DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UT-Battelle, LLC (hereinafter, "Battelle") 2021/0269301.
Regarding Claim 1, Battelle discloses a system for managing a cryo-compressed state of hydrogen fuel (10, Fig. 3) comprising: a cooling system (22, Fig. 3) with an inlet (15, Fig. 3) for hydrogen fuel in a compressed state (Para. 0022, "The liquid pump 14 is in communication with the cryogenic storage tank 12 through a valve 13. The liquid pump 14 is optionally a low-pressure liquid pump. As used herein, a "low pressure" liquid pump is operable to pressurize liquid hydrogen to no more than 20% of the highest pressure rating of the hydrogen storage system, e.g., 200 bar for a 1000 bar high pressure gaseous hydrogen storage system.") and a storage system wherein the storage system stores hydrogen fuel in a cryo-compressed state resulting from cooling of the hydrogen fuel by the cooling system (18, Fig. 3; Para. 0020, "The gaseous hydrogen storage and distribution system 10 is compressor-less in the illustrated
embodiment and generally includes a cryogenic storage tank 12, a liquid pump 14 in communication with the cryogenic storage tank 12, at least one vaporizer 16 in fluid communication with the liquid pump 14 so that cryogenic liquid hydrogen may be pumped from the cryogenic storage tank 12 to the at least one vaporizer 16, a high pressure, gaseous hydrogen storage system 18 coupled to an output of the at least one
vaporizer 16 for receiving a supply of high pressure, gaseous hydrogen, and a hydrogen fuel dispenser 20 in communication with the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18 and adapted to dispense gaseous hydrogen to a vehicle fuel tank 100 without a compressor for gaseous hydrogen.").
Regarding Claim 16, Battelle discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the storage system comprises a plurality of storage tanks (Fig. 3 shows a plurality of tanks 24, 26, 30, & 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 13, 15, and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battelle in view of Bradley et al. (7036324).
Regarding Claim 2, Battelle discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a compressor (16, Fig. 3; Para. 0023, "The at least one vaporizer 16 is in communication with the liquid pump 14 through a valve 15, being connected between the liquid pump 14 and the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18. The at least one vaporizer 16 is adapted to convert liquid hydrogen to gaseous hydrogen by increasing the temperature of the pressurized liquid hydrogen to its saturation temperature. In the current embodiment, the liquid hydrogen is warmed by a heat exchanger through the introduction of ambient air. In other embodiments, the liquid hydrogen is heated to its saturation temperature (for a corresponding saturation pressure) through the introduction of warmed air or other fluid that will not freeze in operation, as an auxiliary
heating source.") with a gaseous hydrogen input (not disclosed) and a compressor output that delivers hydrogen fuel in a compressed state (The at least one vaporizer 16 is in communication with the liquid pump 14 through a valve 15, being connected between the liquid pump 14 and the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18. The at least one vaporizer 16 is adapted to convert liquid hydrogen to gaseous hydrogen by increasing the temperature of the pressurized liquid hydrogen to its saturation temperature. In the current embodiment, the liquid hydrogen is warmed by a heat exchanger through the introduction of ambient air. In other embodiments, the liquid hydrogen is heated to its saturation temperature (for a corresponding saturation pressure) through the introduction of warmed air or other fluid that will not freeze in operation, as an auxiliary heating source."); wherein the compressor output is coupled to the cooling system for transfer of the hydrogen in the compressed state to the cooling system (The at least one vaporizer 16 is in communication with the liquid pump 14 through a valve 15, being connected between the liquid pump 14 and the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18. The at least one vaporizer 16 is adapted to convert liquid hydrogen to gaseous hydrogen by increasing the temperature of the pressurized liquid hydrogen to its saturation temperature. In the current embodiment, the liquid hydrogen is warmed by a heat exchanger through the introduction of ambient air. In other embodiments, the liquid hydrogen is heated to its saturation temperature (for a corresponding saturation pressure) through the introduction of warmed air or other fluid that will not freeze in operation, as an auxiliary heating source.").
Battelle fails to explicitly disclose a compressor with a gaseous hydrogen input.
Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches a compressor with a gaseous hydrogen input (232, Fig. 5; Col. 6, lines 44-53, "An embodiment of this hydrogen storage and Supply system, according to the invention, uses a cryo-sorptive hydrogen storage tank that receives hydrogen from the hydrogen economy's distribution chain; the hydrogen is generally channeled through an intermediary, or so-called first tank. The invention offers wide flexibility in terms of the form in which hydrogen arrives
to the system, either as a liquid, gas, or chemical or metal hydride, as well as flexibility in terms of the storage vessels and means of conveyance by which the hydrogen arrives."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include a gas inlet as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to allow variable states of hydrogen providing flexibility within the system and minimize the need to maintain a liquid form of hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the compressor compresses a hydrogen fuel in a gaseous state to a compressed state with a pressure of 200-875 bar (Para. 0023, "The hydrogen in the vaporizer 16 is auto-pressurized or cryo-compressed to between 300 bar and 1200 bar, inclusive, resulting from temperature increase without the use of a compressor for gaseous hydrogen.");
and wherein the cooling system cools the hydrogen fuel in the compressed state to 33-100 K thereby establishing cryo-compressed hydrogen (Para. 0024, "As optionally shown in FIG. 3, the one or more vaporizers 16 include a pre-cooling system 22 using liquid hydrogen from the cryogenic storage tank 12. An optional temperature sensor measures the temperature of the at least one vaporizer 16, by which liquid hydrogen can be circulated through the pre-cooling system 22 in accordance with a closed feedback loop to ensure the temperature of the at least one vaporizer 16 is less than a maximum temperature." Para. 0021, "The double-walled cryogenic storage tank 12 in the current embodiment contains liquid hydrogen at 20K between 1 bar and 5 bar, inclusive. The cryogenic storage tank 12 is further optionally an on-site liquid tube trailer."; Para. 0036, "With reference to FIG. 6, the hydrogen conversion and storage operation comprises categorically three stages. The first stage is to fill the vaporizer with liquid hydrogen supply. At the start of the first stage, the residual hydrogen within the vaporizer 16 begins at temperature Ta and pressure Pa. Ta may be ambient temperature or slightly below, for example at -40 C as required to fill hydrogen tanks in a hydrogen vehicle.").
Battelle fails to explicitly disclose and wherein the cooling system cools the hydrogen fuel in the compressed state to 33-100 K thereby establishing cryo-compressed hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to wherein the cooling system cools the hydrogen fuel in the compressed state to 33-100 K thereby establishing cryo-compressed hydrogen, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would have been to hold the hydrogen gas in a super cooled state which will take up less volume in the tank since higher temperatures result in greater volume taken up.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 2, further comprising a dispensing system coupled to the storage system (20, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 4, further comprising a fuel processing network comprising interconnecting conduit channels that connect at least the compressor, cooling system, storage tank, and the dispenser in a sequential processing flow (Fig. 3 shows an interconnected network of conduits, as compressor, cooling system, tanks, and dispenser shown with flow arrows).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 5, Battelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hydrogen fuel in the compressed state has an ortho concentration between 15 to 75%. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches wherein the hydrogen fuel in the compressed state has an ortho concentration between 15 to 75% (Col. 13, lines 41-57, "Hydrogen gas has two different spin states, corresponding to two different orientations of the nuclear spin. The spin aligned State, known as para-hydrogen, is lower in energy; the spin anti-aligned state, ortho-hydrogen, is higher in energy and has more states. At temperatures much higher than the energy difference, equilibrium distribution of hydrogen is 75% ortho and 25% para. At low temperatures, equilibrium hydrogen is all or substantially all in the para form. The proportion of hydrogen which is ortho at equilibrium declines from 75% at room temperature to 0% at 1 K, passing through 50% at around 80 K. This temperature
driven change in spin state releases energy as hydrogen is cooled (becoming para), and absorbs energy as hydrogen warms up (becoming ortho). The rate of the conversion process is remarkably slow; if the temperature of a batch of hydrogen is changed quickly, it can take on the order days for the ortho-para ratio to equilibrate.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the ortho concentration as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to maintain a higher state of energy and produce improved outputs for use.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 5. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a catalyst. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches further comprising a catalyst (Col. 13, lines 58-61, "Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention includes a bed of ortho-para
