This is a first office action on the merits of application SN 19/130,198 and filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-42 and 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR 10-2020-0096044 to Kwon in view of Korean Patent KR 10-2008-0107192 to Seo.
Kwon teaches
27. A laundry treating apparatus comprising: a cabinet (10) comprising an inlet (106) configured to allow clothes to be put into the cabinet therethrough; and a door (12) coupled to the cabinet to open and close the inlet, wherein the door comprises: a door frame (13) rotatably coupled to the cabinet and comprising an outer surface (14, as best seen in figure 4) configured to face an outside of the cabinet; and a door window (20) coupled to the outer surface of the door frame, and configured such that an adhesive (38) configured to couple the door window to the outer surface (Par 84,87,103,104,108,110,123,124,156,157)
Kwon does not expressly disclose a second region having a greater polarity than a first region.
Seo teaches plasma ion nitriding and plasma oxynitriding treatment performed on the surface of a steel material (21) as part of housing (20). A nitride layer (22) and an oxide layer (23) are formed on the surface of the steel material (par 27, 29, and figure 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Kwon by using the treatment before the adhesive is applied as taught by Seo to increase the bond strength.
Regarding claim 28, Seo teaches
28. wherein an electronegativity difference between the second region and the adhesive is greater than an electronegativity difference between the first region and the adhesive.
Regarding claim 29, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
29. wherein the second region extends along a perimeter of the outer surface to surround the first region (aligning with the location of the adhesive).
Regarding claim 30, Kwon teaches
30. wherein the outer surface comprises a flat portion (15) configured to form a flat surface and comprising the second region, and a curved portion (16) configured to form a curved surface and comprising the first region.
Regarding claim 31, Kwon teaches
31. wherein the flat portion extends along a perimeter of the outer surface to surround the curved portion (as best seen in figure 8).
Regarding claim 32, Kwon teaches
32. wherein: the door frame comprises a door opening provided in the outer surface to be opened toward the inlet; and the curved portion surrounds the door opening and is curved toward an inside of the cabinet as the curved portion approaches the door opening (as best seen in figures 2-5).
Regarding claim 33, Kwon teaches
33. wherein: an adhesive groove (31) configured such that the adhesive is provided thereto is formed in the outer surface; and at least a portion of a bottom surface of the adhesive groove is processed to have polarity to form the second region.
Regarding claim 34, Kwon teaches
34. wherein: the door window comprises a light-transmitting portion (21) configured to allow light transmission and a non-transmitting portion (22) configured to block light transmission; and the adhesive is provided to overlap the non-transmitting portion.
Regarding claim 35, Kwon teaches
35. wherein: the second region extends along a perimeter of the outer surface; and the non-transmitting portion extends along a perimeter of the door window to shield the second region from outside (as best seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 36, Kwon teaches
36. wherein: the outer surface comprises a door opening configured to be opened toward an inside of the cabinet; and the non-transmitting portion is disposed to surround the door opening (as best seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 37, Kwon teaches
37. wherein the outer surface comprises: a flat portion configured to form a flat surface and extend along a perimeter of the outer surface, and provided such that at least a part of the flat portion overlaps the non-transmitting portion; and a curved portion located between the flat portion and the door opening to surround the door opening, and provided such that at least a part of the curved portion overlaps the light- transmitting portion (as best seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 38, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
38. wherein the second region is processed to have polarity through a plasma treatment method or a corona treatment method (Seo abstract).
Regarding claim 39, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
39. wherein the second region comprises a greater amount of oxygen than the first region (Seo abstract).
Regarding claim 40, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
40. wherein the second region comprises a less amount of carbon than the first region (Seo teaches the treatment that would result in less carbon).
Regarding claim 41, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
41. wherein the second region has a smaller water contact angle than the first region
Regarding claim 42, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
42. A method of manufacturing a clothing processing apparatus comprising: a frame forming step of forming a door frame comprising an outer surface configured to face an outside of a cabinet; a polarity treatment step of performing a polarity treatment process so that a second region excluding a first region among the outer surface of the door frame has a greater polarity than the first region; and a door window coupling step of coupling a door window to the second region using an adhesive (the apparatus of Kwon in view of Seo as described above inherently and intrinsically would use the method as claimed).
Regarding claim 44, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
44. wherein, in the polarity treatment step, the second region is formed to extend along a perimeter of the door frame to surround the first region (as best seen in figure 3 of Kwon).
Regarding claim 45, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
45. wherein, in the frame forming step, the outer surface of the door frame is formed to comprise an adhesive groove (Kwon figure 8) configured such that the adhesive is provided thereto.
Regarding claim 46, Kwon in view of Seo teaches
46. wherein, in the polarity treatment step, the second region is formed in at least a portion of the adhesive groove.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent KR 10-2020-0096044 to Kwon in view of Korean Patent KR 10-2008-0107192 to Seo as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Korean Patent KR 10-2018-0081156 to Kojima.
Kwon in view of Seo does not expressly disclose a washing step of performing a degreasing process.
Kojima teaches a degreasing treatment for degreasing the surface of a substate before spraying a hydrophilic material onto the substrate (par 189, figure 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and apparatus of Kwon in view of Seo by adding the step of washing and applying a degreaser as taught by Kojima to allow for better adherence of a later process to the material.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY M AYRES/Examiner, Art Unit 3637