DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This office action for US Patent application 19/129392 is responsive to communications filed on June 23rd, 2026. Currently, claims 1-17 are pending are presented for examination while claim 17 was cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C §102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) meets the claim limitations, as follows:
An apparatus for decoding a block, comprising:
a processor configured to:
receive an encoded bitstream including an encoded transform block corresponding to the block [i.e. encoded bitstream; Fig. 5];
determine, from the encoded bitstream, whether the encoded transform block was encoded using a DC only transform coefficient mode [i.e. A block with a DC coefficient value have a non-zero value and all of AC coefficients of a residual blocks are converted to 0; paragraph. 0038, Fig. 3]; and
responsive to a determination that the encoded transform block was encoded using the DC only transform coefficient mode [i.e. the block with a non-zero DC coefficient only; Fig. 3], decode only a DC transform coefficient of the encoded transform block from the encoded bitstream to reconstruct the block [i.e. all of AC coefficients are converted to 0; paragraph. 0053, Fig. 3-4], wherein to decode only the DC transform coefficient comprises to:
entropy decode the DC transform coefficient [i.e. DC coefficient 300; Fig. 3 and 5];
set a value at position (0, 0) of the block to the DC transform coefficient [i.e. the DC coefficient 300 at position (0,0); Fig. 3]; and
set all remaining transform coefficients of the block to zero [i.e. all remaining AC coefficients are converted into zeros; Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 8, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) in view of Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1).
Regarding claim 2, LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein to determine whether the encoded transform block was encoded using the DC only transform coefficient mode [i.e. the block with only one DC coefficient; paragraph. 0098] comprises to:
entropy decode a symbol from the encoded bitstream [i.e. entropy decoding unit 70 decodes certain syntax elements of the encoded video bitstream; paragraph. 0155, Fig. 4].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) and Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1 in order to create a decoding apparatus as the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) in view of Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein to determine whether the encoded transform block was encoded using the DC only transform coefficient mode comprises to:
entropy decode a symbol from the encoded bitstream using context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) with a context derived from at least one transform block neighboring the block [i.e. perform CABAC; paragraph. 0055, 0139].
Regarding claim 9, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3, 7, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) in view of Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) in view of Zhou (US 20020164081 A1) and further in view of Chaudhari et al. (US 20220239923 A1).
Regarding claim 3, LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) in view of Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 2.
However, LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) in view of Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) does not disclose about two different cases of all transform coefficients as the claimed invention.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou (US 20020164081 A1) discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the symbol is equal to 1 when all transform coefficients of the block are equal to zero except for the DC transform coefficient [i.e. all AC coefficient are assumed to be zero and only DC coefficient is quantized; paragraph. 0012, 0015], and
In the same field of endeavor, Chaudhari et al. (US 20220239923 A1) discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
the symbol is equal to zero when any of the transform coefficients other than the DC transform coefficient has a non-zero value [i.e. the purpose of the transform is to concentrate the energy in only a few significant coefficients and therefore the quantized transform coefficient matrix typically has only a non-zero DC coefficient and a small number of non-zero AC coefficients; paragraph. 0030].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1), Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1), Zhou (US 20020164081 A1) and Chaudhari et al. (US 20220239923 A1) in order to create a decoding apparatus as the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, LEE et al. (US 20080159389 A1) discloses the following claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Furthermore, Seregin et al. (US 20170324643 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether the encoded block was encoded using the DC only transform coefficient mode responsive to the zero-coefficient symbol indicating that the block includes at least one transform coefficient having a non-zero value [i.e. the flag indicates whether the block has only one DC coefficient (non-zero coefficient); paragraph. 0098-0100].
Furthermore, Zhou (US 20020164081 A1) discloses the claim limitations as follows:
decode, from the encoded bitstream, a zero-coefficient symbol indicating whether the block includes transform coefficients only having zero values [i.e. a block with zero AC coefficients; paragraph. 0012]; and
Regarding claim 12, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, all the claim limitations which are set forth and rejected as per discussion for claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 14-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
New Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM D PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487