DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“wherein the first device axis and the second device axis are orthogonal to the first device axis” (Claim 2)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim(s) 2-3 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2’s limitation “wherein the first device axis and the second device axis are orthogonal to the first device axis” is infinite because
the first device axis CAN NOT BE orthogonal to the first device axis.
To further advance prosecution, the Examiner interprets the above limitation as
“wherein the first device axis and the second device axis are orthogonal to the first ROTATION axis”.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 14-16,18, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20120306603) in view of HAUTSON et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20160091981).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
Olsson et al. teach
a system for determining a manipulation of a user-borne device ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. user interface device 100) by a user ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. a user to grip), the system comprising (i.e. please see above citation(s)):
a user-borne device ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. user interface device 100) comprising:
a body ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. rubber cover 114; [0139], FIG. 1, i.e. floating array assembly 6020), and
at least one magnetic object ([0164], FIG. 1, i.e. one or more magnets 340; [0139], FIG. 62, i.e. magnets 5910) defining a magnetic moment vector ([0131], FIG. 59, i.e. magnetic field lines 591) and operationally coupled to (FIG. 4-6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 340 coupled to bottom of 114) the body (i.e. please see above citation(s)) such that a rotation of the body ([0139], FIG. 1, i.e. rotation of the floating array assembly 6020) about a first rotation axis ([0139], FIG. 1, i.e. about the Z-axis) causes a rotation of the at least one magnetic object ([0139], FIG. 1, i.e. rotation of … and magnets 5910) about the first rotation axis (i.e. please see above citation(s)),
a plurality of magnetometers ([0131], FIG. 59-62, i.e. magnetic sensors … or magnetometers) associated with an interaction surface ([0183], FIG. 60-67, i.e. fixed base assembly 6030), wherein the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to create a sensing volume ([0137], FIG. 59-67, i.e. magnetic sensors 5920-A, 5920-B, and 5920-C, which are configured to sense the magnetic fields … associated magnets 5910-A, 5910-B) and the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to measure a magnetic field ([0128], FIG. 59-67, i.e. measuring parameters such as magnetic field magnitudes and/or directions) associated with the at least one magnetic object (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Olsson et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the system is configured to determine an occurrence of a first scroll event in a first scroll direction when the magnetic moment vector is angularly displaced in a first direction about the first rotation axis, and wherein the system is configured to determine the occurrence of a second scroll event in a second scroll direction when the magnetic moment vector is angularly displaced in a second direction about the first rotation axis, and wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, HAUTSON et al. teach
wherein the system ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. cross-shaped button 50) is configured to determine an occurrence of a first scroll event ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. “four keys 52 to 57” (incorrectly indicated in the specification, it should be 52 to 55 as shown by the figures) which would mean that move right with 55, as movement to the end of the right (to obviously view information that is not currently in the visible area) or scrolling right) in a first scroll direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) right scroll with 55) when the magnetic moment vector ([0050], FIG. 3-4, i.e. magnetic moment of a magnet is shown by an arrow) is angularly displaced in a first direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) the magnetic moment arrow would have point from upper right to lower left in FIG. 3) about the first rotation axis (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) y-axis), and wherein the system is configured to determine the occurrence (i.e. please see above citation(s)) of a second scroll event ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. “four keys 52 to 57” which would mean that move left with 54, as movement to the end of the left side (to obviously view information that is not currently in the visible area) or scrolling left) in a second scroll direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) left scroll with 54) when the magnetic moment vector (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is angularly displaced in a second direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) the magnetic moment arrow would have point from upper left to lower right in FIG. 3) about the first rotation axis, and wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) left is opposite right).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine that Olsson et al. teaching system comprising user-borne device including a magnet mounted in a body and a surface including plurality of magnetometers with HAUTSON et al. teaching of cross-shaped button as an input device using magnetic moment vector for controlling movement to effectively apply variety of input devices corresponding to different applications of user interfaces utilizing magnetic moment vector for scrolling (HAUTSON et al. [0076]).
Regarding Claim 4, (Previously Presented)
the system of claim 1, wherein
Olsson et al. teach
the at least one magnetic object ([0137], FIG. 62, i.e. magnets 5910-A, 5910-B, and 5910-C) comprises a longitudinal body ([0133], FIG. 62, i.e. cylindrically-shaped configuration) extending along a body axis ([0133], FIG. 62, i.e. (cylinder’s axis)) which defines the magnetic moment vector(i.e. please see above citation(s)), and wherein the first rotation axis (i.e. please see above citation(s)) does not coincide with (FIG. 62, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) Z-axis of the knob 110 does not coincide with axes of the magnets 5910s) the body axis (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 5, (Previously Presented)
the system of claim 1, wherein
HAUTSON et al. teach
a rotation of the body ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. cross 58) causes an angular displacement of the magnetic moment vector (i.e. please see above citation(s)) from a rotary initial position ([0080], FIG. 3-4, i.e. rest state) to a rotary displaced position ([0081], FIG. 3-4, i.e. four possible pressed states) along a rotation angle (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) rotation angle about y-axis) with respect to the interaction surface (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) 58’s surface).
