DETAILED ACTION
Specification (Title)
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: a statistical information generation unit that generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information.
Claim 4: wherein the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by aggregating the collection amount for each collection place.
Claim 4: an output unit that outputs information obtained by visualizing the statistical information generated by the statistical information generation unit.
Claim 5: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a difference between the first time information and the second time information for each collection place.
Claim 6: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the retail amount by the production amount.
Claim 7: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the collection amount by the production amount.
Claim 8: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the recycling amount by the production amount.
Claim 9: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the resource-recycled amount by the collection amount and further dividing the resource-recycled amount by the production amount.
Claim 10: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by subtracting the wholesale amount, the retail amount, the collection amount, and the recycling amount from the production amount.
Claim 11: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by multiplying the recycling amount by the amount of reduction in carbon dioxide emission per product.
Claim 16: statistical information generation unit that generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information.
Support is found in [0072]-[0073] and [0082]-[0092].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 (Non-Statutory Subject Matter)
Claims 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because 1) claim 14 recites a program for causing a computer to function but does not describe the program being embodied in hardware (i.e., Software Per Se); 2) claim 15 recites a “computer-readable medium” but isn’t clear if it’s non-transitory (i.e., Signal Per Se).
The specification disclose at [0118]: “Some or all of the functional units described in the present specification may be realized by a program. The program referred to in the present specification may be distributed by being non-temporarily recorded in a computer-readable recording medium, may be distributed via a communication line (including wireless communication) such as the Internet, or may be distributed in a state of being installed on any terminal.” However, this suggests that the program is stored in a medium and distributed via a wireless communication.
Applicant can overcome the Signal Per Se rejection by amending the claim to read “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.” Such an amendment does not constitute new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 (Abstract Idea)
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Per Step 1, claim 1 is to a system (i.e., a machine), claim 13 to a method (i.e., a process), and claim 16 to a device (i.e., a machine). Thus, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
(Examiner notes that claims 14 and 15, while being non-statutory and failing at Step 1, are considered in the Abstract Idea rejection below for the purposes of compact prosecution. Given that they’re different statutory categories vs. parent claim 13, claims 14 and 15 have also been treated as independent claims. Regardless of how they’re interpreted, independent or dependent, they are still ineligible.)
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claim 1 is:
acquires product information of the product,
acquires sales information of the product,
acquires consumer information,
acquires collection information of the product,
acquires recycling information of the product, and
generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information.
The abstract idea of claims 13, 14, and 15 is (claims 14 and 15 inheriting the abstract idea of claim 13):
a step of acquiring product information of the product;
a step of acquiring sales information of the product ;
a step of acquiring consumer information;
a step of acquiring collection information of the product;
a step of acquiring recycling information of the product; and
a step of generating statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information.
The abstract idea of claim 16 is:
acquires product information of a product;
acquires sales information of the product;
acquires consumer information;
acquires collection information of the product;
acquires recycling information of the product; and
generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information.
The abstract idea steps italicized above are those which could be performed mentally, including with pen and paper. The steps describe, at a high level, acquiring or observing product and/or consumer and/or recycling information and evaluating relevant statistics. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, including observations, evaluations, judgements, and/or opinions, then it falls within the Mental Processes – Concepts Performed in the Human Mind grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above describe the commercial activities that pertain to improvements to recycling in a circular economy, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial activity. This is further supported by [0005] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interactions, including contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing, sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above describe the rules or instructions that pertain to generating information contributing to improvements to recycling in a circular economy, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people. This is further supported by [0005] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and/or following rules or instructions, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Managing Personal Behavior Relationships, Interactions Between People grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above describe calculating statistics, i.e., mathematical calculations, that pertain to improvements to recycling in a circular economy, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts. This is further supported by [0009] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts, including mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations, then it falls within the Mathematical Concepts grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP 2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements: a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product; a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product; a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product; a terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer; a server accessible by each device; a product information acquirer; from the terminal device of the manufacturer; a sales information acquirer; from the terminal device of the distributor; a consumer information acquirer; from the terminal device of the consumer; a collection information acquirer; a recycling information acquirer; from the terminal device of the recycler; a statistical information generation unit.
Claim 13 recites the following additional elements: a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product; a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product; a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product; a terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer; a server accessible by each device; from the terminal device of the manufacturer; from the terminal device of the distributor; from the terminal device of the consumer; from the terminal device of the consumer; from the terminal device of the recycler.
Claim 14 recites the following additional elements: A program for causing a computer to execute; [from claim 13: a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product; a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product; a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product; a terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer; a server accessible by each device; from the terminal device of the manufacturer; from the terminal device of the distributor; from the terminal device of the consumer; from the terminal device of the consumer; from the terminal device of the recycler.]
Claim 15 recites the following additional elements: A computer-readable storage medium storing the program; [inherited from claim 14: A program for causing a computer to execute; inherited from claim 13: a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product; a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product; a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product; a terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer; a server accessible by each device; from the terminal device of the manufacturer; from the terminal device of the distributor; from the terminal device of the consumer; from the terminal device of the consumer; from the terminal device of the recycler.]