conversion catalyst, so that the hydrogen delivered to and from the storage medium has the ortho-para ratio appropriate for 80 K."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include a catalyst as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to ensure proper ratios needed to ensure maximum energy output of hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 7. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fuel processing network comprises a catalyst conduit channel and a non-catalyst conduit channel. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches wherein the fuel processing network comprises a catalyst conduit channel (450, Fig. 7; Col. 13, lines. 65-2, "Several catalytic configurations are included; in one embodiment the catalyst is dispersed within the storage medium, in another (FIG. 8) the catalyst 700 is contained within the line 450 through which hydrogen passes.") and a non-catalyst conduit channel (410, Fig. 7, Col. 10, lines 21-27, "FIG. 7 provides a more detailed schematic view of hydrogen flow within the system, as it depicts various components within the hydrogen source apparatus that are provided by embodiments of this invention. Hydrogen from an external source 300 enters the bounds of the inventive hydrogen storage and supply apparatus 50, and the hydrogen source apparatus 200, more specifically, through line 410."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the catalyst and non-catalyst conduit as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to separate the item prior to compression and allow proper mixing at compression to ensure proper mixer occurs when the compressor can force the catalyst with the hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 5. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fuel processing network comprises a cooling system reprocessing subnetwork that selectably recycles hydrogen from the storage system back through the cooling system. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches wherein the fuel processing network comprises a cooling system reprocessing subnetwork that selectably recycles hydrogen from the storage system back through the cooling system (Fig. 5 shows a selective system where the hydrogen is stored, used, and recycled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the recycling of hydrogen as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to prevent wasted hydrogen and energy and allow the hydrogen to be reused to produce new fuel.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 5. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fuel processing network comprises a reprocessing loop that cycles vented gaseous hydrogen from the storage vessel to the compressor. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches wherein the fuel processing network comprises a reprocessing loop that cycles vented gaseous hydrogen from the storage vessel to the compressor (Fig. 5 shows a selective system where the hydrogen is stored, used, and recycled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the recycling of hydrogen as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to prevent wasted hydrogen and energy and allow the hydrogen to be reused to produce new fuel.
Regarding claim 19, Battelle fails to explicitly disclose compressing hydrogen fuel in a gaseous state to a compressed state.
Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches compressing hydrogen fuel in a gaseous state to a compressed state (232, Fig. 5; Col. 6, lines 44-53, "An embodiment of this hydrogen storage and Supply system, according to the invention, uses a cryo-sorptive hydrogen storage tank that receives hydrogen from the hydrogen economy's distribution chain; the hydrogen is generally channeled through
an intermediary, or so-called first tank. The invention offers wide flexibility in terms of the form in which hydrogen arrives to the system, either as a liquid, gas, or chemical or metal hydride, as well as flexibility in terms of the storage vessels and means of conveyance by which the hydrogen arrives."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the gas compression as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to allow variable states of
hydrogen providing flexibility within the system and minimize the need to maintain a liquid form of hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Battelle discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising dispensing the hydrogen in the cryo-compressed state (Para. 0031, "A method for dispensing hydrogen from a plurality of gas storage tanks within a storage system 18 will now be provided, the method being performed without a compressor for gaseous hydrogen. In operation, gaseous hydrogen is firstly withdrawn from the gas storage tank having the lowest internal pressure, but above that of the vehicle fuel tank 100, for example at least 10 to 100 bar greater than that of the vehicle fuel tank 100.").
Regarding Claim 21, modified Battelle discloses the method of claim 19, wherein cooling the hydrogen in the compressed state comprises passing the hydrogen fuel in the compressed state through a heat exchanger (Para. 0023, "The at least one vaporizer 16 is in communication with the liquid pump 14 through a valve 15, being connected between the liquid pump 14 and the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18. The at least one vaporizer 16 is adapted to convert liquid hydrogen to gaseous hydrogen by increasing the temperature of the pressurized liquid hydrogen to its saturation temperature. In the current embodiment, the liquid hydrogen is warmed by a heat exchanger through the introduction of ambient air.").