Regarding Claim 9, (Currently Amended)
the system of claim 5,
Olsson et al. teach
further comprising a first biasing mechanism ([0085], FIG. 1, i.e. use of springs) configured to counterrotate the body from the rotary displaced position towards the rotatory rotary initial position ([0085], FIG. 1, i.e. return to a neutral or released state position with the use of springs).
Regarding Claim 14, (Currently Amended)
Olsson et al. teach
a computer-implemented method ([0007], FIG. 1, i.e. method of providing a user interface device (UID)) for determining a manipulation of a user-borne device ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. user interface device 100) by a user ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. a user to grip), comprising:
measuring a magnetic field ([0128], FIG. 59-67, i.e. measuring parameters such as magnetic field magnitudes and/or directions) associated via at least one magnetic object ([0164], FIG. 1, i.e. one or more magnets 340; [0139], FIG. 62, i.e. magnets 5910) with a plurality of magnetometers ([0131], FIG. 59-62, i.e. magnetic sensors … or magnetometers), wherein the at least one magnetic object (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is coupled to (FIG. 4-6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 340 coupled to bottom of 114) a body ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. rubber cover 114; [0139], FIG. 1, i.e. floating array assembly 6020) of a user-borne device ([0158], FIG. 1, i.e. user interface device 100) and the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to create a sensing volume ([0137], FIG. 59-67, i.e. magnetic sensors 5920-A, 5920-B, and 5920-C, which are configured to sense the magnetic fields … associated magnets 5910-A, 5910-B), wherein the at least one magnetic object (i.e. please see above citation(s)) defines a magnetic moment vector ([0131], FIG. 59, i.e. magnetic field lines 591),
wherein the user-borne device (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is operable on an interaction surface ([0183], FIG. 60-67, i.e. fixed base assembly 6030) defined within the sensing volume (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
However, Olsson et al. do not explicitly teach
determining an occurrence of a first scroll event when the magnetic moment vector is angularly displaced in a first direction about a first rotation axis or determining an occurrence of a second scroll event when the magnetic moment vector is angularly displaced in a second direction about the first rotation axis, wherein the first scroll event is one of a clockwise scroll event, a scroll-up event, or scroll-right event, wherein the second scroll event is one of a counter-clockwise scroll event, scroll- down event, or a scroll-left event, and wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction.
determining an occurrence of a first scroll event ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. “four keys 52 to 57” (incorrectly indicated in the specification, it should be 52 to 55 as shown by the figures) which would mean that move right with 55, as movement to the end of the right (to obviously view information that is not currently in the visible area) or scrolling right) when the magnetic moment vector ([0050], FIG. 3-4, i.e. magnetic moment of a magnet is shown by an arrow) is angularly displaced in a first direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) the magnetic moment arrow would have point from upper right to lower left in FIG. 3) about a first rotation axis (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) y-axis) or determining an occurrence of a second scroll event ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. “four keys 52 to 57” which would mean that move left with 54, as movement to the end of the left side (to obviously view information that is not currently in the visible area) or scrolling left) when the magnetic moment vector (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is angularly displaced in a second direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) the magnetic moment arrow would have point from upper left to lower right in FIG. 3) about the first rotation axis, wherein the first scroll event (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is one of a clockwise scroll event, a scroll-up event, or scroll-right event ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. (scrolling right, see above)), wherein the second scroll event is one of a counter-clockwise scroll event, scroll-down event, or a scroll-left event ([0077], FIG. 3-4, i.e. (scrolling left, see above)), and wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown from the figure(s) right is opposite left).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine that Olsson et al. teaching computer implement method comprising user-borne device including a magnet mounted in a body and a surface including plurality of magnetometers with HAUTSON et al. teaching of cross-shaped button as an input method using magnetic moment vector for controlling movement to effectively apply variety of input devices corresponding to different applications of user interfaces utilizing magnetic moment vector for scrolling (HAUTSON et al. [0076]).
Regarding Claim 15, (Currently Amended) the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein
Olsson et al. teach
the body is movably coupled to a base (Col. 8, Ln. 37-43, FIG. 7, i.e. base 720) such that an actuation of the body ([0138], FIG. 61, i.e. in movement 6100) causes a translational displacement of the at least one magnetic object ([0138], FIG. 61, i.e. array assembly 6020 is displaced downward) along the first rotation axis with respect to the interaction surface (i.e. please see above citation(s)), and wherein the method further comprises registering a click event ([0172], FIG. 1-6, i.e. in the form of a click) when the at least one magnetic object is translationally displaced along the first rotation axis ([0172], FIG. 1-6, i.e. the switch press cap 360 will press into the mechanical dome switch 180).