Claim 16 recites the following additional elements: an information processing device; a product information acquirer; from a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces the product; a sales information acquirer; from a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product; a consumer information acquirer; from a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product; a collection information acquirer; from the terminal device of the consumer; a recycling information acquirer; from a terminal device of a recycler who collects the used product from the consumer and recycles the product; a statistical information generation unit.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in [0039]-[0091] of applicant’s specification as filed, for example.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a generic computing system, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, when viewed in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, per Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP 2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two pertaining to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
The analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well:
Dependent claims 2-12 further narrow the abstract idea above with additional abstract steps and/or information. This narrowing of the abstract idea does not integrate it into practical application and/or add significantly more. Some of the dependent claims recite further additional elements, beyond those highlighted above:
Claim 4: an output unit that outputs information obtained by visualizing the statistical information generated by the statistical information generation unit.
Claim 12: a display controller that displays information regarding traceability of the product or a component of the product on a display unit of at least one device of the respective devices.
Similar to above, these are generic computing elements that are simply facilitating the tasks of the narrowed abstract idea. Whether viewed alone or in combination, this does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and/or add significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshige (US 20080010174) in view of Rodatos (US 20120047080).
Claim 1
Hiroshige discloses:
An information processing system {information processing system described in [0008], [0057].} comprising:
a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product {terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product represented by manufacturer management system 19, described in [0060]: The manufacturer management system [19] comprises the communications device 21 such as a network device or modem, the processing device 22 such as a personal computer or central processing unit contained therein, the display device 23 such as a monitor, the storage device 24 such as a memory or hard disk, and the input device 25 such as a keyboard or mouse.};
a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product {terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product represented by parts center management system 18, described in [0060]: The parts center management system 18 comprises the communications device 21 such as a network device or modem, the processing device 22 such as a personal computer or central processing unit contained therein, the display device 23 such as a monitor, the storage device 24 such as a memory or hard disk, and the input device 25 such as a keyboard or mouse.
purchase the product from the manufacturer and sells the product indicated in [0174], where re-use extends to purchase and re-sale of the product: The parts center management system 18 transfers the needs information by for example sending a file which displays re-use product or parts needs information by a method such as, for example, the name of the parts center, needs product model, quantity and price, or the name of the parts center, needs parts specification, quantity and price, or a method such as the name of the parts center, needs product model and quantity increase or decrease (e.g., +3), to the reception management center management system 11.};
a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product {terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product represented by reception management center management system 11, described in [0060], where consumer purchases the product for re-use: The reception management center management system 11 comprises a communications device 21 such as a network device or modem, a processing device 22 such as a personal computer or central processing unit contained therein, a display device 23 such as a monitor, a storage device 24 such as a memory or hard disk, and an input device 25 such as a keyboard or mouse. Also see [0166]: Further, the reception management center management system 11 invoices the cost of the re-used items to the parts center 6 to which the re-use items were delivered (step 3811), the parts center management system 18 confirms whether acceptance of the re-use items is complete, and pays the fee (step 3811a). The reception management center's management system 11 confirms payment of the fee (step 3812).};
a terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer {terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer represented by processing company management system 20, described in [0060]: The processing company management system 20 comprises the communications device 21 such as a network device or modem, the processing device 22 such as a personal computer or central processing unit contained therein, the display device 23 such as a monitor, the storage device 24 such as a memory or hard disk, the input device 25 such as a keyboard or mouse, the printing device 26 such as a printer, and the reader 27 which can measure the weight of items entering or leaving the warehouse. Also see [0058]: A processing company management system 20 manages recycle results in a yard by receiving information from peripheral systems, accepting material recycle parts, and managing the processing and dispatch of valuable or discarded items, and generates and provides recycle rate figures using this data.};
and a server accessible by each device {server represented by storage device 24 in Fig. 9B. Also see [0170].},
wherein the information processing system includes
a product information acquirer that acquires product information of the product from the terminal device of the manufacturer {product information acquirer that acquires product information of the product from the terminal device of the manufacturer indicated in [0067]: Based on product re-use item needs information and product information from the manufacturer management system 19, when the collection application items are disassembled, the parts collection center 5 manages the disassembly of the collection application items by reading the management number information of the collection and recycle cost recovery form attached to the collection application items and registering it in the parts 3 collection center management system 15 (step 310a).},
