DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 05/09/2025 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
a. Claim 1: the “a left tilt wing (20), which is fixed on the leftside of the fuselage body (10); … a right tilt wing (30), which is fixed on the right side of the fuselage body (10)”;
b. Claim 4: “a servo located within the fuselage body (10), wherein the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft”;
c. Claim 6: “angle position sensors installed within the left folding wing (23), the right folding wing (33), the left tilt wing (20), and the right tilt wing (30)”.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
4. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses languages which can be implied, such as “provided in the present application” and “The aircraft of the present application” which should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
6. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. pp. 4-5 and 7: the term “vertical tail 60” should be rewritten as --vertical tail 70--.
b. pp. 4-5 and 7: the term “horizontal tail rotor 70” should be rewritten as --horizontal tail rotor 60--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
7. INDENTATION (claims 1-10)
where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75. Appropriate correction is required.
8. Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 1, line 1: the term comprises should be rewritten as --comprising--: with the body of the claim inserted on the line 2 and separated by appropriate indentation.
b. Claim 1, line 1: the term “characterized in that, further comprises” should be deleted for the purpose of clarity.
c. Claim 1, lines 2-3: the term “fixed” in association with the wings and fuselage should be replaced with “coupled” or the like since tilt wings are by definition non-fixedly coupled to the fuselage.
d. Claim 1, line 2: the term “leftside” should be rewritten as --left side-- for the purpose of clarity.
e. Claim 1, line 5: the term “the tail” should be rewritten as --a tail--.
f. Claim 2: the terms “design” should be removed for the purpose of clarity.
g. Claims 2-10: the term “characterized in that” should be rewritten as ---wherein-- such that the claim conforms with current U.S. practice.
h. Claim 3: the terms “the left side” and “the right side” should be rewritten as --a left side-- and --a right side--, respectively, for the purpose of clarity.
i. Claims 4-7: the term “further comprises” should be rewritten as --further comprising-- such that the claims conform with current U.S. practice.
j. Claims 8 and 9: the term “the” should be entered prior to each instance of the term “vertical take-off and landing” for the purpose of clarity.
k. Claim 8, line 8: the term “asynchronous tilting achieves rotation” appears to be incomplete and should be rewritten as --asynchronous tilting of the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing achieves rotation of the aircraft-- for the purpose of clarity.
l. Claim 8, lines 14-15: the term “the aircraft’s pitch and yaw attitude” should be rewritten as --the pitch and the yaw attitude of the aircraft-- for the purpose of clarity. Similarly for claim 10.
m. Claim 8, line 15: the term “heading” should be rewritten as --the heading of the aircraft-- for the purpose of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
11. Claim 4 recites the limitation “it” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to which structure is being referenced. Therefore, there is insufficient antecede basis for this limitation in the claims. Similarly, claims 5-7 are unclear for the same reasons.
12. Claim 8, line 1, recites the limitation “A flight control method for the dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1” which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the method requires entirety of the multi-propeller aircraft as recited in claim 1 or merely requires the aircraft by reference. For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting the method to comprise the entirety of the aircraft as recited in claim 1. The examiner suggests amending the claim to include claim language such as “A flight control method, the method comprising: providing the dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1” or the like such that the metes and bounds of the claim is clear.
13. The term “high speed” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high speed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to exactly how great the speed is required to be in order for the speed to be considered as a high speed.
14. Claim 8, lines 8-9, recites the limitation “when there is a lift difference between the left rotor (21) and the right rotor (31), roll can be achieved” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether roll is required to be achieved or is merely optionally required to be achieved. The term “can be” is not a definite term and should amended such that the scope of the claim is ascertainable. The examiner suggests amending the limitation “roll can be achieved” with “achieves roll control” or the like for the purpose of clarity.
