DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 11-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaharia (Pub. No.: US 2020/0156592 A1) with inherency supported by Georgy (Pub. No.: US 2020/0324607 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Zaharia teaches a motion detection system for a parked motor vehicle (abstract, a system and method configured to monitor motion of the vehicle and its surroundings while parked), the motion detection system comprising:
a motion sensor which is configured to detect a motion of the parked motor vehicle (Fig. 1 – Fig. 2, camera 106, Fig. 6 sensors 610, and Fig. 7 steps 706-708, para [0038], “The vehicle 104 may also include one or more sensors 610. The sensors 610 may include one or more cameras, ultrasonic sensors, proximity sensors, motion sensors, displacement sensors, pressure sensors, contact sensors, microphones, and/or other sensors. The one or more sensors 610 may be used to determine that an object, person, and/or animal may be nearby the vehicle 104, contacting the vehicle 104, or attempting to gain entry into the vehicle 104.” and para [0045], “At 708, the computing device determines, from the image data captured by the camera, that an object is proximate the vehicle. When used herein, the term object may include a person, object, or animal. That is, the computing device determines from the image data that a person, object, or animal is within a first threshold distance of the vehicle. Additionally or alternatively, in an embodiment, the computing device may determine that an object is proximate the vehicle based on the one or more other sensors instead of or in addition to the image data. Furthermore, in an embodiment, the computing device may determine from the image that an object is moving.”. The camera and/or sensors detect moving object within the surrounding of the vehicle.), and
a control unit coupled to the motion sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to emit a control signal upon detection, by the motion sensor, the motion of the parked motor vehicle (Fig. 2, controller 212, Fig 8, steps 722, or steps 726-728, paras [0052], [0054] - [0055]. The controller outputs an alert and/or a notification to a user in response to the object moving close to or contacts the vehicle),
wherein the motion sensor is arrangeable in or on a roof module of the motor vehicle (Fig. 1B, Fig. 4A-4B, Fig. 5B, the camera 106 is disposed on the roof section of the side view mirror housing as shown in Figs 4A-4B and/or the sensors 601 are disposed in the vehicle).
Regarding claim 13, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 11, further comprising:
an environment recording system coupled through the control unit to the motion sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to emit the control signal to the environment recording system, so that the environment recording system can record environmental data corresponding to an environment of the motor vehicle (Fig. 7 step 706 and para [0044], “At 706, the camera begins capturing image data of an environment surrounding the vehicle.”. The controller instructs the side view mirror system to capture images).
Regarding claim 14, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 13, wherein the environment recording system comprises a camera for the recording of image data that correspond to the environment of the motor vehicle (Fig. 2, the side view mirror system includes a camera 106).
Regarding claim 15, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 11, further comprising:
an information output unit coupled through the control unit to the motion sensor (Fig. 6), wherein the control unit is configured to emit the control signal to the information output unit so that the information output unit can emit an alarm signal to an environment of the motor vehicle (Fig. 8 step 722 and para [0052], the vehicle outputs an audio or visual alert in response to a motion signal).
Regarding claim 16, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 11, further comprising:
an interface coupled through the control unit to the motion sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to emit the control signal to the interface so that the interface can wirelessly emit information to an external data processing device (Fig. 8, step 728, para [0055], “At 728, the computing device may send a notification to an electronic device associated with the authorized user of the vehicle, notifying the authorized user that the person and/or object is contacting the vehicle.”. The vehicle outputs a notification to the user’s mobile device in response to a motion signal.).
Regarding claim 17, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 16, wherein the information comprises environmental data recorded by an environment recording system (para [0055], “In an embodiment, the notification may include at least a portion of the image data of the person and/or object, a selectable control to silence the alarm, a selectable control to call a security service or law enforcement, and/or a selectable control to activate an intercom system on the vehicle.”. The notification includes the image data recorded by the camera/sensors.).
Regarding claim 18, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 11, wherein the motion sensor is configured to detect the motion of the parked motor vehicle as a translational motion of the parked motor vehicle and/or a tilt of the parked motor vehicle (para [0038], “The vehicle 104 may also include one or more sensors 610. The sensors 610 may include one or more cameras, ultrasonic sensors, proximity sensors, motion sensors, displacement sensors, pressure sensors, contact sensors, microphones, and/or other sensors.”. The motion sensor inherently detects tilt. The inherency is supported by Georgy, para [0037], “As will be discussed in detail below, the techniques of this disclosure involve estimating vehicle body tilt with the motion sensor data provided by sensor assemblies 14 and 16”.).
Regarding claim 19, Zaharia teaches a motor vehicle comprising the motion detection system according to claim 11 and the roof module (Fig. 1 - Fig. 4B, the vehicle comprises of the side view mirror system 102 and the roof panel of the sideview mirror that the camera is disposed on.).
Regarding claim 20, Zaharia teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 19, wherein the motion sensor is arranged centrally in the motor vehicle (Fig. 1, the camera 102 are located in the middle of the vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaharia (Pub. No.: US 2020/0156592 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Zaharia teaches the motion detection system according to claim 11, wherein the control unit is arrangeable in the same side mirror as the camera (para [0031], “The controller 212 may be included in the side mirror 102, may be a separate system of the vehicle 104 (e.g., vehicle computing device, electronic control unit, etc.), or may be remote from the side mirror 102 and the vehicle 104.”) instead of the control unit is arrangeable in or on the roof module
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of Zaharia’s controller from a first position to the roof of the side mirror housing because it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burns (Pub. No.: US 2023/0077868 A1) teaches a system and method for detecting motion events involving a vehicle.
Michmerhuizen (Pub. No.: US 2015/0169968 A1) teaches vehicle comprises of an object detection system for motion monitoring and alert generation.
/ZHEN Y WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685