DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 4 recites “an unlocked condition” in lines 2-3 and in lines 3-4. The first recitation of “an unlocked condition” is tied to the catheter being slidable relative to the housing, whereas the second “unlocked condition” is tied to the catheter being unable to slide relative to the housing. This makes it unclear as to whether the catheter locking mechanism is movable between two unlocked conditions, or some other limitation is need to be recited. Therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite. Proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 6, 10-13, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan U.S. 2015/0216596 (herein referred to as “Brannan”).
8. Regarding Claim 1, Brannan teaches an ablation probe handle (para 0090, Fig. 1, ref num 51) for use with an ablation probe (Fig. 1, ref num 100), the ablation probe being suitable for use with an internal anatomy access system (para 0005, “treatment may involve inserting ablation probes into tissues where cancerous tumors have been identified”), the ablation probe handle comprising:
a. a housing adapted to be gripped by the user (Fig. 1, ref num 51 comprises a housing);
b. a lead cable connection interface (Fig. 1 and 2A, ref num 59) adapted for connection to a lead cable for supplying a source of microwaves (Fig. 1, ref num 15; para 0040, 0049), the lead cable connection interface defining a lead cable connection axis (Fig. 2A, ref num 598 defines a connection axis);
c. an ablation probe mounting adapted to mount the catheter of an ablation probe within the housing (Fig. 2A, 5, ref num 489; para 0081, “Inflow/outflow junction 451 includes a housing 450 configured to be releaseably and sealably coupleable with the cable assembly 15 shown in FIG. 1. Housing 450 includes a fluid inlet port 452, a fluid outlet port 453, a fluid inlet chamber 462, a fluid outlet chamber 463, a tubular sleeve member 489, and a releasable, cable-movement restrictor 415”); and
d. a working channel connection interface adapted for connection to a working channel of an internal anatomy access system (Fig. 5 and 6, ref num 410 connects with working channel of ref num 100), wherein the catheter of the ablation probe is arranged to extend from the housing along the working channel when the working channel is connected to the handle (see Fig. 5 and 6), the working channel connection interface defining a working channel connection axis (see Fig. 5 and 6 defines an axis down “L5, L6”,
e. wherein the lead cable and working channel connection axes are parallel (Fig. 5, axis defined by ref num 15 and axis defined along ref num 410 are parallel to one another), and
f. wherein the connection interfaces are arranged such that when the working channel and the lead cable are connected to the handle the working channel extends from the housing in the same direction relative to the housing as the lead cable (see Fig. 2A, ref num 15 is connected in the same direction that ref num 100 is connected to ref num 51).
While Brannan fails to teach that the lead cable and working channel connection axes are offset relative to each other, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the axes offset from one another, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
9. Regarding Claim 6, Brannan teaches the housing comprises an elongate grip portion adapted to be gripped single-handedly by the user (Fig. 1, ref num 51 is an elongate grip portion).
10. Regarding Claim 10, Brannan teaches a portion of the length of the lead cable extends along part of the length of the handle (see Fig. 2A, lead cable extends along length of handle at port, ref num 59).
11. Regarding Claim 11, Brannan teaches the housing comprises a recessed portion in which the working channel or lead cable connection interface is located (see Fig. 2A, ref num 51 contains a recessed portion in which the lead cable connection interface is located, ref num 59).
12. Regarding Claim 12, Brannan teaches a manifold adapted to connect to the lead cable and the catheter of the ablation probe and arranged to form an electrical connection between them when connected (Fig. 2A, ref num 250A; para 0049).
13. Regarding Claim 13, Brannan teaches the manifold comprises any one or more of: a) an RF connector such as a coaxial connector arranged to provide an electrical connection between a feed cable contained within the catheter of the ablation probe and the lead cable; b) a coolant inflow channel arranged to provide a supply of coolant through the catheter of the ablation probe from the lead cable; and c) a coolant outflow channel arranged to carry a return flow of coolant from the catheter of the ablation probe to the lead cable (Fig. 2A, ref num 58, 52, 53; para 0049).
14. Regarding Claim 16, Brannan teaches to teach the grip portion has a non-circular cross section (see Fig. 2A, ref num 51 has non-circular cross section).