a sales information acquirer that acquires sales information of the product from the terminal device of the distributor {sales information acquirer that acquires sales information of the product from the terminal device of the distributor indicated in [0174]: The reception management center management system 11 acquires information such as product or parts models or specifications for which there is a need for re-use from the parts center management system 18. The parts center management system 18 transfers the needs information by for example sending a file which displays re-use product or parts needs information by a method such as, for example, the name of the parts center, needs product model, quantity and price, or the name of the parts center, needs parts specification, quantity and price, or a method such as the name of the parts center, needs product model and quantity increase or decrease (e.g., +3), to the reception management center management system 11.},
a consumer information acquirer that acquires consumer information from the terminal device of the consumer {consumer information acquirer that acquires consumer information from the terminal device of the consumer indicated in [0063]: The collection applicant connects to the collection application system 12 in the reception management center management system 11 via the network 28 by means of the collection applicant system 16 (step 301). This connection may be identical to an ordinary Internet connection. However, the network 28 may also be realized by another means such as telephone or fax, and the same result can be achieved by inputting information to the reception management center management system 11 in the reception management center 2 based on this information. The collection applicant system 12 transmits a collection application input screen, whereof an example showing the necessary input categories is illustrated in FIG. 5, to the collection applicant system 16 via the network 28, and the collection applicant system 16 displays this on the display device 23 (step 302).},
a collection information acquirer that acquires collection information of the product from the terminal device of the consumer {collection information acquirer that acquires collection information of the product from the terminal device of the consumer indicated in [0063]: This method is identical to that of an ordinary Internet connection, for example, an input screen whereof an example is shown in HTML format can be generated, and transmitted. The collection applicant inputs the name, collection pickup location, contact information and classification or model of the home products to be collected via the input device 25 using the collection application input screen, and transmits this information (step 303). This method may also be identical to that of an ordinary Internet connection. Here, regarding items which are difficult for the collection applicant to know, for example input information such as the model of a home product, it is convenient to show by means of figures or letters where model information is displayed for each product, as shown in the example of FIG. 6. The reception management center management system 11 receives the collection application information transmitted by the collection applicant system 16, stores and manages this in the storage device 24, specifies the collection company which has been requested to collect the items from the pickup location in this information, specifies the recycle cost from the collection application classification, generates a collection application reception screen of which an example is shown in FIG. 7, and returns this information to the collection application system 16 via the network 28 (step 304). The collection application reception information received by the collection applicant system 16 displays the received collection application reception information on the display device 23 (step 305). This function can be implemented by an ordinary Internet function. By transmitting information comprising the cost of recycling or scheduled collection company on this screen, an estimate can be made for the collection application. A function is also provided to transmit collection application verification information, and when this function is implemented by the input device 25 such as a mouse, the collection application information verification information is transmitted (step 306). This function can also be implemented by an ordinary Internet function. This is made clearer if a final check is performed by transmitting a collection application confirmation reception check screen as shown in FIG. 7B. By adding the name of the collection company and its contact information, it is possible to deal with the case where, for example, the collection applicant wishes to change the collection date.},
a recycling information acquirer that acquires recycling information of the product from the terminal device of the recycler {recycling information acquirer that acquires recycling information of the product from the terminal device of the recycler indicated in [0066]: After performing ordinary delivery operations such as initial storage and packing if necessary, the collection company delivers the collection application items to the parts collection center 5. Here, the parts collection center 5 manages acceptance of the collection application items, and by registering them in the parts collection center management system 15 (step 309a) by reading or manually inputting management number information recorded using a barcode or the like on the collection and recycle cost recovery form when the collection application items are accepted, transmits this collection application item acceptance information to the reception management center management system 11 via the network, and manages it (step 310).}.
Hiroshige doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Rodatos, in a similar field of endeavor directed to recycling tracking, teaches:
a statistical information generation unit that generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information {statistical information generation unit that generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information described in [0111], where consumer information corresponds to region, product information, sales information, collection information, and recycling information correspond to project type, material reused, services, and industry, respectively: The statistics group 53 includes functions to generate reports for the county which can be specific by project, by industry, by region, by material recycled, reused or disposed, and by services utilized within the county's jurisdiction. To create the reports with statistical data, there is a data upload/download function to move data onto or off of county computers. This allows county personnel to access information even when not in front of a county computer. Also see [0111], which describes additional statistics that are applicable.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hiroshige to include the features of Rodatos. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Rodatos, in order to provide an integrated communications and data-management system that coordinates, tracks, and documents waste diversion operations, while automating the generation of compliance and performance reports for all involved parties {[0008] of Rodatos}.
