Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a punch [Figs. 1-4] for cutting a corneal graft, comprising….” This should be “a punch [Figs. 1-4] for cutting a corneal graft, the punch comprising: ….”
Claim 2 recites “the partitioning blade.” However, Claim 1 recites “a blade for partitioning.” The same language should be used throughout.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations relating to intended use of the claimed device (i.e., “for corneal tissue,” see claim 1) are not given further patentable weight.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for angularly indexing the blade holder” in claim 9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is indefinite for the following reason: Claim 1 recites “the base comprising a guide.” Claim 7 recites “the guide comprises two…surfaces…with one belonging to the base and the other belonging to the blade holder.” The limitation of claim 7 appears to contradict that of Claim 1, which requires the guide to be part of the base. Further clarification is required.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 purports to depend on claim 1 but in fact does not require all the limitations of claim 1. The limitation “for the punch [of] claim 1” does not lend patentable weight. Claim 10 positively recites only a blade holder and blade. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oganesyan et al. [RU 177469 U1, hereinafter “Oganesyan”] in view of Li [CN 114848291 A1].
Re. claim 1, Oganesyan discloses a punch [Figs. 1-4] for cutting a corneal graft, comprising
a base (“second unit” 4) having a support surface (“the site for the cornea on the second unit,” Page 3) for corneal tissue and a blade holder (“first block” 1) provided with at least one blade (3), the base (4) comprising a guide (one hole of holes 5) for guiding the blade holder (1) in translation along a central axis (up-down in Fig. 4) normal to the support surface between a first position in which the blade is spaced apart from the support surface (prior to compression, see Page 3, fifth paragraph) and a second position in which the blade is adjacent to the support surface (“By compression (by physical pressure with the thumb on the first block of the die cutter,” where the second position is that after application of pressure) wherein the blade (3) is a blade for partitioning corneal tis-sue (intended use, but this is the use of the blade 3) extending substantially in a radial direction with respect to the central axis (see Figs. 1, 4).
Oganesyan fails to teach the blade having an s-shaped section in a plane perpendicular to the central axis. However, Li teaches, in a punch for cutting a corneal graft, a blade [32] and having an S-shaped section (33) in a plane perpendicular to the central axis (Fig. 1). The purpose of the S-shaped section in Li is to provide an indication of providing an asymmetric mark to indicate the direction of the transplant layers even when they are curled [see Li Page 2, first two paragraphs]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oganesyan such that the blade of Oganesyan incorporates an S-shaped section, as taught by Li, in order to provide an asymmetric mark indicating the preferred direction of implantation.
Re. claim 2, Oganesyan discloses the partitioning blade extends on either side of the central axis in order to divide the corneal tissue into two portions (“The technical result is…obtaining from one sclero-corneal block of a donor two or four graft-shaped or segmented grafts….achieved due to the presence of a half-moon blade,” Page 2).
Re. claim 7, as best understood, Oganesyan discloses the guide (2 and 5; see 112(b) above) comprises two complementary guide surfaces, parallel to the central axis (Fig. 4), cooperating with each other (Fig. 4) and with one (5) belonging to the base (4) and the other (2) belonging to the blade holder (4).
Re. claim 10, Oganesyan discloses a blade holder (“first block” 1) provided with at least one partitioning blade (3), for use in the punch of claim 1 (see 112(d) above).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oganesyan in view of Li, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Arnott [US Pat. 5269795]
Re. claim 3, the modified Oganesyan discloses the punch of claim 1 but fails to teach three partitioning blades. However, Arnott teaches, in a device for cutting a cornea, wherein the blade holder is provided with at least three partitioning blades [Fig. 2C, blades 204, 205, and 206] defining an angular sector in pairs [each two blades intersect, defining an angular sector]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Oganesyan to form three blades as taught by Arnott because this allows for different sizes and shapes of corneal tissue to be prepared, which would be desirable to suit different operations/patients, improving the flexibility of the device.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oganesyan in view of Li, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of La Russa et al. [US Pat. 4236519, hereinafter “La Russa”].
Re. claim 4, the above modified Oganesyan fails to teach a peripheral blade centered on the central axis. However, La Russa teaches, in a corneal punch, a blade holder (22) has a peripheral blade (18, which is cylindrica, and coaxial with the axis see Col. 2 lines 35-40) centered on the central axis (14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus the modified Oganesyan to add a peripheral blade, as taught by La Russa, in order to form the cornea “of a size suitable for surgical transplant into the eye of a patient,” La Russa Col. 2 lines 40-44].
Re. claim 5, the modified Oganesyan teaches the punch as claimed in claim 4, wherein the peripheral blade (taught by La Russa, above) and the partitioning blade have heights such that the peripheral blade penetrates into the corneal tissue to a depth equal to a total thickness of said corneal tissue (it cuts “through the cornea,” La Russa Col. 2 lines 40-42), the partitioning blade penetrating into the corneal tissue to a depth at least equal to a thickness of the Descemet membrane [See Page 3, “transplant (to each) Descemet membrane obtained from one donor cornea…In these clinical situations, the most appropriate method of surgical treatment is…transplantation of the Descemet membrane,”; thus, the donor cornea was cut at least to the thickness of the Descemet membrane).
Re. claim 6, Oganesyan discloses at least one of the blades is removable [blade 3 is removable; see Claim 1].
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oganesyan in view of Li, as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Collins [US Pat. 5649944]
Re. claim 8, Oganesyan discloses the blade holder fitting into the base [via elements 2, Fig. 3] but fails to disclose the base fitting into the blade holder. However, Collins teaches a blade holder [612 and 601, Fig. 6A, taken together] and base [602 and 606, together] wherein the base fits into the blade holder [via element 606, Fig. 6A]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Oganesyan such that the base fits into the blade holder as taught by Collins because this further improves the stability and alignment of the device.
Re. claim 9, Oganesyan discloses the punch as claimed in claim 8, comprising means for angularly indexing the blade holder (the indexing means comprising the remaining three holes and guides 2/5 other than that recited in claim 1) with respect to the base, the indexing means comprising a positioning index (respective elements 2) integral with the blade holder for positioning in a notch (respective holes 5) provided in the base.
Conclusion
/ERIN MCGRATH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771