DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are currently pending. Claims 1-17 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 13, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wick and water” tanks and assembly of Claims 12-17 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Line 3 of Claim 8 and Line 2 of Claim 15 use reference numerals “(102)”, “(134)” respectively. All other instances of reference numerals have been removed. Applicant is suggested to amend so that the usage or deletion of reference numerals is consistent throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 10, Lines 2-3 “air treatment system” modified by the function of being “configured to treat air displaced by the air displacement appliance”. This is interpreted to be an air purification system, an air heating system, an air cooling system, an air humidification system, an air dehumidification system, a fragrance emitting unit, or equivalents thereof as described in Pg. 24, Lines 11-19 of the disclosure filed May 13, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3, 7, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, Line 2 recites “substantially the entirety”. The term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instance, it is unclear how much of the entirety is considered “substantially”. It is noted that parts of the disclosure, such as Pg. 5, Lines 1-3 give at least 70% of an example of something that is considered “substantially”. However, this does not clearly establish what is encompassed by “substantially”, but rather merely one example that does not establish any clear bounds.
Regarding Claim 7, Lines 2 and 3 recite “proximal”. The term “proximal” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instance, it is unclear what distance from the ends is bound by the term “proximal”.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Line 4 of Claim 14 recites “the first wick and water tank”, Line 4 of Claim 15 recite “the second wick and water tank”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, since they have not been previously recited. It is unclear what wicks and tanks the claims refer to. Please note the recitation of “moist air” in the claims may also need to be amended pending how this issue is resolved.
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, Line 3 of Claim 16 recites “the first filter”, Line 3 of Claim 17 recites “the second filter”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, since they have not been previously recited. It is unclear what filters the claims refer to. Please note the recitation of “filtered air” in the claims may also need to be amended pending how this issue is resolved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0191153 A1), hereinafter Park, in view of Inouchi (US 2023/0265853 A1), hereinafter Inouchi.
Regarding Claim 1, Figures 1-3 of Park teach an air displacement appliance comprising: a housing (exterior of 20) delimiting a first air inlet (21), a second air inlet (23), and an air outlet (26, 28); a first impeller (130) arranged such that air from the first inlet (21) is drawn axially into the first impeller (130) and radially expelled from the first impeller (130) (see arrow out of 26); a second impeller (230) arranged such that air from the second air inlet (23) is drawn axially into the second impeller (230) and radially expelled from the second impeller (230) (see arrow out of 28), the air outlet (26, 28) being arranged to permit the air radially expelled from the first impeller (130) and from the second impeller (230) to pass therethrough to exit the housing, wherein the air outlet (26, 28) is provided around a perimeter of the housing such that the air exits the housing in frontwards, backwards, and sidewards directions (see the outlet extending around the entire housing), wherein the air displacement appliance further comprises motors (170, 236) being sandwiched between the first impeller (130) and the second impeller (230) and rotating the first impeller (130) and the second impeller (230), drive shafts of the motors comprising a first drive shaft portion (171) extending from the motors to the first impeller (130), and a second drive shaft portion (236a, labeled in Figure 13) extending from the motors, in an opposite direction relative to the first drive shaft portion (171), to the second impeller (230) [0070-0078, 0099, 201]. Please note that the “first” and “second” as claimed currently does not particularly limit which is which with respect to Park and may all be swapped at the same time. For instance, the inlet (21) and inlet (23) are equally interpretable as second inlet (21) and first inlet (23). Unless otherwise noted, the notation initially used above will be used with the swapped notation understood to be equally applicable.
Park does not expressly teach a singular motor as claimed. However, a motor would have been obvious in view of Inouchi.