15. Regarding Claim 17, Brannan fails to teach the grip portion comprises a surface having two flat portions linked by two curved portions. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the grip portion made up of two flat and two curved portions, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
16. Regarding Claim 19, Brannan teaches the portion of the length of the lead cable that extends along part of the length of the handle extends within or alongside a portion of the housing (see Fig. 2A, lead cable extends along length of handle at port, ref num 59).
17. Regarding Claim 20, Brannan teaches the lead cable is arranged to carry a flow of coolant and the manifold is arranged to a fluidic connection between the catheter and lead cable when connected (see Fig. 2A, flow of coolant is carried by lead cable).
18. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan and in view of Long U.S. 2003/0181905 (herein referred to as “Long”) and Krimsky U.S. 11,529,190 (herein referred to as “Krimsky ‘190”).
19. Regarding Claim 2, Brannan teaches the ablation probe mounting is adapted to secure the catheter of the ablation probe within the housing such that an exposed portion of the length of the catheter is formed outside of the housing, the exposed portion being proximal along the length of the catheter relative to the point at which the catheter extends from the working channel connection interface, wherein the catheter is movable along the working channel by adjusting the length of the exposed portion outside of the housing.
Long teaches an ablation probe handle of analogous art (Fig. 7), wherein an ablation probe mounting is adapted to secure the catheter of the ablation probe within the housing (Fig. 7, ref num 58 secures ref num 18 to housing) such that an exposed portion of the length of the catheter is formed outside of the housing, the exposed portion being proximal along the length of the catheter relative to the point at which the catheter extends from the working channel connection interface (see Fig. 7, ref num 18 is exposed proximal to ref num 58). This configuration allows for the user to position the catheter to the target location (para 004 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to have configured the catheter of the ablation probe to be connected to the ablation probe mounting with a proximal exposed portion in order to position the catheter at the target location.
Brannan as modified by Long fails to teach the catheter is movable along the working channel by adjusting the length of the exposed portion outside of the housing.
Krimsky ‘190 teaches an ablation probe handle of analogous art (Fig. 1), wherein a catheter is movable along the working channel by adjusting the length of the exposed portion outside of the housing (Claim 8, “a controller operably coupled to the flexible catheter; wherein the controller is configured to extend the flexible catheter from the handle and retract the flexible catheter into the handle, in response to a movement of the controller”). This produces the same expected result of adjusting the placement of the catheter relative to the target location. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to have the catheter movable by adjusting the length of the catheter outside of the housing in order to place the catheter at the target location.
20. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan and in view of Krimsky U.S. 2022/0015837 (herein referred to as “Krimsky 2022”).
21. Regarding Claim 4, Brannan fails to teach the handle comprises a catheter locking mechanism movable between an unlocked condition in which the catheter is slidable relative to the housing and an unlocked condition in which the catheter cannot slide relative to the housing.
Krimsky 2022 teaches a handle of analogous art (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the handle comprises a catheter locking mechanism movable between an unlocked condition in which the catheter is slidable relative to the housing and an unlocked condition in which the catheter cannot slide relative to the housing (para 0048). This aids in controlling the movement and location the catheter is placed at relative to the target location (para 0048-00489). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to have a locking mechanism in order to control the placement of the catheter.
22. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan and in view of Krimsky ‘190.
23. Regarding Claim 5, Brannan fails to teach the handle comprises a sliding mechanism comprising a sliding component on which the working channel connection interface is located, the sliding component being slidable relative to the housing to allow independent movement of the working channel relative to the catheter.
Krimsky ‘190 teaches a handle of analogous art (Fig. 1 and 7A), comprising a sliding mechanism comprising a sliding component (Fig. 7A, ref num 703) on which the working channel connection interface is located (see Fig. 7A), the sliding component being slidable relative to the housing to allow independent movement of the working channel relative to the catheter (movement of the working channel (Fig. 7A, ref nu, 701a in x-x’ direction; Col. 12, lines 4-21). This aids with placement of the catheter relative to the target location (Col. 12, lines 4-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to include a sliding mechanism in order to control the placement of the catheter relative to the target location.
24. Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan and in view of Long.
