structure design and installation of the clutch components. (see para 23).
Regarding claim 21, Ruth discloses the clutch (e.g. 10, figs. 1-7) of claim 1, wherein the race (12) includes an axially facing internal side surface facing an axially facing side surface of the radial pawl (42) but fails to disclose a lobe pocket in the axially facing internal side surface.
Viola teaches a similar kind of clutch (e.g. 22, see figs. 1-3 and para 13) comprising of a race (24, fig. 1), and a radial pawl (e.g. 12,fig. 1) wherein the race (24) includes an axially facing internal side surface facing an axially facing side surface of the radial pawl (12) and a lobe pocket (e.g. has no character numeral, the pocket through which a portion of sensor assembly 10 is place therein; the lobe pocket formed along the orientation side 86, figs. 1-2) in the axially facing internal side surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ruth by adding a lob pocked in the axially facing internal side surface as taught by Viola, so that the sensor can be secured within a designated place between the race and the retainer plate for a better structure design and installation of the clutch components. (see para 23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-15, and 18-19 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for a clutch including the combination of limitations recited in claim 9, particularly in combination with “wherein the leg retainer includes a circumferentially extending protrusion establishing a first leg socket for the first leg of the torsion spring.”
The closest prior art Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) discloses all the elements of claim 9 but fails to disclose wherein the leg retainer includes a circumferentially extending protrusion establishing a first leg socket for the first leg of the torsion spring.
There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify Ruth to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for a clutch including the combination of limitations recited in claim 11, particularly in combination with “wherein the pawl pocket includes a pawl toe socket having a semi-cylindrical interior surface, a pawl heel seat circumferentially opposed to the pawl toe socket, and an actuator pin gap between the pawl toe socket and the pawl heel seat.”
The closest prior art Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) discloses all the elements of claim 11 but fails to disclose wherein the pawl pocket includes a pawl toe socket having a semi-cylindrical interior surface, a pawl heel seat circumferentially opposed to the pawl toe socket, and an actuator pin gap between the pawl toe socket and the pawl heel seat.
There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify Ruth to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 12-15 are allowed as they depend on claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for a clutch including the combination of limitations recited in claim 11, particularly in combination with “outward radial pawl disposed radially outward with respect to the second race and having an engagement end configured to engage an external array of circumferentially spaced notches of the second race in a deployed position of the outward radial pawl.”
The closest prior art Ruth et al. (US 20040216975 A1) discloses all the elements of claim 18 but fails to disclose outward radial pawl disposed radially outward with respect to the second race and having an engagement end configured to engage an external array of circumferentially spaced notches of the second race in a deployed position of the outward radial pawl.
There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify Ruth to arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Ruth (US 6116394 A) discloses an overrunning coupling assembly includes a notch plate and an annular coupling pocket plate positioned in face-to-face relationship with respect to each other along a common axis. The pocket plate includes strut pockets disposed at angularly spaced positions about the axis. The notch plate includes notch recesses at angularly spaced positions about the common axis and positioned in juxtaposed relationship with respect to the strut pockets. The notch plate includes an inner circumferential rail at a radially inward side of the notch recesses and an outer circumferential rail at a radially outward side of the notch recesses. Torque-transmitting struts are positioned in the strut pockets. Each strut has first and second ears at one edge thereof for enabling pivotal motion of the struts about an ear axis intersecting the ears. The opposite edge of each strut is engageable with one of the notch recesses whereby one-way torque transfer may occur between the plates. Each opposite edge has first and second corners. Each strut pocket is sufficiently enlarged to allow pivotal movement of each strut about a strut axis which is parallel with the common axis, thereby enabling one of the first and second corners to be selectively supported by one of the inner and outer circumferential rails to prevent the struts from slapping against the notch recesses as the notch plate and pocket plate are respectively counterrotated.
Conclusion
/F. P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655