Claims 12-27 are pending per amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The last limitation is not preceded by “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16, 18-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lekkas US 20190190703.
For claims 12 and 22, Lekkas discloses:
A vehicle (par. 0027: vehicles include electric, diesel, gasoline, types), comprising:
a communications interface configured to receive rights-protected digital content encrypted with a key, which has been stored on a server external to the vehicle (par. 0032: wifi, cellular network transceivers disclosed; par. 0056: “vehicle 150 may request that server 120 provide protected data 130 comprising a DRM-protected video file, a DRM-protected audio file, a streamed satellite radio program, a website, any other multimedia content, and/or combinations thereof.”);
an arithmetic logic unit configured to decrypt the digital content encrypted with the key by using a private key to form decrypted digital content, wherein the key and the private key constitute a key-pair (par. 0055: disclosure of KEK pair comprising private and public keys for decryption of content sent by server to vehicle);
an output unit configured to output the decrypted digital content (par. 0056: “…server 120 may receive specific data requests from vehicle 150 to be executed, played, or displayed on an onboard system (e.g., audio systems, video systems, web browsing systems, etc.)”);
wherein the vehicle is further configured to,
transmit the key of the key-pair via the communications interface to a mobile-radio terminal assigned to the vehicle (par. 0039: “Requests for protected data 130 from vehicle 150 of embodiments may be received by server 120 via one or more data networks 140, 142, and 144.”), in order to induce the mobile-radio terminal to request and to download the digital content with the key from the external server (par. 0055: “Communications from vehicles 150 to server 120 via security network 110 may be encrypted using an asymmetric KEK pair associated with server 120; server 120's private key of the KEK pair associated with server 120 may be stored in database 128 and server 120's public key may be stored in database 224 of vehicle 150's IVS 200…”; par. 0056: “In alternative embodiments, server 120 may receive specific data requests from vehicle 150 to be executed, played, or displayed on an onboard system”);
receive the digital content encrypted with the key from the mobile-radio terminal (par. 0056: “…[S]erver 120 may receive a request from vehicle 150 for an internet website to be displayed on an in-vehicle web browser, and server 120 will retrieve protected data 130…for transmission to vehicle 150 via one or more data networks 140, 142, and 144.”).
For claim 13, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein the key with which the digital content has been encrypted is a public key of the key-pair (par. 0050: “, first key 134 is a public key and its corresponding second key 226 is a private key in the possession of vehicle 150. Data of embodiments encrypted with a public key may only be decrypted with its corresponding private key.”).
For claim 14, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein that the key-pair, comprising the key and the private key, has been assigned to an application running in the vehicle (par. 0025: “a unique first key for each vehicle (e.g., a selected one of vehicles 150, 152, and 154) of the vehicle fleet may be stored in database 128.”; par. 0059: “…different encryption keys may be used for different types of protected data. For example, if the protected data contains data updates for the select vehicle's throttle control ECU, the encryption key may have a key size of 256 bits. In an additional example, if the protected data contains data updates for the select vehicle's navigation ECU, the encryption key may have a key size of 128 bits.”).
For claim 15, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 12, further comprising a key-management unit configured to store the key-pair and to manage the key-pair (par. 0035, database 224 second key 226, seed parameters, 228, and encryption key 227).
For claims 16, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 12, further comprising a user interface, and wherein the vehicle is configured to transmit the key to the mobile-radio terminal responsive a user input received via the user interface (par. 0039: “Requests for protected data 130 from vehicle 150 of embodiments may be received by server 120 via one or more data networks 140, 142, and 144.”; par. 0056: “In alternative embodiments, server 120 may receive specific data requests from vehicle 150 to be executed, played, or displayed on an onboard system”; par. 0029: Infotainment system including web browsing system disclosed).
For claim 18, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein the encrypted digital content comprises at least one of the group consisting of audio data and video data (par. 0056: DRM-protected movie and audio disclosed).
For claim 19, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 18, wherein the key with which the digital content has been encrypted is a public key of the key-pair (par. 0050: “, first key 134 is a public key and its corresponding second key 226 is a private key in the possession of vehicle 150. Data of embodiments encrypted with a public key may only be decrypted with its corresponding private key.”).
For claim 20, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 19, wherein that the key-pair, comprising the key and the private key, has been assigned to an application running in the vehicle (par. 0025: “a unique first key for each vehicle (e.g., a selected one of vehicles 150, 152, and 154) of the vehicle fleet may be stored in database 128.”; par. 0059: “…different encryption keys may be used for different types of protected data. For example, if the protected data contains data updates for the select vehicle's throttle control ECU, the encryption key may have a key size of 256 bits. In an additional example, if the protected data contains data updates for the select vehicle's navigation ECU, the encryption key may have a key size of 128 bits.”. Note: Examiner is analogizing the distinct subsystems/ECUs of vehicle as separate applications).
For claim 21, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 20, further comprising a key-management unit configured to store the key-pair and to manage the key-pair (par. 0035 vehicle database 220 stores second KEK key 226, encryption key 227, and seed parameters 228).
For claim 23, Lekkas discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the vehicle includes a user interface, and wherein transmitting the key of the key-pair further comprises transmitting the key to the mobile-radio terminal in response to a user input via the user interface (par. 0039: “Requests for protected data 130 from vehicle 150 of embodiments may be received by server 120 via one or more data networks 140, 142, and 144.”; par. 0056: “In alternative embodiments, server 120 may receive specific data requests from vehicle 150 to be executed, played, or displayed on an onboard system”; par. 0029: Infotainment system including web browsing system disclosed).
For claim 25, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 22, wherein the encrypted digital content comprises at least one of the group consisting of audio data and video data (par. 0056: DRM-protected movie and audio disclosed).
For claim 26, Lekkas discloses:
The vehicle as claimed in claim 22, wherein that the key-pair, comprising the key and the private key, has been assigned to an application running in the vehicle (par. 0025: “a unique first key for each vehicle (e.g., a selected one of vehicles 150, 152, and 154) of the vehicle fleet may be stored in database 128.”; par. 0059: “…different encryption keys may be used for different types of protected data. For example, if the protected data contains data updates for the select vehicle's throttle control ECU, the encryption key may have a key size of 256 bits. In an additional example, if the protected data contains data updates for the select vehicle's navigation ECU, the encryption key may have a key size of 128 bits.”. Note: Examiner is analogizing the distinct subsystems/ECUs of vehicle as separate applications).
For claim 27, Lekkas discloses:
A non-transitory storage medium storing a computer-program comprising instructions that, upon execution of the program by a computer, induce the computer to execute the method as claimed in claim 22 (par. 0011, CRM disclosed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CLAYTON R WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443