DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 12, 13, 15, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0291435 to Hirsimaki et al.
As concerns claim 1, a method of managing a data streaming session, comprising: identifying one or more parameters (0048-0049; 0057-wireless transmission path to be used…found out in connection with opening of the data transfer; maximum send window, defined in TCP control block (TCB); 0063) of a second communication link (0010-at least two alternative wireless transmission paths; 0041-0042) in response to determining that a user equipment (UE) that is receiving data for a data streaming session has changed (Fig. 4b-transmission path changed) from a first communication link (0010-at least two alternative wireless transmission paths; 0041-0042) to the second communication link;
selecting an initial congestion window size (Fig. 4A, 402-set window size based on transmission path) that is larger (Fig. 4B, 412, 414 Increase the window; 0016) than a default congestion window size (Fig. 4B, 412- window size changed; 0016; 0055) based on the one or more parameters (0057-size of window adjusted on basis of wireless transmission path used) of the second communication link;
and applying the selected initial congestion window size to the data streaming session (Fig. 4, 402, set window size; 0057-size of window adjusted when transmission path is changed).
As concerns claim 12, a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor (0076) configured with processor-executable instructions to: identify one or more parameters (0048-0049; 0057-wireless transmission path to be used…found out in connection with opening of the data transfer; maximum send window, defined in TCP control block (TCB); 0063) of a second communication link (0010-at least two alternative wireless transmission paths; 0041-0042) in response to determining that the UE that is receiving data for a data streaming session has changed (Fig. 4b-transmission path changed) from a first communication link (0010-at least two alternative wireless transmission paths; 0041-0042) to the second communication link;
select an initial congestion window size (Fig. 4A, 402-set window size based on transmission path) that is larger (Fig. 4B, 412, 414 Increase the window; 0016) than a default congestion window size (Fig. 4B, 412- window size changed; 0016; 0055) based on the one or more parameters (0057-size of window adjusted on basis of wireless transmission path used) of the second communication link; and apply the selected initial congestion window size to the data streaming session (Fig. 4, 402, set window size; 0057-size of window adjusted when transmission path is changed).
As concerns claim 23, a user equipment (UE), comprising: means for identifying one or more parameters of a second communication link (0076; 0048-0049; 0057-wireless transmission path to be used…found out in connection with opening of the data transfer; maximum send window, defined in TCP control block (TCB); 0063 ) in response to determining that the UE that is receiving data for a data streaming session has changed (Fig. 4b-transmission path changed) from a first communication link (0010-at least two alternative wireless transmission paths; 0041-0042) to the second communication link; means for selecting an initial congestion window size (Fig. 4A, 402-set window size based on transmission path) that is larger (Fig. 4B, 412, 414 Increase the window; 0016) than a default congestion window size (Fig. 4B, 412- window size changed; 0016; 0055) based on the one or more parameters (0057-size of window adjusted on basis of wireless transmission path used) of the second communication link; and means for applying the selected initial congestion window size to the data streaming session (Fig. 4, 402, set window size; 0057-size of window adjusted when transmission path is changed).
As concerns claims 2, 13 and 20, the invention of claim 1, 12 and 19, wherein identifying the one or more parameters of the second communication link comprises identifying by a monitor service (0063-monitors transmission path) executing in a framework of the UE (0076-0077-client device) the one or more parameters of the second communication link.
As concerns claim 4 and 15, the invention of claims 1 and 12, wherein identifying the one or more parameters of the second communication link comprises identifying one or more network-configured parameters of the second communication link (0048-0049; 0057-wireless transmission path to be used…found out in connection with opening of the data transfer; maximum send window, defined in TCP control block (TCB); 0063; protocol, type of network link is “configured”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0291435 to Hirsimaki et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0073178 to Yin et al.
Hirsimaki et al. ‘435 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 5, the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying an application requirement of an application executing on the UE that receives data from the data streaming session, wherein selecting the initial congestion window size that is larger than the default congestion window size is based on the application requirement.
As concerns claim 16, the UE of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: identify an application requirement of an application executing on the UE that receives data from the data streaming session; and select the initial congestion window size that is larger than the default congestion window size based on the application requirement.
Yin et al. ‘178 teach:
As concerns claim 5, the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying an application requirement of an application executing on the UE that receives data from the data streaming session, wherein selecting the initial congestion window size that is larger than the default congestion window size is based on the application requirement (0051-size of sliding window, application, system requirements).
As concerns claim 16, the UE of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured with processor-executable instructions to: identify an application requirement of an application executing on the UE that receives data from the data streaming session; and select the initial congestion window size that is larger than the default congestion window size based on the application requirement (0051-size of sliding window, application, system requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Hirsimaki et al. ‘435 with an application requirement, as taught by Yin et al. ‘178, in order to provide appropriate data usage based on particular use cases, thus enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0291435 to Hirsimaki et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0126590 to Vejlgaard et al.
Hirsimaki et al. ‘435 do not disclose:
As concerns claims 3 and 14, the invention of claims 1 and 12, wherein identifying the one or more parameters of the second communication link comprises identifying a location of an access point that provides the second communication link.
Vejlgaard et al. ‘590 teach:
As concerns claims 3 and 14, the invention of claims 1 and 12, wherein identifying the one or more parameters of the second communication link comprises identifying a location of an access point that provides the second communication link (0182-measurement window, adjust, based on location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Hirsimaki et al. ‘435 with location information, as taught by Vejlgaard et al. ‘590, in order to provide adequate data transfer based upon distance that would influence signals.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0291435 to Hirsimaki et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0056627 to Reddy et al.
Hirsimaki et al. ‘435 do not disclose:
As concerns claims 6 and 17, the invention of claims 1 and 12, wherein: identifying the one or more parameters of the second communication link comprises identifying one or more historical parameters of the second communication link, and selecting the initial congestion window size that is larger than the default congestion window size is based on the one or more historical parameters of the second communication link.
Reddy et al. ‘627 teach:
As concerns claims 6 and 17, the invention of claims 1 and 12, wherein: identifying the one or more parameters of the second communication link comprises identifying one or more historical parameters of the second communication link, and selecting the initial congestion window size that is larger than the default congestion window size is based on the one or more historical parameters of the second communication link (0098-versus historical data, adjust window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Hirsimaki et al. ‘435 with historical parameters, as taught by Reddy et al. ‘627, in order to provide an adequate user experience during overload times.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 11, 19, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0013246 to Miyake et al. disclose: window size, buffer space of client device (0042).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451