DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the application on 05/12/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusunoki et al, US PG-Publication (US 2015/0333539 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kusunoki et al discloses an electric field resonance antenna (Fig 9, 310) comprising:
a resonator (310) that includes a first spherical electrode (311), a second spherical electrode (312), and a resonance coil (313) connecting the first spherical electrode (311) and the second spherical (312) electrode (see Fig 9 and par. [0063], cables 315 and 316 are connected to each other, these are connected respectively to output terminals of a not-illustrated alternating-current power generating unit. By connecting the alternating-current power generating unit to the power transmission coupler 310 by the connection lines 315, 316, a power transmission device is constituted), and resonates at an output frequency of a power transmission-reception circuit for power transmission (see Fig 9 and par. [0062]-[0067]); and
a power supply (alternating-current power generating unit, not shown, par. [0063],[0067]) that includes a power supply coil (314) magnetically coupled to the resonance coil (313) and electrically connected with the power transmission-reception circuit (see Fig 9, also reproduced below, and par. [0062]-[0067],
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 2, Kusunoki et al discloses the power transmission apparatus comprising:
a pair of electric field resonance antennas (see Fig 9 and par. [0062]-[0067] disclosing power transmission coupler 310 and power reception coupler 320) of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki et al, US PG-Publication (US 2015/0333539 A1) in view of Moyer et al US PG-Publication (2015/0349539 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kusunoki et al discloses an electric field resonance antenna (Fig 9, 310) comprising:
a resonator (310) that includes a spherical electrode (311), a ground, and a resonance coil (313) connecting the spherical electrode (311) and the ground, and resonates at an output frequency of a power transmission-reception circuit for power transmission (see Fig 9 and par. [0062]-[0067]); and
a power supply (alternating-current power generating unit, not shown, par. [0063],[0067]) that includes a power supply coil (314) magnetically coupled to the resonance coil (313) and electrically connected with the power transmission-reception circuit, wherein the resonance coil (313) and the power supply coil (314) are connected with the ground (see Fig 9, also reproduced below, and par. [0062]-[0067],
par. [0063], cables 315 and 316 are connected to each other, these are connected respectively to output terminals of a not-illustrated alternating-current power generating unit. By connecting the alternating-current power generating unit to the power transmission coupler 310 by the connection lines 315, 316, a power transmission device is constituted).
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Kusunoki et al does not clearly discloses a ground;
However, Moyer et al is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application in which discloses a wireless power transmission system (200) and further discloses the well-known use of a ground (see Fig 5 and par. [0051],[0054],[0056] disclosing ground terminal connected to 500 and ground terminal 514 in receiver 204);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power transmission system in Kusunoki et al with the teaching of Moyer et al by including a ground in order to provide a stable voltage reference, this improves measurement accuracy and control stability and also reduce common mode noise.
Regarding claim 4, Kusunoki et al discloses a power transmission apparatus comprising: a pair of electric field resonance antennas (see Fig 9 and par. [0062]-[0067] disclosing power transmission coupler 310 and power reception coupler 320) of claim 3.
Examiner Note
7. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836