DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the 19/130,139 application filed on 05/15/2025.
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-22 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 4 and 19 recite “pentasulfonic acid, hexasulfonic acid” that render the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to what the claimed pentasulfonic acid and hexasulfonic acid are because there are no known solvents having the recited names.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2023/0380266).
Addressing claim 13, Zhu discloses a perovskite layer that is the structural equivalence to the claimed perovskite layer, the limitation requiring the layer to be obtained upon a treatment of the universal treatment method according to claim 9 does not structurally differentiate the claimed perovskite layer from that of Zhu’s because it is drawn to the method of treatment without reciting any associated structures of the perovskite layer. The limitation “when compared with perovskite layer before the modified treatment, an average surface roughness, a film defect density, and a nanosheet phase structure content of the perovskite layer after the modified treatment are reduced” does not structurally differentiate the claimed perovskite layer from that of Zhu because the claim does not recite any numerical values associated with the average surface roughness, a film defect density and a nanosheet phase structure content of perovskite layer prior to the modified treatment as reference points to differentiate the claimed perovskite layer from that of Zhu. In other words, the existing average surface roughness, film defect density and nanosheet phase structure content of Zhu’s perovskite layer corresponds to the same properties as those of the claimed perovskite layer without any reference points to which the existing average surface roughness, film defect density and nanosheet phase structure content of Zhu’s perovskite layer are compared.
Addressing claim 15, Zhu does not disclose the perovskite layer comprising a nanosheet phase structure, which satisfies the limitation of current claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-18, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN111628091 with provided machine English translation) in view of Bao (CN112542547 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 1, 3 and 6, Li discloses a universal treatment solution of a perovskite layer (mixed solvent for solvent bath assisted heat treatment, [0010 and 0020]), comprising a polar solvent and a non-polar solvent [0012], wherein the polar solvent only comprises (the word “comprises” is read according to the guidance set forth in MPEP 2111.03, despite the word “comprises” follows the word “only”) the list of solvents disclosed in paragraph [0015], a volume fraction of the polar solvent is 0.01 – 2% [0012].
Li further discloses in paragraph [0023] the polar solvent is used for dissolving or partially dissolving perovskites and the polar solvent used in the examples are dimethyl formamide [0037], acetonitrile [0042] and dimethyl sulfoxide [0045].
Bao discloses solvent for dissolving perovskites; wherein the solvent is dimethylformamide, similarly to that of Li or sulfonate [0020].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the treatment solution of Li by substituting the known dimethylformamide polar solvent with the known sulfonate polar solvent disclosed by Bao in order to obtain the predictable result of dissolving the intended perovskite during heat treatment process (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Addressing claims 7-8, paragraphs [0023 and 0037] of Li disclose the claimed non-polar solvents.
Addressing claim 9, Li in view of Bao discloses a universal treatment method of a perovskite layer, comprising:
providing a perovskite layer (paragraph [0011] of Li),
allowing the perovskite layer to be in contact with the universal treatment solution according to claim 1 (paragraph [0012] of Li discloses immersing the perovskite layer in the mixed solvent, which is obviated based on the teaching of Li in view of Bao as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above) for a modified treatment, time of the modified treatment being 2-10 s ([0013], the time disclosed by Li is inclusive of the claimed time range); and
removing the universal treatment solution in the perovskite layer after the modified treatment (paragraph [0013] of Li).
Addressing claim 10, Li discloses the temperature in paragraph [0013] that is inclusive of the claimed temperature range.
Addressing claim 11, Li discloses in paragraph [0013] the step of performing a drying treatment on the perovskite layer after the modified treatment.
Addressing claim 12, paragraph [0042] of Li discloses the claimed annealing treatment temperature and time.
Addressing claims 13-15, the perovskite film disclosed by Li undergoes the same treatment process; therefore, the resulting perovskite film disclosed by Li has all of the claimed properties after the treatment process.
Addressing claims 16-17, paragraph [0039] of Li discloses the perovskite solar cell comprises a first transport layer (electron transport layer), the perovskite layer subjected to the modified treatment through the universal treatment method according to claim 9 (please see the rejection of claim 9 above) and a second transport layer (hole transport layer). The order of the layers disclosed in paragraph [0039] of Li also implies the order of the steps required by claim 17.
Addressing claims 18 and 20, paragraph [0012] of Li discloses the claimed volume fraction.
Addressing claims 21-22, paragraphs [0023 and 0037] of Li disclose the claimed non-polar solvents
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2023/0380266) in view of Taylor et al. (US 2022/0328764).
Addressing claim 14, Zhu discloses in paragraphs [0010-0011] that the perovskite layer has a surface roughness that is less than 1 nm, which meets the limitation “average surface roughness of the perovskite layer is below 2.0 nm”. Zhu is silent regarding the film defect density below 0.9 x 1016 cm-3.
Taylor discloses a perovskite layer having a surface defect density of 7.02 x 1015 cm-3 and 6.94 x 1015 cm-3 [0143] that fall within the claimed range.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the perovskite layer of Zhu with the hole transport layer disclosed by Taylor in order to lower the surface defect density and increase photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell (Taylor, [0143]). Furthermore, one with ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed film defect density when perform routine experimentation with the film defect density of the perovskite film in the range disclosed by Taylor in order to optimize the photoelectric conversion efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Pending the 35 USC 112, second paragraph, rejection above, claims 4 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 02/09/2025