DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This action is in reply to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 05/09/2025.
3. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are currently pending and are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/09/2025 has been considered. Initialed copies of the Form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
7. Analysis:
Step 1: Statutory Category?: (is the claim(s) directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?) - YES: In the instant case, claims 1-10 are directed to a method (i.e., process), claims 11-14 are directed to a first electronic device (i.e., machine), and claims 11-14 are directed to a second electronic device (i.e., machine).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 1 recites the at least following limitations of “… broadcasting a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR); receiving, …, a second signal comprising a UWB response message; measuring an angle of arrival (AoA) for the received second signal and performing UWB TWR, based on the UWB response message included in the second signal, so as to identify a distance between the at least one second electronic device and the first electronic device…; determining a pay-zone, based on the distance …, and the AoA; and transmitting, …, a third signal including information related to the payment.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for processing payment using ultra-wide band communication between electronic devices). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 1 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a first electronic device”, “at least one second electronic devices”, and “one or more second electronic devices”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a first electronic device”, “at least one second electronic devices”, and “one or more second electronic devices evaluated” individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 7:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 7 recites the at least following limitations of “… receiving, …, a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR); measuring an angle of arrival (AoA) and signal strength, based on the first signal; determining whether the measured signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength; in case that the signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength, transmitting a second signal including a UWB response message …; receiving a third signal including information related to the payment from the first …; and determining whether to perform the payment, based on the information related to the payment.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for processing payment using ultra-wide band communication between electronic devices). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 7 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a second electronic device” and “a first electronic device”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a second electronic device” and “a first electronic device” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 11:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 11 recites the at least following limitations of “… broadcast a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR), receive, …, a second signal including a UWB response message, measure an angle of arrival (AoA) for the received second signal and perform UWB TWR, based on the UWB response message included in the second signal, so as to identify a distance …, determine a pay-zone, based on the distance …, and transmit, … included in the pay-zone …, a third signal including information related to the payment.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for processing payment using ultra-wide band communication between electronic devices). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 11 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a first electronic device”, “a transceiver”, “at least one processor”, “at least one second electronic devices”, and “one or more second electronic devices”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a first electronic device”, “a transceiver”, “at least one processor”, “at least one second electronic devices”, and “one or more second electronic devices” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 14:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 14 recites the at least following limitations of “… receive, …, a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR); measure an angle of arrival (AoA) and signal strength, based on the first signal; determine whether the measured signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength; in case that the signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength, transmit a second signal including a UWB response message …; receive a third signal including information related to the payment …; and determine whether to perform the payment, based on the information related to the payment.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for processing payment using ultra-wide band communication between electronic devices). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 14 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a second electronic device”, “a transceiver”, “at least one processor”, and “a first electronic device”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a second electronic device”, “a transceiver”, “at least one processor”, and “a first electronic device” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-13, 16-18, and 19-21 have been given the full two-part analysis, analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claims, when analyzed individually and in combination, are also held to be patent-ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claims 2 and 12: simply provide further definition to “determining the pay-zone” recited in claims 1 and 11. Simply stating that wherein determining the pay-zone comprises determining the pay-zone such that a number of the one or more second electronic devices becomes equal to a predetermined maximum number of connected electronic devices amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the one or more second electronic devices, a predetermined maximum number of connected electronic devices).Thus, the dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 3 and 13: simply refine the abstract idea because they recite limitations (e.g., further comprising: identifying reference ranging information and reference AoA information; identifying the one or more second electronic devices included in a second pay-zone determined based on the reference ranging information and the reference AoA information; and transmitting the third signal including the information related to the payment to the one or more second electronic devices included in the second pay-zone), that fall under the category of organizing human activity as described above in independent claims 1 and 11. The dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application) that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 4 and 16: simply provide further definition to “transmitting third signal” recited in claims 1 and 11. Simply stating that wherein transmitting third signal including the information related to the payment comprises transmitting the third signal including the information related to the payment to an electronic device closest to the first electronic device among at least one second electronic device included in the pay-zone amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the one or more second electronic devices, a predetermined maximum number of connected electronic devices).Thus, the dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 5 and 17: simply provide further definition to “transmitting third signal” recited in claims 1 and 11. Simply stating that wherein the UWB advertisement message includes at least one of an AdvertisementlD field, a Typeclass field, a Data field length field, an Advertisement data type field, an Advertisement data length field, and an Advertisement data field, and wherein the threshold value of the signal strength is included in the advertisement data field do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 6 and 18: simply provide further definition to “the signal strength” recited in claims 1 and 11. Simply stating that wherein the signal strength is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 8 and 19: simply provide further definition to “the signal strength” recited in claims 7 and 14. Simply stating that wherein the signal strength is a received signal strength indication (RSSI), wherein the UWB advertisement message includes at least one of an AdvertisemenlD field,a Typeclass field, a Data type length field, an Advertisement data type field, an Advertisement data length field, and an Advertisement data field, andwherein the threshold value related to the signal strength is included in the advertisement data field do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 9 and 20: simply provide further definition to “transmitting the second signal” recited in claims 7 and 14. Simply stating that wherein transmitting the second signal including the UWB response message to the first electronic device comprises: identifying whether the measured AoA is a preset specific angle; and only in case that the measured AoA is the preset specific angle, transmitting the second signal to the first electronic device amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the first electronic device).Thus, the dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claims 10 and 21: simply provide further definition to “determining whether to perform the payment” recited in claims 7 and 14. Simply stating that wherein determining whether to perform the payment comprises, in case that a number of electronic devices determined to perform the payment is plural, performing separate payment amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., a number of electronic devices).Thus, the dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0312424 A1), hereinafter, “LEE”.
