DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitani et al. (US 2023/0192017 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Mitani discloses, in figure 1, a power supply control device (1) that is included in an on-board system (Par 0015) including: a power source unit (2) configured to supply power (Par 0015); a power path (4) through which power that is based on the power source unit (2) is transmitted (Par 0022); and a power storage unit (5) different from the power source unit (2), and controls power supply from the power storage unit (5) (Par 0021-0022), the power supply control device comprising: a first conductive path (path from 5 to node between 6 and 7) to which a voltage that is based on output of the power storage unit (5) is applied; an element unit (11) that is electrically connected at one end to the first conductive path (path from 5 to node between 6 and 7); a second conductive path (path from 11 to node N1) that is electrically connected to the other end of the element unit (11), and forms a current-carrying path between the element unit (11) and the power path (4) (Par 0025); a voltage conversion unit (6, 7) that is connected in parallel with the element unit (11) between the power storage unit (5) and the power path (4) (Par 0029-0030); a third conductive path (43) that is electrically connected to the voltage conversion unit (6, 7) between the voltage conversion unit and the power path (4) (Par 0026); and a control unit (13) configured to control the voltage conversion unit (6, 7) (Par 0041), wherein the voltage conversion unit (6, 7) performs a first conversion operation (6) of stepping up or down a voltage applied to the first conductive path (path from 5 to node between 6 and 7) and applying an output voltage to the third conductive path (43) (Par 0026, 0029), and a second conversion operation (7) of stepping up or down a voltage applied to the third conductive path (43) and applying an output voltage to the first conductive path (path from 5 to node between 6 and 7) (Par 0027, 0030), the element unit (11) is capable of allowing flow of a current to the power path (4) side via the element unit (11) itself and cutting off flow of a current to the power storage unit (5) side via the element unit itself (Par 0025, 0036), and the control unit (13) stops the voltage conversion unit or causes the voltage conversion unit to perform the second conversion operation (7) when supply of power from the power source unit (2) to the power path is in a normal state different from a failure state (Par 0027, 0045; “when power supply 2 is not defective, control circuit 13 activates second voltage conversion circuit 7. As a result, the output power of power supply 2 is supplied from third the branch point of first power feed path 41 through fourth power feed path 44 (i.e., via through second voltage conversion circuit 7) to electric storage device 5”) and causes the voltage conversion unit to start the first conversion operation (6) when the failure state is entered (Par 0028, 0047).
In regards to claim 2, Mitani discloses, in figure 1, the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein, when the failure state is entered (power supply 2 defective), the control unit (13) causes the voltage conversion unit (6, 7) to start the first conversion operation (6) so as to apply an output voltage of a first value (Par 0029; 12V) to the third conductive path (43) (Par 0029), when a voltage of the second conductive path (path from 11 to node N1) is lower than or equal to a second value in the failure state (Par 0047), a current flows from the power storage unit (5) side to the power path (4) side via the element unit (11) (Par 0047), and at least after the failure state has been entered, flow of a current from the second conductive path side to the power storage unit (5) side is cut off in the element unit (11) (Par 0025, 0036).
In regards to claim 3, Mitani discloses, in figure 1, the power supply control device according to claim 2, wherein, after causing the voltage conversion unit (6, 7) to start the first conversion operation (6) of applying the output voltage of the first value (Par 0029; 12V) to the third conductive path (43) when the failure state is entered (power supply 2 defective), the control unit (13) causes the voltage conversion unit to perform the first conversion operation (6) of applying an output voltage of a third value (11.5V) that is smaller than the first value (12V) to the third conductive path (43) (Par 0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani et al. (US 2023/0192017 A1) in view of Nagatomi et al. (US 2023/0420981 A1).
