DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 15 May 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Additionally, the information disclosure statement fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings contain deficient line quality. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(l). See Figs. 1-16b. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, “said nerve the penetration tip” should read --said nerve, the penetration tip--.
In claim 1, line 9, “makes exposed” should read --making exposed--.
In claim 4, line 3, “stable” should read --stably--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “electrically conductive means” as recited in claim 2 is interpreted to cover a penetrative electrically conductive structure as described in the specification. The limitation “suturing means” as recited in claim 14 is interpreted to cover suturing wires as described in the specification.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “intraneural means” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the following limitations lack sufficient antecedent basis, which renders the scope of the claim unclear:
“the interface” in line 5, interpreted for examination purposes as the neural interface
“the epineurium” in line 6
“the nerve surface” in line 9
Dependent claims 2-15 are necessarily rejected as depending upon a rejected base claim.
In claim 10, the limitation “said material” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim, which renders the scope of the claim unclear. For examination purposes, this limitation will be read as said biocompatible material as recited earlier in claim 9.
In claim 14, the limitations “the stable fixing” and “the electrode” lack sufficient antecedent basis in the claim, which renders the scope of the claim unclear. For examination purposes, this claim will be read as wherein suturing means for stable fixing of the neural interface to the nerve are associated to the external layer. Dependent claim 15 is necessarily rejected as depending upon a rejected base claim.
In claim 15, the limitation “the opposite end” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim, which renders the scope of the claim unclear. Additionally, this limitation is unclear because the term “opposite” implies a contrasting structure, and it is unclear to which structure the opposite end opposes. For examination purposes, the claim will be read as comprising suturing wires projecting from opposing ends of the external layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al. (US Patent No. 5,400,784), hereinafter Durand, in view of Stett et al. (US PGPub No. 2009/0192571), hereinafter Stett.
Regarding claim 1, Durand teaches an implantable peripheral neural interface comprising a matrix adapted to be wrapped around a nerve (Figs. 13-15: self-curling sheet A), the matrix comprising an external layer defining an outer surface of the neural interface (Fig. 14: layers 130-132), and intraneural means embedded into said matrix, said intraneural means defining at least a penetration tip adapted to penetrate at least the epineurium of said nerve (Figs. 13-17: conductive segments B penetrating epineurium 172).
Durand does not explicitly teach wherein the matrix comprises an internal layer defining an inner surface of the interface, said internal layer being made of a biodegradable material adapted to degrade in contact with the nerve surface such that the degradation of said internal layer makes exposed said penetration tip of said intraneural means. However, in an analogous art, Stett teaches an implantable electrode with a penetration tip (Fig. 5: needle electrodes 17/29) comprising an internal layer being made of a biodegradable material adapted to degrade in contact with tissue such that the degradation of said internal layer makes exposed said penetration tips (Fig. 5: protective layer 33; par. 0097: “The electrodes 17 are in this case covered by a protective layer 33 made of a biodegradable and/or bioabsorbable material with a defined rate of degradation;” par. 0101: “the protective layer 33 comes into contact with the tissue 34 and gradually degrades. As the protective layer 33 degrades, the needle electrodes 29 penetrate into the tissue 34 until, finally, said needle electrodes 29 are received completely within the tissue 34”). Stett teaches that such a configuration allows needle electrodes to slowly penetrate into tissue without damage (par. 0031: “With slow degradation of the protective layer, the tips of the needle electrodes are freed gradually by the protective layer and come into contact with the cells which, in line with their speed of migration, give way to the tips. The needle electrodes thus penetrate slowly into the tissue without damaging it”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Durand by providing a biodegradable internal protective layer, as taught by Stett, in order to allow the penetration tip to slowly penetrate into tissue without damage, as taught by Stett.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches wherein said intraneural means comprise a penetrative electrically conductive structure (Figs. 13-17: conductive segments B).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches wherein said intraneural means comprise a penetration portion comprising said penetration tip and a non-penetration portion that remains out of the nerve during implantation (Fig. 17: portion of conductive segments B remaining outside nerve 170), said non-penetration portion being associated to said external layer (Fig. 14: non-penetrative part of conductive segment B associated to external layer 130); and Stett further teaches wherein the penetration portion is embedded into the internal layer (Fig. 5 and par. 0097: “the electrodes 17 are in this case covered by a protective layer 33”).
