DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 29 September 2025 and
12 May 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. In FIG. 7, reference character 121 should be changed to 112 in order to be consistent with the remainder of the disclosure.
b. In FIG. 8B, reference character 22U should be changed to 21U in order to be consistent with the remainder of the disclosure.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
In line 2 of claim 3, “the second connector” should be changed to --the second connector terminal-- in order to more clearly refer back to that set forth in line 5 of independent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254).
With respect to claims 1, 6 and 9, Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254) teach a connection structure allowing an electronic equipment (1) and an optical disk drive (30) detachably attachable thereto to be electrically connected with each other (see lines 39-42 in column 5, for instance, i.e., “When the optical disk drive 30 is inserted into the second receptacle 8 through the second opening 14, the connector 43 is fitted in the connector receptacle 16 of the printed-circuit board 15”), the connection structure comprising a first connector terminal (43) provided on the optical disk drive (as shown in FIG. 8, for instance); a second connector terminal (16) provided on the electronic equipment (as shown in FIG. 3, for instance) in a manner connectable to the first connector terminal (see lines 39-42 in column 5, for instance, i.e., “When the optical disk drive 30 is inserted into the second receptacle 8 through the second opening 14, the connector 43 is fitted in the connector receptacle 16 of the printed-circuit board 15”); a circuit board (15) housed in a housing of the electronic equipment (as shown in FIG. 4, for instance), the circuit board having the second connector terminal mounted thereon (as shown in FIG. 4, for instance, see also lines 59-60 in column 3, for instance, i.e., “printed circuit board 15 has a connector receptacle 16”); a ground part (includes 70, for instance) provided on the circuit board (see lines 7-8 in column 7, for instance, i.e., “plating layer 70 is electrically connected to the ground of the printed circuit board 15”); and a conductive member (50) causing the ground part and a metal part (includes 31, for instance, see also lines 50-51 in column 1, for instance, i.e., “metallic case of the optical disk drive”) of the optical disk drive to be electrically connected with each other in a state where the first connector terminal and the second connector terminal are connected with each other (as shown in FIG. 15 relative to FIGS. 3 and 14, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein the conductive member is secured to the optical disk drive ( see lines 52-54 in column 5, for instance, i.e., “grounding metal member 50 (an electrical conduction member) is attached to the housing 31 of the optical disk drive 30”) [as per claim 6]; and wherein the metal part includes a lower plate (includes surface 39a, for instance) of the optical disk drive for placement onto the electronic equipment (as shown in FIG. 15, for instance) [as per claim 9].
With respect to claim 11, Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254) teach an optical disk drive (30) detachably attachable to an electronic equipment (1), the optical disk drive comprising a connector terminal (43) connectable to an equipment-side connector terminal (16) mounted on a circuit board (15) of the electronic equipment; and a conductive member (50) electrically connected to a ground part (includes 70, for instance) provided on the circuit board (see lines 7-8 in column 7, for instance, i.e., “plating layer 70 is electrically connected to the ground of the printed circuit board 15”) in a state where the connector terminal is connected to the equipment-side connector terminal (as shown in FIG. 15 relative to FIGS. 3 and 14, for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254) in view of Nozawa (US 2021/0298167).
Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254) teach the connection structure as detailed in paragraph 8, supra. Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254), however, remain silent as to “wherein the ground part includes a ground pattern and a shield, the ground pattern being formed on the circuit board, the shield covering electronic components mounted on the circuit board” as per claim 2, and “wherein the shield is provided on the circuit board in a manner exposing the second connector” as per claim 3.
Nozawa (US 2021/0298167) teaches that a ground part (see FIG. 8, for instance) including a ground pattern (includes G1, for instance) and a shield (includes 31, for instance), the ground pattern being formed on a circuit board (10), the shield covering electronic components mounted on the circuit board (see paragraph [0029], for instance, i.e., “(the SoC 15, the video signal control circuit 16, the LAN communication control circuit 17, and the storage device control circuit 18) are each disposed inside the shield area A1”), wherein the shield is provided on the circuit board in a manner exposing a connector (11, for instance, as shown in FIG. 8, for instance, see also paragraph [0029], for instance, i.e., “(the video signal connector 11, the LAN connector 12, and the two USB connectors 13) mounted on the printed board 10 are each disposed outside the ground pattern G1 surrounding the shield area A1”), is a notoriously old and well known connection structure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the ground part of Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254) include a ground pattern and a shield, the ground pattern being formed on the circuit board, the shield covering electronic components mounted on the circuit board wherein the shield is provided on the circuit board in a manner exposing the second connector, as taught/suggested by Nozawa (US 2021/0298167). The rationale is as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have had the ground part of Minaguchi et al. (US 7,500,254) include a ground pattern and a shield, the ground pattern being formed on the circuit board, the shield covering electronic components mounted on the circuit board wherein the shield is provided on the circuit board in a manner exposing the second connector, as taught/suggested by Nozawa (US 2021/0298167) since such is a notoriously old and well known connection structure configuration, and selecting a known connection structure configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes Nozawa (US 2019/0364703), which teaches an electronic apparatus grounding configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CRAIG A. RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688