In regards to claim 11, Mitani discloses, in figure 1, the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein the element unit (11) includes a diode (diode of 11a) and a backflow prevention switch (11a) (Par 0036; “Each of switching elements 11a is, for example, a semiconductor switch (e.g., p-channel MOSFET)”), the diode and the backflow prevention switch are disposed in series to each other between the first conductive path (path from 5 to node between 6 and 7) and the second conductive path (path from 11 to node N1) (See Fig. 1; diode of 11a and backflow prevention switch 11a are disposed in series to each other), the backflow prevention switch (11a) cuts off flow of a current to the second conductive path (path from 11 to node N1) side via the backflow prevention switch itself in an off-state (11a cuts off flow of current to the second conductive path in an off-state during normal operation when power supply 2 is not defective), and allows flow of a current to the second conductive path side (path from 11 to node N1) via the backflow prevention switch itself in an on-state (Par 0047; 11a allows flow of a current to the second conductive path in an on-state during failure operation when power supply 2 is defective), and in the normal state, the control unit causes the voltage conversion unit (6, 7) to perform the second conversion operation (7) while controlling the backflow prevention switch (11a) to be in the off-state (Par 0045), and, when the failure state is entered (power supply 2 defective), the control unit (13) switches the backflow prevention switch (11a) to the on-state and causes the voltage conversion unit to start the first conversion operation (6) (Par 0047; “Also when power supply 2 is defective, control circuit 13 turns off first switch 10 (specifically, two switching elements 10a) and turns on second switch 11 (specifically, two switching elements 11a) so as to activate (i.e., to start) first voltage conversion circuit 6”).
Mitani does not disclose the diode cuts off flow of a current to the first conductive path side via the diode itself, and allows flow of a current to the second conductive path side via the diode itself.
However, Nagatomi discloses, in figure 1, the diode (9D) cuts off flow of a current to the first conductive path (path from 5 to node between 6 and 7 as discussed in Mitani) side via the diode (9D) itself (Par 0025), and allows flow of a current to the second conductive path (path from 11 to node N1 as discussed in Mitani) side via the diode (9D) itself (Par 0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replace Mitani’s switching elements 11a with a single backflow prevention switch with an internal diode that cuts off flow of a current to the first conductive path side via the diode itself, and allows flow of a current to the second conductive path side via the diode itself as taught by Nagatomi in order to prevent an output current of a power supply from flowing backward into the electrical storage device when the power supply recovers from a failure (Nagatomi; Par 0007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumoto et al. (US 2023/0155411 A1); discloses a power supply apparatus includes: a first system configured to supply electric power of a first power supply to a first load; a second system configured to supply electric power of a second power supply to a second load; a connection unit capable of connecting and disconnecting the first system and the second system; a second system switch capable of connecting the second power supply to the second system; and an inspection unit configured to perform inspection as to whether electric power is capable of being supplied from the second power supply to the second load, and, when a voltage of the second power supply is not equal to a voltage of the first power supply, the inspection unit controls the first power supply as defined herein and conducts the second system switch to perform the inspection by stepping down or up the voltage of the first power supply.
Wataru et al. (US 2020/0343763 A1); discloses a power supply system includes; a first switch connected between a main power source and loads; a second switch connected between a sub-battery and the loads; and backflow prevention circuit that prevent current backflow between the main power source and the sub-battery, and polarity of the backflow prevention circuit is devised so as to allow current passage in a direction from the sub-power source to the loads even when the second switch is in an off state. When power from the main power source is interrupted, the power source power of the sub-power source is supplied to the loads via the backflow prevention circuit even the second switch remains in the off state, so that the power supply is not interrupted.
Masui et al. (US 2018/0334118 A1); discloses a power distribution system for improving reliability of power supply to the load in a case where a bidirectional DC/DC converter is connected to one power supply when making a power supply redundant, connecting a first battery and a second battery so as to supply power to a load, including: a bidirectional DC/DC converter detecting an output of the first battery and an output of the second battery, and controlling charge and discharge operation of the second battery: and a control unit detecting the output voltage of the first battery and the output voltage of the second battery, and determining from which one of the first battery and the second battery power should be supplied to the load based on detection results by the control unit and the bidirectional DC/DC converter.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836