Claim 12
Rodatos further teaches: a display controller that displays information regarding traceability of the product or a component of the product on a display unit of at least one device of the respective devices {display controller that displays information regarding traceability of the product or a component of the product on a display unit of at least one device of the respective devices described in [0193]: For property trackers: The system provides a paperless on-line mechanism to allow for property owners to track the construction recycling activities of contractors performing work within their specific property or portfolio of properties and view the recycling activity including statistics and performance in real time. The system allows the property owner or manager to do this by allowing the property owner to create and issue unique property identification (ID) codes and issue them to the contractors performing work on their property. The contractor will then enter this unique ID into the system the contractor's project will then be tracked during the course of construction and display the recycling data in real time to the owner by unit, by building, by property type, by region, by location and the portfolio as a whole. This mechanism also allows the property owner or manager to quickly see whether or not the contractor is meeting the recycling criteria set forth by the governing body and or the recycling criteria set forth by the property owner themselves. The system displays the statistical data for recycling for each property and contractor and displays the recycling, salvage and disposal total for each project performed within a building and for each project performed by the contractor. The system also displays the statistical data for all materials recycled, salvaged and disposed a long with what facility types, project types, hauling method, and construction types.}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 13
Hiroshige discloses:
A method using an information processing system {method using an information processing system described in [0008], [0057].} including a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product {terminal device of a manufacturer that produces a product represented by manufacturer management system 19, described in [0060]}, a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product {terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product represented by parts center management system 18, described in [0060]}, a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product {terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product represented by reception management center management system 11, described in [0060]}, a terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer {terminal device of a recycler who collects and recycles the used product from the consumer represented by processing company management system 20, described in [0060]}, and a server accessible by each device {server represented by storage device 24 in Fig. 9B. Also see [0170].}, the method comprising:
a step of acquiring product information of the product from the terminal device of the manufacturer {step of acquiring product information of the product from the terminal device of the manufacturer indicated in [0067]: Based on product re-use item needs information and product information from the manufacturer management system 19, when the collection application items are disassembled, the parts collection center 5 manages the disassembly of the collection application items by reading the management number information of the collection and recycle cost recovery form attached to the collection application items and registering it in the parts 3 collection center management system 15 (step 310a).};
a step of acquiring sales information of the product from the terminal device of the distributor {step of acquiring sales information of the product from the terminal device of the distributor indicated in [0174]: The reception management center management system 11 acquires information such as product or parts models or specifications for which there is a need for re-use from the parts center management system 18. The parts center management system 18 transfers the needs information by for example sending a file which displays re-use product or parts needs information by a method such as, for example, the name of the parts center, needs product model, quantity and price, or the name of the parts center, needs parts specification, quantity and price, or a method such as the name of the parts center, needs product model and quantity increase or decrease (e.g., +3), to the reception management center management system 11.};
a step of acquiring consumer information from the terminal device of the consumer {step of acquiring consumer information from the terminal device of the consumer indicated in [0063]: The collection applicant connects to the collection application system 12 in the reception management center management system 11 via the network 28 by means of the collection applicant system 16 (step 301). This connection may be identical to an ordinary Internet connection. However, the network 28 may also be realized by another means such as telephone or fax, and the same result can be achieved by inputting information to the reception management center management system 11 in the reception management center 2 based on this information. The collection applicant system 12 transmits a collection application input screen, whereof an example showing the necessary input categories is illustrated in FIG. 5, to the collection applicant system 16 via the network 28, and the collection applicant system 16 displays this on the display device 23 (step 302).};
a step of acquiring collection information of the product from the terminal device of the consumer {step of acquiring collection information of the product from the terminal device of the consumer indicated in [0063]: This method is identical to that of an ordinary Internet connection, for example, an input screen whereof an example is shown in HTML format can be generated, and transmitted. The collection applicant inputs the name, collection pickup location, contact information and classification or model of the home products to be collected via the input device 25 using the collection application input screen, and transmits this information (step 303). This method may also be identical to that of an ordinary Internet connection. Here, regarding items which are difficult for the collection applicant to know, for example input information such as the model of a home product, it is convenient to show by means of figures or letters where model information is displayed for each product, as shown in the example of FIG. 6. The reception management center management system 11 receives the collection application information transmitted by the collection applicant system 16, stores and manages this in the storage device 24, specifies the collection company which has been requested to collect the items from the pickup location in this information, specifies the recycle cost from the collection application classification, generates a collection application reception screen of which an example is shown in FIG. 7, and returns this information to the collection application system 16 via the network 28 (step 304). The collection application reception information received by the collection applicant system 16 displays the received collection application reception information on the display device 23 (step 305). This function can be implemented by an ordinary Internet function. By transmitting information comprising the cost of recycling or scheduled collection company on this screen, an estimate can be made for the collection application. A function is also provided to transmit collection application verification information, and when this function is implemented by the input device 25 such as a mouse, the collection application information verification information is transmitted (step 306). This function can also be implemented by an ordinary Internet function. This is made clearer if a final check is performed by transmitting a collection application confirmation reception check screen as shown in FIG. 7B. By adding the name of the collection company and its contact information, it is possible to deal with the case where, for example, the collection applicant wishes to change the collection date.};
a step of acquiring recycling information of the product from the terminal device of the recycler {step of acquiring recycling information of the product from the terminal device of the recycler indicated in [0066]: After performing ordinary delivery operations such as initial storage and packing if necessary, the collection company delivers the collection application items to the parts collection center 5. Here, the parts collection center 5 manages acceptance of the collection application items, and by registering them in the parts collection center management system 15 (step 309a) by reading or manually inputting management number information recorded using a barcode or the like on the collection and recycle cost recovery form when the collection application items are accepted, transmits this collection application item acceptance information to the reception management center management system 11 via the network, and manages it (step 310).}.
Hiroshige doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Rodatos, in a similar field of endeavor directed to recycling tracking, teaches:
a step of generating statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information {step of generating statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information described in [0111], where consumer information corresponds to region, product information, sales information, collection information, and recycling information correspond to project type, material reused, services, and industry, respectively: The statistics group 53 includes functions to generate reports for the county which can be specific by project, by industry, by region, by material recycled, reused or disposed, and by services utilized within the county's jurisdiction. To create the reports with statistical data, there is a data upload/download function to move data onto or off of county computers. This allows county personnel to access information even when not in front of a county computer. Also see [0111], which describes additional statistics that are applicable.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hiroshige to include the features of Rodatos. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Rodatos, in order to provide an integrated communications and data-management system that coordinates, tracks, and documents waste diversion operations, while automating the generation of compliance and performance reports for all involved parties {[0008] of Rodatos}.
