DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “a cable different from the cable”. While it is understood, it should be amended to “an additional cable different from the cable” just to allow for clarity so one can be recited as “the cable” while the other one is “the additional cable”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yajima et al. (US 5670745, hereby referred as Yajima).
Regarding claim 1, Yajima (figs 2) teaches the following:
an antenna device (figs 2) comprising:
a housing (elements 75/77, figs 2);
an antenna portion (element 72, figs 2) housed in the housing;
a cable (element 80, figs 2) electrically connected to the antenna portion;
a waterproof pad (element 76, figs 2) surrounding at least a part of the antenna portion; and
a grommet (element 81, figs 2) through which the cable passes, wherein at least a part of the waterproof pad and at least a part of the grommet overlap each other (as shown in figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Yajima (figs 2) as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the waterproof pad (element 76, figs 2) and the grommet (element 81, figs 2) have a substantially flush surface pressed by the housing (as shown in figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 1, Yajima (figs 3-13) teaches the following:
an antenna device (figs 3-13) comprising:
a housing (elements 2 and 3, figs 3-13);
an antenna portion (element 5, figs 3-13) housed in the housing;
a cable (element 7, figs 3-13) electrically connected to the antenna portion;
a waterproof pad (element 4, figs 3-13) surrounding at least a part of the antenna portion; and
a grommet (elements 14/15/51, figs 3-13) through which the cable passes, wherein at least a part of the waterproof pad and at least a part of the grommet overlap each other (as shown in figs 3-13).
Regarding claim 3, Yajima (figs 3-13) as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the waterproof pad (element 4, figs 3-13) defines a recess portion overlapping at least a part of the grommet (as shown in figs 3-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima et al. (US 5670745, hereby referred as Yajima) in view of Hirosawa et al. (WO 2016/093082, hereby referred as Hirosawa).
Regarding claim 4, Yajima as referred in claim 1 teaches the antenna device with the exception for the following:
wherein the waterproof pad allows a cable different from the cable to pass therethrough.
Hirosawa suggests the teachings of wherein the waterproof pad (elements 8 or 15, fig 23) allows a cable (element 29c, fig 23) different from the cable (element 14, fig 23) to pass therethrough.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the waterproof pad of Yajima to allow a cable different from the cable to pass therethrough as suggested by the teachings of Hirosawa in order to allow an additional cable such as a cable for a camera implemented in an vehicle antenna device such as the ones of Yajima and Hirosawa so a camera module can be implemented which “can be used as a drive record, a back view monitor, a rearview mirror, or the like” (Hirosawa).
Additional Comments
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (KR 20120061488) could also be used to reject claim 1. Various other cited references, such as the rejection provided in the Written Opinion of the ISA, could also be applied to the current claims. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845