DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “heating device configured to heat the heating container”, as required in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “heating device configured to heat the heating container” is indefinite because it is unclear to what structure from the figures is the “heating device”. Applicant written description only mentions the recited limitation but does not provide and/or shown any structure of what is the heating device. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the “heating device” is part of the invention. Claim 1 is directed to a “heating container” which it is unclear how the heating container could further comprise a heating device. Regarding claim 7, it is unclear how the moisture supplying portion could formed between an inner bottom surface of the body and an outer bottom surface of the body. Figure 5A shows the container body 40 and the moisture supplying portion 44 disposed in the interior of the container body, therefore how the moisture supplying portion could be on an outer bottom surface and at same time on the inner bottom surface of the container body. Regarding claims 8 and 9, the claim are rejected because inherit the same issue of claim 7 because of its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (JP 2013/2333306) (provided by the applicant) in view of Liang (US 2007/0045304).
Claim 1
Ogawa discloses a heating container (1) comprising a body (2) having a cylindrical shape with a first accommodation space (defined by interior of the body 2) formed therein; a cover (5) mounted on one surface of the body, configured to open and close the body; and a hydration container/moisture supplying portion (6) arranged on an inner bottom surface of the body and having a second accommodation space (defined by interior of the moisture supply portion) with a volume of 1/25 or less of a volume of the first accommodation space formed therein (see figure 2 and abstract). Ogawa further discloses the hydration container/moisture supplying portion is used to hold water so that when the container is heated, steam is provided by the hydration container/moisture supplying portion providing moisture to the food heated in the container (see abstract). Ogawa does not disclose the cover including a through hole through which an internal space of the body fluid-communicate with an outside, and a valve provided in the through hole. However, Liang discloses a food preservation container comprising a lid (10) including a through hole (13) which provide access to the interior of the container, and a valve (20) is provided in the through hole (see figure 2). Liang further discloses the valve allows air passage, preventing excessive heat to accumulate in the container, and/or prevent from fluid to splash out (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Ogawa to include a through hole with a valve as taught by Liang to prevent excessive heat to accumulate in the container, and/or prevent from fluid to splash out when the container is heated. From the argument Ogawa does not disclose the required size of the second accommodation space in relation to the first accommodation space, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydration container/moisture supplying portion having the interior required size compared to the second accommodation space depending on the amount of water needed to create the necessary steam for moisturizing the food to be heated.
Claim 2
Ogawa further discloses a diameter of the body is 1/1.5 to 1/2 of a height of the body (see figures 2 and 3), and the height of the body could be 2/3 or less of an internal height of a heating device capable to heat the heating container.
Claim 3
Ogawa further discloses the hydration container/moisture supplying portion is
arranged in a center of the inner bottom surface of the body and has a cylindrical shape (see figures 2, 3 and 5).
Claim 4
Ogawa further discloses the hydration container/moisture supplying portion protrudes from the inner bottom surface of the body and is formed into an annular shape along an inner circumferential surface of the body (see figures 2 and 3).
Claim 6
Ogawa further discloses an upper surface of the hydration container/moisture supplying portion is open (see figure 4 and page 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736