Claim 14
Rodatos further teaches: A program for causing a computer to execute the method according to claim 13 {program for causing a computer to execute described in [0025].}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 15
Rodatos further teaches: A computer-readable storage medium storing the program according to claim 14 {computer-readable storage medium storing the program described in [0025].}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 16
Hiroshige discloses:
An information processing device {information processing device described in [0008], [0057].} comprising:
a product information acquirer that acquires product information of a product from a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces the product {product information acquirer that acquires product information of a product from a terminal device of a manufacturer that produces the product of a manufacturer that produces the product indicated in [0067]: Based on product re-use item needs information and product information from the manufacturer management system 19, when the collection application items are disassembled, the parts collection center 5 manages the disassembly of the collection application items by reading the management number information of the collection and recycle cost recovery form attached to the collection application items and registering it in the parts 3 collection center management system 15 (step 310a).},
a sales information acquirer that acquires sales information of the product from a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product {sales information acquirer that acquires sales information of the product from a terminal device of a distributor who purchases the product from the manufacturer and sells the product indicated in [0174]: The reception management center management system 11 acquires information such as product or parts models or specifications for which there is a need for re-use from the parts center management system 18. The parts center management system 18 transfers the needs information by for example sending a file which displays re-use product or parts needs information by a method such as, for example, the name of the parts center, needs product model, quantity and price, or the name of the parts center, needs parts specification, quantity and price, or a method such as the name of the parts center, needs product model and quantity increase or decrease (e.g., +3), to the reception management center management system 11.},
a consumer information acquirer that acquires consumer information from a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product {consumer information acquirer that acquires consumer information from a terminal device of a consumer who purchases the product from the distributor and uses the product indicated in [0063]: The collection applicant connects to the collection application system 12 in the reception management center management system 11 via the network 28 by means of the collection applicant system 16 (step 301). This connection may be identical to an ordinary Internet connection. However, the network 28 may also be realized by another means such as telephone or fax, and the same result can be achieved by inputting information to the reception management center management system 11 in the reception management center 2 based on this information. The collection applicant system 12 transmits a collection application input screen, whereof an example showing the necessary input categories is illustrated in FIG. 5, to the collection applicant system 16 via the network 28, and the collection applicant system 16 displays this on the display device 23 (step 302).},
a collection information acquirer that acquires collection information of the product from the terminal device of the consumer {collection information acquirer that acquires collection information of the product from the terminal device of the consumer indicated in [0063]: This method is identical to that of an ordinary Internet connection, for example, an input screen whereof an example is shown in HTML format can be generated, and transmitted. The collection applicant inputs the name, collection pickup location, contact information and classification or model of the home products to be collected via the input device 25 using the collection application input screen, and transmits this information (step 303). This method may also be identical to that of an ordinary Internet connection. Here, regarding items which are difficult for the collection applicant to know, for example input information such as the model of a home product, it is convenient to show by means of figures or letters where model information is displayed for each product, as shown in the example of FIG. 6. The reception management center management system 11 receives the collection application information transmitted by the collection applicant system 16, stores and manages this in the storage device 24, specifies the collection company which has been requested to collect the items from the pickup location in this information, specifies the recycle cost from the collection application classification, generates a collection application reception screen of which an example is shown in FIG. 7, and returns this information to the collection application system 16 via the network 28 (step 304). The collection application reception information received by the collection applicant system 16 displays the received collection application reception information on the display device 23 (step 305). This function can be implemented by an ordinary Internet function. By transmitting information comprising the cost of recycling or scheduled collection company on this screen, an estimate can be made for the collection application. A function is also provided to transmit collection application verification information, and when this function is implemented by the input device 25 such as a mouse, the collection application information verification information is transmitted (step 306). This function can also be implemented by an ordinary Internet function. This is made clearer if a final check is performed by transmitting a collection application confirmation reception check screen as shown in FIG. 7B. By adding the name of the collection company and its contact information, it is possible to deal with the case where, for example, the collection applicant wishes to change the collection date.},
a recycling information acquirer that acquires recycling information of the product from a terminal device of a recycler who collects the used product from the consumer and recycles the product {recycling information acquirer that acquires recycling information of the product from a terminal device of a recycler who collects the used product from the consumer and recycles the product indicated in [0066]: After performing ordinary delivery operations such as initial storage and packing if necessary, the collection company delivers the collection application items to the parts collection center 5. Here, the parts collection center 5 manages acceptance of the collection application items, and by registering them in the parts collection center management system 15 (step 309a) by reading or manually inputting management number information recorded using a barcode or the like on the collection and recycle cost recovery form when the collection application items are accepted, transmits this collection application item acceptance information to the reception management center management system 11 via the network, and manages it (step 310).}.