Claim 1 –
LEE disclose:
a method of a first electronic device for processing payment using ultra- wide band (UWB) communication, the method comprising (See at least LEE, [0035], “A method 300 carried out by an application on a UWB-enabled device 310 can include receiving (312) a payment amount”, see also Figure 3):
broadcasting a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR) (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3);
receiving, from at least one second electronic device, a second signal comprising a UWB response message (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3);
measuring an angle of arrival (AoA) for the received second signal and performing UWB TWR, based on the UWB response message included in the second signal, so as to identify a distance between the at least one second electronic device and the first electronic device (See at least LEE, [0027], “The terminal 215 (via the anchor 220 which is configured to transmit pulses and upon receiving an indication of another UWB chip within its vicinity will perform ranging operations) will be aware of the UWB-enabled devices 205 in its vicinity, including the device 210 for consumer 240. Based on the UWB protocol, the terminal 215 is able to determine the specific vicinity of the payment devices 205, including the UWB payment device 210 (e.g., using the spatial awareness). In addition, based on the UWB-enabled device 210 approach angle and distance, the terminal (via the anchor 220) is able to determine the intention of the consumer 240 to potentially perform a payment transaction using a UWB secure communication channel 222”, see also Figure 2B);
determining a pay-zone, based on the distance between the at least one second electronic device and the first electronic device, and the AoA (See at least LEE, [0029], “the consumer 240 can confirm/consent of the payment by pointing their device at the POS Terminal (Reader) 215. This activity (pointing at the terminal 215 or other specified location/direction) may be identified based on UWB supported positional information”, see also Figure 2B); and
transmitting, to one or more second electronic devices included in the pay-zone among the at least one second electronic device, a third signal including information related to the payment (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 2 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein determining the pay-zone comprises determining the pay-zone such that a number of the one or more second electronic devices becomes equal to a predetermined maximum number of connected electronic devices (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 3 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
further comprising: identifying reference ranging information and reference AoA information; identifying the one or more second electronic devices included in a second pay-zone determined based on the reference ranging information and the reference AoA information; and transmitting the third signal including the information related to the payment to the one or more second electronic devices included in the second pay-zone (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 4 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein transmitting third signal including the information related to the payment comprises transmitting the third signal including the information related to the payment only to an electronic device closest to the first electronic device among at least one second electronic device included in the pay-zone (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 5 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the UWB advertisement message includes at least one of an AdvertisementlD field, a Typeclass field, a Data field length field, an Advertisement data type field, an Advertisement data length field, and an Advertisement data field, and wherein the threshold value of the signal strength is included in the advertisement data field (See at least LEE, [0032], “there are two transaction related messages on the secure communication channel 222 between the consumer device and the payment acceptance device: the message containing the transaction related information to the consumer device and the payload in the appropriate EMV data format from the consumer device”, see also Figure 2B).
