DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cutting motor and optical marker must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 212,230. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the drawings do not actually show a suction motor just element numbs 216 and 310. It is unclear where the motor actually is on the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification does not disclose “a switch configured to power off the cutting motor in response to the load sensor sensing an abnormal load” as recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not describe or show in the drawings how the cutter is coupled to a cutting motor separate from the suction motor.
Claims 2-18 depend from claim 1 and likewise fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 further claims additional limitation of the imager sensor. However, in claim 14 from which claim 18 depends, the applicant does not positively recite an image sensor only that “ a receiver configured to receive, from an image sensor, a top down image”. It is unclear if the applicant is intending the claim the machine in combination with the image sensor. Clarification or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,5,8-10,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by WO0162094A2 to Posch et al.
Referring to claim 1, Posch discloses machine comprising: a suction motor (see fig. 11, at 3a) configured to generate suction for objects on ground so as to raise the objects through a cutting plane above and separated from the ground (see translation page 6, fifth paragraph); a flexible cutter ( 5) configured to cut and/or shear the raised objects along the cutting plane, wherein the cutter is coupled to a cutting motor (see fig. 11, 3) separate from the suction motor (3a and translation page 7, second paragraph from the bottom) ;a housing (2) configured to cover the cutter while exposing the cutter towards the ground to enable cutting of the raised objects; and a chamber ( inside the housing ) coupled to the housing and disposed above the cutter, the chamber being separated from the cutter and comprising a secondary blade (4) configured to grind portions of the raised objects cut by the cutter into a residue, wherein the chamber is configured to contain the residue, and wherein the suction motor (3a) is coupled to the housing and the chamber, and disposed such that the suction generated therefrom directs the cut portions of the raised objects into the chamber.
Referring to claim 3, Posch discloses the secondary blade (4) is coupled to the suction motor (3a).
Referring to claim 5, Posch discloses the cutter (5) comprises a string or a hinged disc blade (see page 7 fourth paragraph ).
Referring to claim 8, Posch discloses an opening ( where bag 8 is attached to the housing) to enable disposition of the residue.
Referring to claim 9, Posch discloses the objects on the ground comprise grass (see page 1, first paragraph, grass trimmer).
Referring to claim 10, Posch discloses the secondary blade (4) comprises a mulching blade.
Referring to claim 19, Posch discloses (see fig. 2) a suction motor (3) configured to generate suction for objects on ground so as to raise the objects through a cutting plane above and separated from the ground; a flexible cutter (5) configured to cut and/or shear the raised objects along the cutting plane, wherein the cutter is coupled to the suction motor (3); a housing (2) configured to cover the cutter while exposing the cutter towards the ground to enable cutting of the raised objects; and a chamber area inside housing) coupled to the housing and disposed above the cutter, the chamber being separated from the cutter and comprising a secondary blade (4) configured to grind portions of the raised objects cut by the cutter into a residue, the secondary blade (4) is coupled to the suction motor (3) , wherein the chamber is configured to contain the residue, and wherein the suction motor (3) is coupled to the housing and the chamber, and disposed such that the suction generated therefrom directs the cut portions of the raised objects into the chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murty et al. 20200368912 in view of WO0162094A2 to Posch et al.
Referring to claim 1, Murty discloses machine comprising: a suction motor (see paragraph 0020) configured to generate suction for objects on ground so as to raise the objects through a cutting plane above and separated from the ground; a flexible cutter( see paragraph 0020, blades for cutting grass) configured to cut and/or shear the raised objects along the cutting plane. a chamber ( inside the housing ) coupled to the housing and disposed above the cutter, the chamber being separated from the cutter, wherein the chamber is configured to contain the residue, and wherein the suction motor is coupled to the housing and the chamber, and disposed such that the suction generated therefrom directs the cut portions of the raised objects into the chamber (see paragraph 0020). Murty does not disclose the cutter is coupled to a cutting motor separate from the suction motor or a second blade. Posch teaches a machine wherein the cutter is coupled to a cutting motor (see fig. 11, 3) separate from the suction motor (3a and translation page 7, second paragraph from the bottom) ;a housing (2) configured to cover the cutter while exposing the cutter towards the ground to enable cutting of the raised objects; and a chamber ( inside the housing ) coupled to the housing and disposed above the cutter, the chamber being separated from the cutter and comprising a secondary blade (4) configured to grind portions of the raised objects cut by the cutter into a residue, wherein the chamber is configured to contain the residue. Posch teaches the separate motors allow each to be optimally adapted for speed and torque requirements of the different blades ( page 7, second paragraph from the bottom) and the additional blade allows grass to be further processed. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine disclosed by Murty to have the cutter is coupled to a cutting motor separate from the suction motor or a second blade in view of the teachings of Posch in order to have the separate motors allow each to be optimally adapted for speed and torque requirements of the different blades and the second blades help to make grassing cuttings even smaller to make easier removal.
