Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 20210221162 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima discloses an applicator (figure 1) comprising:
a coating liquid tank that is a flexible container deformed when pressed by a finger of a user (item 10, figure 1A);
a front barrel fixed to the coating liquid tank and including a discharge port configured to discharge a coating liquid (item 24, figure 1A);
an application portion fixed to the front barrel (item 12, figure 1A);
and a valve mechanism communicating the coating liquid tank and the application portion (item 14, figure 1B),
wherein the valve mechanism includes at least two valve mechanisms of an intake valve (items 20 and 22, figure 1B) and a liquid discharge valve (items 16 and 18, figure 1B),
the intake valve mechanism includes a valve rod (item 16, figure 1B) and a second valve container (item 22, figure 1B),
air is allowed to be intaken through a gap between the valve rod and the second valve container when an inside of the coating liquid tank is at negative pressure (δ, figure 3; ¶ [0059]),
the liquid discharge valve mechanism includes the intake valve mechanism and a first valve container (item 18, figure 1B),
and a coating liquid is allowed to flow through a gap between the intake valve mechanism and the first valve container when the inside of the coating liquid tank is at a positive pressure (¶ [0064] – ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the valve mechanism includes the first spring (item 32, figure 1B), the second valve container (item 22, figure 1B), and the valve rod (item 16, figure 1B) coaxially disposed in the first valve container (item 18, figure 1B).
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the applicator includes a storage body in the front barrel (items 28 and 26, figure 1B) and has a function of suppressing a flow of a coating liquid discharged from the valve mechanism and suppressing an amount of a coating liquid flowing to the application portion (¶ [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima in view of Teichmann (DE 4408357 A1; translation attached).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the liquid discharge valve mechanism includes a first spring configured to urge a gap between the second valve container and the first valve container to be closed (item 32, figure 1B).
However, Nakajima does not teach a second spring configured to urge a gap between the valve rod and the second valve container to be closed.
Teichmann discloses a valve mechanism for a container (figure X) wherein the valve mechanism includes a second spring (item 96, figure X) configured to urge a gap between the valve rod (item 88, figure X) and the second valve container (item 72, figure X) to be closed (¶ [0017]),
and an urging force of the second spring is set to operate at least at atmospheric pressure (¶ [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have provided the applicator of Nakajima with the second spring configured to urge a gap between the valve rod and second valve container to be closed as taught by Teichmann in order to secure against overpressure or under pressure (¶ [0002] and ¶ [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 is allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
The prior art of record do not teach an applicator “wherein a stirring rod slidable in a front-rear direction is disposed in front of a coaxial line of the valve rod of the liquid discharge valve mechanism, and the stirring rod is contactable with the valve rod” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art.
/NOAH JACOB ARIF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 September 14, 2026