DETAILED ACTION
Claims 11 – 20 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Loveall et al. (US 2023/0373316).
Regarding Claim 1:
Loveall et al. teaches a method for operating a vehicle (210), the vehicle having at least one electric machine (140, 226) which can be operated in an engine mode for driving the vehicle and in a generator mode for recuperative braking of the vehicle (paragraphs 0002 – 0004), an energy storage unit (162, 232) and/or energy sink which supplies the at least one electrical machine with electrical energy during engine operation and is charged by means of electrical energy recuperated during generator operation of the at least one electrical machine and/or further enables recuperative braking (paragraphs 0022, 0029), a recuperation braking system (Figs 1 – 2, paragraphs 0002 – 004) for carrying out the recuperative braking, comprising the at least one electric machine and the energy storage unit and/or energy sink, and a friction brake system (118) with a friction brake device comprising a wheel brake actuator, characterized in that a request signal for a deceleration torque generated by an accelerator pedal (292) of the vehicle and/or by at least one assistance function of the vehicle is processed in a control unit (12) not belonging to the friction brake system, wherein it is checked whether a current state of the recuperation braking system permits recuperative braking, and the vehicle is braked recuperatively in accordance with the requested deceleration torque completely or to the extent to which the current state of the recuperation braking system permits recuperative braking (Step 601 and paragraph 0085, and see also paragraphs 0002 – 004).
Regarding Claim 12:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that, if the current state of the recuperation braking system does not permit or does not completely permit recuperative braking in accordance with the requested deceleration torque, a remaining portion of the requested deceleration torque, which cannot be achieved by recuperative braking, is forwarded to a brake control system of the friction braking system and the vehicle is braked in accordance with this remaining portion of the requested deceleration torque by means of the friction braking system (paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 13:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that a request signal for a deceleration torque generated by a brake pedal of the vehicle is processed in the brake control system of the friction brake system, wherein it is checked whether the current state of the recuperation brake system permits recuperative braking, and the requested deceleration torque is forwarded to the control unit not belonging to the friction brake system to the extent to which the current state of the recuperation brake system permits recuperative braking, and the vehicle is braked recuperatively accordingly, and the vehicle is braked by means of the friction brake system in accordance with a remaining portion of the requested deceleration torque (via 256, paragraphs 0002 – 0005).
Regarding Claim 14:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that the current state of the recuperation brake system is determined by the control unit, which is not part of the friction brake system, and is forwarded to the brake control system (paragraphs 0002 – 0004).
Regarding Claim 15:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that the deceleration torque for the recuperative braking is forwarded by the control unit not belonging to the friction brake system as an electric setpoint braking torque to a powertrain control unit of an electric powertrain of the vehicle comprising the at least one electric machine (Figs 1 – 2, paragraph 0022).
Regarding Claim 16:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that a driving dynamics control unit transmits a minimum drive speed for the electric machine to the drive train control unit and the drive train control unit carries out the recuperative braking by activating the at least one electric machine in accordance with the electrical setpoint braking torque, but only until the minimum drive speed is reached, the powertrain control unit transmitting a remaining deceleration torque, which cannot be achieved by recuperative braking, to the vehicle dynamics control unit when the minimum drive speed is reached (paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 17:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that the deceleration torque for the friction braking is transmitted from the brake control system to the friction braking device as a friction target braking torque (paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 18:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that the vehicle dynamics control transmits a minimum wheel speed to the friction brake device and the friction brake device carries out the friction braking by actuating a friction brake actuator in accordance with the friction target braking torque, but only until the minimum wheel speed is reached, wherein the friction brake device transmits a remaining deceleration torque, which cannot be achieved by friction braking, to the vehicle dynamics control when the minimum wheel speed is reached (paragraph 0034).
Regarding Claim 19:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that the vehicle dynamics control for stabilizing the vehicle transmits a settable electrical deceleration torque to the control unit not belonging to the friction brake system and/or to the brake control system of the friction brake system and the vehicle is braked recuperatively and/or friction-braked accordingly (paragraphs 0002 – 0005).
Regarding Claim 20:
Loveall et al. teaches characterized in that the vehicle dynamics control transmits a braking force distribution specification to the control unit not belonging to the friction brake system and/or to the brake control system of the friction brake system (paragraphs 0002 – 0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747