Claim 6 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the signal strength is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first trigger can be an action of pointing the first UWB-enabled device 310 in the direction of the second UWB-enabled device 320. The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 7 –
LEE disclose:
a method of a second electronic device for processing payment using ultra-wide band (UWB) communication, the method comprising (See at least LEE, [0035], “A method 300 carried out by an application on a UWB-enabled device 310 can include receiving (312) a payment amount”, see also Figure 3):
receiving, from a first electronic device, a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR) (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3);
measuring an angle of arrival (AoA) and signal strength, based on the first signal (See at least LEE, [0027], “The terminal 215 (via the anchor 220 which is configured to transmit pulses and upon receiving an indication of another UWB chip within its vicinity will perform ranging operations) will be aware of the UWB-enabled devices 205 in its vicinity, including the device 210 for consumer 240. Based on the UWB protocol, the terminal 215 is able to determine the specific vicinity of the payment devices 205, including the UWB payment device 210 (e.g., using the spatial awareness). In addition, based on the UWB-enabled device 210 approach angle and distance, the terminal (via the anchor 220) is able to determine the intention of the consumer 240 to potentially perform a payment transaction using a UWB secure communication channel 222”, see also Figure 2B);
determining whether the measured signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength (See at least LEE, [0029], “the consumer 240 can confirm/consent of the payment by pointing their device at the POS Terminal (Reader) 215. This activity (pointing at the terminal 215 or other specified location/direction) may be identified based on UWB supported positional information”, see also Figure 2B);
in case that the signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength, transmitting a second signal including a UWB response message to the first electronic device; receiving a third signal including information related to the payment from the first electronic device; and determining whether to perform the payment, based on the information related to the payment (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 8 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 7, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the signal strength is a received signal strength indication (RSSI), wherein the UWB advertisement message includes at least one of an AdvertisemenlD field,a Typeclass field, a Data type length field, an Advertisement data type field, an Advertisement data length field, and an Advertisement data field, and wherein the threshold value related to the signal strength is included in the advertisement data field (See at least LEE, [0032], “there are two transaction related messages on the secure communication channel 222 between the consumer device and the payment acceptance device: the message containing the transaction related information to the consumer device and the payload in the appropriate EMV data format from the consumer device”, see also Figure 2B).
Claim 9 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 7, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein transmitting the second signal including the UWB response message to the first electronic device comprises: identifying whether the measured AoA is a preset specific angle; and only in case that the measured AoA is the preset specific angle, transmitting the second signal to the first electronic device (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 10 –
LEE disclose the method of claim 7, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein determining whether to perform the payment comprises, in case that a number of electronic devices determined to perform the payment is plural, performing seperate payment (See at least LEE, [0037], “in step 1, a consumer's UWB-enabled device 402 can be directed at a UWB-enabled POS terminal 404 (or other UWB-enabled payment acceptance system), for example, indicating an intent to perform a transaction”, see also Figure 4).
Claim 11 –
LEE disclose:
a first electronic device for processing payment using ultra- wide band (UWB) communication, the first electronic device comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (See at least LEE, [0035], “A method 300 carried out by an application on a UWB-enabled device 310 can include receiving (312) a payment amount”, see also Figure 3):
broadcast a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR) (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3),
receive, from at least one second electronic device, a second signal including a UWB response message (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3),
measure an angle of arrival (AoA) for the received second signal and perform UWB TWR, based on the UWB response message included in the second signal, so as to identify a distance between the at least one second electronic device and the first electronic device (See at least LEE, [0027], “The terminal 215 (via the anchor 220 which is configured to transmit pulses and upon receiving an indication of another UWB chip within its vicinity will perform ranging operations) will be aware of the UWB-enabled devices 205 in its vicinity, including the device 210 for consumer 240. Based on the UWB protocol, the terminal 215 is able to determine the specific vicinity of the payment devices 205, including the UWB payment device 210 (e.g., using the spatial awareness). In addition, based on the UWB-enabled device 210 approach angle and distance, the terminal (via the anchor 220) is able to determine the intention of the consumer 240 to potentially perform a payment transaction using a UWB secure communication channel 222”, see also Figure 2B),
determine a pay-zone, based on the distance between the at least one second electronic device and the first electronic device and the AoA (See at least LEE, [0029], “the consumer 240 can confirm/consent of the payment by pointing their device at the POS Terminal (Reader) 215. This activity (pointing at the terminal 215 or other specified location/direction) may be identified based on UWB supported positional information”, see also Figure 2B), and
transmit, to one or more second electronic devices included in the pay-zone among the at least one second electronic device, a third signal including information related to the payment (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 12 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 11, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is configured determine the pay-zone such that a number of the one or more second electronic devices becomes equal to a predetermined maximum number of connected electronic devices (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 13 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 11, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify reference ranging information and reference AoA information, identify the one or more second electronic devices included in a second pay-zone determined based on the reference ranging information and the reference AoA information, and transmit the third signal including the information related to the payment to the one or more second electronic devices included in the second pay-zone (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 14 –
