DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 19/129,818 filed 5/14/2025.
Specification
The use of the term LATCH, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 19 contain the trademark/trade name LATCH. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a lower anchor and tether for children system in cars with built in metal anchors in the seat bight and a top tether anchor for forward facing seats and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 12-15, 23-25, 31-33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doolan, III (US 2013/0082498 A1)(hereinafter Doolan).
RE Claim 1: Doolan discloses a child seat (1) mountable to a transportation device, the child seat comprising:
a seat body (101) including a seat shell having a child seat pan and a child seat back (body 101 with pan near 113 as seen in Fig 7A),
said seat body being securable to the transportation device (secures to vehicle seat 60)(abstract, also para 0050); and
at least one light mounted about said seat body (111, 113).
RE Claim 2: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 1,
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is positioned such that said at least one light is operable to illuminate an interface between the child seat and the transportation device (para 0082).
RE Claim 3: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 2,
wherein the transportation device is an automobile including a vehicle seat (60)(para 0050).
RE Claim 4 (as best understood): Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 3,
wherein said seat body further comprises a connector of a LATCH system (105, 107; para 0065) and said at least one light is operable to illuminate said connector (para 0065).
RE Claim 5: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 3,
wherein said seat body further comprises a vehicle belt path for a vehicle belt associated with the vehicle seat (Fig 7a), and
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is operable to illuminate a portion of said vehicle belt path (para 0093).
RE Claim 8: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 2,
wherein said child seat is connectable to the transportation device via a seat receiving member (2/102) and said at least one light (111, 113) is positioned about said child seat such that said at least one light (111, 113) is operable to illuminate an interface between said child seat and said seat receiving member (Fig 7A).
RE Claim 12: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 8,
wherein said seat receiving member is a support base (2/102) and the transportation device is an automobile including a vehicle seat (60)(para 0050).
RE Claim 13: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 1,
wherein said child seat is connectable to the transportation device via a seat receiving member (2/102), and
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is positioned about said child seat to illuminate an interface between said seat receiving member and the transportation device (Fig 7A).
RE Claim 14: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 13,
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is oriented to emit light towards said seat receiving member (Fig 7A).
RE Claim 15: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 1,
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is oriented to emit light towards a portion of the transportation device (Fig 7A)(interior portion).
RE Claim 23: Doolan discloses a seat receiving member for mounting a child seat to a transportation device, the seat receiving member comprising:
a body (2/102) for receiving the child seat thereon (Fig 7A(,
wherein said body forms an interface between the child seat and the transportation device (with seat 60 of vehicle 62; see Fig 2; also see para 0050); and
at least one light (111, 113) associated with said body.
RE Claim 24: Doolan discloses the seat receiving member of claim 23,
wherein said body secures the child seat to the transportation device (2/102 secured to 60 of 62 via latch system).
RE Claim 25: Doolan discloses the seat receiving member of claim 24,
wherein the transportation device is one of a vehicle (62 per para 0050) and a stroller.
RE Claim 31: Doolan discloses the seat receiving member of claim 23,
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is oriented toward the child seat (Fig 7A).
RE Claim 32: Doolan discloses the seat receiving member of claim 31,
wherein said at least one light (111, 113) is associated with said body to illuminate an interface between said the receiving member and the child seat (Fig 7A).
RE Claim 33: The seat receiving member of claim 23,
wherein the seat receiving member is a child seat underlay (Fig 2, 7A).
Claims 18-19 and 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patterson et al. (US 7,224,270 B2)(hereinafter Patterson).
RE Claim 18: Patterson discloses a child seat (10) mountable to a transportation device (abstract), the child seat comprising:
a seat body including a seat shell (46; Fig 3); and
at least one light mounted about said seat body (col 12, ln 25-35), said at least one light being activatable in response to an input to said seat body (col 12, ln 25-35).
RE Claim 19: Patterson discloses the child seat of claim 18,
wherein said seat body further comprises a connector of a LATCH system and said at least one light is activatable in response to movement of said connector (col 12, ln 25-35).
RE Claim 21: Patterson discloses the child seat of claim 18,
wherein said seat body further comprises a release mechanism having an actuator (col 7, ln 60 – col 8, ln 2; col 8, ln 20-25),
said at least one light being activatable in response to application of a force to said actuator (col 7, ln 60 – col 8, ln 2; col 8, ln 20-25).
RE Claim 22: Patterson discloses the child seat of claim 18,
wherein said child seat is an infant child seat (Fig 3; col 5, ln 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doolan as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Nagelski et al. (US 2009/0295128 A1)(hereinafter Nagelski).
RE Claim 9: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 8, and further discloses connection to a transportation device as previously discussed.
Doolan does not explicitly teach wherein the transportation device is a stroller, and said seat receiving member is a support member of said stroller.
However, Nagelski teaches a child seat connectable to a transportation device (analogous art) and further teaches wherein the transportation device is a stroller (Fig 1)(para 0047 describes connection to both vehicle and stroller), and said seat receiving member is a support member of said stroller (para 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Doolan in view of Nagelski such that the transportation device is a stroller, and said seat receiving member is a support member of said stroller as taught by Nagelski for the advantages of versatility and convenience.
RE Claim 10: Doolan discloses the child seat of claim 8.
Doolan does not explicitly teach wherein said seat body further comprises a carrying handle movably mounted to said seat shell, said at least one light being positioned adjacent to said carrying handle.
However, Nagelski teaches a child seat connectable to a transportation device (analogous art) and further teaches wherein said seat body further comprises a carrying handle (134) movably mounted to said seat shell (para 0053), said at least one light being positioned adjacent to said carrying handle (on the left/right sides of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Doolan in view of Nagelski such that said seat body further comprises a carrying handle movably mounted to said seat shell, said at least one light being positioned adjacent to said carrying handle as taught by Nagelski for the advantages of versatility and convenience.
RE Claim 26: Doolan discloses the seat receiving member of claim 25.
Doolan does not explicitly teach wherein the transportation device is a stroller and the seat receiving member is a support base, said support base being positionable on a vehicle seat.
However, Nagelski teaches a child seat connectable to a transportation device (analogous art) and further teaches wherein the transportation device is a stroller and the seat receiving member is a support base (Figs 1) (para 0047), said support base being positionable on a vehicle seat (para 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Doolan in view of Nagelski such that wherein the transportation device is a stroller and the seat receiving member is a support base, said support base being positionable on a vehicle seat as taught by Nagelski for the advantages of versatility and convenience.
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Tiesler et al. (US 6,793,385 B2)(hereinafter Tiesler).
RE Claim 20: Patterson discloses the child seat of claim 18,
wherein said seat body further comprises a carrying handle (Fig 3) movably mounted to said seat shell (via hinge joint seen in Fig 3).
Patterson does not explicitly teach said at least one light being activatable in response to movement of said carrying handle.
However, Tiesler teaches a child seat with a handle (analogous art) and further teaches said at least one light (22) being activatable in response to movement of said carrying handle (col 3, ln 10-15)(movement of push button 24 on handle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Patterson in view of Tiesler such that said at least one light being activatable in response to movement of said carrying handle as taught by Tiesler for the advantages of lighting control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various child seats mountable to other devices with seat bodies and illumination features.
/MARIA E GRABER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644