DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 05/09/2025 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
a. Claim 5: “a servo located within the fuselage body (10), wherein the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft”;
b. Claim 6: “the left front power propeller (21) and the left rear power propeller (22) are each equipped with two, the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) are each equipped with two also; or the left front power propeller (21) and the left rear power propeller (22) are each equipped with four, the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) are each equipped with four also”;
c. Claim 8: “angle position sensors installed within the left folding wing (23), the right folding wing (33), the left tilt wing (20), and the right tilt wing (30)”.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
4. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses languages which can be implied, such as “provided in the present application” and “The aircraft of the present application” which should be deleted. Further, the abstract uses indefinite language, such as “various modes”, “can achieve”, “high-speed cruising”, “stable transition” and “highly economical” which should be deleted. Furthermore, the abstract is greater than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
6. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. pp. 4-5 and 7: the term “vertical tail 60” should be rewritten as --vertical tail 70--.
b. pp. 4-5 and 7: the term “horizontal tail rotor 70” should be rewritten as --horizontal tail rotor 60--.
c. p. 4: the numbers “3”, “4” and “5” should be rewritten in a letter format.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
7. INDENTATION (claims 1-3, 6 and 9)
where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75. Appropriate correction is required.
7a. Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 1, lines 1-2: the term comprises should be rewritten as --comprising--: with the body of the claim inserted on the line 2 and separated by appropriate indentation.
b. Claim 1, line 2: the term “characterized in that, further comprises” should be deleted for the purpose of clarity.
c. Claims 2-10: the term “characterized in that” should be rewritten as ---wherein-- such that the claim conforms with current U.S. practice.
d. Claim 4, lines 2-3: the limitations “the left side” and “the right side” should be rewritten as --a left side-- and --a right side--, respectively, such that there is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
e. Claims 5 and 7-8: the term “further comprises” should be rewritten as --further comprising-- such that the claims conform with current U.S. practice.
f. Claim 9, line 10: the term “asynchronous tilting achieves rotation” appears to be incomplete and should be rewritten as --asynchronous tilting of the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing adhesives rotation of the aircraft-- for the purpose of clarity.
g. Claim 9, lines 16-17: the term “the aircraft’s pitch and yaw attitude” should be rewritten as --the pitch and the yaw attitude of the aircraft-- for the purpose of clarity.
h. Claim 9, line 17: the term “heading” should be rewritten as --the heading of the aircraft-- for the purpose of clarity.
i. Claim 10, line 2: the term “vertical take-off and landing” should be rewritten as --the vertical take-off and landing-- for the purpose of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim 1, lines 9-11, recites the limitation “the left front power propeller (21), the left rear power propeller (22), the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) implement flight power and attitude control for the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft” (emphasis added) which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the “flight power and attitude control for the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft” is required by the claim invention and what exactly is providing the flight power and attitude control. Are the propellers or another structures providing the flight power and attitude control for the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft? Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
11. Claim 1 recites the limitation “the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
12. Claim 6, lines 2-6, recites the limitation “the left front power propeller (21) and the left rear power propeller (22) are each equipped with two, the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) are each equipped with two also; or the left front power propeller (21) and the left rear power propeller (22) are each equipped with four, the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) are each equipped with four also” (emphasis added) which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to exactly what each of the recited propellers is equipped with. The applicant’s disclosure provides no remedy in this regard. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
13. Claim 9, lines 1-2, recites the limitation “A flight control method for the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1” which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the method requires entirety of the multi-propeller aircraft as recited in claim 1 or merely requires the aircraft by reference. For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting the method to comprise the entirety of the aircraft as recited in claim 1. The examiner suggests amending the claim to include claim language such as “A flight control method, the method comprising: providing the multi-propeller aircraft according to claim 1” or the like such that the metes and bounds of the claim is clear.
14. The term “high speed” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high speed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to exactly how great the speed is required to be in order for the speed to be considered as a high speed.