LEE disclose:
a second electronic device for processing payment using ultra-wide band (UWB) communication, the second electronic device comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (See at least LEE, [0035], “A method 300 carried out by an application on a UWB-enabled device 310 can include receiving (312) a payment amount”, see also Figure 3):
receive, from a first electronic device, a first signal including a UWB advertisement message including information on a threshold value related to signal strength, wherein the UWB advertisement message is used as a UWB initiation message for initiating UWB two-way ranging (TWR) (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3);
measure an angle of arrival (AoA) and signal strength, based on the first signal (See at least LEE, [0027], “The terminal 215 (via the anchor 220 which is configured to transmit pulses and upon receiving an indication of another UWB chip within its vicinity will perform ranging operations) will be aware of the UWB-enabled devices 205 in its vicinity, including the device 210 for consumer 240. Based on the UWB protocol, the terminal 215 is able to determine the specific vicinity of the payment devices 205, including the UWB payment device 210 (e.g., using the spatial awareness). In addition, based on the UWB-enabled device 210 approach angle and distance, the terminal (via the anchor 220) is able to determine the intention of the consumer 240 to potentially perform a payment transaction using a UWB secure communication channel 222”, see also Figure 2B);
determine whether the measured signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength(See at least LEE, [0029], “the consumer 240 can confirm/consent of the payment by pointing their device at the POS Terminal (Reader) 215. This activity (pointing at the terminal 215 or other specified location/direction) may be identified based on UWB supported positional information”, see also Figure 2B);
in case that the signal strength is larger than the threshold value related to the signal strength, transmit a second signal including a UWB response message to the first electronic device; receive a third signal including information related to the payment from the first electronic device; and determine whether to perform the payment, based on the information related to the payment (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 16 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 11, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit the third signal including the information related to the payment to an electronic device closest to the first electronic device among at least one second electronic device included in the pay-zone (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 17 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 11, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the UWB advertisement message includes at least one of an AdvertisementlD field, a Typeclass field, a Data field length field, an Advertisement data type field, an Advertisement data length field, and an Advertisement data field, and wherein the threshold value of the signal strength is included in the advertisement data field (See at least LEE, [0032], “there are two transaction related messages on the secure communication channel 222 between the consumer device and the payment acceptance device: the message containing the transaction related information to the consumer device and the payload in the appropriate EMV data format from the consumer device”, see also Figure 2B).
Claim 18 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 11, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the signal strength is a received signal strength indication (RSSI) (See at least LEE, [0035], “The first trigger can be an action of pointing the first UWB-enabled device 310 in the direction of the second UWB-enabled device 320. The first UWB-enabled device 310 may send a signal 321 in the direction that the first device 310 is pointed and receive a signal 322 from the second UWB-enabled device 320 in order to establish a communication channel between the two UWB devices”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 19 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 14, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the signal strength is a received signal strength indication (RSSI), wherein the UWB advertisement message includes at least one of an AdvertisemenlD field, a Typeclass field, a Data type length field, an Advertisement data type field, an Advertisement data length field, and an Advertisement data field, and wherein the threshold value related to the signal strength is included in the advertisement data field (See at least LEE, [0032], “there are two transaction related messages on the secure communication channel 222 between the consumer device and the payment acceptance device: the message containing the transaction related information to the consumer device and the payload in the appropriate EMV data format from the consumer device”, see also Figure 2B).
Claim 20 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 14, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify whether the measured AoA is a preset specific angle; and in case that the measured AoA is the preset specific angle, transmit the second signal to the first electronic device (See at least LEE, [0035], “the first UWB-enabled device 310 can submit the request 329 over the network 330 to the appropriate funding rails. The request 329 may include the amount 313 and the identification information (e.g., email 327), and may be transmitted via a network interface (e.g., network interface 120 of FIG. 1) of the device 310. A confirmation 335 can be received (334) via the same channels and a confirmation of the transfer can be displayed at the device 310. The recipient can also receive a confirmation 336 to their device 320”, see also Figure 3).
Claim 21 –
LEE disclose the first electronic device of claim 14, as shown above.
LEE further disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: in case that a number of electronic devices determined to perform the payment is plural, perform seperate payment (See at least LEE, [0037], “in step 1, a consumer's UWB-enabled device 402 can be directed at a UWB-enabled POS terminal 404 (or other UWB-enabled payment acceptance system), for example, indicating an intent to perform a transaction”, see also Figure 4).
Relevant Prior Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LEE et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0136556 A1) teach electronic device and method for performing ranging through UWB.
Conclusion
/LIZ P NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3696
/SCOTT S TROTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3696