DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to amendments/remarks filed on 7/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 11-12, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TSAO et al. (US 2022/0252078) (“TSAO”).
With respect to claim 1, TSAO discloses a fan system comprising, a first electrical fan comprising a first control module configured to control electrical power provided to the first electrical fan (first fan 110 comprises first controller 111 to control power provided to first motor 112, figure 1B); and a second electrical fan comprising a second control module configured to control electrical power provided to the second electrical fan (second fan 120 comprises second controller 121); wherein the first control module is further configured to measure one or more operational parameters of the first electrical fan (figure 1B discloses first sensor 113), such that the electrical power provided to the second electrical fan is based on the one or more operational parameters of the first electrical fan (paragraphs 0024-0025 discloses that based on signals provided by the fist sensor the speed and thus the power of the second fan is adjusted), and such that a substantially equal amount of electrical power is provided to the first and second electrical fans. Paragraphs 0004, 0022, 0024, 0049 and figure 4B discloses that the rotating speed is adjusted based on the power supply, and the second fan speed is adjusted to be consisted with the rotating speed of the first fan.
With respect to claims 2, 12, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims, wherein the first electrical fan and second electrical fan are electrically connected to a power supply configured to provide electrical power to both the first and second electrical fans. Figure 1A discloses power supply VDD connected to the first and second fans.
With respect to claims 7, 17, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one fo the claims, wherein the electrical power is supplied to respective motors of the first electrical fan and second electrical fan. Figure 1B discloses providing electrical power to first motor 112 and second motor 122.
With respect to claims 8, 18, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims, wherein the second control module is configured to dynamically adjust the electrical power provided to the second electrical fan in response to changes in the electrical power provided to the first electrical fan. Paragraph 0024 discloses that based on the rotating speed of the first fan, the rotating speed and thus the power provided to the second fan is consistent with the first fan.
With respect to claims 9, 19, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims, wherein the first electrical fan further comprises one or more sensors electrically connected to the first control module, said one or more sensors comprising one or more sensing elements positioned proximal to the first electrical fan for measuring the one or more operational parameters thereof. Figure 1B discloses that the first controller 111 comprises first sensor 113.
With respect to claim 11, TSAO discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the art rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAO et al. (US 2022/0252078) (“TSAO”) in view of Bendikas et al. (US 6,368,064) (“Bendikas”).
With respect to claims 3, 13, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims; except for, wherein the first electrical fan is electrically connected to a first power supply configured to provide electrical power to the first electrical fan; and wherein the second electrical fan is electrically connected to a second power supply configured to provide electrical power to the second electrical fan.
Bendikas discloses providing redundant power to a plurality of fans 12-14, from a first power supply 16 and a second power supply 18, figure 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify TSAO and include redundant power supplies as disclosed by Bendikas, for the purpose of providing constant power to the fans even if one of the power supplies fails, for example (col. 6, lines 1-20).
Claim(s) 4-6, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAO et al. (US 2022/0252078) (“TSAO”) in view of Vogel et al. (US 2011/0164384) (“Vogel”).
With respect to claims 4, 5, 14, 15, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims; except for, wherein the first electrical fan is an inlet fan proximal to an air inlet of the fan system, and the second electrical fan is an outlet fan proximal to an air outlet of the fan system, wherein the first electrical fan is an outlet fan proximal to an air outlet of the fan system, and the second electrical fan is an inlet fan proximal to an air inlet of the fan system..
Vogel discloses a fan assembly 402 that is provided at an inlet (air flow direction 412) and a second fan assembly 404 provided at an outlet (air flow direction 414), figure 4.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify TSAO and include the first fan or the second fan at the inlet and the second fan or first fan at the outlet, for the purpose of achieving the desired airflow that traverses heat producing components, for example (paragraph 0054).
With respect to claims 6, 16, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims; except for, wherein the first electrical fan and second electrical fan are axially aligned such that respective axes of rotation of the first and second electrical fans lie along the same line.
Vogel discloses in figure 4 that the first fan assembly 402 and the second fan assembly 404 are axially aligned and thus the rotations axis of the first and second fans lie along the same line.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify TSAO and include axially aligned fans of Vogel, for the purpose of achieving a desired airflow pressure and volume of cooled airflow, for example (paragraph 0054).
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAO et al. (US 2022/0252078) (“TSAO”).
With respect to claims 10, 20, TSAO discloses the fan system according to one of the claims; except for, wherein the first electrical fan further comprises one or more sensors electrically connected between the first control module and the first electrical fan for measuring the one or more operational parameters thereof.
TSAO discloses that the first fan 110 comprises a first sensor 113 that is connected to the first controller 111; It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify TSAO and include the sensor 113 between the controller and the first fan, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that the Office Action asserts that TSAO discloses these features on the basis that rotational speed of the second fan is adjusted to be consistent with the rotational speed of the first fan and therefore as substantially equal amount of electrical power is provided to the two fans. And that neither TSAO or the office Action provides any evidentiary basis for equating these two distinct physical quantities. TSAO contains no express disclosure of such relationship, not does the Office Action identify any teaching establishing that such a relationship is necessarily present. It is respectfully submitted that figures 2A, 4A and 4B and paragraphs 0004, 0029, 0049 discloses that when the rotating speeds of fans 110 and 120 are not in a preset phase (not at the same speed) the power provided to the fans are not the same (Figure 4A) and when the speeds of the fans are the same (fans are in the preset phase) the power provided to the fans 110 and 120 are substantially equal (Figure 4B discloses that both fans are drawing “substantially” equal power as oppose to figure 4A).
With respect to the argument that TSAO is directed at controlling rotational characteristics, rotational speed and phase for the purpose of reducing fluctuations in supply current. And that TSAO does not disclose determining the electrical power supplied to the respective fans, or controlling the second fan such that substantially equal electrical power is supplied to both fans. Paragraph 0023 discloses detecting the rotating speeds of the fans through current feedback signal, it is further submitted that this limitation is not included in the claims. Furthermore, as stated above figures 4A and 4B disclose that when the speed of one of the fans is not the same the current provided to the one fan is not the same as current provided to the other fan; whereas figure 4B discloses that the currents provided to both fans is “substantially” equal.
With respect to the argument that the objective of TSAO is stabilization of instantaneous supply current through phase control. And that TSAO seeks to stabilize instantaneous supply current by controlling the phase relationship between rotating speed signals, whereas the present claimed invention seeks to improve efficiency by substantially equalizing electrical power suppled to the respective fans. It is respectfully submitted that by controlling the phase TSAO controls the duty cycle/power provided to each of the fans to change their speed and as shown in figures 4A and 4B when the fans are not rotating at the same speed (not at the preset phase) they are drawing different current/power (paragraph 0029), whereas when the fans are operating at the same speed they both draw substantially equal amounts of electrical power (figure 4B) as required by the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836