Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 13 is not shown with the proper cross sectional shading in accordance with MPEP 608.02(IX). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “28” in figures 14 and 15. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” has been used to designate both a facia and an end cap in figure 15. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitations such as “front side surfaces” on line 2 of claim 6 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the front side surfaces set forth above or is attempting to set forth front side surfaces in addition to the ones set forth above.
Recitations such as “the squared J-shaped flanges” on line 2 of claim 10 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear to which ones of the squared J-shaped flanges set forth above the applicant is referring. Note that both the outer profile and the curtain runners include the squared J-shaped flanges.
Recitations such as “the end caps” on lines 4-5 of claim 10 render the claims indefinite because they lack antecedent basis. Also see “the end cap” on line 2 of claim 11 and “end caps” on line 1 of claim 13 which also lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961 in view of CN 111772454.
With respect to claim 1, CN 211483961 discloses an extendable curtain track, comprising:
an inner profile 2 (fig. 1) that telescopes longitudinally within an outer profile 1 (fig. 1); and
curtain runners 3 (fig. 1) that slide longitudinally within the inner 2 and outer 1 profiles;
wherein the inner profile 2 has a lower internal edge defined by a pair of spaced apart L-shaped flanges (labeled below) inwardly facing one another;
wherein the outer profile 1 has a lower internal edge defined by a pair of spaced apart squared J-shaped flanges (labeled below) inwardly facing one another; and
wherein the L-shaped flanges of the inner profile 2 slide longitudinally within the squared J-shaped flanges of the outer profile 1.
CN 211483961 is silent concerning each curtain runner having an upper internal edge defined by a pair of spaced apart inverted squared J-shaped flanges outwardly facing away from one another.
However, CN 111772454 discloses a curtain runner 100 (fig. 1) having an upper internal edge defined by a pair of spaced apart inverted squared J-shaped flanges (labeled below) outwardly facing away from one another, wherein the inverted squared J-shaped flanges of each curtain runner 100 respectively slide longitudinally on L-shaped flanges (labeled below) of the inner profile 21 and the squared J-shaped flanges (labeled below) of the outer profile 11 without catching on overlapping portions of the inner and outer profiles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the curtain runners of CN 211483961 with J-shaped flanges and L-shaped flanges, as taught by CN 111772454, with a reasonable expectation of success to more accurately control the linear movement of the curtain runners as the curtains are opened and closed.
With respect to claim 2, CN 211483961 discloses that the inner 2 and outer 1 profiles are elongate with a hollow, generally rectangular cross-section shape as shown in figures 1 and 3 of CN 211483961.
With respect to claim 3, CN 211483961, as modified above, discloses that each curtain runner 100 has a lower internal edge defined by a pair of spaced apart L-shaped flanges (labeled below) outwardly facing away from one another below the squared J-shaped flanges of the outer profile.
With respect to claim 4, CN 211483961 discloses that each curtain runner 3 further comprises a vertical shaft 302 (fig. 6 of CN 211483961) extending between the lower internal edge and the upper internal edge, and wherein the vertical shaft has rounded, as shown in figure 6, or bevelled leading and trailing surfaces to smooth sliding transitions between the overlapping portions of the inner and outer profiles.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961 and CN 111772454 as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of CN 110169704. CN 110169704 discloses a curtain track (labeled below) comprising one or more filler profiles (labeled below) that slide on an inner profile 10 (fig. 1) and are spaced apart from an outer profile 62 and one another, wherein each filler profile has a lower internal edge defined by an inwardly facing L-shaped flange (labeled below, note that the outer profile 62 and the filler profile have the same cross sectional shape), and wherein each filler profile has a front side surface (labeled below) with a shape and size that are the same as a front side surface (labeled below) of the outer profile 62.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 211483961, as modified above, with a filler profile, as taught by CN 110169704, with a reasonable expectation of success to increase the strength of the curtain track and to provide an addition mounting point for the curtain track.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961, CN 111772454 and CN 110169704 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of DE 25 57 646. DE 25 57 646 discloses a curtain track 1 (fig. 1) comprising a fascia profile 21 (fig. 1) that covers front side surfaces of the track 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 211483961, as modified above, with a facia profile, as taught by DE 25 57 646, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the aesthetics of the curtain track. Note that the facia profile of DE 25 57 646 will cover the filler and outer profiles.
With respect to claim 7, the fascia profile 21 has a squared C-shape cross-section as shown in figure 1 of DE 25 57 646.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961, CN 111772454, CN 110169704 and DE 25 57 646 as applied to claims 6 and 7 above, and further in view of Comeau et al. (US 6892783).
Comeau et al. discloses a curtain track comprising end caps 200 that fit over ends of an outer profile 120 as shown in figure 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 211483961, as modified above, with end caps, as taught by Comeau et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure that the curtain runners remain in the curtain track. Note that the end caps will also fit over the ends of the filler and the fascia.
With respect to claim 9, the end caps 200 of Comeau et al. act as stops to longitudinally retain the curtain runners 3 of CN 211483961 within the inner 2 and outer 1 profiles of CN 211483961.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961 and CN 111772454 as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of DE 1 778 277. DE 1 778 277 discloses a curtain track comprising an access notch 10 (fig. 4) provided through a profile 11’ so that an excess number of curtain runners can be removed through the access notch leaving a required number of the curtain runners within the profile.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 211483961, as modified above, with an access notch and clip, as taught by DE 1 778 277, with a reasonable expectation of success to enable a user to remove and insert curtain runners while the curtain track is installed. Note that the access notch 10 of DE 1 778 277 would be provided through the squared J-shaped flanges at one end of the outer profile.
With respect to claim 11, the access notch 10 is removably covered by a notch clip 2 that fits into the access notch 10 at the one end of the outer profile after the excess number of the curtain runners have been removed. Note that the end cap of CN 211483961, as modified above, would include the access notch and thus, the clip 2 would fit into the end cap.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961, CN 111772454, CN 110169704 and DE 25 57 646 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Terlecke et al. (US 4883756). Terlecke et al. discloses the construction of a curtain track from a rigid plastic material as set forth on lines 39-42 of column 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 211483961, as modified, with a rigid plastic construction, as taught by Terlecke et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the curtain track with adequate strength while reducing the costs of manufacturing the curtain track. Note that the fascia, filler, inner, and outer profiles would comprise extrusions of the rigid plastic material of Terlecke et al.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211483961, CN 111772454 and DE 1 778 277, as applied to claims 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Terlecke et al. (US 4883756). Terlecke et al. discloses the construction of a curtain track from a rigid plastic material as set forth on lines 39-42 of column 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide CN 211483961, as modified, with a rigid plastic construction, as taught by Terlecke et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the curtain track with adequate strength while reducing the costs of manufacturing the curtain track. Note that the curtain runners, end caps, and notch clip would comprise moldings of the rigid plastic material of Terlecke et al.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634