Hiroshige doesn’t explicitly disclose, however, Rodatos, in a similar field of endeavor directed to recycling tracking, teaches:
a statistical information generation unit that generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information {statistical information generation unit that generates statistical information regarding a statistic calculated by using the consumer information and at least one of the product information, the sales information, the collection information, and the recycling information described in [0111], where consumer information corresponds to region, product information, sales information, collection information, and recycling information correspond to project type, material reused, services, and industry, respectively: The statistics group 53 includes functions to generate reports for the county which can be specific by project, by industry, by region, by material recycled, reused or disposed, and by services utilized within the county's jurisdiction. To create the reports with statistical data, there is a data upload/download function to move data onto or off of county computers. This allows county personnel to access information even when not in front of a county computer. Also see [0111], which describes additional statistics that are applicable.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hiroshige to include the features of Rodatos. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Rodatos, in order to provide an integrated communications and data-management system that coordinates, tracks, and documents waste diversion operations, while automating the generation of compliance and performance reports for all involved parties {[0008] of Rodatos}.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, further in view of Rodoni (US 20170364872).
Claim 2
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Rodoni, in a similar field of endeavor directed to a waste management system, teaches: wherein the consumer information includes information regarding at least one of an age, a sex, a residence, an occupation, a product collection history, and a preference of the consumer {[0019] The data provided by source 39 may be associated with consumption of resources by a particular customer (e.g., the owner, lessee, manager, etc. of the house, townhome, duplex, apartment, or apartment building) who is receiving services from vehicle 12. Consumption data may include, for example, an amount of electrical power, heating fuel (e.g., gas, oil, etc.), water, sewage service, communication service (phone, entertainment, data, etc.), or other utility that is consumed by the customer at a particular location. The consumption data may also or alternatively include an amount and/or type of merchandise (e.g., electronics, books, clothing, groceries, pet supplies, etc.) that enters (e.g., is brought by the customer or delivered by courier, mail, etc. into) the particular location. The consumption data may also include personal information about the consumer, for example, a household income, number of individuals residing at the customer location, ages and genders of the individuals, education levels, birth dates, religions, hobbies, occupations, etc.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Rodoni. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Rodoni, in order to provide an affordable, low-maintenance, and versatile solution that accurately optimizes waste retrieval across diverse customer types {[0005]-[0006] of Rodoni}.
Claim 3
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Rodoni, in a similar field of endeavor directed to a waste management system, teaches: wherein the collection information includes information regarding a collection place of the product and information regarding a collection amount of the product for each collection place {[0037] Onboard and/or offboard controllers 30, 32 may then use the feedback information generated from onboard vehicle 12 during servicing to adjust the correlation between consumption and waste generation (e.g., to adjust the map(s) stored in memory—Step 350), and also to confirm that servicing of the particular receptacle 14 was performed. For example, based on a difference between the anticipated fill amount of receptacle 14 and an actual fill amount (an amount determined based on the weight or volume measured via sensor 42) determined at a time of servicing, the map(s) used to anticipate waste generation may be tuned to decrease the difference in future service events. For example, weightings used in the multi-variable equation to adjust the influence of gender, age, income level, time of year, geographical location, online shopping, and electrical power bill, may be adjusted. In addition, based on the tracked location of vehicle 12, the increase in vehicle payload, etc., onboard and/or offboard controllers 30, 32 may conclude that the particular receptacle 14 was properly serviced according to the required window of conditions. Onboard and/or offboard controllers 30, 32 may then use this confirmation as a basis for reporting the service to the customer, billing for the service, etc. Also see [0019], which further describes amount and location or collection place.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Rodoni. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Rodoni, in order to provide an affordable, low-maintenance, and versatile solution that accurately optimizes waste retrieval across diverse customer types {[0005]-[0006] of Rodoni}.
Claim 4
Rodatos further teaches: wherein the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by aggregating the collection amount for each collection place, and the information processing system further comprises an output unit that outputs information obtained by visualizing the statistical information generated by the statistical information generation unit {[0149] The system also allows the on-line tracking of tickets for recycling material. A process flow is shown in FIG. 22. Upon entry of a ticket into the system such as by scanning at the waste facility, the ticket is checked for previous use and whether there is associated a remaining material load amount (by load, cubic yard, or by tonnage) on the ticket. If the ticket is valid, the ticket is accepted into the system and the load is entered into the system. If the ticket is invalid, it is either rejected outright, or if the associated remaining material load amount is insufficient for the load amount being transported to the facility, the associated remaining load amount is displayed so that the reason for the rejection can be seen. [0150] FIG. 23 shows a process flow for the creation of recycling statistics. For each material load accepted by the recycling facility, a receipt is obtained from the facility. The receipt is associated with the particular project, such as by project tracking number, and the data associated with the load is entered for statistics calculation. Also see [0090]: Statistics: View statistics for functions related to this facility. Statistics of sales team and sales people individually. Statistics of materials. Statistics of which contractors use the facility the most.}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hiroshige, Rodatos, and Rodoni, further in view of Fujisawa (US 20220027821).