25. Regarding Claim 7, Brannan fails to teach the handle comprises one or more controls, and wherein the one or more controls are spaced apart along the length of the housing from the grip portion.
Long teaches the handle comprises one or more controls, and wherein the one or more controls are spaced apart along the length of the housing from the grip portion (Fig. 1, ref num 16 comprises a control spaced along the grip portion, ref num 62). The controls provide energy to the catheter portion (para 0036). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to include a control in order to control the energy delivered to the catheter.
26. Regarding Claim 18, Brannan fails to teach the one or more controls are spaced apart along the length of the housing from the grip portion in a proximal direction along the length of the housing.
Long teaches the handle comprises one or more controls, and wherein the one or more controls are spaced along the length of the housing from the grip portion in a proximal direction along the length of the housing (Fig. 1, ref num 16 comprises a control spaced along the grip portion, ref num 62). The controls provide energy to the catheter portion (para 0036). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to include a control in order to control the energy delivered to the catheter.
27. Claims 8, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan and in view of Dickhans U.S. 2015/0073211 (herein referred to as “Dickhans”).
28. Regarding Claim 8, Brannan fails to teach the grip portion defines a grip axis around which the housing is gripped by the user, wherein the grip axis is offset relative to the working channel connection axis.
Dickhans teaches a probe handle of analogous art (Fig. 1) wherein the probe handle comprises a grip portion (Fig. 1, ref num 20) that defines a grip axis (see Fig. 1, axis defined by ref num 20) that is gripped by a user (implicit), such that the grip axis is offset relative to the working channel connection axis (Fig. 1, ref num 330 defines the working channel connection that defines an axis that is offset from the axis defined by ref num 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the axes offset from one another, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
29. Regarding Claim 9, Brannan fails to teach the working channel connection interface is adapted to form a rotatable coupling with the working channel, whereby the handle is rotatable about the working channel connection axis during use.
Dickhans teaches the working channel connection interface is adapted to form a rotatable coupling with the working channel (Fig. 16, ref num 330 has a rotatable coupling with ref num 18; para 0092-0093), such that the handle is rotatable about the working channel connection axis during use (para 0092 describes the rotation about ref num 332). This permits rotation about the components without applying a rotational force to the catheter (para 0070). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to form a rotatable coupling with the working channel in order to manipulate rotation about the components so they may be placed at the target location.
30. Regarding Claim 14, Brannan fails to teach the handle system further comprising a connector which is connectable between the lead cable and the working channel at a point along the lead cable spaced apart from the housing.
Dickhans teaches the handle system comprises a connector which is connectable between the lead cable and the working channel at a point along the lead cable and spaced apart from the housing (see Fig. 1, ref num 330 is spaced apart from housing, ref num 20). This achieves the same expected result of connecting the lead cable and working channel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brannan to have a connector spaced apart from the housing, as this produces the same expected result of connecting the lead cable and working channel.
Allowable Subject Matter
31. Claim 15 is allowed. Claim 3 contains allowable subject matter.
32. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance/allowable subject matter: an ablation system comprising an ablation probe handle with a housing, lead cable connection interface, ablation probe mounting, and a working channel is well known in the art. This is supported by at least the references cited during the prosecution of this case, as well as other references in the general area that could be located with minimal effort. However, the prior art of record fails to specifically teach the housing comprises a first part and a second part; the lead cable connection interface is provided at the first part of the housing; the ablation probe mounting is adapted to secure the catheter of the ablation probe relative to the first part of the housing and slidable secure the catheter relative to the second part of the housing; the working channel connection interface is provided at the second part of the housing; and the first part of the housing is slidable relative to the second part of the housing, whereby the catheter is slidable along the length the working channel (claim 3); as well as fails to teach the ablation probe mounting is adapted to secure the catheter of the ablation probe within the housing such that an exposed portion of the length of the catheter is formed outside of the housing, the exposed portion being proximal along the length of the catheter relative to the point at which the catheter extends from the working channel connection interface, wherein the catheter is movable along the working channel by adjusting the length of the exposed portion outside of the housing (claim 15). The prior art also fails to provide sufficient motivation to make such specific modifications and would require improper use of hindsight to arrive at the claimed invention when considered along or in any proper combination.
33. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANNIE L SHOULDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794