15. Claim 9, lines 12-14, recites the limitation “the left front power propeller (21), the left rear power propeller (22), the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) act as thrust sources” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the propellers are considered to be configured as thrust sources or merely optionally act as thrust sources and therefore not required by the claimed invention. The term “act as” is indefinite and should be amended such that the claim is definite. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
16. Claim 9, lines 15-16, recites the limitations “synchronous deflection” and “asynchronous deflection” which renders the claim uncertain, since it is unclear as to whether such deflections are considered to be the synchronous and asynchronous tilting of the tilt wings as recited in lines 8-10, since wing deflection is used to describe bending or flexing of wings under aerodynamic loads. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claims not addressed are rejected based on their dependency from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
18. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rimanelli et al. (US 2022/0144421 A1), hereinafter “Rimanelli”, with evidentiary support in view of Bevirt (US 2015/0266571 A1), hereinafter “Bevirt”.
19. Regarding Claim 1, Rimanelli discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft (Abstract and para. [0030] and [0054]; aircraft 10/100 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), comprises
a fuselage body (a fuselage as clearly seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12),
characterized in that, further comprises a left tilt wing fixed on a left side of the fuselage body (para. [0034]; wing module 12 including a wing section 11 including left and right side tiltable wings on respective left and right sides of the fuselage as clearly seen s in FIGS. 1-2 and 12),
at least one left front power propeller (34B) and at least one left rear power propeller (34B) which are respectively fixed on two opposite sides of the left tilt wing (left wing as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12),
a right tilt wing fixed on a right side of the fuselage body (FIGS. 1-2 and 12),
at least one right front power propeller (34B) and at least one right rear power propeller (34B) which are respectively fixed on two opposite sides of the right tilt wing (right wing as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), and a tail assembly (19/21/34C/35) fixed at the tail (19) of the fuselage body (FIGS. 1-2 and 12);
the tail assembly comprises a vertical tail (a T-fin as seen in FIG. 12 by definition includes a vertical tail accommodating tail section 21), a horizontal tail (21) and a horizontal tail rotor (34C);
wherein the left front power propeller, the left rear power propeller, the right front power propeller and the right rear power propeller implement flight power and attitude control for the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft (para. [0032], [0038]-[0039], [0048], [0052]; with consideration of the arrangement of the thrust generators 34 with respect to respective left and right side wings as well as the thrust generators 34 being configured to provide differential thrust, the thrust generators 34 are structurally capable of implementing flight power and attitude control for VTOL of aircraft 100).
Bevirt discloses a multi-propeller aircraft (aircraft 100 as seen in FIG. 1) comprising a left tilt wing (102) on a left side of the fuselage body (101) and a right tilt wing (103) on a right side of the fuselage body (101).
20. Regarding Claim 2, Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1, characterized in that,
the left front power propeller and the right front power propeller adopt positive pitches (the left/right front thrust generators 34 achieve positive pitches via tilting of the wing as seen in FIGS. 1 and 12), the left rear power propeller and the right rear power propeller adopt reverse pitches (the left/right rear thrust generators 34 achieve reverse pitches via tilting of the wing as seen in FIGS. 1 and 12); or
the left front power propeller and the right front power propeller adopt reverse pitches (the left/right front thrust generators 34 achieve reverse pitches when transiting from vertical flight to forward flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), the left rear power propeller and the right rear power propeller adopt positive pitches (the left/right rear thrust generators 34 achieve positive pitches when transiting from vertical flight to forward flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12).
21. Regarding Claim 3, Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1, characterized in that,
the left front power propeller and the left rear power propeller adopt positive pitches (the left front/rear thrust generators achieve positive pitches when transitioning from vertical flight to forward flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), the right front power propeller and the right rear power propeller adopt reverse pitches (the right front/rear thrust generators achieve reverse pitches when the wings transition from forward flight to vertical flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12); or
the left front power propeller and the left rear power propeller adopt reverse pitches (the left front/rear thrust generators achieve reverse pitches when transitioning from forward flight to vertical flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12, the right front power propeller and the right rear power propeller adopt positive pitches (the right front/rear thrust generators achieve positive pitches when the wings transition from vertical flight to forward flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12).