15. Claim 8, lines 10-11, recites the limitation “during cruise mode, the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) pivot to a horizontal position parallel to the ground, and the left rotor (21) and the right rotor (31) act as thrust sources” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the propellers are considered to be configured as thrust sources or merely optionally act as thrust sources and therefore not required by the claimed invention. The term “act as” is indefinite and should be replaced with “are configured as” or the like such that the claim is definite. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
16. Claim 8, lines 12-13, recites the limitations “synchronous deflection” and “asynchronous deflection” which renders the claim uncertain, since it is unclear as to whether such deflections are considered to be the synchronous and asynchronous tilting of the tilt wings, since wing deflection is used to describe bending or flexing of wings under aerodynamic loads. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting the term “deflection” as “tilting”.
Claims not addressed are rejected based on their dependency from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
18. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (CN 101875399 A), hereinafter “Wu” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
19. Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses dual-rotor tilt aircraft (Abstract and FIGS. 1-2), comprises
a fuselage body (1), characterized in that, further comprises
a left tilt wing (3), which is fixed on the left side of the fuselage body (1);
a left rotor (9), which is fixed to the left tilt wing (3);
a right tilt wing (9), which is fixed on the right side of the fuselage body (1);
a right rotor (9), which is fixed to the right tilt wing (3); and
a tail assembly (6/7/14), which is fixed at the tail of the fuselage body (1) and comprises a vertical tail (14), a horizontal tail (7) and a horizontal tail rotor (6),
wherein the left rotor and the right rotor achieve a flight power and attitude control during vertical take-off and landing and cruising of the aircraft (with consideration of the arrangement of rotors 9 with respect to each tilt wing 3, and each of the tilt wings 3 configured to adopt positive and reverse pitches, the rotors 9 are structurally capable of achieving a flight power and attitude control during VTOL and cruising of the aircraft as clearly seen in FIGS. 1-3).
18. Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses the dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1, characterized in that the left rotor (9) adopts a positive pitch design (FIGS. 1-3), and the right rotor (9) adopts a reverse pitch design (FIGS. 1-3); or
the left rotor (9) adopts a reverse pitch design (FIGS. 1-3), and the right rotor (9) adopts a positive pitch design (FIGS. 1-3).
20. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rimanelli et al. (US 2022/0144421 A1), hereinafter “Rimanelli”, with evidentiary support in view of Bevirt et al. (US 2015/0266571 A1), hereinafter “Bevirt”.
21. Regarding Claim 1, Rimanelli discloses dual-rotor tilt aircraft (Abstract and para. [0030] and [0054]; aircraft 10/100 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), comprises
a fuselage body (a fuselage as clearly seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), characterized in that, further comprises
a left tilt wing, which is fixed on the left side of the fuselage body (para. [0034]; wing module 12 including a wing section 11 including left and right side tiltable wings on respective left and right sides of the fuselage as clearly seen s in FIGS. 1-2 and 12);
a left rotor (34B), which is fixed to the left tilt wing (FIGS. 1-2 and 12);
a right tilt wing, which is fixed on the right side of the fuselage body (FIGS. 1-12 and 12);
a right rotor (34B), which is fixed to the right tilt wing (FIGS. 1-2 and 12); and
a tail assembly (19/21/34C/35), which is fixed at the tail (19) of the fuselage body and comprises a vertical tail (a T-fin as seen in FIG. 12 by definition includes a vertical tail accommodating tail section 2), a horizontal tail (21) and a horizontal tail rotor (34C),
wherein the left rotor and the right rotor achieve a flight power and attitude control during vertical take-off and landing and cruising of the aircraft (para. [0032], [0038]-[0039], [0048] and [0052]; with consideration of the arrangement of the thrust generators 34 with respect to respective left and right side wings as well as the thrust generators 34 being configured to provide differential thrust, the thrust generators 34 are structurally capable of implementing flight power and attitude control for VTOL of aircraft 100).
