DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “sandwiching a film substrate-encapsulated liquid crystal element without polarizer” as presented in claims 1, 9, and 12 appears to be unclear. The examiner is not sure how a liquid crystal laminated glass can be used without a polarizer. In addition, figures 2-3 of the instant application show upper and lower polarizers being laminated into the liquid crystal laminated glass. Appropriate correction is required.
Being dependent on claims 1, 9, and 12, claims 2-8, 10-11, and 13-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 6, 9-10, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagase (JP 11-327448).
6. Regarding claim 1, Nagase (figure 9) discloses a method for manufacturing a liquid crystal laminated glass with polarizers, comprising:
combining an upper polarizer with an upper glass to form an upper laminate (11, 24 and the filler 13 between 11 and 24);
combining a lower polarizer with a lower glass to form a lower laminate (the upper polarizer 25, 12, and the filler between 25 and 12); and
integrating: sandwiching a film substrate-encapsulated liquid crystal element without polarizer (21-23), between the upper laminate and the lower laminate by arranging, crosslinking and curing a liquid optically clear adhesive (transparent UV curable resin, see at least abstract), thereby forming the liquid crystal laminated glass.
Regarding claim 6, Nagase (figure 9) discloses wherein a specific process of the integrating comprises: making the liquid crystal element be embedded into the liquid optically clear adhesive and interposed between the upper laminate and the lower laminate; after the liquid optically clear adhesive is cured, the upper laminate and the lower laminate together are bonded together by the liquid optically clear adhesive to form the liquid crystal laminated glass (1; figure 9).
Regarding claim 9, Nagase (figure 9) discloses a liquid crystal laminated glass with polarizers, wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass is obtained by a manufacturing method comprising
combining an upper polarizer with an upper glass to form an upper laminate (11, 24 and the filler 13 between 11 and 24);
combining a lower polarizer with a lower glass to form a lower laminate (the upper polarizer 25, 12, and the filler between 25 and 12); and
integrating: sandwiching a film substrate-encapsulated liquid crystal element without polarizer (21-23), between the upper laminate and the lower laminate by arranging, crosslinking and curing a liquid optically clear adhesive (transparent UV curable resin, see at least abstract), thereby forming the liquid crystal laminated glass.
The limitation “combining an upper polarizer with an upper glass to form an upper laminate; combining a lower polarizer with a lower glass to form a lower laminate; and integrating: sandwiching a film substrate-encapsulated liquid crystal element without polarizer, between the upper laminate and the lower laminate by arranging, crosslinking and curing a liquid optically clear adhesive, thereby forming the liquid crystal laminated glass” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 10, Nagase (figure 9) discloses wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass comprises the upper glass, a first polymer interlayer, the upper polarizer, the liquid optically clear adhesive, the lower polarizer, a second polymer interlayer and the lower glass which are sequentially laminated; and wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive contains embedded liquid crystal element, and the upper polarizer, the liquid crystal element and the lower polarizer are correspondingly aligned in a lamination direction.
The limitation “wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass comprises the upper glass, a first polymer interlayer, the upper polarizer, the liquid optically clear adhesive, the lower polarizer, a second polymer interlayer and the lower glass which are sequentially laminated; and wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive contains embedded liquid crystal element, and the upper polarizer, the liquid crystal element and the lower polarizer are correspondingly aligned in a lamination direction” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 12, Nagase (figure 9) discloses a vehicle, comprising a liquid crystal laminated glass with polarizers is obtained by a manufacturing method comprising
combining an upper polarizer with an upper glass to form an upper laminate (11, 24 and the filler 13 between 11 and 24);
combining a lower polarizer with a lower glass to form a lower laminate (the upper polarizer 25, 12, and the filler between 25 and 12); and
integrating: sandwiching a film substrate-encapsulated liquid crystal element without polarizer (21-23), between the upper laminate and the lower laminate by arranging, crosslinking and curing a liquid optically clear adhesive (transparent UV curable resin, see at least abstract), thereby forming the liquid crystal laminated glass.
The limitation “combining an upper polarizer with an upper glass to form an upper laminate; combining a lower polarizer with a lower glass to form a lower laminate; and integrating: sandwiching a film substrate-encapsulated liquid crystal element without polarizer, between the upper laminate and the lower laminate by arranging, crosslinking and curing a liquid optically clear adhesive, thereby forming the liquid crystal laminated glass” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 13, Nagase (figure 9) discloses wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass comprises the upper glass, a first polymer interlayer, the upper polarizer, the liquid optically clear adhesive, the lower polarizer, a second polymer interlayer and the lower glass which are sequentially laminated; and wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive contains embedded liquid crystal element, and the upper polarizer, the liquid crystal element and the lower polarizer are correspondingly aligned in a lamination direction.