Claim 5
The combination of Hiroshige, Rodatos, and Rodoni, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Fujisawa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to product collection and delivery, teaches: wherein the product information includes first time information regarding a shipment date and time of the product, the collection information includes second time information regarding a date and time when the product is placed at the collection place by the consumer, and the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a difference between the first time information and the second time information for each collection place {[0189] To implement a variation of order receiving/delivery described with reference to FIG. 15 and FIG. 16, an inventory quantity for each commodity in each base, a delivery time period between bases, and a delivery time period to a customer's home are managed, are calculated again each time, and are updated and controlled on a backbone system. The commodity is tracked after shipment from the base, a current location of the commodity that is being delivered is updated and managed, and a scheduled arrival time is calculated again, and is appropriately notified to a customer terminal and a movement terminal of a deliverer according to the additional order or change of the content of the order.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige, Rodatos, and Rodoni to include the features of Fujisawa. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Fujisawa, in order to flexibly deal with shipment information when a customer is absent {[0017] of Fujisawa}.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, further in view of Hoshikawa (US 20230097989).
Claim 6
Hiroshige further discloses: wherein the product information includes information regarding a production amount of the product, the sales information includes information regarding a retail amount of the product {See previous citation to [0174].}.
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Hoshikawa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to inventory calculations, teaches: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the retail amount by the production amount {[0050] A discount ratio 38a represents a numerical value indicating the ratio of a desired retail price offered by the product supplier 14 for a product 12 and the difference between the desired retail price and the price of the product 12 actually purchased by a customer 18a or a wholesaler 18b, i.e., an actual price. In FIG. 4, the discount ratios 38a are indicated by a percentage. In case a desired retail price is constant for a predetermined period, for example, a discount ratio 38a is obtained by dividing the difference between the desired retail price and the actual price by an average value of actual prices of the products 12 in the predetermined period and then multiplying the quotient by 100. In case the desired retail price varies in the predetermined period, the variation may suitably be reflected in the discount ratio 38a.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Hoshikawa. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Hoshikawa, in order to facilitate calculating useful statistics relating to product levels {[0006], [0050] of Hoshikawa}.
Claim 7
Rodatos further teaches: wherein the product information includes information regarding a production amount of the product, the collection information includes information regarding a collection amount of the product {See previous citations to [0090], [0149].}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Hoshikawa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to inventory calculations, teaches: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the collection amount by the production amount {[0050] A discount ratio 38a represents a numerical value indicating the ratio of a desired retail price offered by the product supplier 14 for a product 12 and the difference between the desired retail price and the price of the product 12 actually purchased by a customer 18a or a wholesaler 18b, i.e., an actual price. In FIG. 4, the discount ratios 38a are indicated by a percentage. In case a desired retail price is constant for a predetermined period, for example, a discount ratio 38a is obtained by dividing the difference between the desired retail price and the actual price by an average value of actual prices of the products 12 in the predetermined period and then multiplying the quotient by 100. In case the desired retail price varies in the predetermined period, the variation may suitably be reflected in the discount ratio 38a.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Hoshikawa. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Hoshikawa, in order to facilitate calculating useful statistics relating to product levels {[0006], [0050] of Hoshikawa}.
Claim 8
Rodatos further teaches: wherein the product information includes information regarding a production amount of the product, the recycling information includes information regarding a recycling amount indicating an amount of the product recycled after collection {See previous citations to [0090], [0149].}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Hoshikawa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to inventory calculations, teaches: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the recycling amount by the production amount {[0050] A discount ratio 38a represents a numerical value indicating the ratio of a desired retail price offered by the product supplier 14 for a product 12 and the difference between the desired retail price and the price of the product 12 actually purchased by a customer 18a or a wholesaler 18b, i.e., an actual price. In FIG. 4, the discount ratios 38a are indicated by a percentage. In case a desired retail price is constant for a predetermined period, for example, a discount ratio 38a is obtained by dividing the difference between the desired retail price and the actual price by an average value of actual prices of the products 12 in the predetermined period and then multiplying the quotient by 100. In case the desired retail price varies in the predetermined period, the variation may suitably be reflected in the discount ratio 38a.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Hoshikawa. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Hoshikawa, in order to facilitate calculating useful statistics relating to product levels {[0006], [0050] of Hoshikawa}.
Claim 9
Rodatos further teaches: wherein the product information includes information regarding a production amount of the product, the collection information includes information regarding a collection amount of the product, the recycling information includes information regarding a resource-recycled amount indicating an amount resource-recycled among products recycled after collection {See previous citations to [0090], [0149].}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Hoshikawa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to inventory calculations, teaches: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by dividing the resource-recycled amount by the collection amount and further dividing the resource-recycled amount by the production amount {[0050] A discount ratio 38a represents a numerical value indicating the ratio of a desired retail price offered by the product supplier 14 for a product 12 and the difference between the desired retail price and the price of the product 12 actually purchased by a customer 18a or a wholesaler 18b, i.e., an actual price. In FIG. 4, the discount ratios 38a are indicated by a percentage. In case a desired retail price is constant for a predetermined period, for example, a discount ratio 38a is obtained by dividing the difference between the desired retail price and the actual price by an average value of actual prices of the products 12 in the predetermined period and then multiplying the quotient by 100. In case the desired retail price varies in the predetermined period, the variation may suitably be reflected in the discount ratio 38a.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Hoshikawa. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Hoshikawa, in order to facilitate calculating useful statistics relating to product levels {[0006], [0050] of Hoshikawa}.