Figure 2 of Inouchi teaches an air displacement appliance having a motor (30) being sandwiched between the first impeller (40) and the second impeller (50), a first drive shaft portion (top part of 310 with respect to view in Figure 2) extending from the motor (30) to the first impeller (40), and a second drive shaft portion (bottom part of 310 with respect to view in Figure 2) extending from the motor (30), in an opposite direction relative to the first drive shaft portion, to the second impeller (50) [0016, 0029]. By rotating both impellers (40, 50) through the use of one motor (30) rather than multiple rotors, the number of bearings is reduced and the configuration is simplified [0087].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance taught by Park with a motor being sandwiched between the first impeller and the second impeller, a first drive shaft portion extending from the motor to the first impeller, and a second drive shaft portion extending from the motor, in an opposite direction relative to the first drive shaft portion, to the second impeller as suggested by Inouchi, to provide the benefit of a simplified configuration.
Regarding Claim 2, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the air outlet (26, 28) is provided around the perimeter of the housing (exterior of 20) such that the air (follow the arrows leaving 26, 28 in Figure 2) exits the housing in the frontwards and backwards direction, a first sidewards direction, and a second sidewards direction facing away from the first sidewards direction [0075-0078]. It can be seen the outlet goes all around the housing.
Regarding Claim 3, as far as it is definite and understood, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 1-2 of Park teach wherein the air outlet (26, 28) is provided around substantially the entirety of the perimeter of the housing (exterior of 20). What is illustrated is interpreted to satisfy the broadest reasonable interpretation of “substantially”.
Regarding Claim 4, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the first impeller (130) has a first periphery (peripheral, i.e. radially outer, part of 130) from which air is radially expelled from the first impeller (130), and the second impeller (230) has a second periphery (peripheral, i.e. radially outer part of 230) from which air is radially expelled from the second impeller (230), the air outlet (26, 28) aligning with the first periphery and the second periphery.
Regarding Claim 5, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the housing (exterior of 20) is an elongate housing whose length extends from a first end (top end with respect to Figure 2) of the housing to a second end (bottom end with respect to Figure 2) of the housing.
Regarding Claim 6, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 5.
Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the first impeller (130) and the second impeller (230) are arranged at an intermediate region along the length of the housing (from top to bottom of 20) between the first end (top of 20 with respect to Figure 2) and the second end (bottom of 20 with respect to Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 7, as far as it is definite and understood, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 5.
Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the first air inlet (21) is arranged at or proximal to the first end (top of 20 with respect to Figure 2), and the second air inlet (23) is arranged at or proximal to the second end (bottom of 20 with respect to Figure 2), and the air outlet (26, 28) is arranged in a central region along the length of the housing (from top to bottom of 20) between the first air inlet (21) and the second air inlet (23).
Regarding Claim 8, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the first air inlet (21) is provided around the perimeter of the housing (exterior of 20) such that the air enters the housing, via the first air inlet (21), from frontwards, backwards and sidewards directions; and wherein the first air inlet (21) is provided at an end (top of 20 with respect to Figure 2) of the housing. See in Figure 1, the inlet (21) is open all around the perimeter to receive air from all directions.
Regarding Claim 9, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
As noted above in Claim 1, the interpretation of first and second notations are interchangeable. Using the swapped notations, Figures 1-3 of Park teach wherein the second air inlet (21) is provided around the perimeter of the housing (exterior of 20) such that the air enters the housing, via the second air inlet (21), from frontwards, backwards and sidewards directions; and wherein the second air inlet (21) is provided at an end (top of 20 with respect to Figure 2) of the housing. See in Figure 1, the inlet (21) is open all around the perimeter to receive air from all directions.
Regarding Claim 10, interpreting “air treatment system” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as noted above, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 4 and 13 of Park teach an air treatment system (107, 297) configured to treat air displaced by the air displacement appliance. (107) and (297) are stated to be filters [0109, 0212].
Regarding Claim 11, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 10.
Figures 4 and 13 of Park teach wherein the air treatment system is a filter assembly comprising a first filter (107) and a second filter (297) for filtering air displaced by the air displacement appliance [0109, 0212].
Regarding Claim 14, as far as it is definite and understood, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 11.
Figures 1-3, 4 of Park teach wherein the first filter (107) and the first impeller (130) are arranged such that air (follow arrows from 21 to 26 in Figure 2) from the first air inlet (21) is drawn through the first filter (107) prior to the filtered air being drawn axially into the first impeller (130) and radially expelled from the first impeller (130) [0109].