The limitation “wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass comprises the upper glass, a first polymer interlayer, the upper polarizer, the liquid optically clear adhesive, the lower polarizer, a second polymer interlayer and the lower glass which are sequentially laminated; and wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive contains embedded liquid crystal element, and the upper polarizer, the liquid crystal element and the lower polarizer are correspondingly aligned in a lamination direction” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 15, Nagase (figure 9) discloses a first polymer interlayer, an upper polarizer, a first barrier layer, and a first back glass to form a laminated structure; after relative positions are fixed, placing the laminated structure into a vacuum bag and laminating by means of a low-temperature and high-pressure process; after lamination, removing the vacuum bag, the first barrier layer and the first back glass, and holding an upper laminate formed by the upper glass, the first polymer interlayer and the upper polarizer.
The limitation “a first polymer interlayer, an upper polarizer, a first barrier layer, and a first back glass to form a laminated structure; after relative positions are fixed, placing the laminated structure into a vacuum bag and laminating by means of a low-temperature and high-pressure process; after lamination, removing the vacuum bag, the first barrier layer and the first back glass, and holding an upper laminate formed by the upper glass, the first polymer interlayer and the upper polarizer” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 16, Nagase (figure 9) discloses wherein the lamination process employs a low-temperature and high-pressure process with pressure exceedingl0 bar and temperature ranging from 80°C to 110°C.
The limitation “wherein the lamination process employs a low-temperature and high-pressure process with pressure exceedingl0 bar and temperature ranging from 80°C to 110°C” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 17, Nagase (figure 9) discloses wherein a process of forming the lower laminate comprises: sequentially stacking a lower glass (portion of the glass substrate of 3), a second polymer interlayer, a lower polarizer, a second barrier layer and a second back glass to form a laminated structure (upper polarizer film 15 disposed below 3, lower polarizer film 15; 13, and 12); after relative positions are fixed, placing the laminated structure into a vacuum bag and laminating using a low-temperature and high-pressure process; after lamination, removing the vacuum bag, the second barrier layer and the second back glass, and holding a lower laminate formed by the lower glass, the second polymer interlayer and the lower polarizer.
The limitation “wherein a process of forming the lower laminate comprises: sequentially stacking a lower glass, a second polymer interlayer, a lower polarizer, a second barrier layer and a second back glass to form a laminated structure; after relative positions are fixed, placing the laminated structure into a vacuum bag and laminating using a low-temperature and high-pressure process; after lamination, removing the vacuum bag, the second barrier layer and the second back glass, and holding a lower laminate formed by the lower glass, the second polymer interlayer and the lower polarizer” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 18, Nagase (figure 9) discloses wherein a specific process of the integrating comprises: making the liquid crystal element be embedded into the liquid optically clear adhesive and interposed between the upper laminate and the lower laminate; after the liquid optically clear adhesive is cured, the upper laminate and the lower laminate together are bonded together by the liquid optically clear adhesive to form the liquid crystal laminated glass.
The limitation “wherein a specific process of the integrating comprises: making the liquid crystal element be embedded into the liquid optically clear adhesive and interposed between the upper laminate and the lower laminate; after the liquid optically clear adhesive is cured, the upper laminate and the lower laminate together are bonded together by the liquid optically clear adhesive to form the liquid crystal laminated glass” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (CN 110869837) in view of Zhang (US 20210333618).
Regarding claim 11, Nagase discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 10 above. However, Nagase is silent regarding a perimeter seal. Zhang (figures 1-2) teaches a perimeter seal (500). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the perimeter seal as taught by Zhang in order to solve the problem of light from a light source of the backlight module. Therefore, Bayer et al. as modified by Zhang teaches wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass further comprises a perimeter seal, which is disposed on a peripheral edges of the liquid optically clear adhesive, and two ends of the perimeter seal are connected to the upper glass and the lower glass, respectively.
The limitation “wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass further comprises a perimeter seal, which is disposed on a peripheral edges of the liquid optically clear adhesive, and two ends of the perimeter seal are connected to the upper glass and the lower glass, respectively” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 14, Nagase discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 13 above. However, Nagase is silent regarding a perimeter seal. Zhang (figures 1-2) teaches a perimeter seal (500). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the perimeter seal as taught by Zhang in order to solve the problem of light from a light source of the backlight module. Therefore, Bayer et al. as modified by Zhang teaches wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass further comprises a perimeter seal, which is disposed on a peripheral edges of the liquid optically clear adhesive, and two ends of the perimeter seal are connected to the upper glass and the lower glass, respectively.