Claim 10
Rodatos further teaches: wherein the product information includes information regarding a production amount of the product and information regarding a wholesale amount of the product, the sales information includes information regarding a retail amount of the product, the collection information includes information regarding a collection amount of the product, the recycling information includes information regarding a recycling amount indicating an amount of the product recycled after collection {See previous citations to [0090], [0149].}.
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Rodatos is the same as set forth previously.
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Hoshikawa, in a similar field of endeavor directed to inventory calculations, teaches: the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by subtracting the wholesale amount, the retail amount, the collection amount, and the recycling amount from the production amount {[0050] A discount ratio 38a represents a numerical value indicating the ratio of a desired retail price offered by the product supplier 14 for a product 12 and the difference between the desired retail price and the price of the product 12 actually purchased by a customer 18a or a wholesaler 18b, i.e., an actual price. In FIG. 4, the discount ratios 38a are indicated by a percentage. In case a desired retail price is constant for a predetermined period, for example, a discount ratio 38a is obtained by dividing the difference between the desired retail price and the actual price by an average value of actual prices of the products 12 in the predetermined period and then multiplying the quotient by 100. In case the desired retail price varies in the predetermined period, the variation may suitably be reflected in the discount ratio 38a.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Hoshikawa. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Hoshikawa, in order to facilitate calculating useful statistics relating to product levels {[0006], [0050] of Hoshikawa}.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, further in view of Sandor (US 20100250311).
Claim 11
The combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos, while teaching the features above, doesn’t explicitly teach, however, Sandor, in a similar field of endeavor directed to determining emissions amounts, teaches: wherein the product information includes information regarding an amount of reduction in carbon dioxide emission per product reduced by recycling the product, the recycling information includes information regarding a recycling amount indicating an amount of the product recycled after collection, and the statistical information generation unit generates statistical information regarding a statistic obtained by multiplying the recycling amount by the amount of reduction in carbon dioxide emission per product {[0026] In a variation of the invention, the method further includes combining the calculated amounts of emissions from each external entity to yield a total amount of emissions from the external entities. Preferably, the amount of emissions associated with purchases from anonymous entities is also calculated. This calculation includes determining quantity of external purchases from anonymous entities, establishing an emission rate for the purchases, and calculating the amount of emissions by multiplying the emission rate by the quantity. The determination of the quantity of external purchases can include determining total quantity of purchases from anonymous entities, determining an external share of the total quantity of purchases, and multiplying the total quantity by the external share to yield the quantity of external purchases. These purchases generally include one or more purchases of activities, products or services that result in release of emissions. Examples of these activities, products, or services include one or more of liquid, gaseous, or solid fuels; chemicals; cement; electronic equipment; agricultural and food products; vehicles; electric power; metals; building materials; aircraft transportation services; and assembly facilities. In a preferred embodiment, the activities, products, or services include electric power.}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Hiroshige and Rodatos to include the features of Sandor. Given that Hiroshige is directed to recycling management, one ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Hoshikawa, in order to facilitate accurately determining the total emissions for an entity that allow realization of emission reduction objectives and reduction of emissions leakage {[0008] of Sandor}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
“Towards a Circular Economy via Intelligent Metamaterials” (NPL attached), which teaches: The present study proposes the use of intelligent metasurfaces in the design of products, as enforcers of circular economy principles. Intelligent metasurfaces can tune their physical properties (electromagnetic, acoustic, mechanical) by receiving software commands. When incorporated within products and spaces they can mitigate the resource waste caused by inefficient, partially optimized designs and security concerns. Thus, circular economy and fast-paced product design become compatible.
US 20220005002, which teaches: This invention relates to a closed loop process and system for collecting and recycling of materials commonly used for packaging. The process comprises the steps of collecting and sorting of items containing material to be recycled, creating one or more datasets relating to the portions of sorted materials containing information relating to the quantity and origin as well as identity, brand, type and/or quality of sorted material, and registering at least the quantity and origin and optionally also about identity, brand, type and/or quality of sorted material in a blockchain. Embodiments of the invention comprise performing software assisted item recognition for determining at least one property of an item.
US 20240029033, which teaches: A disposal information generation apparatus (10) includes an article information acquisition unit (110) and a disposal information generation unit (120). The article information acquisition unit (110) acquires article information being information generated by using a sensor (20), and information relating to an article. The disposal information generation unit (120) generates and outputs disposal information being information relating to a site where waste coming out of the article or the article is to be disposed of, by using the article information. Thus, a person who intends to dispose of the waste or the article can recognize the site where the waste or the article is to be disposed of, by viewing the disposal information.
JOHN SAMUEL WASAFF
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/JOHN S. WASAFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629