Regarding claims 4 and 6-7, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches wherein said intraneural means comprise a fixed tip opposite to said penetration tip, said fixed tip being stably connected to said matrix, wherein said fixed tip is embedded into said external layer and connected to said outer surface (Figs. 13-16: conductive segments B stably connected to sheet A and connected to outer layer 132).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the device of claim 4 as described previously. Durand does not explicitly teach wherein said fixed tip is connected to an interfacial surface between said internal and external layer. However, Stett further teaches a fixed tip connected to an interfacial surface between the internal and external layer (Fig. 5: base electrodes 37, from which needle electrodes 29 project, located at interface between base body 32 and protective layer 33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the fixed tip to an interfacial surface between the internal and external layer, as shown in Stett, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches wherein said external layer provides one or more layers (Figs. 13-14: layers 130, 132).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches wherein said external layer is made of a biocompatible material with elastic and insulating properties (col 10, lines 65-68: “the stretched first layer may also be a non-rubber polymeric material which is both biocompatible and exhibits appropriate elastomeric properties”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Stett further teaches wherein said degradable material of said internal layer is a biocompatible biodegradable polymer (par. 0044-0045: “Biodegradable and bioabsorbable materials are known per se and are widely used in the production and use of biomedical implants. They are distinguished by their biocompatibility and by their natural ability to decompose in the tissue over the course of time. They are used in orthopaedics, wound treatment or drug delivery. The most common materials are polylactic acid (PLA), polyglycolic acid (PGA) and their copolymers, and polycaprolactone (PCL) […] The use of these polyesters in the protective layer is particularly preferable since they degrade especially easily by simple hydrolysis, with the hydrolysis products being absorbed by normal metabolic processes, and they additionally allow the rate of degradation to be set in a targeted or desired manner”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches wherein said intraneural means comprise one or more micrometric high-aspect-ratio conductive linear elements (Figs. 13, 16: conductive leads 152, 162).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand in view of Stett and further in view of Serex et al. (US PGPub No. 2022/0249834), hereinafter Serex.
Durand in view of Stett teaches the devices of claims 9 and 11 as described previously. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the biocompatible material of the external layer is PDMS, or wherein said internal layer is made of polyglycerol sebacate. However, in a related neural interface art, Serex teaches both PDMS and polyglycerol sebacate as known materials for use in the substrate of a nerve cuff (par. 0056: “the substrate 100 can be substantially composed of one or more polymer selected from a non-exhaustive and non-limiting list comprising […] silicone materials such as polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) or other medical grade silicones and any combination thereof; […] polyphosphoesters and poly(glycerol sebacate acrylate)”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select PDMS for the external layer and polyglycerol sebacate for the internal layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand in view of Stett and further in view of Fang et al. (US PGPub No. 2020/0391032), hereinafter Fang.
Durand in view of Stett teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Durand further teaches a suture for securing the device around the nerve (col 3, lines 59-61: “a suture is installed over the beam and nerve tying the two together”) but does not explicitly teach wherein suturing wires for stable fixing of the neural interface to the nerve are associated to the external layer and project from opposing ends of the external layer. However, in a related neural interface art, Fang teaches a nerve cuff with suturing wires projecting from opposing ends of an external layer (Figs. 12A-12B: tie/suture/wire 1266 connecting opposing ends 1280, 1280’), which prevents unwrapping of the nerve cuff from the nerve while preventing compression of the nerve (par. 0075: “the suture (tie) may prevent unexpected and/or undesirable unwrapping of the nerve cuff from the outer surface of the nerve. Loose sutures may allow the nerve cuff to expand with swelling, as mentioned, and/or may otherwise help prevent compression of the nerve”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the suture of the combined reference as suturing wires projecting from opposing ends of the external layer, as taught by Fang, in order to prevent the device from unwrapping from the nerve and also prevent compression of the nerve, as taught by Fang.
Conclusion
/D.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794