Referring to claim 11, Murty discloses a sensor stack enabling the machine to be operated autonomously, the sensor stack comprising sensors configured to sense an environment surrounding the machine (see paragraph 0025).
Referring to claim 12, Murty discloses a non-transitory memory coupled to a processor, the non-transitory memory having instructions thereon, the instructions causing the processor to determine an operating path for the machine within an area of interest on the ground (see paragraph 0121).
Referring to claim 13, Murty discloses the instructions further cause the processor to: receive, during an operation of the machine, data relating to an obstacle detected in the operating path of the machine using the sensors; and determine a path avoiding the obstacle while minimizing deviation from the operating path of the machine (see paragraph 0063).
Referring to claim 14, Murty discloses an optical marker disposed to be visible in a top-view image of the machine (see paragraph 0019); a receiver (see paragraph 0028) configured to receive, from an image sensor, a top-down image of an area of interest surrounding the machine on the ground of a property, the top-down image including the top-view image of the machine (see paragraph 0072); and a processor (114) configured to: distinguish the machine from structural features on the ground based on an image of the optical marker, determine, based on the top-down image, a position and an orientation of the machine and the structural features relative to the ground, determine, among the structural features, a subset of features classified as obstacles inhibiting an operation of the machine as the machine moves within the area of interest, determine an operating path for the machine within the area of interest so as to avoid the obstacles, and cause the machine to operate along the determined operating path (see paragraph 0121).
Referring to claim 15, Murty discloses the processor is further configured to determine, based on the top-down image, one or more of: a number of obstacles inhibiting the operation of the machine within the area of interest, a density of the obstacles per unit area within the area of interest, size of the obstacles within the area of interest, a type of the obstacles, and location of the obstacles within the area of interest relative to each other (see paragraph 0088).
Referring to claim 16, Murty discloses the top-down image comprises a three-dimensional (3D) geometrically corrected composite map of the property (see paragraph 0061).
Referring to claim 17, Murty discloses the top-down image comprises at least one of an optical image, LIDAR data, or ultrasound sensor data ( see paragraph 0072).
Referring to claim 18, Murty discloses the image sensor is momentarily fixed relative to the property and located at a height greater than a height of the optical marker relative to the ground (see paragraph 0076).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO0162094A2 to Posch et al. in view of Martin 20160044867.
Referring to claim 2, Posch does not disclose a grate disposed between the cutter and the chamber, and configured to allow the cut portions of the raised objects to pass through to the chamber and block other objects. Martin teaches a lawnmower with a grate disposed between the cutter and the chamber, and configured to allow the cut portions of the raised objects to pass through to the chamber and block other objects (see paragraph 0015). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine disclosed by Posch to have a grate in view of the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent large objects from entering the housing.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO0162094A2 to Posch et al. in view of Specht et al. 6016644
Referring to claim 4, Posch does not disclose an inner wall of the chamber comprises a non-stick coating to prevent the residue and/or the cut portions of the raised objects from sticking to the inner wall. Specht teaches a lawnmower with a non-stick coating to prevent the residue and/or the cut portions of the raised objects from sticking to the inner wall (see col. 11, lines 50-53). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine disclosed by Posch to have a non-stick coating to prevent the residue and/or the cut portions of the raised objects from sticking to the inner wall in view of the teachings of Specht with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent cutting from sticking to the housing wall.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO0162094A2 to Posch et al. in view of Koike et al. 20170217488.
Referring to claims 6-7, Posch does not disclose a load sensor configured to measure a current drawn by the cutting motor, and differentiates between a normal load on the cutter and an abnormal load caused by interaction of the cutter with an obstacle. Koike teaches a lawnmower that detecting current is an abnormal value ( requires a sensor of some kind) and stops the motor upon sensor the abnormal value (paragraph 0240). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine disclosed by Posch to have a load sensor configured to measure a current drawn by the cutting motor, and differentiates between a normal load on the cutter and an abnormal load caused by interaction of the cutter with an obstacle and a switch configured to power off the cutting motor in response to the load sensor sensing an abnormal load in view of the teachings of Koike with a reasonable expectation of success in order to protect the motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jiao 20250255213 discloses a machine with multiple blades that sucks up cut grass (see paragraphs 0207-0210).
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672