Regarding Claim 15, as far as it is definite and understood, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 11.
Figures 1-3, 13 of Park teach wherein the second filter (297) and the second impeller (230) are arranged such that air (follow arrows from 23 to 28) from the second air inlet (23) is drawn through the second filter (297) prior to the filtered air being drawn axially into the second impeller (230) and radially expelled from the second impeller (230) [0212].
Claims 12-13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Inouchi as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Montagnino et al. (US 2019/0353362 A1), hereinafter Montagnino.
Regarding Claim 12, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement device as set forth in Claim 10.
Park does not expressly teach wherein the air treatment system is a wick and water tank assembly comprising a first wick and water tank and a second wick and water tank for supplying moisture as claimed. However, a wick and water tank assembly would have been obvious in view of Montagnino.
Figures 3-4 of Montagnino teach an air displacement device with an air treatment system, wherein the air treatment system is a wick and water tank assembly comprising a wick (06) and a water tank (02) for supplying moisture [0067-0068]. This type of treatment helps control the humidity of the room [0072-0073]. Applying this teaching to both ends of the combination for both inlets (see 21, 23 in Figures 1-2 of Park) results in first and second wicks and water tanks as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the appliance taught by Park-Inouchi such that the air treatment system is a wick and water tank assembly comprising a first wick and water tank and a second wick and water tank for supplying moisture as suggested by Montagnino, to provide the benefit of controlling humidity.
Regarding Claim 13, Park and Inouchi teach the air displacement device as set forth in Claim 10.
Figure 4 of Park teaches wherein the air treatment system is a filter assembly comprising a first filter (107) [0109].
Park does not expressly teach wherein the air treatment system is a filter and wick and water tank assembly also comprising a second wick and water tank for supplying moisture as claimed. However, a wick and water tank assembly would have been obvious in view of Montagnino.
Figures 3-4 of Montagnino teach an air displacement device with an air treatment system, wherein the air treatment system is a wick and water tank assembly comprising a wick (06) and a water tank (02) for supplying moisture [0067-0068]. This type of treatment helps control the humidity of the room [0072-0073]. Montagnino also contemplates combining this with a filter, resulting in a filter and wick and water tank assembly that performs both the function of humidification and air purification [0088].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the appliance taught by Park-Inouchi such that the air treatment system is a filter and wick and water tank assembly comprising a first filter for filtering air and a second wick and water tank and a second wick and water tank for supplying moisture as suggested by Montagnino, to provide the benefit of controlling humidity as well and purifying air with one unit.
Regarding Claim 16, as far as it is definite and understood, Park, Inouchi, and Montagnino teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 12.
Figures 1-3, 4 of Park teach wherein the first impeller (130) is arranged such that air (follow arrows from 21 to 26 in Figure 2) from the first air inlet (21) is drawn through the first filter (107) prior to the filtered air being drawn axially into the first impeller (130) and radially expelled from the first impeller (130) [0109].
The modification in Claim 12 by Montagnino results in the first wick and water tank and moist air from humidifying, as exemplified by Montagnino with wick (06) and tank (02) (Figures 3-4, [0067-0068]).
Regarding Claim 17, as far as it is definite and understood, Park, Inouchi, and Montagnino teach the air displacement appliance as set forth in Claim 13.
Figures 1-3, 13 of Park teach wherein the second impeller (230) is arranged such that air (follow arrows from 23 to 28) from the second air inlet (23) is drawn through the second filter (297) prior to the filtered air being drawn axially into the second impeller (230) and radially expelled from the second impeller (230) [0212].
The modification in Claim 13 by Montagnino results in the second wick and water tank and moist air from humidifying, as exemplified by Montagnino with wick (06) and tank (02) (Figures 3-4, [0067-0068]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hwang et al. (US 2023/0332784 A1), Armbruster (US 4,526,592 A), Peterson (US 4,152,973 A) disclose other examples of air displacement appliances with multiple inlets.
/ELTON K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745