Regarding Claim 16, (Currently Amended)
the system of claim 1, wherein
Olsson et al. teach
the user-borne device electrically or electronically passive ([0186], FIG. 1-7, i.e. 170 … interpreted by a processing element 710 … to determine commands to an electronic computing system 720 (which would mean that 100 does not have processing capability and used with other “computing system” or passive according to applicant’s definition)).
Regarding Claim 18, (Currently Amended)
the system of claim 1, wherein
HAUTSON et al. teach
the plurality of magnetometers ([0052], FIG. 1-2, i.e. magnetometers Mij) is integrated in at least one of a wall, a furniture, a notebook, an electronics device, a screen or display ([0043], FIG. 1-2, i.e. human-machine interface 2 … electrical apparatus comprises a screen), a keyboard, or a mouse pad.
Regarding Claim 21, (New) the system of claim 1, wherein
HAUTSON et al. teach
the system is configured to determine the occurrence of the first scroll event when the magnetic moment vector's angular displacement exceeds a rotation angle threshold ([0087], FIG. 3-7, i.e. any deviation from this rest state corresponds to an angle α different from zero).
Regarding Claim 22, (New)
the system of claim 21, wherein
HAUTSON et al. teach
the rotation angle threshold is set to a value in between > 0° and 15° ([0087], FIG. 3-7, i.e. any deviation from this rest state corresponds to an angle α different from zero).
Regarding Claim 23, (New)
the system of claim 1, wherein
HAUTSON et al. teach
the user-borne device ([0097], FIG. 7, i.e. button 110) further comprises a biasing mechanism ([0099], FIG. 7, i.e. spring 118) and a base ([0100], FIG. 7, i.e. stop 124) moveably coupled to the body ([0100], FIG. 7, i.e. rectilinear rod 120), wherein the body (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is movably coupled to ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. rest and pressed states) a base ([0103], FIG. 7, i.e. magnet 128 is also fixed without any degree of freedom on the base of the housing 116) such that a translational actuation of the body ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. rest and pressed states of the key 112) displaces the at least one magnetic object ([0102], FIG. 7, i.e. permanent magnet 126) from a translatory initial position ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. rest position) to a translatory displaced position ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. pressed position) along the first rotation axis ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. axis 114) with respect to the interaction surface ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. key 112’s top surface), and wherein the biasing mechanism is configured to bias the body (i.e. please see above citation(s)) towards the translatory initial position ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. biasing means, which permanently urge the key 112 into the rest position).
Regarding Claim 24, (New)
the system of claim 23, wherein
the biasing mechanism is a spring ([0098], FIG. 7, i.e. biasing means here comprise a spring 118).
5. Claim(s) 2-3 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20120306603) and HAUTSON et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20160091981) in view of Jaeger et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 5936613).
Regarding Claim 2, (Currently Amended)
Olsson et al. and HAUTSON et al. teach
the system of claim 1.
However, Olsson et al. and HAUTSON et al.do not explicitly teach
wherein the user-borne device further comprises a base coupled to the body, wherein the base comprises a device contact surface being orthogonal to the first rotation axis and extending along a first device axis and a second device axis, and wherein the first device axis and the second device axis are orthogonal to the first device axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Jaeger et al. teach
wherein the user-borne device (Col. 26, Ln. 35-42, FIG. 59-62, i.e. control device 521) further comprises a base (Col. 26, Ln. 35-42, FIG. 59-62, i.e. base member 522) coupled to (FIG. 59, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 522 coupled to 526) the body (Col. 26, Ln. 35-42, FIG. 59-62, i.e. knob 526), wherein the base comprises a device contact surface (FIG. 59, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 522’s bottom contact surface) being orthogonal to the first rotation axis (Col. 26, Ln. 51-56, FIG. 59-62, i.e. rotary axis 529) and extending along a first device axis (FIG. 59, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 522 extending along vertical axis of 521/526) and a second device axis (FIG. 59, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 522 extending in the axis of 521/526 that is perpendicular to the drawing page), and wherein the first device axis and the second device axis are orthogonal to the first device axis (FIG. 59, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) both the axis of 521/526 that is perpendicular to the drawing page and the horizontal axis of 521/526 are orthogonal to rotation axis 529).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine that Olsson et al. teaching system comprising user-borne device including a magnet mounted in a body and a surface including plurality of magnetometers with Jaeger et al. teaching of system comprising input device including attachment to surface of a display to effectively view pertinent information utilizing attachment to graphic screen for display image by turnable knob of the input device (Jaeger et al.’s Col. 26, Ln. 51-62).
