DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of group 2, claims 1, 4-10 in the reply filed on 10/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the proposed amendments make a contribution over the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the proposed amendments do not make a contribution over the prior art of Maghnagic in view of Hagroder below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the first transmission shaft”. There is no antecedent basis for the limitation. It is unclear where the structure is located, and claim 9 further recites an axis of the connecting shaft in the same direction as the axis of the first transmission shaft, which is undefined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maghnagi (U.S. 11,092,314) in view of Hargroder (U.S. 11,428,388).
Regarding claim 1, Maghnagi teaches an illumination system (spotlight with rack), comprising:
a lamp (light unit 1);
a first housing (frame 210 and ferrule 230), which surrounds the lamp;
a first rotary shaft member (shaft 401) movably connected to the first housing (rotatable), with an axis of the first rotary shaft member being perpendicular to an axis of the first housing (extends outwards from housing in the X direction);
a first driving member (second motor 400) configured to drive the first rotary shaft member to rotate about the axis of the first rotary shaft member, and to drive the first rotary shaft member to move in a radial direction of the first housing (rotates with respect to 230, 210), so that the lamp is turned relative to the first housing (see fig. 7-9, rotates relative to 210 and 230);
a second housing (rack 110, see fig. 2) provided outside the first housing and rotatably connected to the first housing (rotatable around teeth 120) ; and
a second driving member (motor 300 and associated structure) comprising:
a second power main (motor 300) body fixed to the first housing; and
a transmission member (shaft 301) connected to the second power main body, wherein the second power main body is configured to drive the transmission member, so that the transmission member drives the first housing, the lamp and the first driving member to rotate about an axis of the second housing (rotates about z axis of the second housing).
Maghnagi does not teach that the first rotary shaft member has an internal threaded hole; the first driving member comprises a first power main body fixed to the lamp and a lead screw connected to the first power main body and running through the internal threaded hole; and
the lead screw is configured to, when the first power main body drives the lead screw to rotate, drive the first rotary shaft member to rotate around the axis of the first rotary shaft member and drive the first rotary shaft member to move in the radial direction of the first housing.
Hargroder teaches that the first rotary shaft member has an internal threaded hole (threaded collar 134);
the first driving member comprises a first power main body (rotary 140) fixed to the lamp and a lead screw (drive screw 132) connected to the first power main body and running through the internal threaded hole; and
the lead screw is configured to, when the first power main body drives the lead screw to rotate, drive the first rotary shaft member to rotate around the axis of the first rotary shaft member and drive the first rotary shaft member to move in the radial direction of the first housing (see col. 13-14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a drive screw as taught by Hargroder in place of the worm gear of Maghnagi as these are established equivalents for tilting a recessed light source, both known in the art.
Evidence that these are equivalents known in the art presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other. Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ at 750. Maghnagi and Hargroder teaches both tilting techniques resulting in the same function, transferring a rotational force from a driving motor into an angle adjustment of a light source.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Maghnagi and Hargroder teaches that the lamp comprises a lamp body, and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 102, see Hargroder) fixed to the lamp body, and the first driving member is fixed to the heat dissipation member (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Maghnagi and Hargroder teaches that the heat dissipation member covers a side of the lamp body facing away from the second housing (see fig. 1 of Hargroder); a groove is provided on a peripheral side wall of the heat dissipation member (see fig. 3, 4 of Maghnagi, groove formed in frame 210, part of the heat dissipation structure shown in figure 3), and the first power main body is provided in the groove (see fig. 4, attached to frame).
Regarding the arrangement of first power main body, claims regarding the positioning of the structure are unpatentable if such rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)) or if the rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made. (Ex parte Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co., 223 USPQ 351, 353 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1984)). The Examiner finds that the driving structure of Hargroder may be located in the groove of the heat sink of Hargroder, as taught by Maghnagi, or may be attached to the trim with the driven member in the groove of the heat sink of Hargroder. The relocation of the driving member is immaterial to the operation of the device as the movement of the luminaire to the trim is relative.
Regarding claim 7, Maghnagi teaches that the transmission member (301) is meshingly connected to an inner wall of the second housing (see fig. 4, meshed with 120).
Regarding claim 8, Maghnagi teaches that the inner wall of the second housing has a toothed surface (120);
the transmission member is a meshing wheel extending in an axis direction of the first housing (see fig. 4), and the meshing wheel is fixedly connected to a main shaft of the second power main body (shaft of 300); and
the first housing is provided with a notch (entry of 300) for placing the meshing wheel, a protruding shaft is provided in the notch and configured to be inserted into the meshing wheel, and the meshing wheel is rotatably arranged on the protruding shaft (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Hargroder teach that the lamp body further comprises a body member, and a lampshade (106) fixed to the body member; the heat dissipation member is fixed to the lampshade and the body member, and covers a side of the body member facing away from the second housing (see fig. 1); the lampshade is at least partially inserted into the first housing (123a) and connected to the first housing via a connecting shaft (screws in 123a), an axis direction of the connecting shaft is the same as an axis direction of the first transmission shaft, and the lampshade is rotatably connected to the connecting shaft (screw); and a light gathering hood (180’) corresponding to the lamp is further arranged in the second housing; and a fixing bracket is fixed on the second housing to position the second housing (structure 100 of Magnnagi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 6 recites, inter alia, “the second power main body is mounted at a top of the first housing; an avoidance groove is further provided on the peripheral side wall of the heat dissipation member, is configured to accommodate the second power main body, and extends through the heat dissipation member towards the top of the first housing.”
The prior art teaches a variety of second power main body structures, but the structures do not require an avoidance groove in the heat dissipation member. Applicant’s use of the avoidance groove enables a more compact structure not taught by the prior art.
Maghnagi teaches that the second power main body structure (300) is located outside of the path of travel of the heat sink, with a smaller heatsink located farther away from the opening in the trim so as to not need an avoidance groove.
Bardot (U.S. 2017/0038046) teaches an avoidance groove for one of the transmission members (see fig. 8), but the avoidance groove is not for a second driving member. The Examiner also finds that the avoidance groove is on the rear of the heat dissipating member and would not be an obvious combination to use in Maghnagi.
Fujisawa (U.S. 10,830,423) teaches using a compact heat dissipation member to provide a space for the second driving member, however this is not an avoidance groove and requires a reduced footprint of the heat dissipating member.
Hargroder, and much of the prior art, teaches that the second driving member is attached to the lower side of the lighting device, and does not require an avoidance groove as it is located on the opposite side as the heat dissipating member.
Conclusion
/Matthew J. Peerce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875