Battelle fails to explicitly disclose exposing the hydrogen fuel to a catalyst while within the heat exchanger. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches exposing the hydrogen fuel to a catalyst while within the heat exchanger (Col. 13, lines 58-61, "Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention includes a bed of ortho-para conversion catalyst, so that the hydrogen delivered to and from the storage medium has the ortho-para ratio appropriate for 80 K."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include a catalyst as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to ensure proper ratios needed to ensure maximum energy output of hydrogen.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Battelle discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising measuring a temperature of the hydrogen fuel (Para. 0024, "As optionally shown in FIG. 3, the one or more vaporizers 16 include a pre-cooling system 22 using liquid hydrogen from the cryogenic storage tank 12. An optional temperature sensor measures the temperature of the at least one vaporizer 16, by which liquid hydrogen can be circulated through the pre-cooling system 22 in accordance with a closed feedback loop to ensure the temperature of the at least one vaporizer 16 is less than a maximum temperature."); and based on a temperature difference between the temperature and a reference temperature from similar processing conditions of the heat exchanger without a catalyst, recycling the hydrogen fuel back through the heat exchanger or storing the hydrogen fuel in a cryo-compressed state in a storage system (Para. 0024, "As optionally shown in FIG. 3, the one or more vaporizers 16 include a pre-cooling system 22 using liquid hydrogen from the cryogenic storage tank 12. An optional temperature sensor measures the temperature of the at least one vaporizer 16, by which liquid hydrogen can be circulated through the pre-cooling system 22 in accordance with a closed feedback loop to ensure the temperature of the at least one vaporizer 16 is less than a maximum temperature."; Fig. 3; Para. 0020, "The gaseous hydrogen storage and distribution system 10 is compressor-less in the illustrated embodiment and generally includes a cryogenic storage tank 12, a liquid pump 14 in communication with the cryogenic storage tank 12, at least one vaporizer 16 in fluid communication with the liquid pump 14 so that cryogenic liquid hydrogen may be pumped from the cryogenic storage tank 12 to the at least one vaporizer 16, a high pressure gaseous hydrogen storage system 18 coupled to an output of the at least one vaporizer 16 for receiving a supply of high pressure gaseous hydrogen, and a hydrogen fuel dispenser 20 in communication with the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18 and adapted to dispense gaseous hydrogen to a vehicle fuel tank 100 without a compressor for gaseous hydrogen.").
Regarding Claim 23, modified Battelle discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising dispensing the hydrogen in the cryo-compressed state by cycling the hydrogen fuel in the cryo-compressed state from the storage system (Para. 0028, "The hydrogen fuel dispenser 20 includes a dispensing line 48 and a nozzle 50 for dispensing gaseous hydrogen to a receptacle leading to a vehicle fuel tank 100, for example a vehicle fuel tank for a car, a truck, or a bus. The hydrogen fuel dispenser 20 is in communication with the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18, the gaseous hydrogen storage system 18 being operable as a cascade system.") through the heat exchanger to an output.