Regarding Claim 3, (Previously Presented)
the system of claim 2, wherein
Olsson et al. teach
the body is operationally coupled to the base (i.e. please see above citation(s)) such that a rotation of the body ([0139], FIG. 1, i.e. rotation of the floating array assembly 6020) about the first rotation axis ([0139], FIG. 1, i.e. about the Z-axis) causes a rotation of the at least one magnetic object ([0139], FIG. 1, i.e. rotation of … and magnets 5910) about the first rotation axis with respect to the base (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 10, (Previously Presented)
the system of claim 2, wherein
Olsson et al. teach
the body is movably coupled to the base (i.e. please see above citation(s)) such that a translational actuation of the body ([0138], FIG. 61, i.e. in movement 6100) causes a translational displacement of the at least one magnetic object ([0138], FIG. 61, i.e. array assembly 6020 is displaced downward) from a translatory initial position ([0138], FIG. 61, i.e. a released state position) to a translatory displaced position ([0138], FIG. 61, i.e. displaced downward on the right side) along the first rotation axis with respect to the interaction surface (i.e. please see above citation(s)) or a rotation of the at least one magnetic object with respect to the interaction surface around a second rotation axis inclined to the first rotation axis (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 11, (Currently Amended) the system of claim 10, wherein
the at least one magnetic object (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is at least partially enclosed in (FIG. 1-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 340 coupled to bottom of 114) a housing ([0121], FIG. 1, i.e. housing may be configured to position the floating actuator assembly), wherein the housing (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises an activation protrusion ([0167], FIG. 1-6, i.e. switch press cap 360) configured to push a popper ([0172], FIG. 1-6, i.e. mechanical dome switch 180) when the at least one magnetic object (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is in the translatory displaced position ([0172], FIG. 3, i.e. downward direction 370).
Regarding Claim 12, (Currently Amended)
the system of claim 11, wherein
Olsson et al. teach
the popper (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to provide at least one of tactile feedback or audible feedback when being pushed ([0172], FIG. 1-6, i.e. providing the user tactile and/or audio feedback).
Response to Argument/Amendment
6. Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 14, applicant argues that independent Claims 1 and 14 are allowable because they had been incorporated allowable subject matters of dependent Claims 7 and 8 respectively. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because both of Claims 7 and 8 were dependent on Claim 6 which is now canceled and is NOT incorporated in both independent Claims 1 and 14.
Item number 9 (Page 26) of the Non-Final Office Action dated 04/03/2026 explicitly stated that “would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.”
Therefore, Claims 1 and 14 are NOT allowable and correctly rejected in view of the newly found reference as shown above.
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 and 14 has/have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the newly added reference(s) being used in this current rejection.
8. All dependent claims are properly rejected or objected as shown above.
9. Applicants’ Response to the Non-Final Office Action, 04/03/2026, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18 is/are amended, Claim(s) 6-8, 17 and 19-20 is/are cancelled, and Claims 21-26 is/are new. Thus, Claim(s) 1-5, 9-16, 18, and 21-26 is/are pending in this application.
10. Applicant’s arguments, see P. 12-13, filed 06/30/2026, with respect to Objections of Claims, Drawings, and Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections of Claims, Drawings, and Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 101 has/have been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim(s) 26 is/are allowed.
12. Claim(s) 13 and 25 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Olsson et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20120306603) teach a user interface device including a floating actuator sub-assembly and a base assembly flexibly coupled to the floating actuator assembly is disclosed. The floating actuator assembly may include a magnet array assembly with a plurality of magnets fixed relative to each other. The user interface device may further include a deformable actuator sub-assembly, which may include a magnet array assembly with a plurality of magnets in a movable configuration relative to each other. A base assembly may include multi-axis magnetic sensors corresponding to the magnets in the magnet arrays to sense position of motion of the magnets during user displacements and/or deformation of actuator elements of the user interface device.
HAUTSON et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20160091981) teach a configurable human-machine interface for controlling an electrical apparatus includes at least one permanent magnet rigidly connected to each of utensils and a magnetometer array including N triaxial magnetometers, mechanically linked to each other without any degree of freedom to retain a known distance between each of the magnetometers, wherein N is a whole number greater than or equal to five, and a processing unit configured to: define, for each permanent magnet of a utensil, a value of at least one variable encoding a position or orientation of same in a three-dimensional reference system fixed without any degree of freedom to the array or the amplitude of the magnetic moment of same, from measurements of the magnetometers of the array, and automatically select a control law based on the value defined for the variable.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found/suggested nor obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a device/method including
“…one or more guiding pins extending in a direction parallel to the first rotation axis and configured to prevent body rotation around a first axis which is perpendicular to the first rotation axis and a second axis which is perpendicular to the first rotation axis and the first axis…” (Claim 13; Claim 26 is similar),
“…wherein the system is configured to register a click event when an absolute value of the translational displacement of the at least one magnetic object exceeds a translational displacement threshold.” (Claim 25),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628