22. Regarding Claim 6, Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1
characterized in that, the left front power propeller and the left rear power propeller are each equipped with two, the right front power propeller and the right rear power propeller are each equipped with two also (thrust generators 34 include two as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12); or
the left front power propeller and the left rear power propeller are each equipped with four, the right front power propeller and the right rear power propeller are each equipped with four also (thrust generators 34 include four as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimanelli et al. (US 2022/0144421 A1), in view of Bendrey et al. (US 2026/00150083 A1), hereinafter “Bendrey”.
25. Regarding Claim 4, Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1,
characterized in that,
the horizontal tail comprises a left horizontal tail located on the left side of a tail of the fuselage body (a left horizontal tail extending from the vertical tail and tail boom 35 and located on the left side of the fuselage as seen in FIG. 12), and a right horizontal tail fixed to the right side of the tail of the fuselage body (a right horizontal tail extending from the vertical tail and tail boom 35 and located on the right side of the fuselage as seen in FIG. 12, and the vertical tail is located between the left horizontal tail (40) and the right horizontal tail (the vertical tails is clearly between left/right horizontal tails as seen in FIG 12).
Rimanelli is silent regarding a right horizontal tail specifically fixed to the right side of the tail of the fuselage body.
Bendrey discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft (Bendrey Abstract and FIG. 2) a right horizontal tail fixed to the right side of the tail of the fuselage body (paras. [0046]-[0047]; right horizontal stabilizer fixed to the right side of fuselage 1 as clearly seen in FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Rimanelli as taught by Bendrey such that a right horizontal tail is fixed to the right side of the tail of the fuselage body in order to improve the pitch stability of the aircraft as well as facilitating manufacturing and installation of the right horizontal tail on the fuselage body.
26. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimanelli et al. (US 2022/0144421 A1), in view of Li et al. (CN 106516080 A), hereinafter “Li” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
27. Regarding Claim 5, Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft accordingly to claim 1¸ characterized in that, further comprises a pivot mechanism on the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft (paras. [0034] and [0049]; pivot mechanism 39 connected to the left/right wings and configured to selectively tilt the left and right wings as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12).
Rimanelli is silent regarding a servo located within the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft.
Li discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft (Li Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising a servo located within the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft (pp. 2-4; wing tilting mechanism within a fuselage of the aircraft, the mechanism including a servo motor and shafts connected to right/left wings 3 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Rimanelli as taught by Li such that a servo located within the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft in order to enable precise tilting of wings between different angular positions during aircraft operations as intended by the user.
28. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimanelli et al. (US 2022/0144421 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 113753231 A), hereinafter “Wang” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
29. Regarding Claim 7, Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1.
Rimanelli is silent regarding a left folding wing fixed to an outer side of the left tilt wing and foldable relative to the left tilt wing, and a right folding wing fixed to an outer side of the right tilt wing and foldable relative to the right tilt wing.
Wang discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft (Wang Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising a left folding wing fixed to an outer side of the left tilt wing and foldable relative to the left tilt wing (pp. 7-8; left turning part 21 including first turning second section 231 and second turning section 232, each of the fist/second turning sections 231/232 configured to tilt and fold relative to fixing part 21 of body 10 of aircraft 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 6-7), and a right folding wing fixed to an outer side of the right tilt wing and foldable relative to the right tilt wing (pp. 7-8; right turning part 21 including first turning second section 231 and second turning section 232, each of the fist/second turning sections 231/232 configured to tilt and fold relative to fixing part 21 of body 10 of aircraft 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Rimanelli as taught by Wang such that a left folding wing fixed to an outer side of the left tilt wing and foldable relative to the left tilt wing, and a right folding wing fixed to an outer side of the right tilt wing and foldable relative to the right tilt wing in order to reduce drag during forward flight, increase maneuverability, and to enable compact stowage and deployment of the aircraft.
30. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimanelli et al. (US 2022/0144421 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 113753231 A) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yue et al. (CN 117104499 A), hereinafter “Yue”, in view of Li et al. (CN 106516080 A).
31. Regarding Claim 8, Modified Rimanelli discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 7.
Modified Rimanelli is silent regarding angle position sensors installed within the left folding wing, the right folding wing, the left tilt wing, and the right tilt wing.
Yue discloses a multi-propeller aircraft (Yue Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising an angle position sensor installed with a folding wing (pp. 4-6; folding wing 22 including a tilt angle sensor therein which is by definition an angle position sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Rimanelli as taught by Yue such that position sensors installed within the left folding wing and the right folding wing in order to provide safe flight control and preventing asymmetric lift or drag conditions that may adversely affect the flight of the aircraft.
Modified Rimanelli is silent regarding angle position sensors installed within the left tilt wing, and the right tilt wing.
Li discloses a multi-propeller aircraft (Li Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising an angle position sensor installed with a tilt wing (pp. 4-5; tilt wings 2/3 each including a wing angle sensor 7 therein which by definition is an angle position sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Rimanelli as taught by Li such that position sensors installed within the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing in order to provide real-time monitoring of the positions of the tilt wings as well as maintaining a symmetric wing orientation between the tilt wings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming drawing objections and claim objections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitations of claims 1 and 9. In particular, during vertical take-off and landing, the left front power propeller (21), the left rear power propeller (22), the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32), along with the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30), maintain a vertical orientation relative to ground, the left front power propeller (21), the left rear power propeller (22), the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) rotate at high speed to generate lift, causing the aircraft to ascend; during ascent, synchronous forward/backward tilting of the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) tilt enables forward/backward movement of the aircraft, while asynchronous tilting achieves rotation; during cruise mode, the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) pivot to a horizontal position parallel to the ground, and the left front power propeller (21), the left rear power propeller (22), the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) act as thrust sources, while lift is provided by the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30); synchronous deflection of the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) adjusts lift, while asynchronous deflection induces roll motion; the horizontal tail rotor (70) controls the aircraft's pitch and yaw attitude, and the vertical tail (60) controls heading.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Renteria (US 2020/0010182 A1) discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft, comprises a fuselage body (10), characterized in that, further comprises a left tilt wing (20) on a left side of the fuselage body (10), at least one left front power propeller (21) and at least one left rear power propeller (22) which are respectively fixed on two opposite sides of the left tilt wing (20), a right tilt wing (30) on a right side of the fuselage body (10), at least one right front power propeller (31) and at least one right rear power propeller (32) which are respectively fixed on two opposite sides of the right tilt wing (30), and a tail assembly fixed at the tail of the fuselage body (10); the tail assembly comprises a vertical tail (70), a horizontal tail and a horizontal tail rotor (60); wherein the left front power propeller (21), the left rear power propeller (22), the right front power propeller (31) and the right rear power propeller (32) implement flight power and attitude control for the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft.
Liu (WO 2024/103279 A) discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft, comprises a fuselage body (10), characterized in that, further comprises a left tilt wing (20) fixed on a left side of the fuselage body (10), at least one left front power propeller (21) respectively fixed on the left tilt wing (20), a right tilt wing (30) fixed on a right side of the fuselage body (10), at least one right front power propeller (31) fixed on the right tilt wing (30), and a tail assembly fixed at the tail of the fuselage body (10); the tail assembly comprises a vertical tail (70), a horizontal tail and a horizontal tail rotor (60); wherein the left front power propeller (21), the right front power propeller (31) implement flight power and attitude control for the vertical takeoff and landing and cruising of the aircraft.
Alber et al. (US 2017/0101176 A1) discloses a multi-propeller aircraft comprising a left and right tilt wings, each of the wings including a front propeller.
Petrov (US 10252798 B2) discloses a multi-propeller aircraft comprising a folding left and right wings, each of the wings including a front propeller.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642