Bevirt discloses a multi-propeller aircraft (aircraft 100 as seen in FIG. 1) comprising a left tilt wing (102) on a left side of the fuselage body (101) and a right tilt wing (103) on a right side of the fuselage body (101).
22. Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses the dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1, characterized in that the left rotor adopts a positive pitch design (the left/right front thrust generators 34 achieve positive pitches via tilting of the wing as seen in FIGS. 1 and 12), and the right rotor adopts a reverse pitch design (the left/right rear thrust generators 34 achieve reverse pitches via tilting of the wing as seen in FIGS. 1 and 12); or
the left rotor adopts a reverse pitch design (the left/right front thrust generators 34 achieve reverse pitches when transiting from vertical flight to forward flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12), and the right rotor adopts a positive pitch design (the left/right rear thrust generators 34 achieve positive pitches when transiting from vertical flight to forward flight as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 101875399 A), in view of Chang et al. (US 2021/0009264 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
25. Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1, characterized in that the horizontal tail comprises a left horizontal tail (7) located on the left side of a tail of the fuselage body (1), and a right horizontal tail (7) fixed to the right side of the tail of the fuselage body (1),
Wu is silent regarding and the vertical tail is located between the left horizontal tail and the right horizontal tail.
Chag discloses a dual-rotor tilt aircraft (Chang Abstract and FIG. 1) the vertical tail (600) is located between the left horizontal tail (500) and the right horizontal tail (500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu as taught by Chang such that the vertical tail is located between the left horizontal tail and the right horizontal tail in order to provide a compact and aerodynamically balanced tail arrangement while maintaining directional stability and control.
26. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 101875399 A), in view of Li et al. (CN 106516080 A), hereinafter “Li” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
27. Regarding Claim 4, Wu discloses the dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1, characterized in that it further comprises tilting system (p. 5; tilting system 29 as seen in FIG. 6)) within the fuselage body (1), wherein the left tilt wing (3) and the right tilt wing (3) are respectively connected to tilting system (with consideration of the tilting system 29 being configured to tilt wings 3, the system 29 must be connected to wings 3 as seen in FIG. 6)
Wu is silent regarding a servo located within the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft.
Li discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft (Li Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising a servo located within the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft (pp. 2-4; wing tilting mechanism within a fuselage of the aircraft, the mechanism including a servo motor and shafts connected to right/left wings 3 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu as taught by Li such that a servo located within the fuselage body, wherein the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing are respectively connected to the servo by a shaft in order to enable precise tilting of wings between different angular positions during aircraft operations as intended by the user.
28. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 101875399 A), in view of Wang et al. (CN 113753231 A), hereinafter “Wang” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
29. Regarding Claim 5, Wu discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 1.
Wu is silent regarding a left folding wing fixed to an outer side of the left tilt wing and foldable relative to the left tilt wing, and a right folding wing fixed to an outer side of the right tilt wing and foldable relative to the right tilt wing.
Wang discloses a multi-propeller tilting aircraft (Wang Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising a left folding wing fixed to an outer side of the left tilt wing and foldable relative to the left tilt wing (pp. 7-8; left turning part 21 including first turning second section 231 and second turning section 232, each of the fist/second turning sections 231/232 configured to tilt and fold relative to fixing part 21 of body 10 of aircraft 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 6-7), and a right folding wing fixed to an outer side of the right tilt wing and foldable relative to the right tilt wing (pp. 7-8; right turning part 21 including first turning second section 231 and second turning section 232, each of the fist/second turning sections 231/232 configured to tilt and fold relative to fixing part 21 of body 10 of aircraft 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu as taught by Wang such that a left folding wing fixed to an outer side of the left tilt wing and foldable relative to the left tilt wing, and a right folding wing fixed to an outer side of the right tilt wing and foldable relative to the right tilt wing in order to reduce drag during forward flight, increase maneuverability, and to enable compact stowage and deployment of the aircraft.
30. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 101875399 A), in view of Wang et al. (CN 113753231 A) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yue et al. (CN 117104499 A), hereinafter “Yue”, in view of Li et al. (CN 106516080 A), hereinafter “Lee”. [see attached translational documents for any reference made to the texts].
31. Regarding Claim 6, Modified Wu discloses the multi-propeller tilting aircraft according to claim 5.
Modified Wu is silent regarding angle position sensors installed within the left folding wing, the right folding wing, the left tilt wing, and the right tilt wing.
Yue discloses a multi-propeller aircraft (Yue Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising an angle position sensor installed with a folding wing (pp. 4-6; folding wing 22 including a tilt angle sensor therein which is by definition an angle position sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Wu as taught by Yue such that position sensors installed within the left folding wing and the right folding wing in order to provide safe flight control and preventing asymmetric lift or drag conditions that may adversely affect the flight of the aircraft.
Modified Wu is silent regarding angle position sensors installed within the left tilt wing, and the right tilt wing.
Li discloses a multi-propeller aircraft (Li Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising an angle position sensor installed with a tilt wing (pp. 4-5; tilt wings 2/3 each including a wing angle sensor 7 therein which by definition is an angle position sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Wu as taught by Li such that position sensors installed within the left tilt wing and the right tilt wing in order to provide real-time monitoring of the positions of the tilt wings as well as maintaining a symmetric wing orientation between the tilt wings.
30. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 101875399 A), in view of Paulson et al. (US 2019/0185150 A1), hereinafter “Paulson)
31. Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses the dual-rotor tilt aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the right rotor and the left rotor are in the form of helicopter rotors (p. 5; rotors 9 take form of a traditional helicopter rotor as clearly seen in FIG. 1).
Wu silent regarding it further comprises a left rotor swashplate located on the left rotor and a right rotor swashplate located on the right rotor.
Paulson discloses a multi-rotor tilt aircraft (Abstract and para. [0018]; tiltrotor aircraft 100 as seen in FIG. 1A) comprises a left rotor swashplate located on the left rotor and a right rotor swashplate located on the right rotor (paras. [0021] and [0023]; swash plates 222 located on each of rotor systems 114/116 as seen in FIGS. 1A and 2A-2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu as taught by Paulson such that it further comprises a left rotor swashplate located on the left rotor and a right rotor swashplate located on the right rotor in order to provide controlled adjustment of the pitch of the rotor blades during rotation, thereby enabling control of rotor thrust and aircraft flight characteristics.
Double Patenting
41. Claims 1-6 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-9 of copending Application No. 19/128,563 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending application is being anticipated by the copending application.
Claim 1 of the pending application is encompassed by each of claims 1 of the copending application. Further, claim 2 of the pending application is encompassed by claims 2-3 of the copending application. Further, claim 3 of the pending application is encompassed by claim 4 of the copending application. Further, claim 4 of the pending application is encompassed by claim 5 of the copending application. Further, claim 5 of the pending application is encompassed by claim 7 of the copending application. Further, claim 6 of the pending application is encompassed by claim 8 of the copending application. Furthermore, claim 8 of the pending application is encompassed by claim 9 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming drawing objections, 112(b) rejections and the nonstatutory double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitations of claims 1 and 9. In particular,
synchronous deflection of the left tilt wing (20) and the right tilt wing (30) adjusts lift, while asynchronous deflection induces roll motion.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bruell et al. (US 11077937 B1), Luo (CN 103832583 A), Hu et al. (CN 106672232 A), Ban et al. (Cn 106800089 A), Ceng et al. (CN 101643116 A), Renteria (US 2020/0010182 A1), Liu (WO 2024/103278 A1) Alber et al. (US 2017/0101176 A1) and Petrov (US 10252798 B2) individually disclose a dual-rotor tilt aircraft comprising a body, left and right tilt wings each including rotors, and tail assembly including a tail rotor, a vertical tail and horizontal tails.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642