The limitation “wherein the liquid crystal laminated glass further comprises a perimeter seal, which is disposed on a peripheral edges of the liquid optically clear adhesive, and two ends of the perimeter seal are connected to the upper glass and the lower glass, respectively” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 19, Nagase discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 10 above. However, Nagase is silent regarding a perimeter seal. Zhang (figures 1-2) teaches a perimeter seal (500). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the perimeter seal as taught by Zhang in order to solve the problem of light from a light source of the backlight module. Therefore, Bayer et al. as modified by Zhang teaches wherein before the integrating, a perimeter seal is disposed on edges of the upper laminate and the lower laminate to keep a distance therebetween when the upper laminate and the lower laminate are bonded by the liquid optically clear adhesive; and an opening is reserved on the perimeter seal to allow the liquid optically clear adhesive to be poured in the integrating.
The limitation “wherein before the integrating, a perimeter seal is disposed on edges of the upper laminate and the lower laminate to keep a distance therebetween when the upper laminate and the lower laminate are bonded by the liquid optically clear adhesive; and an opening is reserved on the perimeter seal to allow the liquid optically clear adhesive to be poured in the integrating” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 20, Nagase discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 10 above. However, Nagase is silent regarding a perimeter seal. Zhang (figures 1-2) teaches a perimeter seal (500). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the perimeter seal as taught by Zhang in order to solve the problem of light from a light source of the backlight module. Therefore, Bayer et al. as modified by Zhang teaches wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive is arranged in the upper laminate or the lower laminate in advance and embedded with the liquid crystal element, then the upper laminate and the lower laminate are combined, and after the liquid optically clear adhesive is cured, a perimeter seal is disposed on opposite peripheral edges of the upper laminate and the lower laminate.
The limitation “wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive is arranged in the upper laminate or the lower laminate in advance and embedded with the liquid crystal element, then the upper laminate and the lower laminate are combined, and after the liquid optically clear adhesive is cured, a perimeter seal is disposed on opposite peripheral edges of the upper laminate and the lower laminate” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 7-8 areobjected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The specific limitations of "wherein a process of forming the upper laminate comprises: sequentially stacking an upper glass, a first polymer interlayer, an upper polarizer, a first barrier layer, and a first back glass to form a laminated structure; after relative positions are fixed, placing the laminated structure into a vacuum bag and laminating by means of a low-temperature and high-pressure process; after lamination, removing the vacuum bag, the first barrier layer and the first back glass, and holding an upper laminate formed by the upper glass, the first polymer interlayer and the upper polarizer" in the combination as claimed in claim 2 are not provided nor made obvious by the prior art of record. Claim 2 would therefore be allowable if rewritten in independent form. Being depending on claim 2, claim 3 would also be allowable.
The specific limitations of "wherein a process of forming the lower laminate comprises: sequentially stacking a lower glass, a second polymer interlayer, a lower polarizer, a second barrier layer and a second back glass to form a laminated structure; after relative positions are fixed, placing the laminated structure into a vacuum bag and laminating using a low-temperature and high-pressure process; after lamination, removing the vacuum bag, the second barrier layer and the second back glass, and holding a lower laminate formed by the lower glass, the second polymer interlayer and the lower polarizer" in the combination as claimed in claim 4 are not provided nor made obvious by the prior art of record. Claim 4 would therefore be allowable if rewritten in independent form. Being depending on claim 4, claim 5 would also be allowable.
The specific limitations of "wherein before the integrating, a perimeter seal is disposed on edges of the upper laminate and the lower laminate to keep a distance therebetween when the upper laminate and the lower laminate are bonded by the liquid optically clear adhesive; and an opening is reserved on the perimeter seal to allow the liquid optically clear adhesive to be poured in the integrating" in the combination as claimed in claim 7 are not provided nor made obvious by the prior art of record. Claim 7 would therefore be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
The specific limitations of "wherein the liquid optically clear adhesive is arranged in the upper laminate or the lower laminate in advance and embedded with the liquid crystal element, then the upper laminate and the lower laminate are combined, and after the liquid optically clear adhesive is cured, a perimeter seal is disposed on opposite peripheral edges of the upper laminate and the lower laminate" in the combination as claimed in claim 8 are not provided nor made obvious by the prior art of record. Claim 8 would therefore be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871