Battelle fails to explicitly disclose dispensing the hydrogen in the cryo-compressed state by cycling the hydrogen fuel in the cryo-compressed state from the storage system through the heat exchanger to an output. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches dispensing the hydrogen in the cryo-compressed state by cycling the hydrogen fuel in the cryo-compressed state from the storage system through the heat exchanger to an output (Col. 13, lines 4-16, "Refrigeration can play an important role in the delivery of hydrogen both to the hydrogen source apparatus for storage, and to recipient cryo-sorptive apparatus, according to several of the above-described embodiments. For example, in the embodiment in which the onsite source vessel itself is cryo-sorptive, refrigeration can be required in order to provide for efficient adsorption by the storage medium. Depending on the specifics of the application within embodiments of the invention and preferred efficiencies, various refrigeration cycles may be appropriate. Refrigeration efficiency is affected by both the number of compressors and heat exchangers used in the system; representative cycles include variations of the Brayton cycle and Claude cycle."; Fig. 5 shows a storage container 210 dispensing fuel through a heat exchanger cycle 234 into an output 100) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle heat exchanger as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to ensure that the hydrogen gas is at a proper temperature for acceptance into a device for use.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Battelle discloses the method of claim 19. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose further comprising venting gaseous hydrogen from the storages system and recycling the gaseous hydrogen to a compressor for compressing and cooling the hydrogen back to the cryo-compressed state. Bradley is in the art of hydrogen storage (Abstract) and teaches further comprising venting gaseous hydrogen from the storages system (550, Fig. 5) and recycling the gaseous hydrogen to a compressor for compressing and cooling the hydrogen back to the cryo-compressed state (Fig. 5 shows the recycling of hydrogen back into the compressing system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the venting and recycling as taught by Bradley. The motivation being to prevent wasted hydrogen and energy and allow the hydrogen to be reused to produce new fuel.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battelle, in view of Bradley et al. (7,036,324), and further in view of Kimbara et al. (6,802,875; hereinafter Kimabara).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 7. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cooling system comprises a heat exchanger and a refrigeration system, wherein the heat exchanger is thermally coupled to the refrigeration system, and wherein the hydrogen in the compressed state is passed through the heat exchanger. Kimbara is in the art of hydrogen supply systems (Abstract) and teaches wherein the cooling system (HP1, Fig. 4) comprises a heat exchanger (55 & 53, Fig. 4) and a refrigeration system (54, Fig. 4; Col. 10, lines 22-38, "As shown in FIG. 4, the fuel cell system FCS includes the fuel cell 1 and the hydrogen supply system 2 for supplying hydrogen gas to the fuel cell 1. The cell cooling circuit CS has an IPA tank 50, a circulation pipe 51, an IPA pump 52 provided in the circulation pipe 51, a heat exchanger 53, a dehydrogenation reactor (endothermic reactor) 54, a heat exchanger 55, a hydrogenation reactor (exothermic reactor) 56, and a condenser 57. The inlet and outlet of the IPA tank 50 are connected to the circulation pipe 51 through the inner portion of the fuel cell 1. A dehydrogenation reactor 54 is incorporated into the fuel cell 1. The cell cooling circuit CS constitutes an IPA/acetone-type low- temperature chemical heat pump HP1, the basic circuit of which is the same as that of the IPA/acetone- type chemical heat pump of the first embodiment. The catalyst, which can be used in the dehydrogenation reactor 54 and the hydrogenation reactor 56, is the same as that in the first embodiment."), wherein the heat exchanger is thermally coupled to the refrigeration system (Fig. 4 shows thermal coupling of the systems), and wherein the hydrogen in the compressed state is passed through the heat exchanger (Col. 10, lines 22-29, "As shown in FIG. 4, the fuel cell system FCS includes the fuel cell 1 and the hydrogen Supply System 2 for Supplying hydrogen gas to the fuel cell 1. The cell cooling circuit CS has an IPA tank 50, a circulation pipe 51, an IPA pump 52 provided in the circulation pipe 51, a heat exchanger 53, a dehydrogenation reactor (endothermic reactor) 54, a heat exchanger 55, a hydrogenation reactor (exothermic reactor) 56, and a condenser 57."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the cooling system heat exchanger and refrigeration as taught by Kimbara. The motivation being to provide separation of elements and condensing of specific elements to provide a pure substance.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Battelle discloses the system of claim 9. Battelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the catalyst is integrated within the heat exchanger. Kimbara is in the art of hydrogen supply systems (Abstract) and teaches wherein the catalyst is integrated within the heat exchanger (Col. 10, lines 36-38, "The catalyst, which can be used in the dehydrogenation reactor 54 and the hydrogenation reactor 56, is the same as that in the first embodiment."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Battelle to include the catalyst as taught by Kimbara. The motivation being to provide the needed cooling to condense the hydrogen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 14, 17, 18 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Reese et al. reference discloses filling storage tanks (A, B) of a hydrogen vehicle with a refrigeration system (6).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753